DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: various structures throughout the specification are blurry.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 9 contains blurry compounds. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11-12 recite the limitation "the organic material layer" in line 2 rather than “the one or more organic material layers”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation of “the organic material layer” in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (English translation of KR 20150021861 A obtained from Espacenet), supporting evidence provided by Ossila (“Electron / Hole Transport Layer Materials | ETL Layer.” Ossila, 2025. Accessed 18 Aug. 2026.)
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-13, Choi teaches an organic light emitting device having improved luminous efficiency and lifespan by including an aromatic derivative represented by chemical formula 1 having excellent luminous efficiency and thermal stability (¶ [0001], [0012]-[0014], and [0272]). Choi teaches examples of such devices including that of HTL Experiment which includes an anode, a hole transport layer including compound G-12, a light emitting layer, a hole blocking layer, and a cathode (¶ [0269]; Table 20 on pg. 137). Compound G-12 is reproduced below in comparison to the claimed Chemical Formula 1.
G-12:
Chemical Formula 1:
Compound G-12 reads on the claimed Chemical Formula 1 wherein:
R1 is a group represented by Chemical Formula 2, R2 is a substituted C6 aryl group, and R3 is hydrogen;
a is 0 and b is 1;
m is 1, n1 is 1, and n2 is 6;
L1 is an unsubstituted C6 arylene group and L2 and L3 are each a single bond;
Ar1 and Ar2 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl) (claim 6); and
p, q, and r are each 1.
Additionally, compound G-12 reads on the claimed Chemical Formula 1-c (claim 2), Chemical Formula 1-c-1 (claim 3) wherein R3 is hydrogen (claim 4), the structural formula
(claim 7). Compound G-12 does not include deuterium and thus meets the limitations of claim 8.
Per claim 12, a hole transport layer blocks electrons from reaching the anode (see Ossila, middle of pg. 1). Accordingly, a hole transport layer is considered an electron blocking layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (English translation of KR 20150021861 A obtained from Espacenet).
Regarding claim 5, Choi teaches compound G-12, as described above with respect to claim 3.
Compound G-12 fails to read on the limitations of claim 5 as the aryl group is substituted with an amine group. However, Choi teaches in chemical formula 1, X2 may be represented by a hydrogen atom or a substituted aryl group (as shown in compound G-12), among others.
chemical formula 1:
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Choi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the group
in the location of X2 with hydrogen, because Choi teaches X2 may suitably be selected as hydrogen. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful in the hole transport layer of the device of Choi and possess the benefits taught by Choi above. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
In particular, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select hydrogen, because it would have been choosing from a list of groups taught by Choi as suitable for X2, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful in the hole transport layer of the device of Choi and possessing the benefits taught by Choi above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Choi’s chemical formula 1 having the benefits taught by Choi in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
The modified compound G-12 reads on the claimed Chemical Formula 1 wherein R1 is hydrogen. As one of R1 to R3 is not required to be a C6 to C60 aryl group, the limitations of claim 5 are met.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (English translation of KR 20150021861 A obtained from Espacenet) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Parham (US 2016/0308146 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Choi teaches compound G-12, as described above with respect to claim 3.
Compound G-12 fails to read on a claimed compound as it contains two amine groups. However, Choi teaches in chemical formula 1, X2 may be represented by a hydrogen atom or a substituted aryl group (as shown in compound G-12), among others.
chemical formula 1:
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Choi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the group
in the location of X2 with hydrogen, because Choi teaches X2 may suitably be selected as hydrogen. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful in the hole transport layer of the device of Choi and possess the benefits taught by Choi above. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
In particular, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select hydrogen, because it would have been choosing from a list of groups taught by Choi as suitable for X2, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as in the hole transport layer of the device of Choi and possessing the benefits taught by Choi above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Choi’s chemical formula 1 having the benefits taught by Choi in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
modified G-12:
The modified compound G-12 fails to read on a claimed compound as it includes phenyl substituents on the nitrogen atom. However, Choi teaches X3 in chemical formula 1 may be represented by a substituted aryl group having 6 to 50 carbon atoms (¶ [0030]).
