DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the previous rejection of independent claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fishman et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0197325), Applicant has argued that the amendment to claim 1 distinguishes over Fishman et al. because the claim positively recites the perfusion solution as an element of the claimed system, and the claimed perfusion solution includes dextran 40; sodium chloride; potassium chloride; magnesium sulfate anhydrate; disodium phosphate anhydrate; monopotassium phosphate; glucose monohydrate; milrinone; nitroglycerin; insulin; a multi-vitamin; sodium bicarbonate; and methylprednisolone, which are not expressly taught by Fishman et al. The Examiner agrees that these ingredients are not disclosed by Fishman et al.; however, the Examiner asserts that claim 1, as currently worded, still does not require the perfusion solution as a positively recited element of the system.
Claim 1 as currently worded recites:
“A system for perfusing a donor lung in a lung perfusion circuit at physiologic conditions comprising:
a single use disposable lung care module…, and
a drain system…,
wherein the lung perfusion circuit comprises the perfusion solution, and the perfusion solution includes dextran 40; sodium chloride; potassium chloride; magnesium sulfate anhydrate; disodium phosphate anhydrate; monopotassium phosphate; glucose monohydrate; milrinone; nitroglycerin; insulin; a multi-vitamin; sodium bicarbonate; and methylprednisolone.” (emphasis added).
Therefore, the only positively recited elements comprised by the system are the single use disposable lung care module and the drain system. The lung perfusion circuit, which comprises the perfusion solution, is only mentioned in terms of intended use of the system (“for perfusing a donor lung in a lung perfusion circuit”). Therefore, the Examiner asserts that the claim limitation of the particular perfusion solution is only limiting inasmuch as a prior art system must be fully capable of perfusing a donor lung in a lung perfusion circuit at physiologic conditions wherein the lung perfusion circuit comprises the particular claimed perfusion solution, in order to anticipate the claim. The Examiner maintains that the system disclosed by Fishman et al. would be fully capable of achieving the claimed intended use of handling a perfusion solution having the ingredients listed in claim 1, as discussed in the prior Office Action (see p. 6), and therefore the rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Because the claim as currently worded does not require the perfusion solution as a positively recited element of the system, the previous nonstatutory double patenting rejections are also maintained.
The previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments dated 08/13/2026.
The previous drawings objection has been withdrawn in view of the replacement drawings dated 08/13/2026.
The previous claim objection has been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments dated 08/13/2026.
The claim amendments have necessitated a modified grounds of rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/13/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fishman et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0197325) (already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Fishman et al. discloses a system for perfusing a donor lung in a lung perfusion circuit at physiologic conditions (Abstract, para. 2, para. 57-58) comprising:
a single use disposable lung care module (para. 143) including an interface adapted for attachment of the single use disposable lung care module to a multiple use module (para. 10),
wherein the single use disposable lung care module comprises a lung chamber assembly having a first interface allowing a flow of a perfusion solution into the lung and a second interface allowing ventilation of the lung with a ventilation gas (para. 10, 12, 143), and
a drain system for draining a flow of perfusion solution from the lung chamber assembly (para. 12).
As to the limitation of wherein the lung perfusion circuit comprises the perfusion solution, and the perfusion solution includes dextran 40; sodium chloride; potassium chloride; magnesium sulfate anhydrate; disodium phosphate anhydrate; monopotassium phosphate; glucose monohydrate; milrinone; nitroglycerin; insulin; a multi-vitamin; sodium bicarbonate; and methylprednisolone, it is noted that neither the lung perfusion circuit nor the perfusion solution is a positively recited structural element of the claimed system. The claim as currently worded defines “A system for perfusing a donor lung in a lung perfusion circuit…wherein the lung perfusion circuit comprises the perfusion solution” (emphasis added), and the claim does not state that the system comprises the lung perfusion circuit. Therefore, the noted limitation represents a recitation of intended use of the claimed system and has been given appropriate patentable weight. It is well established that "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." (see MPEP 2114). Fishman et al. discloses each and every positively recited structural element of the claimed system, as set forth above. Furthermore, the system disclosed by Fishman et al. allows a flow of perfusion solution and drains a flow of perfusion fluid, as set forth above, wherein the perfusion fluid comprises blood, dextran, insulin, vitamins (para. 80), and therefore the prior art system would be fully capable of achieving the claimed intended use of handling a perfusion solution having the ingredients listed in claim 1. Therefore, Fishman et al. fully anticipates claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Fishman et al. wherein the system further comprises discloses a heater for replacing heat lost by the perfusion solution during circulation of the perfusion solution through the lung perfusion circuit (para. 72, 149).
Regarding claim 3, Fishman et al. discloses wherein the heater maintains the perfusion solution between temperatures of 30⁰ C and 37⁰ C (para. 72).
Regarding claim 4, Fishman et al. discloses wherein the system further comprises a pulmonary artery cannula that connects the lung perfusion circuit with a vascular system of the lung (para. 13).
Regarding claim 5, Fishman et al. discloses wherein the pulmonary artery cannula includes an insertion tube for insertion into a pulmonary artery of the lung (para. 73).
Regarding claim 6, Fishman et al. discloses wherein the lung chamber assembly includes a housing, a support surface, and a removable lid (para. 14, 148).
