Claim Objections
Claims 16-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant claims 16-18 (and thus 19 dependent upon Claim 18) have dependence upon Claim 1. However, claim 16 appears to be identical to Claim 2, 17 to 3, 18 to 6, and 19 to 7. For purposes of examination, it will be assumed Claims 16-19 meant to depend on Claim 15.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
the Schottky diode of Claim 12
switch between the battery power node and the voltage regulator of Claim 21
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because Elements 217a-d, 227, 225, 231, and 233 are not shown with text, symbols, or legend to clearly demonstrate their meaning only from Fig. 1 itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1,2,5,8,10,11,13-16,& 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Long et al (USPGPN 20210242693).
Independent Claim 1, Long discloses/teaches an aircraft (Figs. [1-7], where Fig. 7 shows the aircraft body, Figs. [1-6, esp. 1] shows much of the required structure), comprising:
an aircraft body (Fig. 7);
multiple battery packs positioned on the aircraft body (while Fig. 7 only shows battery pack 710, ¶[52] says that any of the circuits of Figs. [1-6] can be the power distribution circuit for the various motors, including Fig. 1, which shows a plurality of batteries 105[a-c], thus under the broadest reasonable interpretation, batteries 105a, 105b, and 105c are battery packs;
or in the alternative, while each of batteries 105a, 105b, and 105c are not explicitly labeled a battery packs themselves, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate an explicit housing for improved protection/safety [less likely to receive external damage due to protection from housing, where safety increases since a damaged battery can cause explosion/inflammation/gassing/ overheating,etc.], durability [damaged batteries do not last as long], and convenience [having multiple cells in one housing can make it easier to maintain the shape of a battery and keep cells together, which means manufacturer can design for size/shape of battery pack housing rather than loose components]);
a load balancing circuit positioned on the aircraft body, the load balancing circuit comprises multiple current delivery circuits, each current delivery circuit is connected between one of the battery packs and a battery power node (125, including 125a, 125b, 125c of Fig. 1);
multiple motors positioned on the aircraft body and connected to the battery power node (120a-120c in e.g. Fig. 1); and
multiple bypass circuits each of which is connected to the battery power node and one of the battery packs to provide a signal path from the battery power node to the respective battery pack that bypasses a respective current delivery circuit for regenerative current from one or more of the motors (130, 130a, 130b, 130c, abstract, ¶’s [23, 25-34, esp. 28-30, 32]).
Independent Claim 15, Long discloses/teaches an aircraft (Figs. [1-7], where Fig. 7 shows the aircraft body, Figs. [1-6, esp. 1] shows much of the required structure), comprising:
an aircraft body (Fig. 7);
a first battery pack positioned on the aircraft body; a second battery pack positioned on the aircraft body (while Fig. 7 only shows battery pack 710, ¶[52] says that any of the circuits of Figs. [1-6] can be the power distribution circuit for the various motors, including Fig. 1, which shows a plurality of batteries 105[a-c], thus under the broadest reasonable interpretation, batteries 105a, 105b, and 105c are battery packs;
or in the alternative, while each of batteries 105a, 105b, and 105c are not explicitly labeled a battery packs themselves, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate an explicit housing for improved protection/safety [less likely to receive external damage due to protection from housing, where safety increases since a damaged battery can cause explosion/inflammation/gassing/ overheating,etc.], durability [damaged batteries do not last as long], and convenience [having multiple cells in one housing can make it easier to maintain the shape of a battery and keep cells together, which means manufacturer can design for size/shape of battery pack housing rather than loose components]);
a load balancing circuit positioned on the aircraft body, the load balancing circuit comprises a first current delivery circuit and a second current delivery circuit, the first current delivery circuit has an input connected to the first battery pack and an output connected to a battery power node, the second current delivery circuit has an input connected to the second battery pack and an output connected to the battery power node (125:[125a,125b,125c] of Fig.1);
multiple motors positioned on the aircraft body and connected to the battery power node (120a-120c in e.g. Fig. 1);
a first bypass circuit having an input connected to the battery power node and an output connected to the first battery pack to provide a first bypass signal path from the battery power node to the first battery pack that bypasses the first current delivery circuit for regenerative current from one or more of the motors; and a second bypass circuit has an input connected to the battery power node and an output connected to the second battery pack to provide a second bypass signal path from the battery power node to the second battery pack that bypasses the second current delivery circuit for regenerative current from one or more of the motors (130, 130a, 130b, 130c, abstract, ¶’s [23, 25-34, esp. 28-30, 32]).
