DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the filing of the Amendments and Arguments on 07/14/2026. Claim 3 is cancelled. The amendments have overcome the 112 rejections. All claims have been searched and re-considered; this Action is NON-Final.
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fukui (US 20230182764).
Claim 1, Fukui discloses a vehicle display control device comprising one or more processors configured to acquire information on any surrounding vehicle located around a vehicle [see Fig 1 and p0035 a surrounding monitoring sensor 60, a vehicle control ECU 70, an automated driving ECU 80, a display device 91, a grip sensor 92, and a user input device 93. The vehicle system 1 corresponds to a vehicle display control system of subject vehicle (HVI)],
detect a state of a driver assistance function installed in the vehicle [see p0042, and Fig. 5, hands-off mode (HOFF) refers to automated driving and does not require gripping of the steering wheel, hands-on (HON) a hands-on mode automated driving that requires gripping of the steering wheel],
and cause a display installed in a vehicle cabin [see p0030, p0035 and display 91 is a display device in subject vehicle] of the vehicle to display the surrounding vehicle in different display modes depending on whether the driver assistance function is in an activated state or in a deactivated state, [see Summary and Figs 5 – 7, p0092, p0094,0096, A display control unit causes a display device to display a surrounding state image that shows a surrounding state of the vehicle. A mode identification unit identifies whether automated driving in a hands-on mode, or automated driving in a hands-off mode; See Fig. 5, 6 the hands-on mode, the state in a wider range than when the subject vehicle is in the hands-off mode is displayed. Therefore, it is possible to display the surrounding state image in a display mode according to whether the subject vehicle is in hands-on mode or in hands-off mode. In addition, depending on whether the subject vehicle is in hands-on mode or the hands-off mode, the far/close of the virtual viewpoint of the surrounding state image is differentiated];
wherein, in the different display modes, the surrounding vehicle is displayed with a different visual characteristic [see Figs. 5 – 7, p0092, 0094, 0096 , when the subject vehicle is in the hands-on mode, the state in a wider range than when the subject vehicle is in the hands-off mode is displayed. Therefore, it is possible to display the surrounding state image (the surrounding vehicle OVI is viewed differently and certainly a wider closer range in HOFF mode) in a display mode according to whether the subject vehicle is in the hands-on mode or in the hands-off mode; Also see Fig 7, below showing in the hands-on mode, the surrounding state image with a wider range of the surrounding of the subject vehicle than in the hands-off mode may be displayed. On the other hand, in hands-off mode, the surrounding image with a narrower range of the surrounding of the subject vehicle than the hands-on mode may be displayed].
In this view, the HON view shows the surrounding vehicle OVI in full view characteristic is full size, however when the driving mode is changed to HOFF, the surrounding vehicle is only a characteristic of half size shown due to the narrower range, as are all the surrounding objects, such as lanes.
Claim 10 and Claim 11 are similarly rejected as Claim 1, see above.
Claim 12, Fukui discloses the vehicle display control device according to claim 1, wherein all displayed surrounding vehicles are simultaneously displayed in a same display mode [see Fig 7 above, showing that if a surrounding vehicle is displayed in one mode, all the vehicles will look the same, that is OVI in manual mode has the view no matter what the object because the surrounding state image with a wider range of the surrounding of the subject vehicle than in the hands-off mode may be displayed. On the other hand, in hands-off mode, the surrounding image with a narrower range of the surrounding of the subject vehicle and any other object would show the similar narrower range].
Claim 13, discloses the vehicle display control device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display a following distance as a plurality of discrete blocks between the vehicle and a preceding vehicle when the driver assistance function is in the activated state [see Fig 8, p0098 - ACC control unit executes an ACC control (Adaptive Cruise Control) to perform constant-speed traveling of the subject vehicle at a target speed or following travel with respect to the preceding vehicle. The ACC control unit may perform ACC control using the position and the velocity of the vehicle around the subject vehicle recognized by the first environment recognition unit [see p0055]. Figure 8 shows the discrete blocks with color tone of the assistance implementation image (see ACC and LTA in FIG. 8) may be differentiated between the hands-on mode and the hands-off mode. The ACC of FIG. 8 shows the assistance implementation image representing that the ACC control is being implemented].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui (US 20230182764) in view of Takano (US 20250196644).
