DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 38 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 38 is missing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koellmann (US 8998634 B2).
In reference to claim 1, KOELLMANN teaches a multi-pole electrical wiring device (1; fig. 1) comprising: a housing having an interior (see fig. 1), at least one wire receiving opening (7a, b) in a side wall of the housing and at least one activating member opening (10a, b) in a top wall of the housing, wherein at least a portion of the interior is hollow (See fig. 1); at least one wire termination assembly (3, 4a, 4b; fig. 1) positioned in the hollow portion of the interior of the housing such that the at least one wire termination assembly is accessible from the at least one wire receiving opening (see fig. 1); at least one activating member (8a, 8b) extending at least partially through the at least one activating member opening, the activating member being interactive with the at least one wire termination assembly such that movement of the activating member in a first direction (i.e. moving upward) to a first position causes the at least one wire termination assembly to automatically move to a closed position (as similarly illustrated on the right side of 1 in figure 1) clamping a wire inserted into the wire receiving opening and positioned in the at least one wire termination assembly, and such that movement of the activating member in a second direction (i.e. moving downward) to a second position causes the at least one wire termination assembly to move to an open position (as similarly illustrated on the left side of 1 in figure 1) releasing the wire within the at least one wire termination assembly.
In reference to claim 2, KOELLMANN teaches wherein the at least one wire termination assembly includes a wire press member (pertaining to 4a, b) used when clamping the wire positioned in the at least one wire termination assembly.
In reference to claim 3, KOELLMANN teaches wherein the at least one wire termination assembly includes a biasing member (5a, b).
In reference to claim 4, KOELLMANN teaches wherein the biasing member (5a, b) comprises a spring.
In reference to claim 5, KOELLMANN teaches wherein the at least one activating member remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved.
In reference to claim 6, KOELLMANN teaches wherein the movement of the activating member in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction.
In reference to claim 7, KOELLMANN teaches wherein the movement of the activating member in the first direction and the second direction is linear motion.
In reference to claim 8, KOELLMANN teaches wherein the movement of the activating member in the first direction and the second direction is one of linear motion (8a, b moves in a linear motion), rotational motion, torque motion, pivotable motion and twist motion.
In reference to claim 10, KOELLMANN teaches wherein when in the closed position the at least one wire termination assembly can clamp the wire with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOELLMANN.
In reference to claim 9, KOELLMANN teaches wherein movement of the activating member in the first direction (i.e. moving upward) is outward relative to the housing, and wherein movement of the activating member in the second direction (i.e. moving downward) is inward relative to the housing.
However KOELLMANN does not teach wherein movement of the activating member in the first direction is outward relative to the housing.
It would have been an obvious matter of changing the size of the activating member so that movement of the activating member in the first direction is outward relative to the housing, since such a modification would have been a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Changing the size of the activating member so that movement of the activating member in the first direction is outward relative to the housing is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the size of the activating member to arrive at the results of claim 9 so that the activating member can be made visible above the housing to inform a user that the clamping contact (4a, b) is in an open state.
Double Patenting
Claim 11-37, 39-43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-42 of copending Application No. 18511810 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both similarly teach the claimed invention.
CURRENT APPLICATION CLAIMS
REFERENCE APPLICATION NO. 18511810 CLAIMS
11. A multi-pole electrical wiring device comprising: a housing having an interior, a plurality of wire receiving openings in a side wall of the housing and a plurality of activating member openings in a top wall of the housing, wherein at least a portion of the interior is hollow, wherein each of the plurality of wire receiving openings provides access from an exterior of the housing to the hollow portion of the interior of the housing, and wherein each of the plurality of activating member openings provides access from the exterior of the housing to the hollow portion of the interior of the housing; and a plurality of line side wire termination assemblies positioned in the hollow portion of the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace and a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to apply a mechanical load to the clamping member causing the clamping member to move from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction removes the mechanical load from the clamping member so that the clamping member moves from the open position to the closed position; and a plurality of load side wire termination assemblies positioned in the hollow portion of the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of load side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of load side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace and a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to apply a mechanical load to the clamping member causing the clamping member to move from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction removes the mechanical load from the clamping member so that the clamping member moves from the open position to the closed position.
