DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 16th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pg. 7-8 (as numbered by the Applicant) of the Remarks, “Applicant respectfully submits that Coffinberry fails to teach each and every element of amended claims 1 and 10. More specifically, Coffinberry fails to teach an environmental control system having an outlet fluidly coupled to at least one load of the vehicle including a cockpit. The variable cooling portion air cycle system ACS 27 disclosed in Coffinberry does not have an outlet fluidly coupled to the cockpit. On the contrary, Applicant submits that the ACS 27 of Coffinberry has a closed loop configuration. The air cycle machine 34 has a compressor and a turbine 52. The compressor outlet is fluidly to an air to air duct heat exchanger 40 in which the flow is cooled. Downstream from the heat exchanger is the fuel to air heat exchanger 44, in which the cooling air flow 46 is further cooled. From the fuel to air heat exchanger 44, the cooling air 46 is provided to an inlet of the cooling turbine 52. The cooling air 46 provided at the outlet of the turbine 52 is then used to cool another flow of fuel at an air cycle system heat exchanger 30. From the air cycle system heat exchanger 30, the heated flow of cooling air 46 is provided to the compressor inlet 72. An ACM air cooling loop, identified generally at 106 includes the compressor 50, cooling turbine 52, air duct heat exchanger 40, engine fuel to air heat exchanger 44 and the air cycles system heat exchanger 30. Accordingly, Coffinberry does not disclosure an outlet of such a cooling loop for delivering cool air to a cockpit.” However, this argument is not persuasive as Applicant appears to be referring the embodiment of Fig. 2 of Coffinberry which includes the ACS 27 which is not relied upon by the Examiner. All of the claimed features have been drawn to the embodiment of Fig. 4 of Coffinberry which explicitly discloses an environmental control system having an outlet fluidly coupled to at least one load of the vehicle including a cockpit (Coffinberry, Fig. 4, cooling air 46, cooling air portion 118; Pg. 4, paragraph 40, A cooling air portion 118 of the cooling air 46 exiting the cooling turbine 52 may be used for cooling and ventilation for at least one of the cockpit 18, avionics 22, onboard inert gas generation systems (OBIGGS) 26, and onboard oxygen gas generation systems (OBOGS) 28). See the rejection of claim 1 and 10 below.
The rejections of independent claims 1 and 10 are maintained. The rejections of dependent claims 2-9 and 11-20 are also maintained for at least the reasons described herein.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “vehicle”, “at least one load of the vehicle”, and “cockpit” of claim 1 and 10 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “conduit 82” of Pg. 9, paragraph 41. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the vehicle" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the vehicle” in line 4 of claim 10 to “a vehicle”.
Claims 11, 15, and 20 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 10.
Claim 12 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 11.
Claims 13-14 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 12.
Claims 16-18 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 15.
Claim 19 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-12, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Coffinberry et al. (US 20120000205), hereinafter Coffinberry.
