Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 1 incorrectly discloses that the reference label pointing to the second module in Fig. 1 is 500. The specification discloses that the protective housing is referenced by label 600 ([0040]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “a connection cables” in line 2 of the claim. It is respectfully suggested to amend the limitation to “a connection cable”. Claim 2 also recites later “wherein the connection cables is configured to connect the plurality of battery modules … and is further configured to connect the energy storage inverter”. It is respectfully suggested to amend the limitation to “wherein the connection cables are configured to connect the plurality of battery modules … and are further configured to connect the energy storage inverter”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 recites that the second connection plug is “rotatably mounted” at the other end of the terminal main body, and for the purposes of this examination, it will be interpreted to mean that the second connection plug is open to any means of mounting to the other end of the terminal main body. Claim 4 recites that the second connection pug is rotatably connected with the terminal main body through a universal connection manner. Merriam-Webster Dictionary’s defines “universal” as including all, without limit or exception. In light of this definition, claim 4 does not further limit claim 3 because “universal connection manner” does not further limit nor define “rotatably mounted”. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by How et al. (US-11769935-B1, hereinafter “How”).
Regarding claim 1, How discloses a wiring harness, directed to an energy storage system, wherein modular battery block components are connected to an inverter (col. 1, line 65 to col. 2, line 3) (i.e., an energy storage power supply), comprising:
An inverter 202 (col. 2, line 27) (i.e., energy storage inverter); and
A stack of battery blocks 204, 206, 208, and 210 in a horizontally stacked configuration (Fig. 2; col. 2, line 29) and the battery blocks are connected in series and parallel (col. 6, lines 29-33 and col. 3, lines 18-20) (i.e., plurality of battery modules are arranged in any horizontal direction and are connected in series and/or in parallel). The inverter 202 is above the stack of battery blocks 204, 206, 208, and 210 (Fig. 2; col. 2, lines 27-29) and the inverter has a bi-directional power connection from the energy storage devices, comprising batteries (col. 2, lines 6-11), wherein the power connections are in parallel (col. 4, lines 64-65) (i.e., the energy storage inverter is arranged above any one of the plurality of battery modules, and the energy storage inverter is connected in series and/or in parallel with the battery module arranged below the energy storage inverter).
Regarding claim 2, How discloses::
A wiring harness (col. 1, lines 65-66) (i.e., connection cables); and
An inverter connector (Fig. 3, reference 302, equivalent to claimed connection terminal) configured to plug the main cable into an inverter module comprising an inverter-end positive DC power bus pin and an inverter-end negative DC power bus pin (col. 8, lines 16-19) (i.e., a connection terminal, which is arranged at a positive interface and a negative interface of the energy storage inverter) The wiring harness 212, with one end of the wiring harness connected to an inverter module 202. The wiring harness also has a main trunk with spurs that plug into the corresponding connectors on the battery blocks in series or parallel (Fig. 3A; col. 2, lines 46-60) (i.e., connection cable is configured to connect the plurality of battery modules in series and/or in parallel with each other). The stack of battery blocks 204, 206, 208, and 210 are located below the inverter 202 (Fig. 2; col. 2, lines 27-29) (i.e., connection cable is further configured to connect the energy storage inverter in series and/or in parallel with the battery module arranged below the energy storage inverter).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over How as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Dong et al. (WO-2023144655-A1, hereinafter “Dong”) and Brodeur (US-20080261428-A1).
Regarding claim 3, How discloses an inverter connector 354 (i.e., connection terminal), comprising a terminal main body and at least one connection plug (i.e., second connection plug) connected to the terminal main body and to the inverter positive and negative DC bus pins (col. 8, lines 16-19) (i.e., a second connection plug mounted at the other end of the terminal main body, and the second plug is configured to be butted with the positive interface and/or the negative interface) (Fig. 3B; col. 2, lines 61-64). See the following annotated Fig. 3B from How.
However, How does not disclose (i) a first connection plug mounted at one end of the terminal main body, and the first connection plug is configured to be butted with the connection cables; and (ii) a first connection plug that is rotatably mounted with the terminal main body and rotatably butted with the connection cables, or a second connection plug that is rotatably mounted at the other end of the terminal main body and is also rotatably butted with the positive and/or negative interface.
Regarding (i), Dong is directed to a current connector for energy storage applications (pg. 1, line 16-17) and discloses that the second connector 20 (i.e., first connection plug) is connected to one end of a seal element 340 (which makes up a locking device 30, i.e., terminal main body) (Fig. 3 and 6; pg. 6, lines 37 to pg. 7, lines 2) (i.e., a first connection plug mounted at one end of the terminal main body), wherein the second connector 20 is threaded on the end of the second housing 210 to fix the cable to the second housing 210 (pg. 9, lines 36-38) (i.e., first connection plug is butted with the connection cables).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy storage system disclosed by How to (i) add another connection plug (i.e., first connection plug) mounted at one end of the terminal main body and butted with cables because Dong discloses a second connector 20 connected to a sealing element 340 and fixed to cables (Dong; pg. 9, lines 36-38).