11. A multi-pole electrical wiring device comprising: a housing having an interior, a plurality of wire receiving openings and a plurality of activating member openings, wherein at least a portion of the interior is hollow, wherein each of the plurality of wire receiving openings provides access from an exterior of the housing to the hollow portion of the interior of the housing, and wherein each of the plurality of activating member openings provides access from the exterior of the housing to the hollow portion of the interior of the housing; and a plurality of line side wire termination assemblies positioned in the hollow portion of the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace connected to a clamping member, the damping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to apply a mechanical load to the clamping member causing the clamping member to move from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction removes the mechanical load from the clamping member so that the clamping member moves from the open position to the closed position; and a plurality of load side wire termination assemblies positioned in the hollow portion of the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of load side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of the contact assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace connected to a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the damp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to apply a mechanical load to the clamping member causing the clamping member to move from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction removes the mechanical load from the clamping member so that the clamping member moves from the open position to the closed position.
12. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a wire press member such that the wire can be clamped between the wire press member and the clamp brace.
12. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a wire press member such that the wire can be clamped between the wire press member and the clamp brace.
13. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a biasing member.
13. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a biasing member.
14. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved.
14. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved.
15. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction.
15. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction.
16. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is substantially perpendicular to the clamp brace.
16. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is parallel to the clamp brace.
17. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is linear motion.
17. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the movement of the activating member in the first direction and the second direction is linear motion.
18. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is one of linear motion, rotational motion, torque motion, pivotable motion and twist motion.
18. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is one of linear motion, rotational motion, torque motion, pivotable motion and twist motion.
19. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first and second directions is relative to the clamping member.
19. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first and second directions is relative to the clamping member.
20. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction is inward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the second direction is outward relative to the housing.
20. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction is outward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the second direction is inward relative to the housing.
21. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein when in the closed position the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies can clamp the wire with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire.
21. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein when in the closed position the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies can clamp the wire with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire.
22. A multi-pole electrical wiring device comprising: a housing having an interior, a plurality of wire receiving openings in a side wall of the housing and a plurality of activating member openings in a top wall of the housing, wherein at least a portion of the interior is hollow, wherein each of the plurality of wire receiving openings provides access from an exterior of the housing to the hollow portion of the interior of the housing, and wherein each of the plurality of activating member openings provides access from the exterior of the housing to the hollow portion of the interior of the housing; and a plurality of line side wire termination assemblies positioned in the hollow portion of the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace and a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction permits the clamping member to automatically move from the open position to the closed position; and a plurality of load side wire termination assemblies positioned in the hollow portion of the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of load side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of load side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace and a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction permits the clamping member to automatically move from the open position to the closed position.
22. A multi-pole electrical wiring device comprising: a housing having an interior, a plurality of wire receiving openings and a plurality of activating member openings, wherein at least a portion of the interior is hollow, wherein each of the plurality of wire receiving openings provides access from an exterior of the housing to the hollow portion of the interior of the housing, and wherein each of the plurality of activating member openings provides access from the exterior of the housing to the hollow portion of the interior of the housing; and a plurality of line side wire termination assemblies positioned in the hollow portion of the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a damp brace connected to a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the damp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction permits the clamping member to automatically move from the open position to the closed position; and wherein each of the plurality of load side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace connected to a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction permits the clamping member to automatically move from the open position to the closed position.
23. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a wire press member such that the wire can be clamped between the wire press member and the clamp brace.
23. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a wire press member such that the wire can be clamped between the wire press member and the clamp brace.
24. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies is a biasing member.
24. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a biasing member.
25. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved.
25. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved.
26. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction.
26. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction.
27. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is substantially perpendicular to the clamp brace.
27. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is parallel to the clamp brace.
28. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is linear motion.
28. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is linear motion.
29. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is one of linear motion, rotational motion, torque motion, pivotable motion and twist motion.
29. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is one of linear motion, rotational motion, torque motion, pivotable motion and twist motion.
30. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first and second directions is relative to the clamping member.
30. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first and second directions is relative to the clamping member.
31. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction is inward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the activating member in the second direction is outward relative to the housing.
31. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction is outward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the activating member in the second direction is inward relative to the housing.
32. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein when in the closed position the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies can clamp the wire with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire.
32. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein when in the closed position the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies can clamp the wire with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire.
