DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is in response to claims filed on January 8, 2025 in which claims 1-12 and 14-18 are presented for examination. Claim 13 has been cancelled.
PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED
In view of the appeal brief filed on August 13, 2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/CLINTON T OSTRUP/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3732
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooke (2018/0014597) in view of Shearman et al. (2016/0044276)[Shearman] in view of Rosati et al. (2021/0228919)[Rosati].
Regarding claim 1, Cooke teaches, A helmet apparatus comprising: a shell defining an interior space in the shell, the shell defining an opening to the interior space in a bottom of the shell, the shell defining an aperture extending through a front side of the shell to the interior space; a visor being coupled to the shell, the visor being positionable to cover the aperture (“The electronic motorcycle helmet comprises a helmet 11 having an aperture 14 configured to receive a head therethrough. In some embodiments, the helmet 11 further comprises shielding against harmful radio waves, such as a Faraday cage. In additional embodiments, the helmet 11 comprises a waterproof coating to prevent water from damage to the electronic components therein, as well as preventing water from seeping into the interior of the helmet 11. A visor 13 is disposed on a front side 12 of the helmet 11… the visor 13 is pivotally affixed to the helmet 11 at opposing rear ends 37 of the visor 13. The visor 13 is configured to selectively move between a raised position as shown in FIG. 1B, and a lowered position as shown in FIG. 1A. In the raised position, the visor 13 reveals an opening 29 disposed within the front side 12, the opening 29 allowing access to the interior of the helmet 11.”, [0014], therefore, A helmet apparatus (figures 1A and 1B) comprising: 11 defining 14 in 11, 11 defining an opening to 14 in a bottom of 11, 11 defining 29 extending through 12 of 11 to 14; 13 being coupled to 11, 13 being positionable to cover 29); a processor (“Referring now to FIG. 3, there is shown a schematic view of the control circuit of an embodiment of the electronic motorcycle helmet. The helmet further comprises a microprocessor 201 having a logic configured to receive a command input 200, toggle one of a plurality of subsystems 202 between an activated state and a deactivated state, and display a status window corresponding to the selected subsystem 202. “, [0025], therefore, the helmet comprises 201); a plurality of cameras being mounted to the shell, each camera of the plurality of cameras being operatively coupled to the processor, each camera of the plurality of cameras facing outwardly away from the shell, the plurality of cameras including a front camera which faces forwardly from the shell, a rear camera which faces rearwardly from the shell, and a pair of lateral cameras which face respective lateral directions away from the shell; and a display being configured to show images on the visor, the display being operatively coupled to the processor, the processor being programmed to cause the display to show video streams captured by one of the plurality of cameras (“A display is disposed on an interior surface of the visor. A microprocessor having a logic configured to receive a command input directed to one of plurality of subsystems, toggle the subsystem between an activated state and a deactivated state, and display a status window on the display corresponding to the subsystem. The plurality of subsystems include a pair of cameras disposed on each of a pair of opposing lateral sides of the helmet and a third camera disposed on a rear side of the helmet, wherein each of the cameras is operably connected to the display and is configured to apply a low-light filter for low-light conditions.”, [0006], “a pair of cameras 16 disposed on opposing lateral sides 15 of the helmet 11. In the illustrated embodiment, the cameras 16 are disposed at eye level of a user wearing the helmet 11.”, [0015], “Referring now to FIG. 2, there is shown a rear view of an embodiment of the electronic motorcycle helmet. In the illustrated embodiment, the helmet 11 further comprises a third camera 31 disposed on a rear side 30 of the helmet 11. The third camera 31 is disposed in line with the pair of cameras to provide a panoramic view of the surroundings around the helmet 11.”, [0022], “The helmet further comprises a microprocessor 201 having a logic configured to receive a command input 200, toggle one of a plurality of subsystems 202 between an activated state and a deactivated state, and display a status window corresponding to the selected subsystem 202. In this way, the user can select one of a plurality of subsystems 202 that the user desires to interact with, and issue a command input 200 to activate the selected subsystem 202, deactivate the selected subsystem 202, or display a status window on the display corresponding to the selected subsystem 202.”, [0025], “one of the plurality of subsystems 202 comprises the camera system 203. The camera system 203 comprises the pair of cameras and the third camera and is configured to send a video input to the display to display the surroundings around the helmet. The status window displayed by the camera system 203 comprises individual view of each video feed along the display. In this way, the camera system 203 provides the user with a panoramic view of the surroundings.”, [0027], “A display 40 is disposed on an interior surface 43 of the visor. The display 40 is configured to display an augmented reality view, superimposing a computer-generated image over a live image in order to create a composite view of the view a user would see through the visor. In some embodiments, the display 40 utilizes a forward mounted camera disposed on the front of the helmet, wherein the camera is configured as the pair of cameras and the third camera, allowing the augmented reality view of the display 40 to apply various filters and functions, such as zooming and focusing.”, [0032], therefore, a plurality of cameras (16, 31) being mounted to 11, each camera of the plurality of cameras (16, 31) being operatively coupled to 201, each camera of the plurality of cameras (16, 31) being facing outwardly away from 11, the plurality of cameras (16, 31) including 31 which faces rearwardly from 11, and a pair of lateral 16 which face respective lateral directions away from 11; and 40 being configured to show images on 13, 40 being operatively coupled to 201, 201 being programmed to cause 40 to show video streams captured by one of the plurality of cameras (16,31), figures 1-4); and a fan being mounted in the shell, the fan being configured to urge air between the interior space and a surrounding environment (Cooke, “the air intake 22 further comprises a fan 38 disposed therein, the fan 38 configured to force air into the interior of the helmet 11 to aid in the ventilation thereof.”, [0021], “the air outtake 35 further comprises a fan disposed therein, the fan configured to force air from the interior to the exterior”, [0024], therefore, further comprising 38 being mounted in 11, 38 being configured to urge air between the interior space and a surrounding environment, figures 1A-2).
