DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: ‘a main body’ from line 4 and 6, should be changed to ‘second main body’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US20160302487A1).
Chen discloses an electronic cigarette that contains a cartridge (10), an atomic device (20), and a power supply (30). The liquid inlet (232) and the latching block (113) are located in the cartridge portion (11) of the electronic cigarette. The liquid reservoir chamber (211), the latching slots (2342), and the first cover body (12) are located in atomizer device (20) of the electronic cigarette. When the cartridge and the atomizer device is in the first position, the liquid out and liquid inlet are aligned and are in communication with the liquid reservoir chamber with the liquid reservoir room [0033] and in the second position the liquid outlet and liquid inlet is misaligned, the liquid reservoir chamber is disconnected with the liquid reservoir room to prevent the liquid solution in the liquid reservoir from flowing toward the liquid reservoir room [0033]. When the cartridge rotates to the second position, it ensures the sealing effect between the rim of the liquid inlet and the first cover body [0038]. This anticipates claim 1 from applicant.
In regards to claim 2, Chen teaches two latching block (113) and latching portion (2341). The latching slots extend in circumferential direction, to provide positioning space for the cartridge and to limit the first position A and the second position B of the cartridge. The latching portion is defined by two latching slots (2342) that engage with the two latching blocks [0040 & 0041]. This anticipates claim 2 of applicant.
In regards to claim 4, Chen teaches a second cover body (23) and a base (21) that is arranged under the second cover body (23). The sealing base (234) is located between the second cover body and the base, which reads over the accommodating groove of applicants claim 4 (see annotated Figure 7 below). Chen further discloses the cartridge body (11) having a connection portion at the bottom of the main body (see annotated Figure 2 below) and the bottom portion of the main body extends into the plastic sealing base, which anticipates the connection portion at least partially extending into the accommodating groove to connect the upper housing to the main body of applicants claim 4.
In regards to claim 5, the latching slots (2342) are located on the sealing base (234) and the latching block (113) extends into the sealing base (234) and connects to the latching slot (2342) [0041]. This anticipates applicant’s claim 5.
In regards to claim 7, Chen teaches the latching slots that contain a section and the latching block contains a bulge that is contacted to the latching slot and connects the cartridge and the atomizing device [0041]. This reads on applicants claim 7.
In regards to claim 8, Chen discloses latching blocks (113) and latching slots (2342) that engage one another to define and limit movement between first position A and second position B (paragraphs [0018], [0041]). In order for the latching block (113) to enter, travel within, and stop within the latching slot (2342), the latching block includes engagement surfaces that cooperate with corresponding surfaces of the slot. The surfaces that guide insertion and movement of the latching block into the slot read on the claimed inclined surface, while the surfaces that limit movement at the ends of the slot read on the claimed abutting surface. Therefore claim 8 is anticipated.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 6 and 9-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reason for the indication of the allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record id over CHEN (US20160302487A1) which discloses an electronic cigarette of Claim 1 as set forth above. However, Chen fails to disclose a seal member that partially extends into a liquid injection channel in response to a change in locking engagement of claim 3, the claimed limiting groove arrangement of claim 6 and the concentric cylindrical seal member and liquid injection channel relationship recited in claim 9. To arrive at the claimed invention, using Chen would require hindsight as it requires the rearrangement of Chen’s components which would compromise the invention.
Conclusion
/H.C.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1747 /Christopher M Rodd/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766