DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remark, filed on 03/10/2026, with respect to claims 8-13, 15-18, 21-23 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 Rejection of 8-13, 15-18, 21-23 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (Pub No.: 2024/0349373) in view of Cherian et al. (Pub No.: 2018/0206190).
Regarding claim 1, Dong discloses a method, comprising:
providing, by a first network device (read as the first non-AP STA MLD 121 in fig. 2), a first protocol data unit (PDU) (read as the first message in fig. 3, step 310) identifying a request to transition from a power on state to a power sleep state, to a second network device (read as the second non-AP STA MLD 122 in fig. 2) (Dong see para. 0035, 0036-0040; One of the first non-AP STA MLD 121 and the second non-AP STA MLD 122 may perform a TDLS discovery request as a TDLS initiator, and the other may perform a TDLS discovery response as a TDLS responder,). The first non-AP STA MLD 121 transmits a request to second non-AP STA MLD 122 to setup a TDLS (e.g., power save mode);
receiving, by the first network device, a second PDU (read as the second message in fig. 6) identifying a link of the second network device to transition from the power on state to the power sleep state (Dong see fig. 6, step 610; para. 0035, 0054, 0055, 0077, 0078, Table 2; The second message frame may include periodic wakeup information corresponding to at least one of the multi-links. The at least one link refers to a link that is about to enter the power save mode. That is, the second message frame may carry the periodic wakeup information suggested by the TDLS peer PSM initiator). The responder (e.g., the first non-AP STA MLD 121) receives the second message frame from the initiator (e.g., the second non-AP STA MLD 122), which includes periodic wakeup information corresponding to at least one of the multi-links of the initiator that is about to enter the power save mode;
providing, by the first network device, a third PDU (read as the response information in fig. 6, step 620), identifying a link of the first network device to transition from the power on state to the power sleep state, to the second network device (Dong see fig. 6, step 620; para. 0080, 0088; In step 620, response information for the second message frame may be sent.). The responder (e.g., the first non-AP STA MLD 121) transmits the response information to the initiator (e.g., the second non-AP STA MLD 122). The responder (e.g., the first non-AP STA MLD 121) generates the response information, which includes information in Table 2, for example, link ID of the responder that supports PSM;
transitioning, by the first network device, the link of the first network device and the link of the second network device from the power on state to the power sleep state based on the second PDU and the third PDU (Dong see para. 0080; In step 620, response information for the second message frame may be sent. For example, when the TDLS peer PSM responder accepts the periodic wakeup information suggested in the second message frame, a response may be made by means of the TDLS peer PSM response frame carrying response information on “Accept” (e.g., a status code indicates “SUCCESS”)). Thus, the responder (e.g., the first non-AP STA MLD 121) accepts the periodic wakeup information and thereby transitioning the link of the multi-links (the link associated with the initiator and the responder) to power save mode based on the second message and the response information.
However, Dong does not explicitly disclose the feature for providing, by the first network device and to the second network device, a fourth PDU identifying a retransition of the link of the first network device from the power sleep state to the power on state; receiving, by the first network device and in response to the fourth PDU, a fifth PDU identifying a retransition of the link of the second network device from the power sleep state to the power on state; and transitioning, by the first network device, the link of the first network device and the link of the second network device from the power sleep state to the power on state based on the fourth PDU and the fifth PDU.
Cherian et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature for providing, by the first network device and to the second network device, a fourth PDU (read as the ROMI signaling) identifying a retransition of the link of the first network device from the power sleep state to the power on state (Cherian et al. see fig. 4, step 410; para. 0058, 0075; At 410, wireless device 405-b may transmit a ROMI to wireless device 405-a. The ROMI may indicate one or more wireless links to be activated, deactivated, or maintained as active.). The device 405-b transmits a receive operating mode indicator (ROMI) signaling indicating a wireless link to be activated/reactivated;
receiving, by the first network device and in response to the fourth PDU, a fifth PDU (read as the ACK to the ROMI signaling) identifying a retransition of the link of the second network device from the power sleep state to the power on state (Cherian et al. see fig. 4, step 415; para. 0058, 0075; At 415, wireless device 405-a may acknowledge the received ROMI.). The device 405-b receives the acknowledgement to the ROMI signaling, which identifying an activation of a wireless link; and
transitioning, by the first network device, the link of the first network device and the link of the second network device from the power sleep state to the power on state based on the fourth PDU and the fifth PDU (Cherian et al. see fig. 4, step 420; para. 0058, 0075; At 420, wireless device 405-a may manage wireless link according to the ROMI received at 410. For example, the wireless device 405-a may supply power to receiver circuitry associated with a wireless link (e.g., if the ROMI identified the wireless link to be activated)). In step 420, a wireless link may be activated or reactivated based on the ROMI signaling.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Dong and to implement with the feature as taught by Cherian et al. such that to provide a ROMI signaling to a receiving device indicating a wireless link to be activated/reactivated and the receiving device transmits an ACK, and thereby the indicated wireless link is activated/reactivated.