While Cooke discloses a processor 201, the location of 201 is not disclosed. Therefore, Cooke fails to teach, the visor comprising a transparent material, a processor being mounted in the shell, the plurality of cameras including a front camera which faces forwardly from the shell; and the fan being operatively coupled to the processor.
Shearman, a helmet with camera, Abstract, teaches, the visor comprising a transparent material (“the secondary visor 140 defines a translucent (or transparent)member including a reflective region that resolves a projected image into the user's eyes.”, [0033], therefore, 140 comprising a transparent material); a processor being mounted in the shell (“the shell no defines a fairing receptacle 114 on its exterior dorsal side, and the helmet system 100 further includes a fairing 120 transiently coupled to the fairing receptacle 114, as shown in FIG. 3. In this variation, the fairing 120 can mount to the outside of the shell 110, such as centered on top of the shell no behind the primary visor 130, and can house various components of the helmet system 100. For example, the fairing 120 can house any one or more of: a processor 124 executing the method described below”, [0022], therefore, 124 being mounted in 110, figures 3 and 4, see also figure 5 which shows processor 124 mounted in the shell), the plurality of cameras including a front camera which faces forwardly from the shell (“the helmet system 100 includes a forward-facing camera 151 mounted on the shell no and defining a field of view extending outwardly from the anterior end of the shell no. In this variation, the (rear-facing) camera and the forward-facing camera 151 can be of a similar sensor type.”, [0131], therefore the plurality of cameras including 151 which faces forwardly from 110, figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the visor of Cooke as being comprised of a transparent material as taught by Shearman, in order to provide the user a visor with high visibility, and to provide the processor of Cooke as being mounted in the shell as further taught by Shearman, in order to provide a processor that is mounted to the shell to provide a secure location for the processor and to provide the helmet of Cooke with a front camera as taught by Shearman in order to provide the user the benefit of “defining a field of view extending outwardly from the anterior end of the shell”, [0031].
While Cooke discloses a fan 38 and a processor 201, the fan 38 is not disclosed as being operatively coupled to the processor. Therefore, the combined references fail to teach, the fan being operatively coupled to the processor.