Regarding claim 1, Coffinberry discloses an air conditioning system of a vehicle (Fig. 1, gas turbine engine powered aircraft 2, adaptive power thermal management system (APTMS) 12; Fig. 4; Pg. 2, paragraph 19, FIG. 4 is a diagrammatical view illustration of an alternative adaptive power thermal management system (APTMS) that uses compressor discharge air for in an air cycle machine (ACM) of the APTMS), the air conditioning system comprising:
an environmental control system configured to condition a flow of medium (Fig. 4, adaptive power thermal management system (APTMS), environmental control system 14, cooling air 46; Pg. 4, paragraph 41, The adaptive power thermal management system (APTMS) 12 provides a steady-state transfer of demand heat load to conventional heat sinks (such as ram air, fan air, flade air and/or engine burn fuel) and to aircraft fuel tank heat sink or fuel stored in the aircraft fuel tanks), the environmental control system including:
a thermodynamic device having a compressor and at least one turbine operably coupled by a shaft (Fig. 4, air cycle machine (ACM) 34, machine compressor 50, cooling turbine 52, power turbine 54, shaft 56); and
at least one heat exchanger (Fig. 4, engine burn fuel to air heat exchanger 44, air cycle system heat exchanger 30);
an outlet fluidly connected to at least one load of the vehicle, the at least one load including a cockpit (Fig. 4, cooling air 46, cooling air portion 118; Pg. 4, paragraph 40, A cooling air portion 118 of the cooling air 46 exiting the cooling turbine 52 may be used for cooling and ventilation for at least one of the cockpit 18, avionics 22, onboard inert gas generation systems (OBIGGS) 26, and onboard oxygen gas generation systems (OBOGS) 28);
a secondary system having a working fluid circulating through the secondary system, the secondary system including a vapor compression cycle (Fig. 4, vapor cycle system (VCS) 29, working fluid 80, VCS compressor 81, VCS evaporator 82, VCS condenser 32; Pg. 2, paragraph 29, Cooling fuel 21 from the internal fuel tank(s) 4 flows through a pipe 23 of a fuel recirculation loop 66 to an air cycle system heat exchanger 30 and then to a vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32 in the VCS 29 where it is used to cool a working fluid 80 in the VCS 29. The working fluid 80 may be a well known refrigerant such as R-134a); and
at least one liquid loop having at least one liquid flowing through the at least one liquid loop, the at least one liquid loop being fluidly connected to the at least one heat exchanger, wherein the environmental control system is thermally coupled to the secondary system, via the at least one liquid loop (Fig. 4, polyalphaolefin (PAO) loop 48, fuel recirculation loop 66, cooling fuel 21, engine burn fuel 38; Pg. 2, paragraph 23, The engine fuel to air heat exchanger 44, downstream of the intercooler 36, uses a polyalphaolefin (PAO) loop 48 to exchange heat between cooling air 46 from the ACM 34 and the engine burn fuel 38; Pg. 2, paragraph 29, Cooling fuel 21 from the internal fuel tank(s) 4 flows through a pipe 23 of a fuel recirculation loop 66 to an air cycle system heat exchanger 30 and then to a vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32 in the VCS 29 where it is used to cool a working fluid 80 in the VCS 29);
wherein the at least one liquid provided at an outlet of the at least one heat exchanger is operable to cool the working fluid of the secondary system (Pg. 2, paragraph 29, Cooling fuel 21 from the internal fuel tank(s) 4 flows through a pipe 23 of a fuel recirculation loop 66 to an air cycle system heat exchanger 30 and then to a vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32 in the VCS 29 where it is used to cool a working fluid 80 in the VCS 29).
Regarding claim 2, Coffinberry discloses the system of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the secondary system includes a condenser, the condenser being arranged downstream from the at least one heat exchanger relative to a flow of the at least one liquid (Fig. 4, vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32; Pg. 2, paragraph 29, Cooling fuel 21 from the internal fuel tank(s) 4 flows through a pipe 23 of a fuel recirculation loop 66 to an air cycle system heat exchanger 30 and then to a vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32 in the VCS 29 where it is used to cool a working fluid 80 in the VCS 29).
Regarding claim 3, Coffinberry discloses the system of claim 2 (see the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the condenser is located directly downstream from the at least one heat exchanger relative to the flow of the at least one liquid (Pg. 2, paragraph 29, Cooling fuel 21 from the internal fuel tank(s) 4 flows through a pipe 23 of a fuel recirculation loop 66 to an air cycle system heat exchanger 30 and then to a vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32 in the VCS 29 where it is used to cool a working fluid 80 in the VCS 29).
Regarding claim 4, Coffinberry discloses the system of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the at least one liquid includes a fuel (Fig. 4, cooling fuel 21, engine burn fuel 38).