Parham teaches a compound represented by general formula (1) for use in a hole transporting layer of an organic electronic device (¶ [0009]-[0010] and [0083]). The compound comprises a hole-transporting group HTG, wherein the HTG may be a triaylamine (¶ [0083]-[0084]). Examples of general formula (1) include Formula (A-149) and Formula (A-150) (pg. 56).
A-149:
A-150:
Accordingly, Parham teaches the hole-transporting group
is a suitable substitute for the hole-transporting group
in a hole transporting compound of an organic electronic device.
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Choi and the teachings of Parham, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute
with
in the modified compound G-12, because Choi teaches X3 in chemical formula 1 may be represented by a substituted aryl group having 6 to 50 carbon atoms and because Parham teaches the hole-transporting group
is a suitable substitute for the hole-transporting group
in a hole transporting compound of an organic electronic device. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful in the hole transport layer of the device of Choi and possess the benefits taught by Choi and Parham. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
The modified compound G-12 reads on the claimed compound 191 (claim 9).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/290,481 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of ‘491 recites compounds and a device that meets the limitations of claims 1 ,6-8, and 10-13 of ‘180.
For example claim 9 of ‘481 recites compound 474 which reads on the limitations of claims 1 and 6-8 of ‘180.
474 of ‘481:
Chemical Formula 1 of ‘180
Compound 474 of ‘481 reads on the Chemical Formula 1 of ‘180 wherein:
R1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group, R2 is a group represented by Chemical Formula 2, and R3 is hydrogen;
a is 0 and b is 1;
m is 1, n1 is 1, and n2 is 6;
L1 to L3 are each a single bond;
Ar1 and Ar2 are each an unsubstituted C12 aryl group (biphenyl) (claim 6); and
p, q, and r are each 1.
Additionally, compound 474 reads on the structural formula
(claim 7), and does not include deuterium (claim 8).
Claim 8 of ‘481 corresponds to claim 8 of ‘180.
Additionally, ‘481 recites Chemical Formula 1 in claims 1-4 and Chemical Formulas 1-1 to 1-3 in claims 5-7. As evidenced by the compounds in claim 9 of ‘481, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select variables of Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formulas 1-1 to 1-3 to arrive at the instant claimed Chemical Formula 1, because it would have been choosing from a list of variables specifically taught, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound possessing the benefits taught by ‘481. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formulas 1-1 to 1-3 of ‘481 having the benefits taught by ‘481 in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Additionally, the device of claims 10-14 of ‘481 correspond to the device of claims 10-13 of ‘180, respectively. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a compound of ‘481 (for example, compound 474) as described in claims 10-14 of ‘481 and thus comprising the limitations of 10-13 of ‘180, because one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected the elements of the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 and the device to predictably maintain their respective properties or functions after they have been combined, and this would have been combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
With respect to claims 2-5 and 9 of ‘180, while compound 474 of ‘481 fails to read on one of the claimed Chemical Formulas 1-a, 1-b, or 1-c, ‘481 does recite in claim 1 that any two or more groups adjacent to each other in Chemical Formula 1 may bond to each other to form a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C60 aromatic hydrocarbon ring or a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C60 heterocycle.
Chemical Formula 1 of ‘481:
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of ‘481, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positional isomer of compound 474 wherein R9 and R10 form a ring rather than R10 and R11. One of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented Chemical Formula 1 of ‘471 in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp and would expect the isomeric compounds to possess the properties taught by ‘471. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09 I. Compounds which are positional isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09 II.
The resulting modified compound reads on the limitations of claims 2-5 of ‘180 and reads on compound 331 (claim 9) of ‘180.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Compound 126 of US 2018/0366647 A1 anticipates the claimed Chemical Formula 1 (see pg. 150).
Contact Information
/BRAELYN R WATSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786