Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/07/2023 has been made record of and considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 9, 10, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over McDaniel et al. (US20230252443 A1), in further view of Chaubard (US11481751 B1).
Regarding claim 1, McDaniel et al. teaches an automatic checkout system comprising a storage medium (¶ 36; each transaction terminal comprises at least one processor and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium) configured to store a product detection model trained based on training images in which parameters of a plurality of sample images are manipulated and one or more commands (¶ 38; Machine learning model is trained as an item/product segmentation model trainer) and a processor configured to execute the one or more commands stored in the storage medium, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to sequentially load a plurality of frame images, input the plurality of loaded frame images into the product detection model, (¶ 36; The executable instructions when provided or obtained by the processor from medium cause the processor to perform operations) detect at least one product from each of the plurality of frame images, track at least one product detected in each frame image, and count at least one product detected based on a tracking result. (¶ 20; Accuracy of a total item count for the multiple items and item recognition for each of the multiple items is improved through processing the pipeline of operations.)
McDaniel et al. is silent on the remaining limitations of claim 1. However, Chaubard discloses tracking at least one product detected in each frame image (col. 10 lines 10-42; It is often the case that the products can be tracked from frame to frame to help smooth predictions and carry over information as the system calculates more Fts).
The McDaniel et al. reference teaches an automatic checkout system employing a trained product detection model that processes a plurality of frame images and count multiple products during a transaction. However, McDaniel fails to teach tracking detected products in each frame image. In a similar field of endeavor, Chaubard teaches tracking products from frame to frame. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the frame-to-frame tracking techniques taught by Chaubard into the system of McDaniel in order to improve detection stability, reduce misclassification, and enhance counting accuracy.
Regarding claim 2, Chaubard teaches wherein the parameters of the plurality of sample images includes at least one of a number of products per training image, a rotation angle of each sample image, a scale ratio of each sample image, and a gamma adjustment value of each sample image. (col. 14 lines 5-28; These parameters can be used to compute an Extrinsic Matrix, H, per camera which includes the following transformations: Rotation, Translation, and Scale).
Regarding Claim 3, McDaniel teaches the training images are generated by manipulating the parameter of each sample image to which a binary mask is applied. (¶ 41; Generates masks for each unique item in the scene associated with the images, each mask corresponding to a unique item).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the McDaniel et al. and Chaubard reference in rejection of claim 1 will also apply to claim 9 and are incorporated herein by reference.
The proposed teaching from Chaubard presented in Claim 2, apply to Claim 10 and are incorporated herein by reference.
The proposed teaching from McDaniel presented in Claim 3, apply to Claim 11 and are incorporated herein by reference.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over McDaniel et al. and Chaubard, in further view of Yang et al. (US20220343308 A1).
Regarding claim 4, McDaniel and Chaubard teach the limitations of claim 1 as described above. However, they fail to teach the remaining limitations of claim 4. Yang et al., in view of McDaniel and Chaubard, teaches these limitations as follows; wherein the training images are generated by placing sample images to which the binary mask is applied on a checkout counter image, and placing a degree of overlap between products of each sample image within a predetermined cluster ratio range. (Abstract; for example, the item recognition system may apply an overlap detection model to a top image and a pixel-wise mask for the top image to detect whether an item is overlapping with another in the top image).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine Yang et al. with McDaniel et al. and Chaubard as described above to achieve the known and expected uses and benefits of improving recognition performance in scenarios involving overlapping products, which are common in automatic checkout systems.
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the McDaniel et al. and Chaubard references with Yang et al. reference in the rejection of claim 4 will also apply to claim 12 and are incorporated herein by reference.
Claims 5, 6, 13, 14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over McDaniel et al. and Chaubard, in further view of Fisher et al. (WO2019032305 A2).
