DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment dated 04/10/2026 has been received and entered. By the amendment, claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/10/2026 have been fully considered and the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as following:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al., US 2017/0219827 A1, in view of Wang, US 2021/0231978 A1.
Regarding claims 1, Pan et al. disclose a lens system (figs 1, 3) comprising:
. a liquid crystal module 320/330
. an incident side surface on a first side (right side) of the liquid crystal module 320/330
. an exit side surface on a second side (left side) of the liquid crystal module 320/330, wherein at least one of the incident side surface and the exit side surface comprises a curved surface (fig. 3).
Pan et al., however, do not disclose the liquid crystal module comprising a primary liquid crystal layer and a plurality of electrodes configured to apply different voltages to different respective regions of the primary liquid crystal layer. Wang discloses a liquid crystal lens (figs. 4A-4B) including a primary liquid crystal layer 300 and a plurality of electrodes 433 configured to apply different voltages to different respective regions of the primary liquid crystal layer (fig. 4B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in a display art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Wang’s liquid crystal lens over the Pan et al. liquid crystal module to implement continuous change in the refractive index of the liquid crystal layer, so that the liquid crystal lens acts as a continuous zoom lens with high image quality (Wang, [0083]).
Re claim 2, wherein both the incident side surface and the exit side surface comprise a curved surface (Pan et al., fig 3).
Re claim 3, wherein a radius of curvature of the incident side surface is approximately the same as a radius of curvature of the exit side surface (Pan et al., fig 3).
Re claim 4, the modification to Pan et al. would result the liquid crystal module comprising a driving electrode array 433, a common electrode 500 and the liquid crystal layer 300 disposed between the driving electrode array and the common electrode (Wang, fig. 4A).
Re claim 5, wherein the liquid crystal module extends along a curved path (Pan et al., fig. 3).
Re claim 6, wherein the lens is a first lens 320, and the lens system further comprises a second lens 330 overlapping the first lens (Pan et al., fig. 3).
Re claim 7, wherein the second lens 330 comprises a curved surface facing the incident side surface or exit side surface of the first lens (Pan et al., fig. 3).
Re claim 8, wherein the curved surface of the second lens has a radius of curvature that is approximately the same as a radius of curvature of the facing incident side surface or exit side surface of the first lens (Pan et al., fig. 3).
Re claim 10, wherein a polarizer 244/246 positioned between the second lens 330 (130) and the first lens 320 (120) (Pan et al., fig. 2A-2B).
Re claims 12-13, wherein the incident side surface comprises a convex surface and the exit side surface comprises a concave surface, the exit side surface is laminated onto a convex surface of an abutting optical element (Pan et al., fig. 3).
Re claim 14, Pan et al. also disclose an application of a liquid crystal lens for a display device (head mounted display) comprising a display screen (virtual display screen VI1) with a lens system as claimed (Pan et al., fig. 1, 3).
Re claim 15, wherein the lens system has a first lens 320 and a second lens 330 overlapping the first lens (Pan et al., figs. 1, 3).
Re claim 16, wherein the second lens 330 is disposed between the display screen VI1 and the first lens 320.
Re claim 17, wherein the incident side surface (right side) comprises a convex surface facing the display screen VI1 (Pan et al., figs. 1, 3).
Re claims 18-20, since the method of manufacturing the display device with a lens system is merely a list of forming each component and each component must be formed to make the such device, the method of manufacturing would be inherent to the device.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al., US 2017/0219827 A1, in view of Wang, US 2021/0231978 A1, further in view of Jamali et al., US 2020/0348528 A1.
Re claims 9 and 11, the modification to Pan et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for the second lens comprising a pancake lens or the lens comprising a plurality of Fresnel reset sections concentrically arranged between a center and an outer periphery of the lens. Jamali et al. do disclose a head-mounted display with a pancake lens ([0034]) as well as the liquid crystal lens may have a Fresnel structure as claimed (fig. 2, [0041], [0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to employ either a pancake liquid crystal lens or a Fresnel liquid crystal lens over the Pan et al. lens system, as shown by Yamali et al. to provide a range of adjustment of optical power for the optical lens assembly (see Abstract).
Conclusion
/DUNG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871