Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 12/10/2025
is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/17/2023 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 11/17/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 recites the limitation "second panel". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as claim 3 only recites “a panel” without indicating the panel is a “second panel.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liang (US 2024/057285).
Regarding claim 1, Liang teaches a refrigerant circulation device (1, Fig. 2, [0019]) comprising: a first housing (10, Fig. 2, [0019]) including a first opening (11, Fig. 2, [0020]); a protrusion (121, Fig. 2, [0020]) protruding from the first housing; and a pump (30, Fig. 2, [0019]) that is movable in a first direction in an internal space of the first housing through the first opening and is mounted at a mounting position that is a position of one side in the first direction relative to the first opening in the internal space (30, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0019]); wherein the pump includes a first stopper (421, Fig. 7, Fig. 8, [0029], [0030]) that is movable between a first position that does not overlap with the protrusion in one side of the first direction (421 and 121, Fig. 8, [0030]) and a second position that overlaps with the protrusion in one side of the first direction and is on one side in the first direction relative to the protrusion (421 and 121, Fig. 7, [0029]).
Regarding claim 2, Liang teaches the first stopper is movable to contact with the protrusion while in the second position (421 and 121, Fig. 7, [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, Liang teaches the pump further includes:
a second housing (31, Fig. 2, [0021]) including a panel on another side in the first direction (See annotated figure below); and
a lever (40, Fig. 7, [0023]) supported on the panel rotatably about a shaft (44, Fig. 7, [0025]) along a second direction intersecting the first direction (See annotated figure below claim 4 rejection); and
the first stopper (421, Fig. 7, [0025]) is provided around the shaft in the lever (Fig. 7, [0025]).
Regarding claim 4, Liang teaches the lever further includes a second stopper movable between a third position not overlapping with the protrusion in the first direction (See annotated figures below) and a fourth position overlapping with the protrusion in the first direction and on the another side in the first direction relative to the protrusion (See annotated figures below);
the second stopper:
is positioned in the fourth position when the first stopper is in the first position (See annotated figures below);
is positioned in the third position when the first stopper is in the second position (See annotated figures below); and
is movable to contact with the protrusion on the another side in the first direction relative to the protrusion (See annotated figures below) when the pump is in the mounting position (Fig. 8 vs Fig. 9, [0030], prior to the plug-in pump being driven to outwardly move, the plug-in pump is not yet released from the plugged/”mount” status but has the rotary arms in the position shown in Fig. 8) and in the fourth position (See annotated figures below).
Regarding claim 5, Liang teaches a first fixing tool to fix the lever (40, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0024]) to the second panel when the second stopper is at the third position (310, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0024]).
Regarding claim 6, Liang teaches a second fixing tool to fix the panel of the pump to the first housing (See annotated figures below).
Regarding claim 7, Liang teaches the first housing includes:
a wall partitioning the internal space (15, Fig. 4, [0028]); and
a pair of guide rails (14, Fig. 4, [0027]) provided on the wall to guide the second housing in the first direction.
Regarding claim 8, Liang teaches the pair of guide rails (14, Fig. 4, [0027]) oppose each other in a third direction intersecting with the first direction (See annotated figure below); and
an interval in the third direction between the pair of guide rails is widest at a first end and a second end in the first direction (See annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 10, Liang teaches the protrusion (121, Fig. 2) protrudes inward of the first opening (11, Fig. 2) relative to an edge (12, Fig. 2) of the first opening in the first housing (10, Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ye (US 2021/0274680).
Regarding claim 11, Ye teaches a refrigerant circulation device (1, Fig. 4, [0029]) comprising:
a housing (10, Fig. 4, [0029]) including a first opening (Fig. 4, [0030], opening to plug/unplug fluid driving module from the casing);
a pump (141, Fig. 4, [0034]) mounted in the housing through the first opening (Fig. 4); and
a display assembly (17, Fig. 4, [0040]) that is provided in the housing to display a screen (Fig. 4, [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Ye teaches the refrigerant circulation device is accommodated in a rack (2, Fig. 6, [0031]);
the rack includes a wall (device is a part of rack cooling system; therefore, rack also includes wall of device) partitioning an internal space opened through a second opening (See annotated figure below); and
the first opening and the display assembly face a same direction as the second opening (See annotated figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (US 2024/057285).
Regarding claim 9, Liang teaches the pump includes a suction port and a discharge port (a pump inherently has an inlet by suction and outlet for discharging); and
the refrigerant circulation device further includes a receiving portion (21, Fig. 2, [0021], 22, Fig. 2, [0022]).
Liang does not teach the receiving portion to receive the refrigerant below the suction port and the discharge port.
However, Liang teaches that the pump is made for a cooling distribution unit to perform as a liquid cooling heat dissipating module ([0002], [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the receiving portion to receive the refrigerant below the suction port and the discharge port as Liang teaches the pump is made for a cooling distribution unit using liquid cooling and because the only connection between the machine case and the pump (Fig. 1) are through the moveable joint (32, 33, Fig. 2, [0021], [0022]) and fixed joint/connector (21, 22, Fig. 2, [0021], [0022]). Additionally, because Liang teaches the structure as claimed, the same structure of Liang should be able to perform the function as claimed by inherency.
Conclusion
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763