Regarding claim 5, Coffinberry discloses the system of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the at least one heat exchanger further comprises a first heat exchanger and a second heat exchanger, the second heat exchanger being arranged downstream from the first heat exchanger relative to the flow of the medium (Fig. 4 of Coffinberry depicts air cycle system heat exchanger 30 to be arranged downstream of engine burn fuel to air heat exchanger 44 with respect to cooling air 46).
Regarding claim 6, Coffinberry discloses the system of claim 5 (see the rejection of claim 5 above), wherein the at least one liquid loop further comprises a first liquid loop having a first liquid and a second liquid loop having a second liquid, the first liquid loop being fluidly connected to the first heat exchanger and the second liquid loop being fluidly connected to the second heat exchanger (Fig. 4, polyalphaolefin (PAO) loop 48, fuel recirculation loop 66, cooling fuel 21, engine burn fuel 38; Pg. 2, paragraph 23, The engine fuel to air heat exchanger 44, downstream of the intercooler 36, uses a polyalphaolefin (PAO) loop 48 to exchange heat between cooling air 46 from the ACM 34 and the engine burn fuel 38; Pg. 2, paragraph 29, Cooling fuel 21 from the internal fuel tank(s) 4 flows through a pipe 23 of a fuel recirculation loop 66 to an air cycle system heat exchanger 30 and then to a vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32 in the VCS 29 where it is used to cool a working fluid 80 in the VCS 29).
Regarding claim 7, Coffinberry discloses the system of claim 6 (see the rejection of claim 6 above), wherein the second liquid is different than the first liquid (Fig. 4, polyalphaolefin (PAO) loop 48, fuel recirculation loop 66, cooling fuel 21, engine burn fuel 38; Pg. 2, paragraph 23, The engine fuel to air heat exchanger 44, downstream of the intercooler 36, uses a polyalphaolefin (PAO) loop 48 to exchange heat between cooling air 46 from the ACM 34 and the engine burn fuel 38; Pg. 2, paragraph 29, Cooling fuel 21 from the internal fuel tank(s) 4 flows through a pipe 23 of a fuel recirculation loop 66 to an air cycle system heat exchanger 30 and then to a vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32 in the VCS 29 where it is used to cool a working fluid 80 in the VCS 29; Further, the teachings of Coffinberry disclose an engine burning fuel 38 to be used in the polyalphaolefin (PAO) loop 48 and a cooling fuel 21 to be used in fuel recirculation loop 66).
Regarding claim 9, Coffinberry discloses the system of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the at least one heat exchanger is arranged downstream from the at least one turbine relative to the flow of the medium (Fig. 4 of Coffinberry depicts the air cycle system heat exchanger 30 to be disposed downstream of the cooling turbine 52).
Regarding claim 10, Coffinberry discloses a method of operating an air conditioning system (Fig. 4; Pg. 2, paragraph 19, FIG. 4 is a diagrammatical view illustration of an alternative adaptive power thermal management system (APTMS) that uses compressor discharge air for in an air cycle machine (ACM) of the APTMS) comprising:
providing an environmental control system having an outlet fluidly connected to at least one load of the vehicle, the at least one load including a cockpit, the environmental control system being thermally coupled to a secondary system including a vapor compression cycle by at least one liquid loop, the at least one liquid loop having a flow of at least one liquid circulating through the at least one liquid loop (Fig. 1, gas turbine engine powered aircraft 2, adaptive power thermal management system (APTMS) 12; Fig. 4, adaptive power thermal management system (APTMS), environmental control system 14, vapor cycle system (VCS) 29, working fluid 80, VCS compressor 81, VCS evaporator 82, VCS condenser 32, cooling air 46, air cycle system heat exchanger 30, polyalphaolefin (PAO) loop 48, fuel recirculation loop 66, cooling fuel 21, engine burn fuel 38, cooling air 46, cooling air portion 118; Pg. 2, paragraph 23, The engine fuel to air heat exchanger 44, downstream of the intercooler 36, uses a