DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the airgap" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eder et al. (US 2009/0182323) in view of Kurs et al. (US 2015/0051750).
Regarding claim 1, Eder discloses an electrosurgical system for performing surgical procedures (see [0019], Fig. 1), comprising: an electrosurgical generator configured to supply RF energy to a surgical site (see 106 and 108; [0039], [0050]); an electrosurgical instrument comprising at least one active electrode adapted to treat tissue with the supplied RF energy (see 102, [0028], [0030], and [0035]); and an impedance matching network comprising a tunable resonant cell interposed along a path of RF energy and arranged to provide maximum power transfer from the electrosurgical generator to the electrosurgical instrument by varying dynamically an inductance of the tunable resonant cell to create a resonant condition, thereby adjusting a phase of the supplied RF energy to a predetermined phase value (see [0050]: “the module 108 may introduce impedance into the electrode circuitry to provide a predetermined, machine-selected, or user-selected impedance matching"; [0058]: "One example of an adjustable impedance is an adjustable inductor that may comprise any known inductance, such as a coil of conducting material wrapped around an adjustable ferromagnetic core"; [0060]: “the impedance is selected to achieve maximum power transfer… In this regard, the impedance is chosen to maintain an impedance match between the RF generator, namely, the power supply 106, and the tissue. Impedance matching is achieved when the phase-angle between applied voltage and current is zero… this is carried out with a continuously variable inductor, with a finite range and nearly infinite resolution. Such an inductor can be adjusted to a near zero phase."; [0060] and [0088]-[0091]). However, Eder fails to disclose wherein the inductance of the tunable resonant cell varies based on a size of an airgap formed in a magnetic core.
Kurs teaches a tunable resonant cell (see Fig. 13) comprising an adjustable inductive element coupled to a capacitive element in series (see tunable inductors 3010 and 3014 coupled in series with capacitors 3005-3008; [0225], Fig. 13), wherein an airgap is formed between the two identical halves of the mirror-image configuration and the inductance of the tunable resonant cell varies based on a size of the airgap (see Kurs: gaps 3112, 3132 and 3134, [0235]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tunable resonant cell as disclosed by Eder to comprise the inductive element being in series with a capacitive component and wherein the inductance of the tunable resonant cell varies based on a size of an airgap formed in a magnetic core in light of Kurs, the motivation being to provide adjustable capacitance to tune the impedance of the source-side circuitry to assist in achieving resonance in conjunction with the inductive element (see Kurs [0225]).
Regarding claim 2, Eder further discloses wherein the predetermined phase value is a zero-degree phase (see [0060] and [0088]-[0091]).
Regarding claim 4, Eder in view of Kurs further teaches wherein the tunable resonant cell comprises an inductive element electrically coupled to a capacitive element, wherein the inductive and capacitive elements are coupled in series (see Kurs: tunable inductors 3010 and 3014 coupled in series with capacitors 3006 and 3008; [0225], Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 5, Eder in view of Kurs further teaches wherein the capacitive element comprises one or more capacitors connected in series, parallel or any combination thereof (see Kurs: capacitors 3005-3008 connected in series and parallel, Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 6, Eder further teaches wherein the electrosurgical generator includes the impedance matching network (since 108 is considered included in the electrosurgical generator since it is connected to the generator components/power supply, Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 7, Eder in view of Kurs further teaches wherein the impedance matching network operates independently of the electrosurgical generator, acting as a self-contained module (see the impedance network operating independently of generator control and as a self-contained module since it is controlled independently with its own control circuit as shown in Kurs Figs. 2C and 14B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-16, 18-19, 21-23 and 25-28 are allowed.
Claim 24 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record, Eder et al. (US 2009/0182323), Kurs et al. (US 2015/0051750), and Sadinsky (US 5,424,691), fails to reasonably teach or suggest wherein the positional tuning mechanism comprises a solenoid having a solenoid plunger, wherein the solenoid plunger is connected to said one of the two identical halves using a leaf spring when considered in combination with the additional requirements of the claim. The closest prior art teaches a positional tuning mechanism that uses spring elements driven by shape memory structures to move magnetic cores, however fails to further suggest use of a solenoid in combination with the solenoid plunger being connected to one of the halves using a leaf spring.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejected claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, the current arguments do not address the combination of references now used for the rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN W COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794