Claim 2, Fukui discloses the vehicle display control device according to claim 1, wherein the display modes include a first display mode and a second display mode, the one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display the surrounding vehicle in the first display mode when the driver assistance function is in the activated state and the second display mode when the driver assistance function is in the deactivated state [see first display mode [Fukui discloses an activated state – HOFF indicating autonomous mode of driving, and deactivated, which is when manual or HON. See Figs 5 – 7, when the vehicle mode is deactivated (HON – manual) the display shows the surrounding vehicle in display mode, and a different display mode shows the surrounding vehicle in the activated or autonomous driving mode.
Fukui does not specifically teach the first display mode and the second display mode having different highlighting of the surrounding vehicle.
However, Takano discloses a display control device, a display system, a display control method, and the like, provided in vehicles such as automobiles. When required to switch the vehicle from an automatic driving mode to a manual driving mode, an automatic driving system issues a request (i.e., takeover request: TOR) prompting the occupant, who is to be the driver during manual driving, to return to operation of the vehicle. Here, “takeover” is to transfer driving, and “takeover request” is, in other words, a request of transferring driving. FIG. 7 illustrates an exemplary display in a case where a highlighting display system is used as a method of disappearance and appearance of an image, during switching of a display (from automated to manual). Highlighting display can be said to be a process to flash the display image, to change the colors, or the like, to temporarily change the image size, or to add characters, icons, etc., in order to change the visual attraction [see p0131 – p0135].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device Fukui to include, in the first display mode and the second display mode having different highlighting of the surrounding vehicle, as suggested and taught by Takano, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a configuration that displays the automation level so that the driver can easily recognize whether the automated driving mode is switched in the hands-on mode or the hands-off mode (activated or deactivated mode). The appearance of the display specific to the content being delivered is to improve safety by clearly notifying the driver and helping the driver focus on the display for a request or status.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui (US 20230182764) in view of HARPREET (GB 2584609A).
Claim 4, Fukui discloses the vehicle display control device according to claim 1, but not specifically teaching wherein one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display the surrounding vehicle two-dimensionally when the driver assistance function is in the deactivated state, and cause the display to display the surrounding vehicle three-dimensionally when the driver assistance function is in the activated state.
However, Harpreet discloses a controller for a driver assistance system of a vehicle. The controller comprises an input configured to receive sensor output data from at least one vehicle sensor. The sensor output data may include data indicative of a headway distance between the vehicle and a lead vehicle [see Summary].
In Harpreet, the display has a first display image and a second display image (not separate displays). The first display mode may comprise projecting or displaying a first image indicative of the driver assistance data at a first apparent distance ahead of the vehicle. The second display mode when the headway distance falls below a threshold distance. The Examiner interprets the display modes as analogous to the instant applications activated state and inactivated state. That is, the display changes depending on the control of the vehicle [see Harpreet Summary].
Further disclosing, the vehicle 10 includes display means 18 configured to display the driver assistance data to the vehicle driver. In particular, the display means 18 includes a head-up display (HUD) for displaying the driver assistance data to the driver without the driver needing to avert their gaze from the road 20 ahead of the vehicle 10. The HUD may display the driver assistance data to the driver in the form of one or more three-dimensional (3D) objects, in particular augmented reality (AR) objects, or as a two-dimensional (2D) image [see page 7 of the specification, Fig. 1].
The first display mode displays the driver assistance data to the driver; In particular, the HUD 18 is controller to display a first, 3D images indicative of the driver assistance data at the apparent distance 34, also referred to as the first apparent distance 34, ahead of the vehicle 10. The second display mode the HUD 18 displays a second, 2D image indicative of the driver assistance data to the driver (instead of the AR object 32 of the first display mode). The 2D image may be displayed at a second apparent distance or depth from the driver. That is, the focal point of the 2D image may be at the second apparent distance, for example approximately 10 metres ahead of the driver [see Figs. 1 – 3, pages, 7 – 11 of the specification].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Fukui to include wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display the surrounding vehicle two-dimensionally when the driver assistance function is in the deactivated state, and cause the display to display the surrounding vehicle three-dimensionally when the driver assistance function is in the activated state, as suggested and taught by Harpreet, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a configuration that displays the automation level so that the driver can easily recognize whether the automated driving mode is switched in the hands-on mode or the hands-off mode (activated or deactivated mode). The appearance of the display specific to the content being delivered is to improve safety by clearly notifying the driver and helping the driver focus on the display for a request or status.
