DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Biagini (WO 2020/002456), which shows all of the claimed limitations. Biagini shows:
1. A cooking appliance comprising: a cooktop 1 including an outer perimeter and defining at least one opening 23,26; a plurality of burners 10 located on the cooktop (fig. 1); and at least one burner of the plurality of burners located on at least one turret (the entire cooktop is a turret) that defines an internal cavity (bottom 22 and sides 23 define an internal cavity) to direct a downdraft, the at least one turret is moveable within the at least one opening between at least one vacuum position (fig. 3B) and a flush position (fig. 3A).
2. The cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein the turret defines a top surface and the at least one burner is located on the top surface of the turret (fig. 1).
3. The cooking appliance of claim 2, wherein the top surface of the turret is coupled to a glass top 32 that resides substantially on a same plane as the cooktop in the flush position (fig. 1,2a; page 4, lines 4-5).
4. The cooking appliance of claim 3, wherein the glass top resides above the cooktop in the at least one vacuum position.
5. The cooking appliance of claim 3, wherein the glass top resides below the cooktop in the at least one vacuum position (fig. 2B).
6. The cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein the at least one burner that is located on the turret is configured to be heated in the at least one vacuum position and the flush position (inherent as the purpose of the vacuum is to remove smoke which is not needed in every cooking scenario, such as boiling water and the like).
7. The cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein the at least one burner that is located on the turret is a single burner of a different size and shape than at least one other of the plurality of burners (fig. 1).
8. The cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein the at least one burner that is located on the turret includes two or more burners (fig. 1).
10. The cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein the turret defines at least one vent port 26 fluidically connected to the internal cavity (fig. 3B).
12. The cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein a power conduit extends between the at least one burner that is located on the turret to a control unit configured to administer heating of the at least one burner, the power conduit extending within the internal cavity (inherent as the entire turret is in the cavity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biagini (WO 2020/002456), which discloses substantially all of the claimed limitations.
Nevertheless, Biagini fails to explicitly recite the claimed type of burner.
The selection of the type of burner is an obvious modification based on design choice, and depends on manufacturing considerations such as availability, cost, and consumer preference.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the claimed type of burner into the invention disclosed by Biagini, so as to provide for manufacturing considerations.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biagini (WO 2020/002456), which discloses substantially all of the claimed limitations as discussed above.
Nevertheless, Biagini fails to explicitly recite the cooking appliance including two turrets.
Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated two turret arrangements into the invention disclosed by Biagini, since it has been held that to provide duplicate parts for multiplied effect is not the type of innovation for which a patent is granted. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., Inc., 193 USPQ 8, 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-16 are allowed.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As regards the invention recited in independent claim 13 and the dependent claims deemed allowable above, the combination recited in the claim is novel and unobvious. Of particular interest is the sensor detection system recited in the claims. Naturally the allowability of the limitation in and of itself is not at issue. Nevertheless, in combination with the remainder of the elements recited in the claim, the claimed subject matter is allowable.
While the prior art of record discloses many of the claimed limitations, the prior art of record fails to disclose or make obvious the invention as claimed.
Gagas (US 2010/0163549) discloses a similar detection system, but fail to disclose the specifically claimed relationship with the turret.
Accordingly, it is clear that the prior art of record does not anticipate, nor make obvious, the claimed invention, alone or in combination therewith.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. These references disclose devices with many of the claimed components. Nevertheless, in order to avoid overburdening the applicant with redundant rejections, these references were not applied.
Conclusion
To contact the examiner’s supervisor please call MICHAEL HOANG whose telephone number is 571 272 6460.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Tech Center telephone number is 571 272 3700.
February 20, 2026
/ALFRED BASICHAS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762