DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to because a reference character denoting the first and second chambers as recited in claim 1 is required for a better understanding of Applicant’s claimed invention.
Specification
3. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
· “groove 120, 122” should be amended to read “grooves 120, 122” in the amended paragraph.
Appropriate correction is required.
4. The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
· The specification does not describe “a second chamber” as recited in claim 1.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
· “the at least a first seal” should read “the at least one first seal” in lines 9-10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 4, 8-10, 12-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barani et al (US6481807B1; hereinafter “Barani”) in view of Kalmes et al (US 2015/0284042 A1; hereinafter “Kalmes”).
Regarding claim 1, Barani discloses an assembly (1 “roller”; Fig. 1), comprising: an axle (2 “shaft”; Fig. 1); a lower roller (1) coupled to the axle (2) for permitting rotational movement (It is inherent in the roller 1 of Fig. 1, as a roller for a tracked vehicle must rotate during operation) of the lower roller (1) about the axle (2); a bushing (12 and 13 “bushing”; Fig. 1) surrounding an outer circumference of the axle (2); a pair of retention blocks (25 and 26 “covers”; Fig. 1) positioned about the axle (2) and adjacent a first and a second sidewall (Fig. 1) of the lower roller (1); at least one first seal (Refer to the first seal in the below annotated Fig. 1 of Barani);
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 1 of Barani
wherein the retention blocks (25 and 26) and the bushing (12 and 13) comprise a plurality of adjacent, complementary surfaces to form two pathways (Refer to the two pathways in the below annotated Fig. 1) between the retention blocks (25 and 26) and the bushing (12 and 13);
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1 from Barani et al
wherein each of the two pathways (Refer to the pathways in the above annotated Fig. 1) comprise a first chamber (46 and 47) for housing the at least one first seal (Refer to the first seal in the above annotated Fig. 1 as previously identified); and wherein the retention blocks (25 and 26) are selectively removeable (Fig. 1 discloses the removeable retention blocks 25, 26 as the structure permits assembly and disassembly; Col. 1, line 31-34) to access the pathways for maintenance on the assembly (1) or replacement of the at least one first seal, but fails to disclose the at least one second seal.
Kalmes, however, teaches a track roller body (Fig. 5) including a cover portion (168 “collar member”), first seal (Refer to the first seal in the below annotated Fig. 5; 64 “sealing member”; Fig. 2), and a second seal (172 “protective seal”; Para [0034]) attached to an inside surface of extended flange 170.
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 5 of Kalmes
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the roller assembly of Barani by adding a second seal as taught by Kalmes, with the motivation to improve sealing performance and to prevent ingress of external debris.
Regarding claim 4, Barani further discloses the at least one first seal is a V-ring seal, a conical seal or a face seal (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 1).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 1 of Barani
Regarding claim 8, Barani further discloses the axle (2) comprises a groove (45 “duct”; Fig. 1) parallel to the longitudinal axis of the axle (The groove 45 of Fig. 1 extends parallel to the longitudinal axis of the axle).
Regarding claim 9, Barani further discloses the assembly (1) of claim 8 further comprising at least a second groove oriented to intersect the groove (45) at one end (43 “radial hole”; Fig. 1) and the outer circumference of the axle at another end (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Barani further discloses the assembly (1) of claim 9 further comprising at least a third groove (44 “radial hole”; Fig. 1) oriented to intersect the groove (45) at one end and the outer circumference of the axle (2) at another end (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Barani further discloses the retention block (25 and 26) is at least partially countersunk in the sides of the roller wheel (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Barani further discloses the at least one first seal (Refer to the first seal in the below annotated Fig. 1) is selectively removeable after removing at least one of the retention blocks (The below annotated Fig. 1 discloses the first seal removable after removal of the covers 25, 26, which is inherent in the structure shown).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 1 of Barani
Regarding claim 14, Barani, as modified by Kalmes, discloses the at least one second seal is selectively removeable after removing at least one of the retention blocks (As modified, the above annotated Fig. 1 discloses the first and second seals removable after removal of the covers 25, 26, which is inherent in the structure shown).