polyalphaolefin (PAO) loop 48 to exchange heat between cooling air 46 from the ACM 34 and the engine burn fuel 38; Pg. 2, paragraph 29, Cooling fuel 21 from the internal fuel tank(s) 4 flows through a pipe 23 of a fuel recirculation loop 66 to an air cycle system heat exchanger 30 and then to a vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32 in the VCS 29 where it is used to cool a working fluid 80 in the VCS 29; Pg. 4, paragraph 40, A cooling air portion 118 of the cooling air 46 exiting the cooling turbine 52 may be used for cooling and ventilation for at least one of the cockpit 18, avionics 22, onboard inert gas generation systems (OBIGGS) 26, and onboard oxygen gas generation systems (OBOGS) 28);
circulating a working fluid within the secondary system (Fig. 4, working fluid 80; Pg. 2, paragraph 29, Cooling fuel 21 from the internal fuel tank(s) 4 flows through a pipe 23 of a fuel recirculation loop 66 to an air cycle system heat exchanger 30 and then to a vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32 in the VCS 29 where it is used to cool a working fluid 80 in the VCS 29. The working fluid 80 may be a well known refrigerant such as R-134a); and
conditioning a medium within the environmental control system to form a conditioned medium, wherein the conditioning of the medium includes using the medium as a heat sink to cool the working fluid of the secondary system (Fig. 4, cooling air 46; Pg. 2, paragraph 29, Cooling fuel 21 from the internal fuel tank(s) 4 flows through a pipe 23 of a fuel recirculation loop 66 to an air cycle system heat exchanger 30 and then to a vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32 in the VCS 29 where it is used to cool a working fluid 80 in the VCS 29; Pg. 4, paragraph 40-41, A cooling air portion 118 of the cooling air 46 exiting the cooling turbine 52 may be used for cooling and ventilation for at least one of the cockpit 18, avionics 22, onboard inert gas generation systems (OBIGGS) 26, and onboard oxygen gas generation systems (OBOGS) 28. The adaptive power thermal management system (APTMS) 12 provides a steady-state transfer of demand heat load to conventional heat sinks (such as ram air, fan air, flade air and/or engine burn fuel).
Regarding claim 11, Coffinberry discloses the method of claim 10 (see the rejection of claim 10 above), wherein using the medium as a heat sink to cool the working fluid further comprises using the medium as a first heat sink to cool at least one liquid circulating through the at least one liquid loop and then using the at least one liquid as a second heat sink to cool the working fluid of the secondary system (Pg. 2, paragraph 23, The engine fuel to air heat exchanger 44, downstream of the intercooler 36, uses a polyalphaolefin (PAO) loop 48 to exchange heat between cooling air 46 from the ACM 34 and the engine burn fuel 38; Pg. 2, paragraph 29, Cooling fuel 21 from the internal fuel tank(s) 4 flows through a pipe 23 of a fuel recirculation loop 66 to an air cycle system heat exchanger 30 and then to a vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32 in the VCS 29 where it is used to cool a working fluid 80 in the VCS 29).
Regarding claim 12, Coffinberry discloses the method of claim 11 (see the rejection of claim 11 above), wherein the at least one liquid loop further comprises a first liquid loop having a first liquid and a second liquid loop having a second liquid, using the medium as a heat sink to cool the working fluid further comprises using the medium as the heat sink to cool the first liquid (Fig. 4, polyalphaolefin (PAO) loop 48, fuel recirculation loop 66, cooling fuel 21, engine burn fuel 38; Pg. 2, paragraph 23, The engine fuel to air heat exchanger 44, downstream of the intercooler 36, uses a polyalphaolefin (PAO) loop 48 to exchange heat between cooling air 46 from the ACM 34 and the engine burn fuel 38; Pg. 2, paragraph 29, Cooling fuel 21 from the internal fuel tank(s) 4 flows through a pipe 23 of a fuel recirculation loop 66 to an air cycle system heat exchanger 30 and then to a vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32 in the VCS 29 where it is used to cool a working fluid 80 in the VCS 29).