Independent Claim 20, Long discloses/teaches a method (¶[24] based upon Figs. [1-7], where Fig. 7 shows the aircraft body, Figs. [1-6, esp. 1] shows much of the required structure, see esp. abstract, ¶’s [23, 25-34, esp. 28-30, 32]) comprising:
providing power to multiple motors (120a-120c in e.g. Fig. 1) positioned on an aircraft body (Fig. 7, ¶[52] says that any of the circuits of Figs. [1-6] can be the power distribution circuit for the various motors, including Fig. 1)
from one or more of multiple battery packs (while Fig. 7 only shows battery pack 710, ¶[52] says that any of the circuits of Figs. [1-6] can be the power distribution circuit for the various motors, including Fig. 1, which shows a plurality of batteries 105[a-c], thus under the broadest reasonable interpretation, batteries 105a, 105b, and 105c are battery packs;
or in the alternative, while each of batteries 105a, 105b, and 105c are not explicitly labeled a battery packs themselves, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate an explicit housing for improved protection/safety [less likely to receive external damage due to protection from housing, where safety increases since a damaged battery can cause explosion/inflammation/gassing/ overheating,etc.], durability [damaged batteries do not last as long], and convenience [having multiple cells in one housing can make it easier to maintain the shape of a battery and keep cells together, which means manufacturer can design for size/shape of battery pack housing rather than loose components])
positioned on the aircraft body via a load balancing circuit (125) positioned on the aircraft body (Fig. 7 in light of Fig. 1),
the load balancing circuit comprises multiple current delivery circuits, each current delivery circuit is connected between one of the battery packs and a battery power node (125: [125a,125b,125c] of Fig. 1);
causing the motors to generate a regenerative current (¶’s [28, 29]);
providing a signal path for the regenerative current from the battery power node to one or more of the battery packs via one or more bypass circuits each of which is connected to the battery power node and one of the battery packs to provide a signal path from the battery power node to the respective battery pack that bypasses a respective current delivery circuit for the regenerative current from the motors (abstract, ¶’s [23, 25-34, esp. 28-30, 32]).
Dependent Claims 2 and 16, Long discloses/teaches a flight controller positioned on the aircraft body and connected to the bypass circuits, the flight controller is configured to turn on the bypass circuits when the motors are providing regenerative current and turn off the bypass circuits when the motors are not providing regenerative current (controller [equivalent to claimed flight controller] 135, ¶’s [23, 25-34, esp. 28-30, 32]).
Dependent Claim 5, Long discloses/teaches the multiple battery packs include a first battery pack and a second battery pack (105a, 105b, 105c);
the load balancing circuit comprises a first current delivery circuit and a second current delivery circuit (125a, 125c, 125b);
the first current delivery circuit has an input connected to the first battery pack and an output connected to the battery power node; the second current delivery circuit has an input connected to the second battery pack and an output connected to the battery power node (Fig. 1);
the multiple bypass circuits comprise a first bypass circuit and a second bypass circuit (130a, 130b, 130c);
the first bypass circuit has an input connected to the battery power node and an output connected to the first battery pack to provide a first bypass signal path from the battery power node to the first battery pack that bypasses the first current delivery circuit for regenerative current from one or more of the motors; and the second bypass circuit has an input connected to the battery power node and an output connected to the second battery pack to provide a second bypass signal path from the battery power node to the second battery pack that bypasses the second current delivery circuit for regenerative current from one or more of the motors (¶’s [23, 25-34, esp. 28-30, 32]).
Dependent Claim 8, Long discloses/teaches a flight controller connected to the multiple bypass circuits, the flight controller is configured to determine that a regenerative event is occurring and turn on the multiple bypass circuits in response to determining that the regenerative event is occurring (controller [equivalent to claimed flight controller] 135, ¶’s [23, 25-34, esp. 28-30, 32]).
Dependent Claim 10, Long discloses/teaches the multiple motors are configured to create regenerative current in response to a braking action (abstract, ¶’s [23, 25-34, esp. 28-30, 32]).
Dependent Claim 11, Long discloses/teaches each bypass circuit includes a switch (Fig. 1 shows switches).
Dependent Claim 13, Long discloses/teaches the bypass circuits are configured to dump regenerative current from one or more of the motors in a battery pack not currently being used by the load balancing circuit to power the aircraft (¶’s [23, 25-34, esp. 28-30, 32], if the common bus 110 is higher than the voltages of each of the batteries, then the batteries would become loads during the regenerative braking event, and so would not be used to power the aircraft when switch[s] 130a-c are closed).