Rosati, headwear with a processor for controlling signals, Abstract, [0015], [0043], teaches, headwear comprising: a fan, the fan being operatively coupled to the processor (“The system includes a head unit shaped to be worn over the head of the wearer; a hood positioned over the head unit; one or more sensors configured to produce one or more sensor-output signals; and a controller connected to the one or more sensors and configured to produce one or more controller-output signals based on the one or more sensor-output signals.”, Abstract, “Embodiments of the disclosure solve these problems and provide other benefits through a personal protection system and device employing one or more of the following features: an intake air duct with enhanced fresh air circulation; an easy-donning hood-helmet interface; a free-flow main air duct; automatic airflow control; and a touchless user interface.”, [0013], “FIGS. 7-16 show an exemplary easy-donning hood-helmet interface, in one embodiment of the disclosure. In this embodiment, a vision element frame 706 (hereinafter referred to as lensframe 706) is adapted to swivel around pivot points or along a slotted link on head unit 708, thereby allowing the user full visibility during donning, which reduces the likelihood of unintentional contact with the gown.”, [0043],“As shown in FIGS. 17 and 18, head unit 708 comprises an air duct assembly including one upper surface 1302, two side bounding surfaces (e.g., 1704), and at least one bottom opening (e.g., 1802), arranged such that a fourth bounding surface (or barrier) 1706 is partially formed by the upper part of the skull itself. This configuration allows a reduction of weight, while keeping the head flush above the hairline.”, [0054], “Sensors 1902 are connected to a controller 1904 that is configured to receive one or more sensor signals and generate a fan-speed-control output signal based thereon. In one embodiment, controller 1904 comprises a fan-speed-adjustment (FSA) algorithm that converts the one or more sensor signals into a rate-of-change signal and further translates it (e.g., via an amplifier, a level-shifter, an analog-to-digital converter, a digital-to-analog converter, or an algorithm corresponding to such devices) into an output signal that is sent to the fan-speed control unit 1906. The controller's output signal includes, e.g., the specific information of desired rate of change to the fan speed (RPM) over time and the direction of change (increase or decrease). Finally, variable-speed fan 1908 operates at a speed that is determined by, and corresponds to, the fan-speed control unit's output signal.”, [0058], “the controller 1904 is a digital processor having software that is configured based on a user's specific personal need or an operating-room or field condition, including, e.g., ambient temperature and ambient sunlight. The digital processor may be a general microprocessor, a digital signal processor, or a digital microcontroller.”, [0059], “Controller 1904 is further configured to control the fan…and/or to switch between a manual fan-control mode to an automatic fan-control mode, based on the user's command.”, [0075], therefore, headwear (706/708) comprising: 1908, 1908 being operatively coupled to 1904, figures 7 and 17-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fan of the combined references, as being operatively coupled to the processor as taught by Rosati, in order to provide the fan of Cooke the ability to be configured to “a user's specific personal need”, [0059], since “the fan-speed control unit automatically adjusts the fan speed based on the determined user activity. For example, during periods of high activity, the controller 1904 produces an output signal that causes the fan-speed control unit 1906 to increase the fan speed. Conversely, during periods of low activity, the controller 1904 produces an output signal that causes the fan-speed control unit 1906 to decrease the fan speed.”, [0070].
Regarding claim 2, the combined refences teach, wherein the shell defines a plurality of vents extending through the shell to the interior space (Cooke, “the helmet 11 further comprises an air intake 22 disposed on the front side 12 of the helmet 11. The air intake 22 is configured to feed air into the interior of the helmet 11…the air intake 22 is configured to move between an open position and a closed position, wherein air is prevented from entering the helmet 11 through the air intake 22 when the air intake 22 is in the closed position. When in the closed position, air is instead forced to enter the helmet 11 through the filter 23, allowing the user to control the air quality entering the helmet 11. In this way, the user is provided additional protection against potential distractions, allowing a safer driving experience.”, [0021], “the helmet 11 further comprises an air outtake 35 disposed on the rear side 30. The air outtake 35 is configured to move air from the interior of the helmet 11 to the exterior to assist in ventilation.”, [0024], therefore, wherein 11 defines a plurality of vents (22/23, 35) extending through 11 to the interior space, figures 1A-2).
Regarding claim 3, the combined refences teach, wherein the visor is movable between a lowered position and a raised position, the visor covering the aperture when positioned in the lowered position (Cooke, “the visor 13 is pivotally affixed to the helmet 11 at opposing rear ends 37 of the visor 13. The visor 13 is configured to selectively move between a raised position as shown in FIG. 1B, and a lowered position as shown in FIG. 1A. In the raised position, the visor 13 reveals an opening 29 disposed within the front side 12, the opening 29 allowing access to the interior of the helmet 11. In this way, a user can open and close the visor 13 as desired to provide the user with an analog view of the surroundings. In some embodiments, the visor 13 further comprises a polarized coating configured to prevent glare, and protect against ultraviolet light. In this way, the visor 13 provides eye protection to the user. In an alternate embodiment, the visor 13 further comprises a water and fog resistant coating to prevent the view of the user from being obscured.”, [0014], therefore, wherein 13 is movable between a lowered position and a raised position, 13 covering 29 when positioned in the lowered position).
Regarding claim 4, the combined refences teach, wherein the visor is polarized (Cooke, “the visor 13 further comprises a polarized coating configured to prevent glare, and protect against ultraviolet light. In this way, the visor 13 provides eye protection to the user”, [0014], therefore, wherein 13 as combined above (transparent as taught by Shearman) is polarized).
Regarding claim 5, the combined references teach, wherein the processor has a memory, the processor being programmed to store video from the plurality of cameras on the memory.
The combined references fail to teach, wherein the processor has a memory, the processor being programmed to store video from the plurality of cameras on the memory.