Regarding (ii), Brodeur is directed to an adjustable connector for electric cables and discloses a three-part adjustable connector 110 that can be reconfigured by rotating its components, coupler 160 and hub 130, to form bends or any other desired angle (Fig. 10A and 11A; lines 6-13 of [0069]) (i.e., rotatably mounted and rotatably butted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy storage system disclosed by How in view of Dong to incorporate (ii) a first connection plug that is rotatably mounted with the terminal main body and rotatably butted with the connection cables, or a second connection plug that is rotatably mounted at the other end of the terminal main body and is also rotatably butted with the positive and/or negative interface because Brodeur discloses that adjustable connectors allow the ability for connectors to rotate into a variety of configurations to form desired angles, enabling better flexibility (Brodeur; lines 11, 12, and 19 of [0048]). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to incorporate the known techniques of connecting parts in a rotatable fashion to the plug connections with the interfaces of the battery modules/energy storage inverter and connection cables to also allow the ability for these parts to rotate into a variety of configurations and desired angles.
Claims 5 and 6, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over How in view of Dong as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Stackpole (US-10522941-B1).
Regarding claim 5, How in view of Dong does not disclose a plurality of grooves on the side wall of the first nor the second connection plug that would increase friction between a hand and the sidewall.
Stackpole is directed to a waterproof connection system between cables and devices and discloses a housing 103 (i.e., connection plug) with a plurality of ridges 301 (i.e., grooves) to facilitate gripping the housing to screw and unscrew (Fig. 3; col. 7, lines 8-9) (i.e., increase friction between a hand and the sidewall).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy storage system disclosed by How in view of Dong by incorporating the known technique of adding a plurality of grooves to the connection plugs because Stackpole discloses that incorporating ridges can facilitate gripping and can assist in connecting or disconnecting (Stackpole; col. 7, lines 8-13).
Regarding claim 6, How in view of Dong does not disclose that the output end of the second connection plug is provided with rotating teeth and input ends of the positive interface and the negative interface are provided with rotating grooves, wherein the rotating teeth and rotating grooves are rotatably engaged.
Stackpole discloses a cable that terminates in a connecter with a threaded conductive screw 104b (i.e., output end of the second connection plug with rotating teeth) that can be inserted and screwed into a corresponding threaded hole 152 in a conductive material 151 in the receiver block 150 (i.e., the input ends of the positive and negative interface with rotating grooves, wherein the rotating teeth and rotating grooves are rotatably engaged) (Fig. 1A; col. 4, lines 48-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy storage system disclosed by How in view of Dong by incorporating rotating teeth onto the output end of the second connection plug and rotating grooves onto the input ends of the positive and negative interfaces, wherein the rotating teeth is rotatably engaged with the rotating grooves because Stackpole discloses that the connection system of screwing and unscrewing with threads provides for a robust and waterproof attachment mechanism (Stackpole; col. 4, lines 44-46).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over How in view of Dong as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Stackpole and Yamashita et al. (US-20200312485-A1, hereinafter “Yamashita”).
Regarding claim 7, How in view of Dong does not disclose that the connection cables and connection terminals have waterproof capability, wherein the outer periphery of the connection cables are wrapped with a waterproof rubber layer and waterproof gaskets are arranged on the first and second connection plug.
Yamashita is directed to a wire harness and discloses that the wire harness exhibits good waterproofing performance with a wire that is covered with a covering formed from silicone rubber ([0005]-[0006]) (i.e., outer periphery of the connection cables is wrapped with a waterproof rubber layer). Stackpole discloses an O-ring or equivalent seal at the receiver-facing end of a housing, wherein the seal can be pressed against the receiver block and form a waterproof seal for the connection (Fig. 1B; col. 5, lines 61-65) (i.e., waterproof gaskets arranged on the first and second connection plugs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy storage system disclosed by How in view of Dong to (1) incorporate the known technique of wrapping the outer periphery of the connection cables with a waterproof rubber layer because Yamashita discloses a rubber coated wire that exhibits good waterproofing performance and flexibility (Yamashita, [0005]-[0006]); and to (2) incorporate the known technique of adding waterproof gaskets arranged on the first and second connection plugs because Stackpole discloses an O-ring seal that is added to a housing that can form a waterproof seal (Stackpole; col. 5, lines 61-65).
