DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 includes a parenthetical “(X2)” which is unclear as to what it refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 10-12, 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FR 2651236 A1 (“Acome”).
As to claim 1, Acome teaches a methyl methacrylate monomer composition including methyl pyruvate (translation, para. 0008).
As to claims 7 and 8, Acome further teaches an acrylate ester, specifically exemplified by methyl acrylate (translation, para. 0008).
As to claim 10, Acome further teaches the recited additives (translation, para. 0008).
As to claims 11 and 21, Acome teaches radical polymerization with organic peroxides to produce polymethyl methacrylate (para. 0007, translation) as required by claims 11 and 21.
As to claim 12, Acome teaches a methyl methacrylate monomer composition including methyl pyruvate (translation, para. 0008). Acome teaches radical polymerization with organic peroxides to produce polymethyl methacrylate (para. 0007, translation), thus a methacrylate resin composition. It is reasonable to presume the polymerization product contains methyl pyruvate.
As to claims 18 and 19, Acome teaches compositions comprised entirely of methyl methacrylate as monomer, with less than 5 wt % of acrylate monomers (para. 0006), and no styrene monomers.
As to claim 20, Acome teaches molding into resin plates (para. 0011).
Claim(s) 12, 13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP H07-094506 B2 (“Itagaki”).
As to claims 12, 13, and 18-20, Itagaki teaches comparative example 1, a resin plate (resin molded body as required by claims 20) of polymerized 100% methyl methacrylate (as required by claims 18 and 19) having 14 ppm of methyl pyruvate (translation, p. 11) as required by claims 12 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,091,033 (“Nakabayashi”).
As to claims 1-6, Nakabayashi teaches an adhesive composition. Nakabayashi teaches a polymerizable monomer (abstract), preferably acrylic or methacrylic esters such as methyl methacrylate (6:19-21).
While not exemplified, Nakabayashi teaches the composition includes a polymerization catalyst (abstract) which may be methyl pyruvate (7:10-15). Nakabayashi teaches that the polymerizable monomer is present in amounts of 95 to 43 wt % of the composition, and the catalyst is present in 0.01 to 43 wt % of the composition (9:15-28), which calculates to at least 100 ppm of catalyst (such as methyl pyruvate) to methyl methacrylate as required by claims 1-4, and which encompasses the range of claims 5 and 6. As such, the use of methyl pyruvate, including in recited amounts, as a catalyst for polymerizing methyl methacrylate, is an obvious modification suggested by Nakabayashi.
As to claims 12-17, Nakabayashi teaches an adhesive composition. Nakabayashi teaches a polymerizable monomer (abstract), preferably acrylic or methacrylic esters such as methyl methacrylate (6:19-21). Nakabayashi teaches polymerizing and curing the compositions (6:25-30).
While not exemplified, Nakabayashi teaches the composition includes a polymerization catalyst (abstract) which may be methyl pyruvate (7:10-15). Nakabayashi teaches that the polymerizable monomer is present in amounts of 95 to 43 wt % of the composition, and the catalyst is present in 0.01 to 43 wt % of the composition (9:15-28), which calculates to at least 100 ppm of catalyst (such as methyl pyruvate) to methyl methacrylate as required by claims 1-4, and which encompasses the range of claims 5 and 6. As such, the use of methyl pyruvate, including in recited amounts, as a catalyst for polymerizing methyl methacrylate, is an obvious modification suggested by Nakabayashi. Furthermore, it is reasonable to expect the resulting polymerized product to have the recited amounts of the catalyst (such as methyl pyruvate).
As to claims 18 and 19, Nakabayashi teaches the monomer may be just methyl methacrylate (claim 6).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR 2651236 A1 (“Acome”).
The discussion of Acome with respect to claims 1 and 12 is incorporated by reference.
As to claims 2 and 3, Acome teaches up to 60 ppm of methyl pyruvate and/or methyl hydroxyisobutyrate, and as such Acome contemplates up to 60 ppm methyl pyruvate as a component of the monomer mixture (para. 0008), and as such, is obvious as suggested by Acome.