Regarding claim 15, Barani further discloses the pathway comprises at least two 90 degree turns (Evident from the below examiner’s annotated Fig. 1 from Barani et al).
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1 from Barani et al
Regarding claim 16, Barani further discloses the pathway comprises at least three 90 degree turns (The above examiner’s annotated Fig. 1 from Barani et al).
Regarding claim 18, Barani further discloses the assembly is coupled to a crawler frame (The Background of Barani et al discloses rollers for tracks that rest on a crawler frame, thereby disclosing that the assembly is coupled to a crawler frame).
Regarding claim 19, Barani further discloses the assembly of claim 18, wherein the assembly is duplicated to provide the assembly and a second assembly (The Background of Barani et al discloses that tracks rest on a plurality of free rollers, thereby disclosing that the assembly is duplicated to provide the assembly and a second assembly).
Regarding claim 20, Barani further discloses the assembly of claim 19, wherein the second assembly is attached to the crawler frame (The Background of Barani et al discloses that tracks rest on a plurality of free rollers, thereby disclosing that the second assembly is attached to the crawler frame).
8. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barani et al, as modified by Kalmes, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Canalizo (US3630483).
Regarding claim 3, Barani, as modified by Kalmes, fails to explicitly disclose the at least one second seal is a V-ring seal, a conical seal or a face seal.
Canalizo, however, teaches a V-ring seal (Fig. 3; Col. 6, lines 4-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the roller assembly of Barani, as modified by Kalmes, by substituting its second seal for a v-seal, such as taught by Canalizo, with the motivation to use an alternative sealing element and achieve predictable results.
9. Claims 6, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barani, as modified by Kalmes, as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Ketting et al (US5803558; hereinafter “Ketting”).
Regarding claim 6, Barani, as modified by Kalmes, fails to disclose the assembly further comprising a pair of bars secured to the axle, each of the pair of bars positioned to abut one of the pair of retention blocks.
Ketting, however, teaches a pair of bars (“Dowel Pin” as shown in the below examiner’s annotated figure 8 from Ketting) secured to the axle (2 “axle”; Fig. 8), each of the pair of bars (“Dowel Pin”) positioned to abut one of the pair of retention blocks (100 “mount”; Fig. 8; The below examiner’s annotated figure 8 from Ketting).
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 from Ketting
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the assembly of Barani, as modified by Kalmes, by adding a pair of elongate members, such as the screw-fastened dowel pins as taught by Ketting, secured to the axle, with motivation to positively locate and restrain the retention blocks by abutting engagement on the axle, thereby yielding predictable positioning and stability.
Regarding claim 7, Barani, as modified by Kalmes and Ketting, discloses the assembly of claim 6, wherein the pair of bars are countersunk in the axle (Refer to the above annotated Fig. 8 as discussed above with respect to claim 6).
Regarding claim 11, Barani, as modified by Kalmes, further fails to explicitly disclose the groove is selectively sealed.
Ketting, however, teaches a groove is selectively sealed with a plug (Refer to the groove and plug in the below annotated Fig. 8).
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8 from Ketting
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the roller assembly of Barani, as modified by Kalmes, by adding a plug, such as taught by Ketting, with motivation to selectively seal an opening to prevent ingress of contaminants and to retain lubricant, thereby yielding predictable sealing performance.
10. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barani, as modified by Kalmes, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crotti (US4640559).
Regarding claim 17, Barani et al fails to disclose at least one O-ring positioned between the retention blocks and the axle.
Crotti, However, teaches an O-ring (10 “O-ring”; Fig. 1) positioned between the retention blocks (7 “thrust-bracket”; Fig. 1) and the axle (1 “shaft”; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the roller assembly of Barani, as modified by Kalmes, by adding an O-ring, such as taught by Crotti, with motivation to add a known sealing element and achieve predictable sealing performance.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references disclose a roller assembly including one or more sealing structures and internal components.
/TAEKWON CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615