Claim 5, Fukui discloses the vehicle display control device according to claim 1, but not specifically teaching wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display the surrounding vehicle three-dimensionally when the driver assistance function is in the deactivated state, and cause the display to display the surrounding vehicle two-dimensionally when the driver assistance function is in the activated state.
However, Harpreet discloses a controller for a driver assistance system of a vehicle. The controller comprises an input configured to receive sensor output data from at least one vehicle sensor. The sensor output data may include data indicative of a headway distance between the vehicle and a lead vehicle [see Summary].
As stated above in Claim 4, Harpreet is configured to display a first display mode displaying the driver assistance data to the driver; In particular, the HUD 18 is controller to display a first, 3D images indicative of the driver assistance data at the apparent distance 34, also referred to as the first apparent distance 34, ahead of the vehicle 10. The second display mode the HUD 18 displays a second, 2D image indicative of the driver assistance data to the driver (instead of the AR object 32 of the first display mode). The 2D image may be displayed at a second apparent distance or depth from the driver. That is, the focal point of the 2D image may be at the second apparent distance, for example approximately 10 metres ahead of the driver [see Figs. 1 – 3, pages, 7 – 11 of the specification].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Fukui to include wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display the surrounding vehicle three-dimensionally when the driver assistance function is in the deactivated state, and cause the display to display the surrounding vehicle two-dimensionally when the driver assistance function is in the activated state, as suggested and taught by Harpreet, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a configuration that displays the automation level so that the driver can easily recognize whether the automated driving mode is switched in the hands-on mode or the hands-off mode (activated or deactivated mode). The appearance of the display specific to the content being delivered is to improve safety by clearly notifying the driver and helping the driver focus on the display for a request or status.
Additionally, the mere reversal of displaying a 2D or 3D mode in an active mode or a deactivated mode is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made as the inventor may want one look or appearance of a display depending on the state of the vehicle over different look or appearance 2D or 3D of a display depending on the status of the vehicle, since a mere reversal of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui (US 20230182764) in view of Hayashi (US 20200026935).
Claim 6, Fukui discloses the vehicle display control device according to claim 1, however it is silent to wherein: the information on the surrounding vehicle includes vehicle type information; and the one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display image data of the surrounding vehicle having a shape stored in advance, based on the vehicle type information.
However, Hayashi discloses an autonomous driving system that can efficiently perform the processing for recognizing the traffic signal by being provided with the traffic signal recognition device. In addition, by generating a new travel plan when it is determined that the area in front of the vehicle is in the traffic signal occluded situation, the autonomous driving system can increase the possibility of recognizing the traffic signal performed by the imaging unit [see Summary].
Further as illustrated in FIG. 1, the autonomous driving system 100 includes an electronic control unit (ECU) 10 that performs an overall management of the system. A GPS receiver 1, an external sensor 2, an internal sensor 3, a map database (map storage unit) 4, a navigation system 5, an actuator 6, and a human machine interface (HMI display) 7 are connected to the ECU 10 [see Fig 1 and p0039].