The motivation would be to improve transmission efficiency.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (Pub No.: 2024/0349373) in view of Cherian et al. (Pub No.: 2018/0206190) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brock (Pub No.: 2014/0169176).
Regarding claim 2, Dong in view of Cherian et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature for exchanging one or more periodic link aggregation control protocol PDUs with the second network device.
Brock from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature for exchanging one or more periodic link aggregation control protocol PDUs with the second network device (Brock see para. 0020, 0069, At the process 310, the network switching unit (i.e., the partner) may receive a LACPDU from the neighboring network switching unit (i.e., the actor) with the actor state extension 600 containing the conserve power value for the conserve power bit 610, thus making a link deactivation request. The network switching unit may respond to the link deactivation request by responding with a LACPDU containing a partner state extension 600.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Dong in view of Cherian et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Brock for exchanging LACPDUs between network switching units.
The motivation would be to reduce power consumption.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (Pub No.: 2024/0349373) in view of Cherian et al. (Pub No.: 2018/0206190) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (Pub No.: 2015/0288599).
Regarding claim 3, Dong in view of Cherian et al. discloses transmission of first, second and third PDUs for supporting the tunneled direct link setup (TDLS) peer power save mode in the multi-links.
However, Dong does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein each of the first PDU, the second PDU, and the third PDU is a link aggregation control protocol PDU.
Zhou et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein each of the first PDU, the second PDU, and the third PDU is a link aggregation control protocol PDU (Zhou et al. see para. 0044, 0045, 0061, 0073; There may be several types of link aggregation, such as flow level aggregation, packet level aggregation, and tunneled direct link setup (TDLS)-based aggregation,).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Dong in view of Cherian et al. and to implement with a TDLS-based aggregation type as taught by Zhou et al. such that the first, second and third PDUs of Dong are link aggregation control PDUs that are transmitted in accordance with (TDLS)-based aggregation type.
The motivation would be to improve communication throughput.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (Pub No.: 2024/0349373) in view of Cherian et al. (Pub No.: 2018/0206190) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seok (Pub No.: 2011/0038291).
Regarding claim 4, Dong in view of Cherian et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature for receiving an acknowledgement of the first PDU from the second network device.
Seok from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature for receiving an acknowledgement of the first PDU from the second network device (Seok see abstract; see fig. 4, steps 410-430; para. 0052, 0063; A station transmits a power save mode (PSM) request frame including a wakeup schedule for the PSM to the peer station via an access point (AP) or via a Tunneled Direct link Setup (TDLS) direct link. The station receives a PSM response frame in response to the PSM request frame from the peer station via the TDLS direct link.). The STA1 receives the PSM response/ack of the TDLS PSM request from the STA2;
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Dong in view of Cherian et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Seok such that the PSM response frame is received in response to the PSM request.
The motivation would be to provide transmission reliability.
Regarding claim 5, Seok discloses the feature for providing an acknowledgement of the second PDU to the second network device (Seok see fig. 5, para. 0058, 0059, 0063; STA2 transmits a PSM response frame as a response to the PSM request frame to the STA1. The PSM request frame includes a wakeup schedule.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Dong in view of Cherian et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Seok such that the an ack is provided based on the second PDU (the PSM request frame including wakeup schedule/information).
The motivation would be to provide transmission reliability.
