DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the newly added claim limitations. While the examiner agrees that the prior art does not discuss the new claim limitations, it is not clear that newly claimed functionality is capable of being produced by the claimed device. Specifically, it is not clear how rotating the second magnet can adjust a counterbalance force between the first magnet and the first ferromagnetic tube since the second magnet has its own tube that shields its field from the first ferromagnetic tube, and also since the first and second magnets are physically connected together in the disclosed device, and thus cannot produce a counterbalance force on each other.
Double Patenting
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11852212. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claimed subject matter is substantially the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2-3, 5-7, 10-16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claims 2, 11, and 19, it is not clear how a counterbalance force between the first magnet and the first ferromagnetic tube can be adjusted by rotation of the second magnet, or rotation of the first magnet relative to the second magnet. The two magnets are disclosed to be positioned in separate ferromagnetic tubes that inherently block external magnetic fields (including field from another adjacent magnet), and thus can only interact with the tube they are positioned in. Specifically, the claimed structure appears to only be capable of functionality of first magnet interacting with first ferromagnetic tube without being influenced by the second magnet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-7, 10-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manakame et al. (US 9016446) in view of McCarthy et al. (US 2018/0241328, provided in the IDS).
In re claim 2, Manakame, in figures 1-7, discloses an adjustable magnetic spring counterbalance assembly comprising: a first ferromagnetic tube (101, 601); a first magnet (111) disposed in the first ferromagnetic tube and configured to be axially movable and rotatable with respect to the first ferromagnetic tube. Manakame does not teach a second magnet. McCarthy however, teaches a similar device having two magnets (122) and ferromagnetic tubes (120, these tubes are ferromagnetic to provide force to the magnets, see figures 1-3 for best view). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have duplicated the device of Manakame into two structures as taught by McCarty in order to provide improved redundancy and allow for higher counterbalance force when adapted to a device as shown by McCarthy.
In re claim 3, Manakame, in figures 1-7, discloses a cylindrical magnet (as shown in the figures).
In re claim 5, Manakame in view of McCarthy, discloses a second ferromagnetic tube positioned parallel to the first ferromagnetic tube, the second magnet disposed in the second ferromagnetic tube (parallel tubes are shown by McCarthy).
In re claim 6, Manakame in view of McCarthy, discloses that the first and second magnets are coupled to a first component (Device shown by McCarthy shows that dual tubes and magnets can be coupled to one component) of a linear motion system.
In re claim 7, Manakame in view of McCarthy, discloses that the first ferromagnetic tube is coupled to a second component of a linear motion system that moves relative to the first component (as shown in figure 1 by McCarthy).
In re claim 10, Manakame in view of McCarthy, discloses magnets that are configured to rotate but does not teach a third magnet/tube. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a third magnet/tube structure next to the first and the second magnet structures, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Please note that in the instant application, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations. In fact, other species show similar structures without the third magnet/tube structures capable of similar functionality as the claimed structure.
In re claim 11, Manakame, in figures 1-7, discloses a magnetic counterbalance assembly comprising: a first ferromagnetic tube (101, 601); a first magnet (111) disposed in the first ferromagnetic tube and configured to be axially and rotatably movable with respect to the ferromagnetic tube. Manakame does not teach a second magnet. McCarthy however, teaches a similar device having two magnets (122) and ferromagnetic tubes (120, these tubes are ferromagnetic to provide force to the magnets, see figures 1-3 for best view). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have duplicated the device of Manakame into two structures as taught by McCarty in order to provide improved redundancy and allow for higher counterbalance force when adapted to a device as shown by McCarthy.
In re claim 12, Manakame in view of McCarthy, discloses magnets that are configured to be axially movable but does not teach a third magnet/tube. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a third magnet/tube structure next to the first and the second tubes, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Please note that in the instant application, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations. In fact, other species show similar structures without the third magnet/tube structures capable of similar functionality as the claimed structure.
In re claim 13, Manakame in view of McCarthy, discloses that a first pole of the second magnet is adjacent to the first magnet, and a second pole of the second magnet is adjacent to the third magnet to generate a first counterbalance force (all magnets including all poles are adjacent to each other within the device).
In re claim 14, Manakame in view of McCarthy, discloses that the second magnet is rotatable 90 degrees to generate a second counterbalance force greater than the first counterbalance force (90 degree rotation developing different forces is shown by Manakame in figures 6a-b).
In re claim 15, Manakame in view of McCarthy, discloses that the second magnet is rotatable 180 degrees to generate a third counterbalance force greater than the second counterbalance force (the second magnet is inherently rotatable to any position; the force is greater because at 180° the curve is opposite of the first force that is shown and thus has higher value at least in some portions of the curve).
In re claim 16, Manakame in view of McCarthy, discloses a counterbalance bracket (as shown by McCarthy, see figure 1), wherein the first, second, and third magnets are disposed in the counterbalance bracket (in the modified device).
In re claim 18, Manakame in view of McCarthy, discloses that the counterbalance magnet assembly is component of a degree of freedom motion (DOF) stage (the shown device), and the first and second ferromagnetic tubes extend through a table (104) configured to a base of the DOF stage, and the first and second magnets are disposed in a counterbalance bracket configured to the base (as seen in figure 1 of McCarthy).
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy et al. (US 2018/0241328, provided in the IDS) in view of Manakame et al. (US 9016446).
In re claim 19, McCarthy discloses a counterbalance magnet assembly of a degree of freedom motion (DOF) stage, the counterbalance magnet assembly comprising: a first and second ferromagnetic tubes (120); a first and second magnets (122) disposed in the first ferromagnetic tube configured to be axially movable with respect to the ferromagnetic tube. McCarthy does not disclose adjustability of the counterbalance force. Manakame however teaches a ferromagnetic tube (101, 601) and a magnet (111) disposed in the first ferromagnetic tube and configured to be axially and rotatably movable with respect to the ferromagnetic tube to adjust the force. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted the magnet structure as taught by Manakame to the device of McCarthy to provide a variable counterbalance force.
In re claim 20, McCarthy discloses that the counterbalance magnet assembly is component of a degree of freedom motion (DOF) stage, and the first ferromagnetic tube extends through a table (104) configured to a base of the DOF stage, and the first magnet is disposed in a counterbalance bracket configured to the base (as seen in figures of McCarthy).
In re claim 21, Manakame in view of McCarthy, discloses magnets that are configured to be axially movable but does not teach a third magnet/tube. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a third magnet/tube structure next to the first and the second tubes, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Please note that in the instant application, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations. In fact, other species show similar structures without the third magnet/tube structures capable of similar functionality as the claimed structure.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 02/19/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alexander Talpalatski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837