33. A multi-pole electrical wiring device comprising: a housing having a plurality of wire receiving openings in a side wall of the housing and a plurality of activating member openings in a top wall of the housing, wherein each of the plurality of wire receiving openings provides access from an exterior of the housing to an interior of the housing, and wherein each of the plurality of activating member openings provides access from the exterior of the housing to the interior of the housing; a plurality of line side wire termination assemblies positioned in the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of the line side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace and a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction from a first position to a second position causes the activating member to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction permits the clamping member to automatically move from the open position to the closed position, wherein the activating member remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved; and a plurality of load side wire termination assemblies positioned in the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of load side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of the load side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace and a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction from a first position to a second position causes the activating member to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction permits the clamping member to automatically move from the open position to the closed position, wherein the activating member remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved.
33. A multi-pole electrical wiring device comprising: a housing having a plurality of wire receiving openings and a plurality of activating member openings, wherein each of the plurality of wire receiving openings provides access from an exterior of the housing to an interior of the housing, and wherein each of the plurality of activating member openings provides access from the exterior of the housing to the interior of the housing; and a plurality of line side wire termination assemblies positioned in the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of the line side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace connected to a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted between the damping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction from a first position to a second position causes the activating member to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction permits the clamping member to automatically move from the open position to the closed position, wherein the activating member remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved; and wherein each of the plurality of the load side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace connected to a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction from a first position to a second position causes the activating member to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction permits the clamping member to automatically move from the open position to the closed position, wherein the activating member remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved.
34. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a wire press member such that the wire can be clamped between the wire press member and the clamp brace.
34. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a wire press member such that the wire can be clamped between the wire press member and the clamp brace.
35. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a biasing member.
35. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a biasing member.
36. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction.
36. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction.
37. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is substantially perpendicular to the clamp brace.
37. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is parallel to the clamp brace.
39. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is linear motion.
38. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is linear motion.
40. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is one of linear motion, rotational motion, torque motion, pivotable motion and twist motion.
39. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is one of linear motion, rotational motion, torque motion, pivotable motion and twist motion.
41. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein when in the closed position the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies can clamp the wire with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire.
40. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein when in the closed position the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies can clamp the wire with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire.
42. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first and second directions is relative to the clamping member.
41. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first and second directions is relative to the clamping member.
43. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction is inward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the activating member in the second direction is outward relative to the housing.
42. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction is outward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the activating member in the second direction is inward relative to the housing.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
- - -- - - - -- - - - - - - - - - -- - - - - -- - -- -- -- - -- - - - - - -- - - - - -- - - - -- - - - - - - - - - -- - - - - -- - -- -- -- - -- - - - - -
Claims 1-37, 39-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 23- 33; 34-43 of U.S. Patent No. 12555931. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both similarly teach the claimed invention.
CURRENT APPLICATION CLAIMS
U.S. PATENT NO. 12555931 CLAIMS
11. A multi-pole electrical wiring device comprising: a housing having an interior, a plurality of wire receiving openings in a side wall of the housing and a plurality of activating member openings in a top wall of the housing, wherein at least a portion of the interior is hollow, wherein each of the plurality of wire receiving openings provides access from an exterior of the housing to the hollow portion of the interior of the housing, and wherein each of the plurality of activating member openings provides access from the exterior of the housing to the hollow portion of the interior of the housing; and a plurality of line side wire termination assemblies positioned in the hollow portion of the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace and a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to apply a mechanical load to the clamping member causing the clamping member to move from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction removes the mechanical load from the clamping member so that the clamping member moves from the open position to the closed position; and a plurality of load side wire termination assemblies positioned in the hollow portion of the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of load side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of load side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace and a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to apply a mechanical load to the clamping member causing the clamping member to move from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction removes the mechanical load from the clamping member so that the clamping member moves from the open position to the closed position.
23. A multi-pole electrical wiring device comprising: a main housing having an interior that is at least partially hollow; a line side wire attachment assembly attachable to the main housing, the line side wire attachment assembly includes: an assembly housing having a plurality of cavities, a plurality of wire receiving openings and a plurality of activating member openings, where one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings provides access from an exterior of the assembly housing to one of the plurality of cavities; and a plurality of wire termination assemblies, where one of the plurality of wire termination assemblies is positioned at least partially the one of the plurality of cavities, each of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace connected to a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the assembly housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to apply a mechanical load to the clamping member causing the clamping member to move from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction removes the mechanical load from the clamping member so that the clamping member moves from the open position to the closed position; and a load side wire attachment assembly attachable to the main housing, the load side wire attachment assembly includes: an assembly housing having a plurality of cavities, a plurality of wire receiving openings and a plurality of activating member openings, where one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings provides access from an exterior of the assembly housing to one of the plurality of cavities; and a plurality of wire termination assemblies, where one of the plurality of wire termination assemblies is positioned at least partially the one of the plurality of cavities, each of the plurality of load side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace connected to a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the assembly housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to apply a mechanical load to the clamping member causing the clamping member to move from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction removes the mechanical load from the clamping member so that the clamping member moves from the open position to the closed position.
12. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a wire press member such that the wire can be clamped between the wire press member and the clamp brace.
24. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a wire press member such that the wire can be clamped between the wire press member and the clamp brace.
13. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a biasing member.
25. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies is a biasing member.
14. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved.
26. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved.
15. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction.
27. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction.
16. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is substantially perpendicular to the clamp brace.
28. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is parallel to the clamp brace.
17. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is linear motion.
29. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is one of linear motion, rotational motion, torque motion, pivotable motion and twist motion.
18. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is one of linear motion, rotational motion, torque motion, pivotable motion and twist motion.
29. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is one of linear motion, rotational motion, torque motion, pivotable motion and twist motion.
19. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first and second directions is relative to the clamping member.
31. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first and second directions is relative to the clamping member.
20. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction is inward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the second direction is outward relative to the housing.
32. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction is outward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the activating member in the second direction is inward relative to the housing.
21. The electrical wiring device according to claim 11, wherein when in the closed position the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies can clamp the wire with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire.
33. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein when in the closed position the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies can clamp the wire with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire.
22. A multi-pole electrical wiring device comprising: a housing having an interior, a plurality of wire receiving openings in a side wall of the housing and a plurality of activating member openings in a top wall of the housing, wherein at least a portion of the interior is hollow, wherein each of the plurality of wire receiving openings provides access from an exterior of the housing to the hollow portion of the interior of the housing, and wherein each of the plurality of activating member openings provides access from the exterior of the housing to the hollow portion of the interior of the housing; and a plurality of line side wire termination assemblies positioned in the hollow portion of the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace and a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction permits the clamping member to automatically move from the open position to the closed position; and a plurality of load side wire termination assemblies positioned in the hollow portion of the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of load side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of load side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace and a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction permits the clamping member to automatically move from the open position to the closed position.
23. A multi-pole electrical wiring device comprising: a main housing having an interior that is at least partially hollow; a line side wire attachment assembly attachable to the main housing, the line side wire attachment assembly includes: an assembly housing having a plurality of cavities, a plurality of wire receiving openings and a plurality of activating member openings, where one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings provides access from an exterior of the assembly housing to one of the plurality of cavities; and a plurality of wire termination assemblies, where one of the plurality of wire termination assemblies is positioned at least partially the one of the plurality of cavities, each of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace connected to a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the assembly housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to apply a mechanical load to the clamping member causing the clamping member to move from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction removes the mechanical load from the clamping member so that the clamping member moves from the open position to the closed position; and a load side wire attachment assembly attachable to the main housing, the load side wire attachment assembly includes: an assembly housing having a plurality of cavities, a plurality of wire receiving openings and a plurality of activating member openings, where one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings provides access from an exterior of the assembly housing to one of the plurality of cavities; and a plurality of wire termination assemblies, where one of the plurality of wire termination assemblies is positioned at least partially the one of the plurality of cavities, each of the plurality of load side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace connected to a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted through the one of the plurality of wire receiving openings in the housing and between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the assembly housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction causes the activating member to apply a mechanical load to the clamping member causing the clamping member to move from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction removes the mechanical load from the clamping member so that the clamping member moves from the open position to the closed position.
23. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a wire press member such that the wire can be clamped between the wire press member and the clamp brace.
24. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a wire press member such that the wire can be clamped between the wire press member and the clamp brace.
24. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies is a biasing member.
25. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies is a biasing member.
25. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved.
26. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved.
26. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction.
27. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction.
27. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is substantially perpendicular to the clamp brace.
28. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is parallel to the clamp brace.
28. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is linear motion.
30. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is linear motion.
29. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is one of linear motion, rotational motion, torque motion, pivotable motion and twist motion.
29. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is one of linear motion, rotational motion, torque motion, pivotable motion and twist motion.
30. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first and second directions is relative to the clamping member.
31. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first and second directions is relative to the clamping member.
31. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction is inward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the activating member in the second direction is outward relative to the housing.
32. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction is outward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the activating member in the second direction is inward relative to the housing.
32. The electrical wiring device according to claim 22, wherein when in the closed position the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies can clamp the wire with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire.
33. The electrical wiring device according to claim 23, wherein when in the closed position the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies can clamp the wire with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire.
33. A multi-pole electrical wiring device comprising: a housing having a plurality of wire receiving openings in a side wall of the housing and a plurality of activating member openings in a top wall of the housing, wherein each of the plurality of wire receiving openings provides access from an exterior of the housing to an interior of the housing, and wherein each of the plurality of activating member openings provides access from the exterior of the housing to the interior of the housing; a plurality of line side wire termination assemblies positioned in the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of the line side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace and a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction from a first position to a second position causes the activating member to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction permits the clamping member to automatically move from the open position to the closed position, wherein the activating member remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved; and a plurality of load side wire termination assemblies positioned in the interior of the housing such that one of the plurality of load side wire termination assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings; wherein each of the plurality of the load side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace and a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction from a first position to a second position causes the activating member to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction permits the clamping member to automatically move from the open position to the closed position, wherein the activating member remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved.
34. A multi-pole electrical wiring device comprising: a main housing having an interior that is at least partially hollow; a line side wire attachment assembly attachable to the main housing, the line side wire attachment assembly includes: an assembly housing having a plurality of cavities, a plurality of wire receiving openings and a plurality of activating member openings, where one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings provides access from an exterior of the assembly housing to one of the plurality of cavities; and a plurality of wire termination assemblies, where one of the plurality of wire termination assemblies is positioned at least partially the one of the plurality of cavities, each of the plurality of line side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace connected to a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted between the clamping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction from a first position to a second position causes the activating member to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction permits the clamping member to automatically move from the open position to the closed position, wherein the activating member remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved; and a load side wire attachment assembly attachable to the main housing, the load side wire attachment assembly includes: an assembly housing having a plurality of cavities, a plurality of wire receiving openings and a plurality of activating member openings, where one of the plurality of wire receiving openings and one of the plurality of activating member openings provides access from an exterior of the assembly housing to one of the plurality of cavities; and a plurality of wire termination assemblies, where one of the plurality of wire termination assemblies is positioned at least partially the one of the plurality of cavities, each of the plurality of load side wire termination assemblies includes: a wire terminal including a clamp brace connected to a clamping member, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace, and an open position where the wire can be inserted between the damping member and the clamp brace; and an activating member extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of activating member openings in the housing, the activating member being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the activating member in a first direction from a first position to a second position causes the activating member to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the activating member in a second direction permits the clamping member to automatically move from the open position to the closed position, wherein the activating member remains in the first position or the second position until manually moved.
34. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a wire press member such that the wire can be clamped between the wire press member and the clamp brace.
35. The electrical wiring device according to claim 34, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a wire press member such that the wire can be clamped between the wire press member and the clamp brace.
35. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies includes a biasing member.
36. The electrical wiring device according to claim 34, wherein the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies is a biasing member.
36. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction.
37. The electrical wiring device according to claim 34, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the second direction is opposite the movement of the activating member in the first direction.
37. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is substantially perpendicular to the clamp brace.
38. The electrical wiring device according to claim 34, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is parallel to the clamp brace.
39. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is linear motion.
40. The electrical wiring device according to claim 34, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is linear motion.
40. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is one of linear motion, rotational motion, torque motion, pivotable motion and twist motion.
39. The electrical wiring device according to claim 34, wherein the movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction and the second direction is one of linear motion, rotational motion, torque motion, pivotable motion and twist motion.
41. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein when in the closed position the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies can clamp the wire with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire.
41. The electrical wiring device according to claim 34, wherein when in the closed position the clamping member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies can clamp the wire with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire.
42. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first and second directions is relative to the clamping member.
42. The electrical wiring device according to claim 34, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first and second directions is relative to the clamping member.
43. The electrical wiring device according to claim 33, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction is inward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the activating member in the second direction is outward relative to the housing.
43. The electrical wiring device according to claim 34, wherein movement of the activating member for the line side wire termination assemblies and the load side wire termination assemblies in the first direction is outward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the activating member in the second direction is inward relative to the housing.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S CHAMBERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 05/15/2026