Regarding claim 7, Seok discloses the feature wherein transitioning the link of the first network device and the link of the second network device from the power on state to the power sleep state comprises: determining whether a sleep timer has expired; and transitioning the link of the first network device and the link of the second network device from the power on state to the power sleep state based on determining that the sleep timer has expired (Seok see para. 0009, 0016, 0023, 0024; in para. 0009, The station in the AM keeps in the awake state, and the station in the PSM transitions between the wakeup state and a doze state. In para. 0016, a power save mode (PSM) request frame including a wakeup schedule for the PSM, the wakeup schedule including a wakeup window duration and a wakeup interval, the wakeup window duration indicating a duration of a wakeup window, the wakeup interval indicating a time interval between consecutive wakeup windows, and receiving, from the peer station via the TDLS direct link, a PSM response frame in response to the PSM request frame). In other words, the power save mode (PSM) transitions between the wakeup state and a doze state. The PSM request frame includes wakeup schedule for the PSM and when the wakeup schedule is determined to be expired, the station enters the doze/sleep mode. The wakeup schedule is determined based on the transmission of PSM request frame and reception of PSM response frame. Thus, the station (e.g., including at least one link) enters a doze state or power save state when the wakeup schedule expires.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Dong in view of Cherian et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Seok such that the link(s) associated with the first and second network devices is transition from power on state to power sleep state based on a sleep timer being expired.
The motivation would be to reduce power consumption.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (Pub No.: 2024/0349373) in view of Cherian et al. (Pub No.: 2018/0206190) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Meirosu et al. (Pub No.: 2013/0332762).
Regarding claim 6, Dong in view of Cherian et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein transitioning the link of the first network device and the link of the second network device from the power on state to the power sleep state comprises: causing ports associated with the link of the first network device and the link of the second network device to be powered off.
Meirosu et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein transitioning the link of the first network device and the link of the second network device from the power on state to the power sleep state comprises: causing ports associated with the link of the first network device and the link of the second network device to be powered off (Meirosu et al. para. 0050; At least one of the interfaces 9a, 9b, 9c of node A is operable in, at least, a normal operation mode and a power saving mode in which the associated link(s) become dormant at the physical level (level 1 of FIG. 1), and in which the interface consumes less power than it does in its normal operation mode. The interface may for example switch itself into the power saving mode after a predetermined time in which it has no traffic to transmit…The power saving mode may for example be a "sleep mode" in which the interface shuts itself down to the greatest extent possible while still remaining alive,).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Dong in view of Cherian et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Meirosu et al. wherein during power saving mode associated links become dormant, and interfaces associated with links shut itself down.
The motivation would be to provide power conservation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13, 15-18, 21-23 are allowed.
Examiner's Note
The Applicant is welcome to request a telephonic interview if the Applicant has any questions or requires any additional information that would further or expedite the prosecution of the application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yun et al. (Pub No.: 2025/0193954) discloses a method for operating the electronic device according to various embodiments, the electronic device comprises: a communication circuit configured to transmit and/or receive data through at least one link created between an external electronic device and the electronic device; and at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, operatively connected to the communication circuit, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, may be configured to: confirm the delay time of the data transmitted or received through the at least one link; determine whether to activate a new link based on a comparison result between the confirmed delay time and the delay time required to perform a service related to the data; based on the determination to perform the activation of the new link, determine a data rate required for the new link based on the confirmed delay time, the required delay time, and a data rate of the at least one link; control the electronic device to transmit a link setup request message including information indicating the determined data rate to the external electronic device; and activate the new link based on reception of a response message transmitted by the external electronic device.
Asterjadhi et al. (Pub No.: 2024/0137860) discloses methods and devices for introducing a power save protocol (for example, a lower power mode) for a multi-link devices (MLDs). Some aspects more specifically relate to reducing power consumption in an access point (AP) MLD, and more particularly, to a power save protocol (or a lower power mode) for an AP MLD. In some aspects, an AP MLD may initiate a lower power mode to save power for as long as possible while still maintaining minimal receive (RX) and transmit (TX) functionality. When requested by an associated station (STA), the AP MLD may then transition from the lower power mode to a higher power mode with full RX and TX functionality with a minimal delay. The described techniques may also account for trade-offs and constraints which arise due to different use cases and scenarios as well as different device configurations.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAN YUEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464