Further disclosing, the external situation recognition unit 12 recognizes the size of the surrounding vehicle V1 traveling in front of the host vehicle V from the image captured by the camera 2a. As illustrated in FIG. 2A, a rear portion of the surrounding vehicle V1 is projected in the image captured by the camera 2a. For example, when recognizing the size of the surrounding vehicle V1 traveling in front of the host vehicle V, the external situation recognition unit 12 recognizes the width W and the height H of the surrounding vehicle V1 based on the captured image. It is difficult for the external situation recognition unit 12 to directly recognize the overall length. L of the surrounding vehicle V1 from the captured image. Therefore, the external situation recognition unit 12 estimate types of the surrounding vehicle V1 (types such as a passenger car, a large truck, or the like) based on the recognized width W and the height H of the surrounding vehicle V1. External situation recognition unit 12 may estimate the types of the surrounding vehicle V1 from features such as a shape of the surrounding vehicle V1 included in the captured image. Here, the external situation recognition unit 12 stores representative values of the overall lengths L of vehicles in advance for each type of vehicles [aww p0045 and Fig 1].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Fukui to include wherein: the information on the surrounding vehicle includes vehicle type information; and the one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display image data of the surrounding vehicle having a shape stored in advance, based on the vehicle type information, as suggested and taught by Hayashi, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a surrounding vehicle recognition unit configured to recognize a size/shape of a surrounding vehicle at the surroundings of the host vehicle and a position relative to the host vehicle, and a occluded situation determination unit configured to determine whether or not an area in front of the host vehicle is in a traffic signal occluded situation in which a line of sight from the imaging unit to the traffic signal is blocked by the surrounding vehicle when the host vehicle travels in the area, therefore increasing safety and ensuring a vehicle in an automated control can abide by the traffic rules and avoid collisions.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui (US 20230182764) in view Mihara (US 20220242435).
Claim 7, Fukui discloses the vehicle display control device according to claim 1, but is silent to wherein the one or more processors are configured to, when the surrounding vehicle whose behavior value indicating behavior is larger than a predetermined threshold is detected, cause the display to display the surrounding vehicle highlighted.
However, Mihara discloses a vehicle-information acquiring unit is configured to acquire information on at least one nearby vehicle close to a vehicle. The display control unit is configured to display an image showing the nearby vehicle based on the information on the nearby vehicle [see Summary].
Further disclosing, the display control unit 44 detects a dangerous vehicle, and displays the dangerous vehicle in a different display content from the nearby vehicle. The dangerous vehicle refers to a nearby vehicle that increases the risk of collision of vehicle V with another vehicle. For example, the display control unit 44 determines a nearby vehicle having a risk of colliding with vehicle V as the dangerous vehicle. Hereinafter, among the dangerous vehicles, the dangerous vehicle having a risk of colliding with vehicle V will be appropriately referred to as a first dangerous vehicle. The display control unit 44 may determine a nearby vehicle whose distance to vehicle V is equal to or smaller than a threshold, as the first dangerous vehicle. Moreover, for example, the display control unit 44 may determine a nearby vehicle that is approaching vehicle V and whose distance to vehicle V is equal to or less than a threshold, as the first dangerous vehicle. To be more specific, the display control unit 44 may determine a nearby vehicle whose relative speed with respect to vehicle V is equal to or higher than a threshold, that is approaching vehicle V, and whose distance to the vehicle V is equal to or less than a threshold, as the first dangerous vehicle. Because the first dangerous vehicle described has a risk of colliding with vehicle V, the display control unit 44 displays it in a different display content from the other nearby vehicles so that the occupant can easily recognize it [see p0051]. Mihara does not specifically teach the display is “highlighted” however, it does disclose a different color may be displayed and in Fig 7, B3a the dangerous vehicle, is effectively highlighted on the figure.
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Fukui to include wherein the one or more processors are configured to, when the surrounding vehicle whose behavior value indicating behavior is larger than a predetermined threshold is detected, cause the display to display the surrounding vehicle highlighted, as suggested and taught by Mihara, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a view for the driver/occupant that can appropriately provide information on the surrounding environment to reduce safety issues. The appearance of the display specific to the content being delivered is to improve safety by clearly notifying the driver and helping the driver focus on the display for a request or status.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to use as an alternative view of highlighting a vehicle on a display since the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui (US 20230182764) in view of Ogasawara (US 20240068833).
Claim 8, Fukui discloses the vehicle display control device according to claim 1, but is silent to wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display either or both of a preceding vehicle and a following vehicle that are located in a same lane as the vehicle and an oncoming vehicle located in an oncoming lane in different display modes from each other.