Dependent Claim 14, Long discloses/teaches the bypass circuits are configured to dump regenerative current from one or more of the motors concurrently into all battery packs (¶’s [23, 25-34, esp. 28-30, 32] describe capability to provide power to all battery packs concurrently).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al (USPGPN 20210242693) in view of Ko et al (USPGPN 20240304879)
Dependent Claims 3 and 17, Long teaches each battery pack includes multiple batteries in series (see at least each battery pack of Figs. [1-6] has two cells in series)
Long is silent to each battery pack includes both multiple batteries in series and a battery management system.
Ko teaches each battery pack includes both multiple batteries in series and a battery management system (Fig. 1 shows a plurality of battery packs [10, 20, 30, 40, 50] each having 5 cells in series [11-15 for e.g. 10], and each having their management system (BMICs [102, 202, 302, 402, 502], ¶’s [07, 13, 32-36, 38, 39, 53]). Official notice taken that by having a battery controller in each battery pack, rather than only having a central controller [60], one of ordinary skill in the art would understand it serves to allow for improved reliability, simplicity, and costs [simplicity can be improved since the single controller would not need to be so complicated, which can thus reduce costs; reliability can be improved since the simpler battery pack controller in each circuit can take action on their own {e.g. control switches, collect each cell’s voltage/current/temperature to bundle them together into one input/output for each battery pack for the main controller 60 rather than an input for each sensor of each pack [so 1 input rather than 5 for each voltage and 1 each for current and temperature} rather than have a processor in the central controller have to multiplex each battery pack’s data and process it all there].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Long with Ko to provide improved costs, reliability, and safety.
Dependent Claim 4, Long teaches a controller that monitors parameters of each battery pack (¶[28], 135)
Long is silent to address translation circuits each of which is connected to one of the battery packs, each address translation circuit is configured to use the same address to communicate with its respective connected battery pack; and
a flight controller connected to the address translation circuits, the flight controller is configured to uses different addresses to communicate with different address translation circuits, the address translation circuits receive battery health data from respective connected battery packs and forward that battery health data to the flight controller.
Ko teaches address translation circuits each of which is connected to one of the battery packs, each address translation circuit is configured to use the same address to communicate with its respective connected battery pack (Ko teaches a battery controller in each pack of Fig. 1 each communicating with central controller 60 [corresponding to Long’s 135], see battery packs [10, 20, 30, 40, 50] each having 5 cells in series [11-15 for e.g. 10], and each having their management system (BMICs [102, 202, 302, 402, 502], ¶’s [07, 13, 32-36, 38, 39, 53];
While Ko does not explicitly describe an “address translation circuit”, applicant has not defined the explicit structure of this circuit, and has simply demonstrated a function of the circuit, where one of ordinary skill in the art understands that BMS 60 would be assumed to have some routing/origin/destination system to efficiently manage the data being received, and official notice taken that that feature would be generally understood to be present in controllers with multiple inputs to efficiently manage the data);
a flight controller connected to the address translation circuits, the flight controller is configured to uses different addresses to communicate with different address translation circuits, the address translation circuits receive battery health data from respective connected battery packs and forward that battery health data to the flight controller (see explanation above;
¶’s [33, 34, 38] describes that voltage, temperature, and current can be transmitted from the battery pack to the equivalent to a flight controller 60 in order to further process the health data into easier to compare form [e.g. SOC and SOH] as defined in ¶[38]). By determining the health data of a battery, official notice taken that the safety and longevity of the battery system can be improved (safety since by adjusting for battery parameters, explosions/inflammations/ gassing/overheating/etc. can be avoided, longevity as by adjusting for battery data, it can adjust parameters and so suppress reducing the usable capacity of a battery). Ko and Long are analogous to the present application as both deal with battery charging and discharging in the field of electric vehicles (¶[03]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Long with Ko to provide improved data efficiency, longevity, and safety.
Claims 6,7,18,19,& 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al (USPGPN 20210242693) in view of Munson (USPN 5900734)& Sim et al (USPN8963617)
Dependent Claims 6 and 18, Long teaches the aircraft body as an electric vehicle (as described above, ¶’s [33, 52, 53]), the battery power node (Fig. 1), regenerative current from one or more of the motors (as described above for Claims [1, 15, 20]);
Long is silent to vehicle electronics positioned on the vehicle body;
a first voltage regulator that is configured to provide an output voltage to the vehicle electronics; and
a surge protection circuit having an input connected to the battery power node and an output connected to the first voltage regulator, the surge protection circuit is configured to automatically prevent a surge of the generated power to the regulation circuit.
