DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kollmann et al. (US 9,525,219) in view of Meyer (US 9,761,964, previously cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Kollmann discloses a lead terminal comprising: at least one spring-loaded clamping connection (1, Fig. 1) for connecting an electrical conductor by spring force, the spring-loaded clamping connection comprising: a clamping spring (2); and a busbar section (8, 6) associated with the clamping spring, between which a clamping point (12/13) for connecting the electrical conductor is formed; and a swivelable actuating lever (24) associated with the spring-loaded clamping connection to actuate the clamping spring, the actuating lever having at least one support element that includes a support surface (24a) facing the busbar section, via which the actuating lever is supported on a support region (above 10 in Fig. 4) of the busbar section, wherein the support region of the busbar section is formed as a depression (see Figs. 1, 2, 4 and 5) in the busbar section, that is recessed from neighboring flat regions of the busbar section, the depression being a trough or channel depression; the busbar section having a clamping edge (13) for connecting the electrical conductor, and wherein the clamping edge of the busbar section is a border edge (13) of a second depression (sideways of the first depression, between 10 and 13 in Fig. 2) that is impressed in the busbar section (manufacturing method).
Kollmann discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the first depression, the second depression and the clamping edge are formed on a same piece of the busbar section. Meyer teaches a single busbar (7) with the second depression (14) and the clamping edge (6) formed on a same piece of the busbar section. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the first depression, the second depression and the clamping edge on a same piece of the busbar section, as taught by Meyer, in order simplify assembly of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Kollmann discloses a depth of the depression in the busbar section, that forms the support region, is formed in relation to the clamping point (13) formed at the busbar section.
Regarding claim 3, Kollmann discloses the depression in the busbar section, that forms the support region, having a depth that is at least 20% of a material thickness of the busbar section (see Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 4, Kollmann discloses the lead terminal designed as a multi-pole lead terminal in which multiple spring-loaded clamping connections are situated next to one another (Fig. 3), wherein the spring-loaded clamping connections each have a clamping spring and a busbar section associated with the clamping spring, wherein an actuating lever is associated with each spring-loaded clamping connection, wherein the busbar sections are parts of a continuous busbar, and wherein the support region formed as the depression in the busbar section extends continuously from the support element of the actuating lever at least to a support element of a directly neighboring actuating lever or extends continuously over the busbar sections of multiple or all spring-loaded clamping connections.
Regarding claim 5, Kollmann discloses the support region formed as the depression in the busbar section being at least partially interrupted, at least at one clamping point, by another contour or a clamping contour (left or right in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Kollmann discloses the actuating lever in the support region formed as the depression in the busbar section, the actuating lever being swivelable about a rotational axis that extends transversely with respect to a conductor insertion direction of the spring-loaded clamping connection (Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 8, Kollmann discloses that in a conductor insertion direction, the clamping edge of the busbar section is arranged next to or behind the support region formed as the depression in the busbar section (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 20, Kollmann discloses the support region of the busbar section having a concavely curved contour (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 21, Kollmann discloses the concavely curved contour of the support region adapted to a convexly curved contour of the support surface of the actuating lever (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, Kollmann discloses the depression that forms the support region in the busbar section, on at least one side, merges in a stepped manner into a neighboring elevated region of the busbar section and/or, on at least one side, merges in a stepless manner into a neighboring elevated region of the busbar section (left side of 10 in Fig. 1).
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kollmann ‘219 and Meyer, and further in view of Kollmann et al. (US 9,466,895).
Regarding claim 11, Kollmann ‘895 teaches the at least one support element of the actuating lever (3) having two spaced-apart support elements (28) arranged in parallel, each of which has the support surface facing the busbar section via which the actuating lever is supported on the support region of the busbar section. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use tow space apart support elements, as taught by Kollmann ‘895, in order to provide a stable support for the actuating lever.
Regarding claim 12, Kollmann ‘219 discloses the support region formed as the depression in the busbar section extending continuously from one of the two support element of the actuating lever at least to a nearest support element of a directly neighboring actuating lever (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Kollmann ‘895 teaches a receiving space for accommodating the electrical conductor connected to the spring-loaded clamping connection formed between the two support elements of the actuating lever (see Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 14, Kollmann ‘895 teaches at least a portion of the clamping spring or a predominant portion of a clamping leg of the clamping spring arranged in a region between the two support elements of the actuating lever (Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 15, Kollmann ‘895 teaches the actuating lever has two spaced-apart side wall sections (7) that are at least partially inserted into a housing (2) of the lead terminal and that are each connected to one of the two support elements via a transverse web (8).
Regarding claim 16, Kollmann ‘895 teaches the two support elements forming a rotational axis about which the actuating lever is swivelably supported in the housing, wherein the two support elements each have an actuation sections (24), each of which is designed for impinging on an associated clamping spring of the spring-loaded clamping connection when the actuating lever swivels from a closed position, in which the actuating lever with the transverse web is swiveled toward the housing, and the clamping point (20) formed by the spring-loaded clamping connection is closed to connect the electrical conductor into an open position (Fig. 2) in which the actuating lever with the transverse web is swiveled away from the housing, and the clamping point formed by the spring-loaded clamping connection is opened for connecting the electrical conductor.
Regarding claim 17, Kollmann ‘895 teaches the actuation sections at the two support elements spaced less farther apart from one another than a distance between the side wall sections, and wherein the actuation sections extend in parallel to the side wall sections and are integrally formed with the side wall sections such that at least one guide slot (30) is present between each respective actuation section and the associated directly neighboring side wall section (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Kollmann ‘895 teaches a guide web (29) of the housing inserted into an associated guide slot in order to guide the actuating lever during a swivel movement about the rotational axis in a swivel bearing region.
Regarding claim 19, Kollmann ‘895 teaches the actuation sections having a partially circular outer circumference with a cutout forming a shoulder, wherein the clamping spring (19) has an actuating tab (ends of 19, Fig. 4), and wherein the actuating tab of the clamping spring rests on the shoulder when the actuating lever is swiveled to open the clamping point (Figs. 2 and 3).
Double Patenting
The Terminal Disclaimer has been approved.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as applied.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833