Shearman further teaches, wherein the processor has a memory, the processor being programmed to store video from the plurality of cameras on the memory (“the helmet system 100 includes a forward-facing camera 151 mounted on the shell no and defining a field of view extending outwardly from the anterior end of the shell no. In this variation, the (rear-facing) camera and the forward-facing camera 151 can be of a similar sensor type.”, [0031], “For example, the fairing 120 can house any one or more of: a processor 124 executing the method described below…a local memory module 126 (e.g., a solid state hard drive or removable secure digital memory card)”, [0022], “As shown in FIG. 9, a method S100 for recording accidents includes, in a first mode: with a camera arranged on a helmet, capturing a second video frame at a second time in Block S110; storing the second video frame with a first sequence of video frames in local memory in the helmet in Block S120… The method S100 further includes: based on an output of an inertial sensor arranged within the helmet, detecting an accident involving the helmet in Block S140; in response to detecting the accident, transitioning from the first mode into a second mode in Block S150; in the second mode, with the camera, capturing a second sequence of video frames in Block S160, and storing the second sequence of video frames in local memory in the helmet in Block S170, the second sequence of video frames corresponding to a period of time exceeding the buffer duration; and generating a video file from the first sequence of video frames and the second sequence of video frames stored in local memory in Block S180”, [0076], “Block S120 of the method S100 recites storing the second video frame with a first sequence of video frames in local memory in the helmet, wherein the first sequence of video frames was captured over a period of time corresponding to a buffer duration.”, [0080], therefore, wherein 124 has 126, 126 being programmed to store video from the plurality of 150/151 on 126, figures 1-5 and 9, see also [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide processor of the combined references as having a memory and have the processor programmed to store video from the plurality of cameras on the memory as further taught by Shearman, in order to provide the user the ability to capture video frames and generate “a video file from the first sequence of video frames and the second sequence of video frames stored in local memory”, [0076].
Regarding claim 6, the combined refences teach, wherein the display is mounted to the visor (Cooke, “The pair of cameras 16 are operably connected to a display (as shown in FIG. 4, 40) disposed on an interior surface of the visor 13 such that the pair of cameras 16 are configured to display a video feed on the display.”, [0015], “A display 40 is disposed on an interior surface 43 of the visor. The display 40 is configured to display an augmented reality view, superimposing a computer-generated image over a live image in order to create a composite view of the view a user would see through the visor.”, [0032], therefore, wherein 40 is mounted to 13).
Regarding claim 7, the combined references teach, wherein the display comprises a projector mounted to the shell and facing the visor (Cooke, “A display 40 is disposed on an interior surface 43 of the visor. The display 40 is configured to display an augmented reality view, superimposing a computer-generated image over a live image in order to create a composite view of the view a user would see through the visor. In some embodiments, the display 40 utilizes a forward mounted camera disposed on the front of the helmet, wherein the camera is configured as the pair of cameras and the third camera, allowing the augmented reality view of the display 40 to apply various filters and functions, such as zooming and focusing.”, [0032], therefore, wherein 40 comprises a projector (“superimposing a computer-generated image”) mounted to 11 and facing 13).
Regarding claim 8, the combined refences teach, wherein the processor being programmed to generate images from all cameras of the plurality of cameras (as combined above, wherein the 201 being programmed to generate images from all cameras of the plurality of 16, 31 and 151 of Shearman, see Cooke, figure 3 and Cooke, [0006], “The plurality of subsystems include a pair of cameras disposed on each of a pair of opposing lateral sides of the helmet and a third camera disposed on a rear side of the helmet, wherein each of the cameras is operably connected to the display and is configured to apply a low-light filter for low-light conditions.”, Cooke [0015], “The helmet 11 further comprises a pair of cameras 16 disposed on opposing lateral sides 15 of the helmet 11. In the illustrated embodiment, the cameras 16 are disposed at eye level of a user wearing the helmet 11. The pair of cameras 16 are operably connected to a display (as shown in FIG. 4, 40) disposed on an interior surface of the visor 13 such that the pair of cameras 16 are configured to display a video feed on the display.”, Cooke [0022], “the helmet 11 further comprises a third camera 31 disposed on a rear side 30 of the helmet 11. The third camera 31 is disposed in line with the pair of cameras to provide a panoramic view of the surroundings around the helmet 11. The third camera 31 is operably connected to the display and can further apply a low-light filter to provide the user visibility in low-light conditions.”, Cooke, [0032], “The display 40 is configured to display an augmented reality view, superimposing a computer-generated image over a live image in order to create a composite view of the view a user would see through the visor. In some embodiments, the display 40 utilizes a forward mounted camera disposed on the front of the helmet, wherein the camera is configured as the pair of cameras and the third camera, allowing the augmented reality view of the display 40 to apply various filters and functions, such as zooming and focusing.”, [0032]).