However, Ogasawara discloses a vehicle display device according to one aspect of the present invention includes a display mounted on a vehicle, the display superimposing and displaying an image on a real landscape in front of the vehicle with respect to a front windshield of the vehicle; a controller configured to control the display; and a position information acquisition unit that acquires a position of a preceding vehicle followed by the vehicle, wherein the controller calculates a first virtual straight line connecting the position of the preceding vehicle acquired by the position information acquisition unit and a position of the vehicle, when the controller determines that the first virtual straight line is along a straight direction of the vehicle [see Summary].
Further disclosing, controller 12 controls the display 11 to display the marker image MI as the AR display image. The marker image MI displayed as the AR display image is displayed so as to follow the movement of the preceding vehicle 200 or the like as a display target, for example [see FIGS. 2 and 3, the marker image MI of the embodiment is a rod-like display extending along the vehicle width direction]
See FIG. 4, when the vehicle 100 and the preceding vehicle 200 followed by the vehicle 100 are traveling in a straight lane, the first virtual straight line VL1 is along the straight direction X1 of the vehicle 100; when the vehicle 100 and the preceding vehicle 200 followed by the vehicle 100 are traveling in a straight lane, the first virtual straight line VL1 is along the straight direction X1 of the vehicle 100. When the controller 12 determines that the first virtual straight line VL1 is along the straight direction X1 of the vehicle 100, the controller 12 controls the display 11 to display the marker image MI at a position below the preceding vehicle 200 as viewed from the viewpoint position EP of the vehicle 100 as illustrated in FIGS. 2 and 4 [see p0046]. Additionally, Ogasawara discloses controller 12 controls the display 11 to display the marker image MI that emphasizes the presence of a display target such as a preceding vehicle 200 (see FIGS. 2 to 7), another vehicle 300 different from the preceding vehicle 200 (see FIG. 7), and an oncoming vehicle 400 (see FIG. 8). Here, the other vehicle 300 is a vehicle that travels in the same direction in a lane different from the traveling lane in which the vehicle 100 and the preceding vehicle 200 travel. The oncoming vehicle 400 is a vehicle traveling in an oncoming lane [see p0026 – p0031].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Fukui to include wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display either or both of a preceding vehicle and a following vehicle that are located in a same lane as the vehicle and an oncoming vehicle located in an oncoming lane in different display modes from each other, as suggested and taught by Ogasawara, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing improved visibility to a driver when another vehicle in the same lane or surrounding lanes overlaps an object different than the target object (such as a lane boundary). The appearance of the display specific to the content being delivered is to improve safety by clearly notifying the driver and helping the driver focus on the display for a request or status.
Claim 9, Fukui discloses the vehicle display control device according to claim 1, but is silent to wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display either or both of a preceding vehicle and a following vehicle that are located in a same lane as the vehicle and not to display an oncoming vehicle located in an oncoming lane.
However, Ogasawara discloses a controller 12 that controls display 11 to display the marker image MI that emphasizes the presence of a display target such as a preceding vehicle 200 (see FIGS. 2 to 7), another vehicle 300 different from the preceding vehicle 200 (see FIG. 7), and an oncoming vehicle 400 (see FIG. 8). Here, the other vehicle 300 is a vehicle that travels in the same direction in a lane different from the traveling lane in which the vehicle 100 and the preceding vehicle 200 travel [see p0026 – p0031].
Ogasawara does disclose, see Fig. 8, the controller may display the marker image for the oncoming vehicle in the opposite lane…if [see p0056]. The Examiner interprets Ogasawara ability to display or not display is contingent on a control of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Fukui to include wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display either or both of a preceding vehicle and a following vehicle that are located in a same lane as the vehicle and not to display an oncoming vehicle located in an oncoming lane, as suggested and taught by Ogasawara, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing improved visibility to a driver when another vehicle in the same lane or surrounding lanes overlaps an object different than the target object (such as a lane boundary). The appearance of the display specific to the content being delivered is to improve safety by clearly notifying the driver and helping the driver focus on the display for a request or status.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to use as an alternative view of displaying a scene or not displaying a scene since the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/Renee LaRose/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ABBY LIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657