DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 4/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/10/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations (10-13) that use the word “means” or “step” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s):
“receiving 1) one or more input medical images of a patient and 2) task instructions for performing a medical imaging analysis task;” Is directed to receiving input data (Extra-Solution Activity). See MPEP 2106.05(g)
“encoding the one or more input medical images into imaging features using an image encoder network; encoding the task instructions into text features using a text encoder network;”, which is direct to mental process, for example a person could save (encode) a png file as a jpg file using a generic computer as a tool and write/type verbal instructions into text. The “encoder unit” and “text encoder unit” are additional elements which amount to nothing more than “apply it”. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Additionally, these limitation could also be considered as well-understood, routine and conventional in the field. See MPEP 2106.05(d)
“performing the medical imaging analysis task based on the imaging features and the text features using a machine learning based task network;” and, which is directed to a mental process of performing a task such as finding a tumor in an image based on the encoded image and task text. A machine learning based task network is an additional element akin to “apply it”. See MPEP 2016.05(f)
“outputting results of the medical imaging analysis task.” Is directed to outputting data (Extra-Solution Activity). See MPEP 2106.05(g)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under similar grounds as claim 1.
Claims 2 – 9, 11-13 and 15-17 are rejected as dependent upon a rejected claim and do not include any additional elements that amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticpated by Driess (“Toward Generalist Biomedical AI”), hereafter referred to as Driess. NOTE: Driess “PalM-E : An Embodied Multimodal Language Model” is being used as evidentiary reference showing inherent properties in the system of Driess,
Driess discloses 1. (Original) A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving 1) one or more input medical images of a patient and 2) task instructions for performing a medical imaging analysis task; (Driess, pg .7, Fig. 2,
)
encoding the one or more input medical images into imaging features using an image encoder network; encoding the task instructions into text features using a text encoder network; (Driess, pg. 6, Section 4.2 discloses “Med-PaLM M is developed by finetuning and aligning the PaLM-E model to the biomedical domain using MultiMedBench. “ ; Below shows a picture of PaLM-E from “PaLM-0E: An Embodied Mulimodal Language Model” by Driess et al.
)
performing the medical imaging analysis task based on the imaging features and the text features using a machine learning based task network; and (Driess, pg. 7, Fig. 2 , see above, “A”)
outputting results of the medical imaging analysis task (Driess, pg. 7, Fig. 2 , see above, “A”).
Driess discloses 2. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the task instructions comprise references to image regions in at least one of the one or more input medical images.(Driess, Fig. 2 “lesion”, lung opacity locations)
Driess discloses 3. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the task instructions comprise anatomical knowledge and task knowledge, the task knowledge comprising at least one of a description of an anatomical abnormality, how the anatomical abnormality is represented, and how the anatomical abnormality can be detected in the one or more input medical images. (Driess, Fig. 2 )
Driess discloses 4. (Original) The computer- implemented method of claim 1, wherein the task instructions are user-defined. (Driess, Fig. 2)
Driess discloses 5. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the text features and the imaging features are aligned in a same latent space.(See rejection of claim 1)
Driess discloses 6. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the machine learning based task network is trained with self-supervised learning based on unannotated training medical images and text. (Driess Section I, paragraph 3 states “models are often trained on large-scale data with self-supervised or unsupervised” and page 26, discloses training with the Path-VQA dataset, which are unannotated images ; Note: Driess “PaLM-E : An Embodied Multimodal Lanugage Model” pg. 14 discloses
)
Driess discloses 7. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the machine learning based task network is trained with few shot learning using annotated training medical images and annotated task descriptions. (Driess, Section 5.1 ,
)
Driess discloses 8. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the machine learning based task network comprises an LLM (large language model) based task network. (Driess , pg. 6, paragraph 3)
Driess discloses 9. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: receiving 1) one or more input medical images of a patient and 2) task instructions for performing a medical imaging analysis task comprises receiving text-based medical data of the patient; and encoding the task instructions into text features using a text encoder network comprises encoding the task instructions and the text-based medical data into the text features using the text encoder network. (see claim 1 above)
Claim 10 is rejected under similar reasoning to claim 1.
Claim 11 is rejected under similar reasoning to claim 2.
Claim 12 is rejected under similar reasoning to claim 3.
Claim 13 is rejected under similar reasoning to claim 4.
Claim 14 is rejected under similar reasoning to claim 1.
Claim 15 is rejected under similar reasoning to claim 5.
Claim 16 is rejected under similar reasoning to claim 6.
Claim 17 is rejected under similar reasoning to claim 7.
Conclusion
/GANDHI THIRUGNANAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672