While Cooke discloses the processor generating images from all cameras of the plurality of cameras, the combined references fail to teach, the processor being programmed to generate composite images from all cameras of the plurality of cameras
Shearman, further teaches, the processor being programmed to generate composite images from all cameras of the plurality of cameras (“the helmet system 100 can include multiple cameras (or multiple optical sensors) defining fields of view extending outwardly from the posterior end of the shell 110. In this implementation, the helmet system 100 can stitch multiple video frames captured by the set of cameras during a single sampling period into a single composite frame, crop a region of interest from the composite frame, and then project the region of interest onto the secondary visor 140.”, [0030],” For example, the fairing 120 can house any one or more of: a processor 124 executing the method described below”, [0022], therefore, as shown figure 4, wherein 124 being programmed to generate composite images from all cameras of the plurality of 150/151, see also [0067], [0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the processor of the combined references as being programmed to generate composite images as taught by Shearman, in order to provide the user the ability to “stitch multiple video frames captured by the set of cameras during a single sampling period into a single composite frame, crop a region of interest from the composite frame, and then project the region of interest onto the…visor”, [0030].
Regarding claim 9, the combined references teach, further comprising a global positioning system (GPS) module being operatively coupled to the processor, the processor being programmed to receive navigation data from the GPS module and cause the display to show the navigation data (Cooke, “The plurality of subsystems 202 further comprise a GPS subsystem 205 configured to triangulate the position of the helmet relative to the surroundings and display the current location of the helmet on the display. The GPS subsystem 204 is further configured to allow a user to select a destination and direct the user to the selected location. The status window corresponding to the GPS subsystem 204 includes a map showing the location of the user relative to the desired location.”, [0029], therefore, further comprising 205 being operatively coupled to 201, 201 being programmed to receive navigation data from 205and cause the display to show the navigation data, figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, the combined references teach, further comprising a transceiver being operatively coupled to the processor wherein the processor is configured to wirelessly communicate with a remote electronic device (Cooke, “the plurality of subsystems 202 further comprises a wireless transceiver 204 configured to wirelessly communicate with an external device. In this way, the wireless transceiver 204 can receive AM radio, FM radio, satellite radio, and can wirelessly connect to an electronic device, such as a smartphone, allowing the user to receive and transmit phone and video calls.”, [0028], therefore, further comprising 204 being operatively coupled to 201 wherein 201 is configured to wirelessly communicate with a remote electronic device, figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, the combined references teach, an interior surface of the shell, a front portion of the interior surface (Cooke, 11 has an interior surface and a front portion of the interior surface, figures 1A-1B), the aperture and the bottom of the shell (Cooke, 29 and the bottom of 11, figure 1B), and the processor (Cooke, 201 figure 3, as being mounted in the shell as combined above as taught by Shearman).
The combined references fail to teach, a microphone being mounted to an interior surface of the shell, the microphone being positioned on a front portion of the interior surface between the aperture and the bottom of the shell, the microphone being operatively coupled to the processor.
Shearman, further teaches, a microphone being mounted to an interior surface of the shell, the microphone being positioned on a front portion of the interior surface between the aperture and the bottom of the shell, the microphone being operatively coupled to the processor (“the shell 110 can also include a wiring harness 117 extending from a connector in the fairing receptacle 114 to the interior volume 111, such as to one or more speakers 118 (or speaker receptacles), to a microphone 119, and/or to the projector(s), as shown in FIG. 3... the wireless communication module 123 can transmit and receive audio signals to the speaker(s) 118 and to the microphone 119, respectively, via the wiring harness 117”, [0023], therefore, 119 being mounted to an interior surface of 110, 119 being positioned on a front portion of the interior surface between 112 and the bottom of 110 (shown in figures 4 and 5), 119 being operatively coupled to 124 (shown in figure 4), see also [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the interior surface of the shell of Cooke, with a microphone as taught by Shearman, in order to provide the user the ability to receive audio signals, [0022].
Regarding claim 12, the combined references teach, an interior surface of the shell (Cooke, 11 has an interior surface and a front portion of the interior surface, figures 1A-1B), and the processor (Cooke, 201 figure 3, as being mounted in the shell as combined above as taught by Shearman).
The combined references teach, further comprising a speaker being mounted to an interior surface of the shell, the speaker being operatively coupled to the processor.
Shearman, further teaches, further comprising a speaker being mounted to an interior surface of the shell, the speaker being operatively coupled to the processor (“the shell 110 can also include a wiring harness 117 extending from a connector in the fairing receptacle 114 to the interior volume 111, such as to one or more speakers 118 (or speaker receptacles), to a microphone 119, and/or to the projector(s), as shown in FIG. 3... the wireless communication module 123 can transmit and receive audio signals to the speaker(s) 118 and to the microphone 119, respectively, via the wiring harness 117”, [0023], therefore, further comprising 118 being mounted to an interior surface of 110, 118 being operatively coupled to the 124, figures 3 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the interior surface of the shell of Cooke, with a speaker as taught by Shearman, in order to provide the user the ability to receive audio signals, [0022].