Regarding claim 14, Coffinberry discloses the method of claim 12 (see the rejection of claim 12 above), wherein the second liquid is different than the first liquid (Fig. 4, polyalphaolefin (PAO) loop 48, fuel recirculation loop 66, cooling fuel 21, engine burn fuel 38; Pg. 2, paragraph 23, The engine fuel to air heat exchanger 44, downstream of the intercooler 36, uses a polyalphaolefin (PAO) loop 48 to exchange heat between cooling air 46 from the ACM 34 and the engine burn fuel 38; Pg. 2, paragraph 29, Cooling fuel 21 from the internal fuel tank(s) 4 flows through a pipe 23 of a fuel recirculation loop 66 to an air cycle system heat exchanger 30 and then to a vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32 in the VCS 29 where it is used to cool a working fluid 80 in the VCS 29; Further, the teachings of Coffinberry disclose an engine burning fuel 38 to be used in the polyalphaolefin (PAO) loop 48 and a cooling fuel 21 to be used in fuel recirculation loop 66).
Regarding claim 20, Coffinberry discloses the method of claim 10 (see the rejection of claim 10 above), wherein at least one liquid circulating through the at least one liquid loop is a fuel (Fig. 4, cooling fuel 21, engine burn fuel 38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coffinberry et al. (US 20120000205), hereinafter Coffinberry in view of Bruno et al. (US Patent No. 8,936,071), hereinafter Bruno.
Regarding claim 8, Coffinberry discloses the system of claim 6 (see the rejection of claim 6 above), wherein the secondary system includes a condenser and an evaporator, the condenser being arranged downstream from the at least one heat exchanger relative to a flow of the at least one liquid (Fig. 4, vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32, VCS evaporator 82; Pg. 2, paragraph 29, Cooling fuel 21 from the internal fuel tank(s) 4 flows through a pipe 23 of a fuel recirculation loop 66 to an air cycle system heat exchanger 30 and then to a vapor cycle system (VCS) condenser 32 in the VCS 29 where it is used to cool a working fluid 80 in the VCS 29).
Coffinberry does not disclose the upstream heat exchanger, relative to the flow of the medium, to be in fluid communication with the condenser via the first liquid and the downstream heat exchanger, relative to the flow of the medium, to be in fluid communication with the evaporator via the second liquid.
Bruno teaches a medium to flow through a first heat exchanger and a second heat exchanger in series wherein both the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger are in fluid communication with a secondary system via an evaporator (Fig. 1, vapor compression cycle 22, evaporator 26, line 32, line 34, line 36 heat exchanger 48, heat exchanger 56; Col. 2, lines 1-5 and 12-19, The liquid from the liquid cooling system branches from the main line 3 6, downstream of the evaporator 26, such that a portion of it passes through a line 32 and through the heat exchanger 48. This further cools the air in the heat exchanger 48… An intermediate heat exchanger 56 is shown downstream of the turbine 52. The heat exchanger 56 also receives a portion of the cooled liquid, and in the disclosed embodiment, the portion which does not pass to the heat exchanger 48. The liquid is further cooled in the heat exchanger 56. The liquid downstream of the heat exchanger 56 passes to the liquid uses or loads 60, which may include a galley cooling system, avionics, etc. The liquid returns through line 34 to line 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Coffinberry of claim 6 wherein the condenser is arranged downstream from the first heat exchanger relative to a flow of the first liquid and the evaporator is arranged downstream from the second heat exchanger relative to a flow of the second liquid as taught by Bruno. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the synergistic benefits of combining the systems include the reduction of parts, and the more efficient provision of the cooled fluids to the several uses (Bruno, Col. 2, lines 22-24). Further, it has been held that rearrangement of parts requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient. “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950): Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-C.
Regarding claim 13, Coffinberry discloses the method of claim 12 (see the rejection of claim 12 above).
However, Coffinberry does not disclose further comprising transferring heat to the working fluid via the second liquid.
