DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-5, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0014963 A1 (the ‘963 reference).
The reference discloses in Figs. 1C, 4A, 4B, 10 and related text a semiconductor device as claimed.
Referring to claim 1, the ‘963 reference discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate (underlying heat sink layer 300, para [37] (paragraph(s) [0037])) comprising at least one trench (hole H1, para [59], see also Fig. 10);
a component (220, para [38]), wherein the component requires shielding from electromagnetic signals (para [61]); and
a shielding structure (500 including 510, para [61 and 63]) inserted in the at least one trench.
Referring to claim 2, the reference further discloses that the shielding structure (500) shields the component from electromagnetic signals (para [61]).
Referring to claim 3, the reference further discloses that the shielding structure (500) extends through the trench (H1) and is electrically connected (via ground pattern 130G (para [39]) and ground solder ball 150 (para [40])) to a ground (not shown) of the semiconductor device.
Referring to claim 4, the reference further discloses that the shielding structure is bonded to the ground using a solder paste (ground solder ball 150, para [40]), a metal paste, or a silver paste.
Referring to claim 5, the reference further discloses that the shielding structure comprises a single metal layer, the single metal layer comprising at least one of copper (para [62]), nickel, iron, cobalt, and silver (para [62]).
Referring to claim 11, the reference further discloses that the shielding structure (500) comprises a T-shape (see Fig. 1C), wherein a bottom segment of the shielding structure (500) is inserted into the trench (H1), and a vertical segment of the shielding structure extends on opposite sides of the trench (H1).
Referring to claim 12 and using the same reference characters, interpretations, and citations as detailed above for claim 1 where applicable, the reference discloses a shielding structure (500) for a semiconductor device, the shielding component comprising:
a first segment (horizontal segment in Fig. 4B, not depicted in Fig. 4A, and note that Figs. 4A and 4B are enlarged views of portion II and III of Fig. 1C, para [85]) formed from a first set of layers (502 and 503) comprising a first metal (copper or copper alloy, para [87]) and a second metal (steel use stainless, para [88]); and
a second segment (vertical segment) formed from a second set of layers (502, 503) comprising the first metal (copper or copper alloy) and the second metal (steel use stainless), the second segment orthogonal to the first segment, wherein the second segment is configured to be inserted into a trench (H1) in a substrate (300) of the semiconductor device.
Referring to claim 14, Fig. 1C depicts that the first segment (the horizontal segment) is configured to shield an electronic device from electromagnetic interference from a first direction, and the second segment (the vertical segment) is configured to shield an electronic device from electromagnetic interference from a second direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0014963 A1 (the ‘963 reference).
Referring to claim 9, although the reference does not specifically disclose dimensions as claimed, the claimed dimensions (wherein the total thickness of the shielding structure is about 5 microns) will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art (the ‘963 reference discloses that the shielding structure 500 has a total thickness of T1, T2 and T3, para [87]) unless there is evidence indicating such dimensions are critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation"; MPEP 2144.05.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 15-20 are allowable over the prior art of record.
Claims 6-8, 10 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited art, whether taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations are considered within the claimed specific combination, fails to teach or render obvious a semiconductor device and a method of forming shielding structures for semiconductor packages with all exclusive limitations as recited in claims 6, 10, 13 and 15, which may be characterized (claim 6) in that the shielding structure comprises magnetic conducting layers and nonmagnetic conducting layers, (claim 10) the shielding structure comprises two or more metal layers, each of the two or more metal layers comprising at least one of copper, nickel, iron, cobalt, and silver, (claim 13) in that the trench comprises a magnetic material on one or more walls of the trench, the magnetic material extending from a surface of the substrate to a metal layer of the semiconductor device, and (claim 15) in depositing a second metal layer on the first metal layer to a second thickness; removing the carrier substrate from the first metal layer to form a sheet of shielding material, in separating the sheet of shielding material into two or more segments, and in inserting the shielding structure into a trench disposed in a substrate of a semiconductor package.
Conclusion
03-07-2026
/TU-TU V HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818