Regarding claim 14, the combined refences teach, further comprising a power supply being mounted in the shell, the power supply being electrically coupled to the processor (Cooke, “the helmet 11 further comprises a charging cable 32 operably connected to a battery 33. The charging cable 32 is configured to electrically connect to an external power source, such as a wall outlet, cigarette lighter port, battery pack, or USB port to provide charge to the battery 33. In some embodiments, the charging cable 32 is retractably mounted within the helmet 11 such the charging cable 32 selectively moves between an extended position and a retracted position, wherein the charging cable 32 is disposed within the helmet 11 when in the retracted position. In the illustrated embodiment, the battery 33 is removably securable along the lower edge 34 of the rear side 30. The battery 33 is configured to be recharged by the charging cable 32 as well as the solar panel.”, [0023], therefore, further comprising 33 being mounted in 11, 33 being electrically coupled to 201 (shown in figure 3).
Regarding claim 15, the combined refences teach, wherein the power supply comprises a battery (“the helmet 11 further comprises a charging cable 32 operably connected to a battery 33. The charging cable 32 is configured to electrically connect to an external power source, such as a wall outlet, cigarette lighter port, battery pack, or USB port to provide charge to the battery 33. In some embodiments, the charging cable 32 is retractably mounted within the helmet 11 such the charging cable 32 selectively moves between an extended position and a retracted position, wherein the charging cable 32 is disposed within the helmet 11 when in the retracted position. In the illustrated embodiment, the battery 33 is removably securable along the lower edge 34 of the rear side 30. The battery 33 is configured to be recharged by the charging cable 32 as well as the solar panel.”, [0023], therefore, 33 comprises a battery).
Regarding claim 16, the combined refences teach, further comprising a solar panel being mounted atop the shell and being electrically coupled to the battery (“A solar panel 18 is disposed on an upper surface 19 of the helmet 11, the solar panel 18 operably connected to a battery (as shown in FIG. 2, 33) such that the energy produced by the solar panel 18 can be used to provide charge to the battery.”, [0017], therefore, further comprising 18 being mounted atop 11 and being electrically coupled to 33, figures 1A and 2).
Regarding claim 17, the combined refences teach, further comprising a charge port being mounted to the shell and being electrically coupled to the processor, the processor being programmed to direct electricity from the charge port to the battery (“the helmet 11 further comprises a charging cable 32 operably connected to a battery 33. The charging cable 32 is configured to electrically connect to an external power source, such as a wall outlet, cigarette lighter port, battery pack, or USB port to provide charge to the battery 33. In some embodiments, the charging cable 32 is retractably mounted within the helmet 11 such the charging cable 32 selectively moves between an extended position and a retracted position, wherein the charging cable 32 is disposed within the helmet 11 when in the retracted position. In the illustrated embodiment, the battery 33 is removably securable along the lower edge 34 of the rear side 30. The battery 33 is configured to be recharged by the charging cable 32 as well as the solar panel.”, [0023], therefore, further comprising a 32 being mounted to 11 and being electrically coupled to 201 (figure 3), 201 being programmed to direct electricity from 32 to 33, figure 2).