Bruno teaches comprising transferring heat to the working fluid from a heat exchanger of the environmental control system to an evaporator of the secondary system via a cooling liquid (Fig. 1, air cycle 40, vapor compression cycle 22, evaporator 26, line 32, line 34, line 36 heat exchanger 48, heat exchanger 56; Col. 2, lines 1-5, The liquid from the liquid cooling system branches from the main line 36, downstream of the evaporator 26, such that a portion of it passes through a line 32 and through the heat exchanger 48. This further cools the air in the heat exchanger 48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Coffinberry of claim 12 to include the step or limitation of transferring heat to the working fluid via the second liquid as taught by Bruno. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the synergistic benefits of combining the systems include the reduction of parts, and the more efficient provision of the cooled fluids to the several uses (Bruno, Col. 2, lines 22-24).
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coffinberry et al. (US 20120000205), hereinafter Coffinberry in view of Behrens et al. (US Patent No. 10,611,487), hereinafter Behrens.
Regarding claim 15, Coffinberry discloses the method of claim 10 (see the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Coffinberry does not disclose further comprising adjusting the heat sink formed by the medium in response to an ambient air temperature.
Behrens teaches further comprising adjusting the heat sink formed by the medium in response to an ambient air temperature (Fig. 1, bleeding air source 113; Fig. 8, method 300, steps 302-314; Col. 1, lines 11-35, At 306, it is determined whether the ambient temperature outside of the aircraft 10 is at or above a designated threshold temperature. For example, the control circuit 146 may be operably coupled to a temperature sensor such that the control circuit 146 determines the current temperature of the ambient air based on the temperature sensor. The designated threshold temperature may be based on a current operating mode of the vehicle (e.g., flight or ground). If the ambient temperature is at or above the designated threshold temperature, then flow proceeds to 310 from 306. At 310, an operating temperature of the compressed ram air is reduced. In one or more embodiments, the compressed ram air is directed to a vapor cycle system 126 that is configured to cool the compressed ram air. The vapor cycle system 126 includes a motor-driven refrigerant compressor 128 that uses energy supplied by the motor 130 to compress a refrigerant. The motor 130 may be powered by an electrical power source 150 on the aircraft 10. The compressed ram air is directed to an evaporator 134 of the vapor cycle system 126, where heat transfers from the compressed ram air to the refrigerant to cool the compressed ram air. Optionally, the bleed air may flow with the compressed ram air to the evaporator 134 such that the operating temperature of the bleed air is reduced concurrently with the compressed ram air).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Coffinberry of claim 10 to include the step or limitation of adjusting the heat sink formed by the medium in response to an ambient air temperature as taught by Behrens. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide increased control of system operations based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 16, Coffinberry as modified discloses the method of claim 15 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above), wherein adjusting the heat sink includes increasing an amount of heat absorbed by the medium (Behrens, Fig. 8, step 310; Col. 1, lines 20-35, At 310, an operating temperature of the compressed ram air is reduced. In one or more embodiments, the compressed ram air is directed to a vapor cycle system 126 that is configured to cool the compressed ram air. The vapor cycle system 126 includes a motor-driven refrigerant compressor 128 that uses energy supplied by the motor 130 to compress a refrigerant. The motor 130 may be powered by an electrical power source 150 on the aircraft 10. The compressed ram air is directed to an evaporator 134 of the vapor cycle system 126, where heat transfers from the compressed ram air to the refrigerant to cool the compressed ram air. Optionally, the bleed air may flow with the compressed ram air to the evaporator 134 such that the operating temperature of the bleed air is reduced concurrently with the compressed ram air). Further, the limitations of claim 16 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Regarding claim 17, Coffinberry as modified discloses the method of claim 15 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above), wherein adjusting the heat sink further comprises controlling a flow of the medium provided to an inlet of the environmental control system (Behrens, Col. 19, lines 