DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 17, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
In the November 17, 2023 submission, claims 1-6 were presented for consideration and are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “outside” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “outside” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
In claim 1, the following limitation is presented:
“a communication device configured to send state information indicating states of the power receiving devices to outside”.
The term or reference to “outside” is unclear (e.g., external resources, external devices, etc.). The system appears to send state information to “outside”, but as presented, the term obscures the [intended] reference to a subsequent, interim or final destination for the processed information. In paragraph 7 of the specification, the noted “outside” recitations is synonymous to the cited language presented in the claims, while in paragraph 109, the recitation recognizes system activity when a vehicle falls outside D-WPT lane parameters, and the system stops sending modulated signals. As such, it is difficult to determine what “outside” means, how it is being used with regards to the associated limitations, or to what extent the term is used in referencing subsequent activity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Keeling et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0303714 (published October 2015, hereinafter KEELING)
As per claim 1, KEELING teaches of a wireless power transfer system configured to contactlessly transfer power from a supply device in a road to a vehicle (see fig. 5A, 5B and 6; and par. 14-16: system provides wireless transmission of power between power supply device in the road and a traveling vehicle), wherein:
the vehicle includes
a plurality of power receiving devices configured to receive power from the supply device (see fig. 4 and 5B; and par. 26-30: system includes multiple based pads in connection with a controller and power supply unit for providing power), and
a communication device configured to send state information indicating states of the power receiving devices [to outside] (see fig. 6-10 and par. 50: system provides state information to ensure power is received to a vehicle during engagement with the vehicle);
the supply device includes
a plurality of power transfer devices each including a segment unit composed of a plurality of segments configured to transfer power (see fig. 4, 5A-5B; and par. 41-43: base pads are supplied in the ground along the line of travel to support dynamic charging, whereby providing power to the vehicle during travel), and
a processor (par. 101: system processors),
the processor is configured to set, based on the state information, a power transfer pattern by which each of the segments transfers power (see par. 46-47: base pad controllers manages/controls active power sent to the base pads by working in concert with proximity devices along the route of travel), the power transfer pattern being set for each of the power transfer devices, and cause each of the power transfer devices to transfer power based on the power transfer pattern (see par. 46-50: proximity devices determine the pattern of travel as well as related vehicle and travel data, to facilitate activation/deactivation of charging pads and the power required for transmission by the base pads).
As per claim 2, KEELING teaches of the wireless power transfer system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to pass the power transfer pattern of the segment unit in which the vehicle is currently traveling on to the segment unit in which the vehicle is going to travel next, and cause the power transfer device to transfer power (see fig. 5A-5B; and par. 50-57: the system uses proximity devices to monitor vehicle motion and changes along its travel path, wherein charging by the base pads can provide continuous power along the charging system consistent with vehicle position and relevant to determined charging levels/needs).
As per claim 3, KEELING teaches of the wireless power transfer system according to claim 2, wherein the state information includes identification information identifying each of the power receiving devices, and abnormality information indicating presence or absence of an abnormality in each of the power receiving devices (see par. 66-68: during operational analysis of power transfer between elements, the system determines inconsistencies and discrepancies, and an error value is generated to distinguish abnormal conditions).
As per claim 4, KEELING teaches of the wireless power transfer system according to claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to set the power transfer pattern for stopping power transfer to the power receiving device with the abnormality (see par. 69 and 73: when the determines error values/conditions the proximity devices may send deactivation signals to discontinue power transfer).
As per claim 5, KEELING teaches of the wireless power transfer system according to claim 4, wherein:
the communication device is configured to, in a case where an abnormality occurs in
any of the power receiving devices, send return information to the supply device when the power receiving device with the abnormality has returned to normal, the return information indicating that the power receiving device with the abnormality has returned to normal (see par. 42, 46-47, 69-70 and 73: Electric Vehicle Support Equipment (EVSE) and proximity devices provide travel, vehicle and conditional data to support the system’s active functions of activating and deactivating power transfer based on received data); and
the processor is configured to change the power transfer pattern based on the return
information (see par. 77-78 and 80-81: in an attempt to minimize error conditions, the controller increases the frequency of transmissions and introduces gains along the path of travel).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While the cited art focuses on systems and methods for transferring dynamic power to moving electric vehicles consistent with several of the limitations presented, the references fail to explicitly teach of a method consistent with the combination of claims 1-6, wherein a controller is configured to monitor and establish abnormal magnetic coupling during the process of transferring power in any of the power receiving devices, during magnetic coupling check on the power receiving devices and the power transfer devices, and set in the segment unit in which the vehicle is going to travel next, the power transfer pattern for stopping power transfer to the power receiving device with the abnormal magnetic coupling.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The combination of art provided by Budhia et al. [US2017/0326992 and US20160190814 ], Keeling et al., [US20160190815 and US20150298559] and Huang et al., [US20160068070], focus on techniques that support optimal wireless transferring of power to an electric vehicle during travel. Lethellier et al [US 20170346348] teaches of monitoring and adjusting alignment of inductive charge pads during dynamic charging.
Conclusion
The applicant is strongly encouraged to contact the examiner if further clarifications are needed with respect to interpretation of currently presented claims and/or cited prior art.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. BiocraftLabs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1,215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
/Kelvin Booker/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119