Regarding claim 7, Fishman et al. discloses wherein the support surface comprises a wrap configured to support the lung (para. 151).
Regarding claim 8, Fishman et al. discloses wherein the wrap comprises polyurethane (para. 151).
Regarding claim 9, Fishman et al. discloses wherein the ventilation gas is selectable form a maintenance gas and an assessment gas (para. 11-13).
Regarding claim 10, Fishman et al. discloses wherein the system further comprises a bellows that causes the ventilation gas to enter and exit the lung (para. 11, 68).
Regarding claim 11, Fishman et al. discloses wherein the bellows is controlled by a mechanical ventilator with an actuator arm (para. 68).
Regarding claim 12, Fishman et al. discloses wherein the system further comprises a trickle valve for controlling supply of the ventilation gas to maintain a predetermined composition of the ventilation gas (para. 11, 95-98).
Regarding claim 13, Fishman et al. discloses wherein the second interface includes a tracheal cannula (para. 13).
Regarding claim 14, Fishman et al. discloses wherein the tracheal cannula further comprises:
a tracheal insertion portion for inserting into the trachea (para. 82), and
a flexible portion (para. 82).
Regarding claim 15, Fishman et al. discloses wherein the flexible portion can be clamped to seal off ventilation gas flow in and out of the lung (para. 84).
Regarding claim 16, Fishman et al. discloses wherein the flexible portion further comprises a locknut (reads on a locking nut) for securing the tracheal cannula to the lung chamber assembly (para. 85) (Figs. 7A-7E, sheet 8 of 36).
Regarding claim 17, Fishman et al. discloses wherein the wrap is further configured to anchor the lung (para. 151).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 9-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 15, 32, 40, and 45 of U.S. Patent No. 9,814,230. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, either claim 1 or claim 32 of the reference patent recites a system for perfusing a lung in a lung perfusion circuit (the lung is clearly ex vivo and thus the system is understood to be for perfusing a donor lung; the system is fully capable of perfusing the lung at or near physiologic conditions) comprising:
a single use disposable lung care module including an interface adapted for attachment to the single use module,
a lung chamber assembly having a first interface for allowing a flow of a perfusion solution into the lung and a second interface for allowing ventilation of the lung with a ventilation gas, and
a drain system for draining a flow of perfusion solution from the lung chamber assembly.
The reference patent claims do not expressly recite wherein the perfusion solution includes the elements listed in claim 1. However, this limitation represents an intended use of the system and has therefore been given appropriate patentable weight. The reference patent system is configured to handle a perfusion fluid for a lung and would be fully capable of handling various perfusion fluids including various ingredients such as those listed in claim 1. Therefore, the limitation does not introduce a patentable difference.
Regarding claim 9, either claim 15 or claim 45 of the reference patent recites wherein the ventilation gas is a maintenance gas.
Regarding claim 10, either claim 10 or claim 40 of the reference patent recites the bellows.
Claims 1-10, 12-15 and 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 11-12, 14-15, 17, 19-20, 25,32 and 34-35 of U.S. Patent No. 9,247,728. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the reference patent recites a system for perfusing a lung in a lung perfusion circuit (the lung is clearly ex vivo and thus the system is understood to be for perfusing a donor lung; the system is fully capable of perfusing the lung at or near physiologic conditions) comprising:
a single use disposable lung care module including an interface adapted for attachment to the single use module,
a lung chamber assembly having a first interface for allowing a flow of a perfusion solution into the lung and a second interface for allowing ventilation of the lung with a ventilation gas, and
a drain system for draining a flow of perfusion solution from the lung chamber assembly.
The reference patent claim does not expressly recite wherein the perfusion solution includes the elements listed in claim 1. However, this limitation represents an intended use of the system and has therefore been given appropriate patentable weight. The reference patent system is configured to handle a perfusion fluid for a lung and would be fully capable of handling various perfusion fluids including various ingredients such as those listed in claim 1. Therefore, the limitation does not introduce a patentable difference.
Regarding claim 2, claim 19 of the reference patent recites a heater for heating the perfusion fluid (reads on for replacing heat lost as claimed).
Regarding claim 3, claim 20 of the reference patent recites wherein the heater maintains the perfusion solution between temperatures of 30C and 37C.
Regarding claim 4, claim 25 of the reference patent recites the pulmonary artery cannula.
Regarding claim 5, claim 25 of the reference patent recites the insertion tube.
Regarding claim 6, claim 32 of the reference patent recites the housing, support surface, and removable lid.
Regarding claim 7, claim 34 of the reference patent recites the wrap.
Regarding claim 8, claim 35 of the reference patent recites wherein the wrap comprises polyurethane.
Regarding claim 9, claim 4 of the reference patent recites wherein the ventilation gas is selectable from a maintenance gas and an assessment gas.
Regarding claim 10, claim 11 of the reference patent recites the bellows.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 of the reference patent recites the trickle valve controlling a supply of maintenance gas to maintain a predetermined composition.
Regarding claim 13, claim 14 of the reference patent recites the tracheal cannula.
Regarding claim 14, claim 15 of the reference patent recites the tracheal insertion portion and the flexible portion.
Regarding claim 15, claim 17 of the reference patent recites wherein the flexible portion can be clamped.
Regarding claim 17, claim 34 of the reference patent recites wherein the wrap is configured to anchor the lung.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOLLY KIPOUROS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799