Regarding claim 18, Cooke teaches, A helmet apparatus comprising: a shell defining an interior space in the shell, the shell defining an opening to the interior space in a bottom of the shell, the shell defining an aperture extending through a front side of the shell to the interior space (“The electronic motorcycle helmet comprises a helmet 11 having an aperture 14 configured to receive a head therethrough. In some embodiments, the helmet 11 further comprises shielding against harmful radio waves, such as a Faraday cage. In additional embodiments, the helmet 11 comprises a waterproof coating to prevent water from damage to the electronic components therein, as well as preventing water from seeping into the interior of the helmet 11”, [0014], therefore, A helmet apparatus (figures 1A and 1B) comprising: 11 defining 14 in 11, 11 defining an opening to 14 in a bottom of 11, 11 defining 29 extending through 12 of 11 to 14), the shell defining a plurality of vents extending through the shell to the interior space (“the helmet 11 further comprises an air intake 22 disposed on the front side 12 of the helmet 11. The air intake 22 is configured to feed air into the interior of the helmet 11…the air intake 22 is configured to move between an open position and a closed position, wherein air is prevented from entering the helmet 11 through the air intake 22 when the air intake 22 is in the closed position. When in the closed position, air is instead forced to enter the helmet 11 through the filter 23, allowing the user to control the air quality entering the helmet 11. In this way, the user is provided additional protection against potential distractions, allowing a safer driving experience.”, [0021], “the helmet 11 further comprises an air outtake 35 disposed on the rear side 30. The air outtake 35 is configured to move air from the interior of the helmet 11 to the exterior to assist in ventilation.”, [0024], therefore, 11 defining a plurality of vents (22/23, 35) extending through 11 to the interior space, figures 1A-2); a visor being pivotally coupled to the shell, the visor being movable between a lowered position and a raised position, the visor covering the aperture when positioned in the lowered position, the visor comprising a material, the visor being polarized (“A visor 13 is disposed on a front side 12 of the helmet 11. In the illustrated embodiment, the visor 13 is pivotally affixed to the helmet 11 at opposing rear ends 37 of the visor 13. The visor 13 is configured to selectively move between a raised position as shown in FIG. 1B, and a lowered position as shown in FIG. 1A. In the raised position, the visor 13 reveals an opening 29 disposed within the front side 12, the opening 29 allowing access to the interior of the helmet 11. In this way, a user can open and close the visor 13 as desired to provide the user with an analog view of the surroundings. In some embodiments, the visor 13 further comprises a polarized coating configured to prevent glare, and protect against ultraviolet light. In this way, the visor 13 provides eye protection to the user.”, [0014], therefore, 13 being pivotally coupled to 11, 13 being movable between a lowered position and a raised position, 13 covering 29 when positioned in the lowered position, 13 comprising a material, 13 being polarized, figures 1A-2); a processor (“Referring now to FIG. 3, there is shown a schematic view of the control circuit of an embodiment of the electronic motorcycle helmet. The helmet further comprises a microprocessor 201 having a logic configured to receive a command input 200, toggle one of a plurality of subsystems 202 between an activated state and a deactivated state, and display a status window corresponding to the selected subsystem 202.”, [0025], therefore, the helmet comprises 201); a plurality of cameras being mounted to the shell, each camera of the plurality of cameras being operatively coupled to the processor, each camera of the plurality of cameras facing outwardly away from the shell, the plurality of cameras including, a rear camera which faces rearwardly from the shell, and a pair of lateral cameras which face respective lateral directions away from the shell, the processor being programmed to generate composite images from all cameras of the plurality of cameras; a display being configured to show images on the visor, the display being operatively coupled to the processor, the display being mounted to the visor, the processor being programmed to cause the display to show video streams captured by one of the plurality of cameras, the display being positioned closer to a top edge of the visor than to a bottom edge of the visor (“A display is disposed on an interior surface of the visor. A microprocessor having a logic configured to receive a command input directed to one of plurality of subsystems, toggle the subsystem between an activated state and a deactivated state, and display a status window on the display corresponding to the subsystem. The plurality of subsystems include a pair of cameras disposed on each of a pair of opposing lateral sides of the helmet and a third camera disposed on a rear side of the helmet, wherein each of the cameras is operably connected to the display and is configured to apply a low-light filter for low-light conditions.”, [0006], “a pair of cameras 16 disposed on opposing lateral sides 15 of the helmet 11. In the illustrated embodiment, the cameras 16 are disposed at eye level of a user wearing the helmet 11.”, [0015], “Referring now to FIG. 2, there is shown a rear view of an embodiment of the electronic motorcycle helmet. In the illustrated embodiment, the helmet 11 further comprises a third camera 31 disposed on a rear side 30 of the helmet 11. The third camera 31 is disposed in line with the pair of cameras to provide a panoramic view of the surroundings around the helmet 11.”, [0022], “The helmet further comprises a microprocessor 201 having a logic configured to receive a command input 200, toggle one of a plurality of subsystems 202 between an activated state and a deactivated state, and display a status window corresponding to the selected subsystem 202. In this way, the user can select one of a plurality of subsystems 202 that the user desires to interact with, and issue a command input 200 to activate the selected subsystem 202, deactivate the selected subsystem 202, or display a status window on the display corresponding to the selected subsystem 202.”, [0025], “one of the plurality of subsystems 