As to claim 9, while not exemplified, Acome teaches the additional acrylate monomer is preferably a C1 to C4 acrylate, which includes n-butyl acrylate in a limited set of monomers defined by that preferred range, and thus the use of n-butyl acrylate is suggested by Acome.
As to claims 13 and 14, Acome teaches up to 60 ppm of methyl pyruvate and/or methyl hydroxyisobutyrate, and as such Acome contemplates up to 60 ppm methyl pyruvate as a component of the monomer mixture (para. 0008), and as such, is obvious as suggested by Acome.
Claim(s) 11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,091,033 (“Nakabayashi”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of EP 0535828 A1 (“Doba”).
As to claims 11 and 21, Nakabayashi teaches the catalyst is for polymerizing and curing the polymerizable monomers (6:26-31), thus forming methacrylic resin. While Nakabayashi does not state radical polymerization, Nakabayashi states that methyl pyruvate is an alpha ketocarbonyl light initiator, which as evidenced by Doba, p. 4 as a radical initiator, and thus it is reasonable to expect the polymerization to be radical.
Claim(s) 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2005/0074556 (“Kano”).
As to claims 12 and 17, Kano teaches a film forming composition of a polymer, including monomers that are specifically preferred to be methacrylates (para. 0034).
While not exemplified, Kano teaches the polymer may be dissolved in a solvent, including methyl pyruvate (para. 0079), and teaches a solid content (polymer) between 2 to 30 % (para. 0081), such that the majority of the composition is solvent, which in the case of methyl pyruvate, would be present in well over the ranges recited by claims 12-17.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/512,500 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 7 recites a composition recited methyl methacrylate and additives, including methyl pyruvate in one list, and methyl isobutyrate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/512,517 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 7 recites a composition recited methyl methacrylate and additives, including methyl pyruvate in one list, and methyl propionate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 10, and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16 and 28 of copending Application No. 19/207,694 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 16 recites a monomer composition and additives from a list including the recited additives as required by claims 1 and 10. Copending claim 28 recites a methacrylic resin composition with additives from a list including the recited additives as required by claim 12.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 7-14, and 18-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 12, 13, 16, 18, 21, 27, and 31 of copending Application No. 19/207,763 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 1 teaches a monomer composition comprising methyl methacrylate and a compound including methyl pyruvate or 2-methylbutyrate. Copending claim 12 recites an acrylic ester as required by claim 7. Copending claim 16 recites methyl isobutyrate as required by claim 10. Copending claim 18 recites polymerizing the resin composition as required by claim 21, thus obtaining a methacrylic resin of claim 11. Copending claim 19 recites a methacrylic polymer and additive from a list including methyl pyruvate and methyl 2-methylbutyrate as required by claim 12. Copending claim 31 recites the resin molding body recited by claim 20. As such, these copending claims anticipate the subject matter of claims 1, 7, 10-12, 20, and 21.
Claims 2 and 3 are obvious over the subject matter of copending claims 1 and 9, because these claims recited that the total amount of the additives, including methyl pyruvate and methyl 2-methylbutyrate exceed 50 ppm, and thus contemplates compositions having the recited additives in amounts exceeding 50 ppm.
Claims 8 and 9 are obvious over the copending claims because copending claims 12 and 13 recite the additional alkyl acrylates of claims 8 and 9, and thus those acrylates are an obvious combination suggested by the copending claims.
Claims 13 and 14 are obvious over the subject matter of copending claims 19 and 27, because these claims recited that the total amount of the additives, including methyl pyruvate and methyl 2-methylbutyrate exceed 50 ppm, and thus contemplates compositions having the recited additives in amounts exceeding 50 ppm.
Claims 18 and 19 are obvious over the subject matter of copending claim 21, because claim 21 recites that the methacrylic polymer includes 70 % of or more of methyl methacrylate, which includes 100 %, and thus renders the polymer of claims 18 and 19 obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/KREGG T BROOKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764