11-24, Although not shown in FIG. 8, the method 300 may include one or more steps of reconfiguring the air conditioning flow circuit 170 to switch configurations of the air conditioning pack 145. The reconfiguring steps may be performed by opening and closing certain specific valves 172 to control and set different respective flow paths for the compressed ram air and the bleed air within the air conditioning flow pack 145. The reconfiguration may be controlled by the control circuit 146, and may occur in response to the aircraft 10 transitioning between different modes of operation (e.g., from a ground mode of operation while on the ground to a cruise flight mode of operation during flight of the aircraft 10). Further, the limitations of claim 17 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Regarding claim 18, Coffinberry as modified discloses the method of claim 15 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above), wherein the environmental control system further comprises a thermodynamic device including a compressor and a turbine operably coupled by a shaft, wherein the conditioning of the medium further includes compressing the medium via the compressor to form a compressed medium and extracting energy from the compressed medium via the turbine to form an expanded medium, wherein the energy extracted from the compressed medium is used to drive the compressor (Coffinberry, Fig. 4, air cycle machine (ACM) 34, machine compressor 50, cooling turbine 52, power turbine 54, shaft 56; Pg. 2, paragraph 24, The cooling air 46 is directed from the machine compressor 50, through the intercooler 36, into the cooling turbine 52. The cooling air 46 exiting the cooling turbine 52 is then used to cool the internal fuel tank(s) 4. The ACM 34 includes an ACM power turbine 54 for driving the machine compressor 50 and the cooling turbine 52 through a shaft 56. The ACM power turbine 54 is powered by pressurized air 58 from a compressor discharge stage 60 of a high pressure compressor 64 of one of the aircraft gas turbine engines 10; Pg. 2, paragraph 27, When the ACM cooling compressor 50 power requirements exceed power available from the cooling turbine 52 using just the energy in the pressurized air 58, then the pressurized air 58 from the compressor discharge stage 60 is heated in an ACM combustor 62 to increase power produced by the ACM power turbine 54; Further, the teachings of Coffinberry which recite, “When the ACM cooling compressor 50 power requirements exceed power available from the cooling turbine 52 using just the energy in the pressurized air 58” at least imply the compressor can be driven by both the cooling turbine 52 and the ACM power turbine 54 since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 19, Coffinberry as modified discloses the method of claim 18 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 18 above), wherein adjusting the heat sink further comprises controlling a flow of the medium provided to the turbine (Behrens, Col. 19, lines 11-24, Although not shown in FIG. 8, the method 300 may include one or more steps of reconfiguring the air conditioning flow circuit 170 to switch configurations of the air conditioning pack 145. The reconfiguring steps may be performed by opening and closing certain specific valves 172 to control and set different respective flow paths for the compressed ram air and the bleed air within the air conditioning flow pack 145. The reconfiguration may be controlled by the control circuit 146, and may occur in response to the aircraft 10 transitioning between different modes of operation (e.g., from a ground mode of operation while on the ground to a cruise flight mode of operation during flight of the aircraft 10; Col. 14, lines 51-67, In the second ground configuration illustrated in FIG. 5, the first and second bypass valves 172A, 172B are closed to prevent air flow through the heat exchanger bypass line 188 and the evaporator bypass line 190, respectively. The control circuit 146 partially opens the third bypass valve 172C to allow some of the hybrid air stream downstream of the heat exchanger 112 and the evaporator 134 to bypass the turbine 120 through the hot bypass line 192. The portion of the hybrid air stream that bypasses the turbine 120 through the hot bypass line 192 is not used for pressurizing the ram air at the air compressor 118, while the remaining portion of the hybrid air stream that flows through the turbine 120 is used for pressurizing the ram air. The hybrid air stream within the hot bypass line 192 blends with the hybrid air stream that is discharged from the turbine 120 within the third mixing duct 138C before exiting the air conditioning pack 145 through the outlet port 140 (FIG. 3)). Further, the limitations of claim 17 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Conclusion
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 May 08th, 2026