202 comprises the camera system 203. The camera system 203 comprises the pair of cameras and the third camera and is configured to send a video input to the display to display the surroundings around the helmet. The status window displayed by the camera system 203 comprises individual view of each video feed along the display. In this way, the camera system 203 provides the user with a panoramic view of the surroundings.”, [0027], “A display 40 is disposed on an interior surface 43 of the visor. The display 40 is configured to display an augmented reality view, superimposing a computer-generated image over a live image in order to create a composite view of the view a user would see through the visor. In some embodiments, the display 40 utilizes a forward mounted camera disposed on the front of the helmet, wherein the camera is configured as the pair of cameras and the third camera, allowing the augmented reality view of the display 40 to apply various filters and functions, such as zooming and focusing.”, [0032], therefore, a plurality of cameras (16, 31) being mounted to 11, each camera of the plurality of cameras (16, 31) being operatively coupled to 201 (see figure 3), each camera of the plurality of cameras (16, 31) being facing outwardly away from 11, the plurality of cameras (16, 31) including 31 which faces rearwardly from 11, and a pair of lateral 16 which face respective lateral directions away from 11; 40 being configured to show images on 13, 40 being operatively coupled to 201, 40 being mounted to 13, 201 being programmed to cause 40 to show video streams captured by one of the plurality of cameras (16, 31), 40 being positioned closer to a top edge of 13 than to a bottom edge of 13, figures 1-4); a global positioning system (GPS) module being operatively coupled to the processor, the processor being programmed to receive navigation data from the GPS module and cause the display to show the navigation data (“The plurality of subsystems 202 further comprise a GPS subsystem 205 configured to triangulate the position of the helmet relative to the surroundings and display the current location of the helmet on the display. The GPS subsystem 204 is further configured to allow a user to select a destination and direct the user to the selected location. The status window corresponding to the GPS subsystem 204 includes a map showing the location of the user relative to the desired location.”, [0029], therefore, 205 being operatively coupled to 201, 201 being programmed to receive navigation data from 205 and cause 40 to show the navigation data, figure 3); a transceiver being operatively coupled to the processor wherein the processor is configured to wirelessly communicate with a remote electronic device (“the plurality of subsystems 202 further comprises a wireless transceiver 204 configured to wirelessly communicate with an external device. In this way, the wireless transceiver 204 can receive AM radio, FM radio, satellite radio, and can wirelessly connect to an electronic device, such as a smartphone, allowing the user to receive and transmit phone and video calls.”, [0028], therefore, 204 being operatively coupled to 201 wherein 201 is configured to wirelessly communicate with a remote electronic device, figure 3); an interior surface of the shell, a front portion of the interior surface between the aperture and the bottom of the shell (11 has an interior surface and a front portion of the interior surface between 29 and the bottom of 11, figures 1A-1B); respective lateral portions of the interior surface (11 has respective lateral portions of the interior surface, figures 1A-1); a pair of fans being mounted in the shell, the pair of fans being configured to urge air between the interior space and a surrounding environment (“the air intake 22 further comprises a fan 38 disposed therein, the fan 38 configured to force air into the interior of the helmet 11 to aid in the ventilation thereof.”, [0021], “the air outtake 35 further comprises a fan disposed therein, the fan configured to force air from the interior to the exterior”, [0024], therefore, further comprising 38/ fan of 35 being mounted in 11, 38/fan of 35 being configured to urge air between the interior space and a surrounding environment, figures 1A-2); a power supply being mounted in the shell, the power supply being electrically coupled to the processor, the power supply comprising a battery (“the helmet 11 further comprises a charging cable 32 operably connected to a battery 33. The charging cable 32 is configured to electrically connect to an external power source, such as a wall outlet, cigarette lighter port, battery pack, or USB port to provide charge to the battery 33. In some embodiments, the charging cable 32 is retractably mounted within the helmet 11 such the charging cable 32 selectively moves between an extended position and a retracted position, wherein the charging cable 32 is disposed within the helmet 11 when in the retracted position. In the illustrated embodiment, the battery 33 is removably securable along the lower edge 34 of the rear side 30. The battery 33 is configured to be recharged by the charging cable 32 as well as the solar panel.”, [0023], therefore, 33 being mounted in 11, 33 being electrically coupled to 201 (shown in figure 3), 33 comprising a battery, figure 3); a solar panel being mounted atop the shell and being electrically coupled to the battery (“A solar panel 18 is disposed on an upper surface 19 of the helmet 11, the solar panel 18 operably connected to a battery (as shown in FIG. 2, 33) such that the energy produced by the solar panel 18 can be used to provide charge to the battery.”, [0017], therefore, 18 being mounted atop 11 and being electrically coupled to 33, figures 1A and 2); and a charge port being mounted to the shell and being electrically coupled to the processor, the processor being programmed to direct electricity from the charge port to the battery (“the helmet 11 further comprises a charging cable 32 operably connected to a battery 33. The charging cable 32 is configured to electrically connect to an external power source, such as a wall outlet, cigarette lighter port, battery pack, or USB port to provide charge to the battery 33. In some embodiments, the charging cable 32 is retractably mounted within the helmet 11 such the charging cable 32 selectively moves between an extended position and a retracted position, wherein the charging cable 32 is disposed within the helmet 11 when in the retracted