Munson teaches a vehicle (including aircraft, [Col 1 L15-28, Col 3 L45-57], Figs. [2, 6]) having a vehicle electronics positioned on the vehicle body ([68, 72], where LEDs are known as electronics, shown in Fig. 2 to be in vehicle as part of alarm 26);
a first voltage regulator that is configured to provide an output voltage to the vehicle electronics (66 provides power from battery 14 as the use of the alarm is in the state when the ignition is off, i.e. loads are provided by the battery, see abstract, as would be well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art). Munson teaches the use of the vehicle electronics serves to improve convenience as the user is reliably pre-warned before being caught with a dead battery (see Col 3 L27-45)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Long with Munson to provide improved convenience.
Long is silent to a surge protection circuit having an input connected to the battery power node and an output connected to the first voltage regulator, the surge protection circuit is configured to automatically prevent a surge of the generated power to the regulation circuit.
Sim teaches a surge protection circuit having an input connected to the battery power node and an output connected to the first voltage regulator, the surge protection circuit is configured to automatically prevent a surge of the generated power to the regulation circuit (Fig. 9 represents a system where an input of power passes through a regulation circuit 70 in which the input power is protected from surges by the duty cycle of transistor M1, i.e. surge protector M1, [Col 6 L48 to Col 7 L16, esp. Col 7 L5-L16], where the mode of 70 depends upon the input power/voltage characteristics, where it describes the output power is provided to a load). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that surge protectors provide improved safety and longevity of the circuit by preventing damage from power surges. Sim is analogous to Long, Munson, and the present application in that it is solving the distribution of electrical power (Col 1 L5-10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Long in view of Munson with Sim to provide improved safety.
Dependent Claims 7, 19, and 21, the combination of Long, Munson, and Sim teaches the surge protection circuit includes a switch (M1 of Sim); and
the surge protection circuit is configured to automatically reduce effective voltage of the regenerative current from one or more of the motors provided to the voltage regulator via the battery power node by opening and closing the switch multiple times during the regenerative current (Sim teaches the switch control, as described above, Long teaches the structure and the regenerative braking power source).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al (USPGPN 20210242693) in view of Books et al (USPGPN 20210226267)
Dependent Claim 9, Long does teach balancing the SOC of the batteries (¶[48])
Long is silent to the load balancing circuit is configured to draw power from a battery pack with a highest state of charge until more than one battery pack has a highest state of charge, when more than one battery pack has a highest state of charge then the load balancing circuit is configured to draw power from the more than one battery pack with the highest state of charge.
Books teaches the load balancing circuit is configured to draw power from a battery pack with a highest state of charge until more than one battery pack has a highest state of charge, when more than one battery pack has a highest state of charge then the load balancing circuit is configured to draw power from the more than one battery pack with the highest state of charge (102A-102D of Fig. 9, ¶[60]; where Figs. [9-13, esp. 10-13, e.g. 9] and ¶’s [60-75, esp. 63-68] describes a process where the highest battery is discharged until another is within the range, then the batteries are discharged together). Books teaches the process can improve safety (¶’s [64,86])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Long with Books to provide improved safety.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al (USPGPN 20210242693) in view of Herlihy et al (USPGPN 20190086463; hereinafter Herli)
Dependent Claim 12, Long teaches the multiple current delivery circuits each comprise a diode (see Fig. 1).
Long is silent to the use of a Schottky diode.
Herli teaches use of a plurality of Schottky diodes (at least Fig. 4a, ¶’s [54-56], where analogous to Long and the present application the diodes are used in the power system for an electric aircraft [Fig. 1], and this particular diode provides advantages of ¶[56] “a low forward voltage drop (e.g., 150-450 millivolts), very fast switching speeds and better system efficiency, such as lower levels of power loss compared to ordinary PN junction diodes”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Long with Herli to provide improved voltage drop level, quickness, and efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Most relevant prior art (bypass path for plural batteries in parallel with regenerative braking as a power source of the batteries):
US-20150202983-A1 OR US-20210242693-A1 OR US-20210237615-A1 OR US-20240001802-A1 OR US-20250222826-A1 OR US-20260008384-A1 OR US-20170368956-A1
US-9527401-B2 OR US-11794607-B2 OR US-12291126-B2 OR US-12434597-B2 OR
US-9855855-B1
Very relevant prior art (bypass path for plural batteries in parallel):
US-6304059-B1 OR US-8987935-B2 OR US-11038364-B2 OR US-11322936-B2 OR US-11557796-B2 OR US-12074466-B2
US-20060261779-A1 OR US-20130169038-A1 OR US-20190214837-A1 OR US-20190214831-A1 OR US-20200062140-A1 OR US-20210028503-A1 OR US-20240235216-A1 OR US-20250007299-A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859