Regarding claim 5, McDaniel and Chaubard teach the limitations of claim 1 as described above. However, they fail to teach the remaining limitations of claim 5. Fisher et al. in view of McDaniel et al. and Chaubard teaches these limitations as follows; wherein the storage medium is configured to store a hand detection model trained to detect a hand region from a plurality of input images, and wherein the processor is configured to input the plurality of frame images into the hand detection model to predict at least one hand region from each frame image. (¶ 26; The classifications of the hand from a sequence of images can be processed, using a convolutional neural network in some embodiments, to identify an action by the subject. The actions can be put and takes of inventory items as set out in embodiments described herein, or other types of actions decipherable by processing images of hands).
Regarding claim 6, Fisher et al. teaches the processor is configured to identify a product held in the hand (¶ 160; The third image processors subsystem further comprise foreground image recognition engines. In one embodiment, the foreground image recognition engines recognize semantically significant objects in the foreground (i.e. shoppers, their hands and inventory items)). among the detected at least one product based on the predicted hand region. (¶ 25; the classification identifies whether the identified subject is holding an inventory item. The classification also identifies whether a hand of the identified subject is near a shelf or whether a hand of the identified subject is near the identified subject.)
As described above, McDaniel and Chaubard collectively teach a system that detects, tracks, and counts products from frame images using trained machine learning models but they fail to teach detecting hand regions. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Fisher’s hand detection and hand-based product identification techniques into the system of McDaniel et al. and Chaubard in order to improve the accuracy of product identification and counting, particularly in scenarios where products are being picked up or occluded by the shopper’s hand.
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the McDaniel et al. and Chaubard references with Fisher et al. reference in rejection of claim 5 and 6 will also apply to claim 13, 14, 18, and 19 and are incorporated herein by reference.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over McDaniel et al. and Chaubard, in further view of Rhee (KR 20210004818 A).
Regarding claim 7, McDaniel and Chaubard teach the limitations of claim 1 as described above. However, they fail to teach the remaining limitations of claim 7. Rhee in view of McDaniel and Chaubard, teaches these limitations as follows; the storage medium is configured to include an input queue, a detection queue, and a counting queue, and (Rhee Abstract: a step of collecting, by a portable terminal, egocentric images; a step of detecting, by at least one apparatus among the plurality of apparatuses, a product to be purchased from the egocentric images; a step of calculating, by the at least one apparatus among the plurality of apparatuses.) wherein the processor is configured to sequentially store the loaded plurality of frame images in the input queue and detect the at least one product from each frame image sequentially stored in the input queue, sequentially store the detected at least one product in the detection queue to track the detected at least one product within the plurality of frame images, and sequentially store the tracking results in the counting queue to count the detected at least one product.
A person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been motivated to incorporate the queue-based processing architecture taught by Rhee into the system of McDaniel et al. and Chaubard, in order to improve processing efficiency, scalability, and organization of sequential image-based product detection and counting.
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the McDaniel et al. and Chaubard references with Rhee reference in rejection of claim 7 will also apply to claim 15 and are incorporated herein by reference.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over McDaniel et al. and Chaubard, in further view of Fisher et al. (US20230079018 A1).
Regarding claim 8, McDaniel and Chaubard teach the limitations of claim 1 as described above. However, they fail to teach the remaining limitations of claim 8. Fisher et al. in view of McDaniel and Chaubard, teaches these limitations as follows; the processor is configured to load the plurality of frame images according to a predetermined batch size. (¶ 005; The method includes inputting, the cropped out image of the inventory item and another image of an inventory item to a trained size determination model. The trained size determination model determines whether the size of the cropped out image of the inventory item matches a size of the other image of the inventory item.)
A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been motivated to incorporate the batch-based image loading and processing techniques taught by fisher into the system of McDaniel et al. and Chaubard in order improve computational efficiency and accuracy of image-based processing.
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the McDaniel et al. and Chaubard references with Fisher et al. reference in rejection of claim 8 will also apply to claim 20 and are incorporated herein by reference.
Conclusion
/RAVEN SIMONE JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665