Claims 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over How in view of Dong as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (“US 20130065087 A1”, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 8, How in view of Dong does not disclose (i) a protective housing mounted outside the outer periphery of the battery module and the energy storage inverter as a whole; and (ii) wherein a gap is provided between an inner cavity sidewall of the protective housing and the battery module and the energy storage inverter, and the connection terminal is accommodated in the gap.
Regarding (i), Kim is directed to an energy storage system and discloses an energy storage system 10 that includes a plurality of battery cells 100 (i.e., battery modules) which may include an inverter (lines 1-3 and 10-11 of [0040]) (i.e., energy storage inverter). Kim also discloses a rack 500, containing tray 200, wherein battery cells 100 are received in the tray 200, and thus the rack (i.e., protective housing) houses the battery cells (Fig. 1-2; [0041] to line 2 of [0042]) (i.e., a protective housing mounted outside the outer periphery of the battery module).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy storage system disclosed by How in view of Dong to incorporate a protective housing on the outside periphery of the battery modules and the energy storage inverter because (1) Kim discloses a rack that houses battery cells to absorb vibrations, due to an external impact or earthquake, and prevent electric connections from breaking (Kim, [0009], [0010] and [0017]); and (2) Kim discloses that the energy storage system may include an inverter ([0040]), therefore it would have been obvious to also incorporate the energy storage inverter into the protective housing.
Regarding (ii), Kim discloses a rack 500, which includes a plurality of connector units 550 (i.e., connection terminals) that supply electric power to the plurality of trays 200, where the battery cells 100 are received in. The connector units 550 are located within the gaps of rack 500 (Fig. 1 and 5; [0041], line 1 of [0042], and lines 1-7 of [0054]) (i.e., wherein a gap is provided between an inner cavity sidewall of the protective housing and the battery module, and the connection terminal is accommodated in the gap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy storage system disclosed by How in view of Dong to incorporate (ii) a protective housing to house the battery modules and energy storage inverter and use the gap found between the inner cavity sidewall of the battery module/energy storage inverter and the protective housing to accommodate the connection terminals, because Kim discloses a housing rack with connector units located within the gaps of the rack (Kim; Fig. 1 and 5; [0041], line 1 of [0042], and lines 1-7 of [0054]).
Regarding claim 9, How in view of Dong does not disclose (i) a base, wherein the battery module is arranged above the base and each battery module is arranged corresponding to one base; or (ii) a plurality of footrests that are arranged on a lower end face of the base and spaced apart and abuts against the ground, with each footrest configured to drive the base to move vertically.
Regarding (i), Kim discloses a rack 500 with a bottom frame 530 (i.e., base), wherein the battery cells 100 are received in tray 200, located in the rack 500, and the battery cells 100 are located above the bottom frame 530 (Fig. 1 and 3; [0041], line 1 of [0042], and lines 1-4 of [0047]) (i.e., the battery module is arranged above the base).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy storage system disclosed by How in view of Dong to incorporate (i) a protective housing with a base below the battery modules because Kim discloses a housing rack with a bottom frame with battery cells located above to keep the battery cells within the housing rack (Kim; Fig. 1 and 3; [0041], line 1 of [0042], and lines 1-4 of [0047]). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to realize that one battery module can be arranged to correspond to one base.
Regarding (ii), Kim discloses height adjustment members 534 that are evenly spaced and located on the bottom of rack 500, and each height adjustment member 534 can be moved up and down (Fig. 5; lines 1-7 of [0050]) (i.e., plurality of footrests that are arranged on a lower end face of the base with each footrest configured to drive the base to move vertically).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy storage system disclosed by How in view of Dong to incorporate a protective housing with footrests that abut against the ground, located below a base that can move the base in the vertical direction because Kim discloses footrests that are located at the bottom of a housing rack that can move the housing rack up and down, allowing the housing rack to freely move (Kim, the last 4 lines of [0050]).
Regarding claim 10, How in view of Dong does not disclose a wall hanging groove arranged on a sidewall of a base, and that the wall hanging groove is configured to be butted and fixed with a wall hanging protrusion arranged in a suspended manner.
Kim discloses a rack 500 which includes an upper fixing member 541 located on a rear surface of the top frame 510, and can have penetration openings (i.e., wall hanging groove) which can securely fix the rack 500 to an external surface, such as a wall (i.e., wall hanging groove is configured to be butted and fixed with a wall hanging protrusion). Kim also discloses a bottom frame 530 (i.e., base) (Fig 5; lines 3-4 of [0047] and lines 1-10 of [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy storage system disclosed by How in view of Dong by incorporating a wall hanging groove to a sidewall of the base and configuring the wall hanging groove to be butted and fixed with a wall hanging protrusion in a suspended manner because (1) Kim discloses a housing rack with upper fixing members that have penetration openings that can fix the rack to a wall; (2) it would have been obvious to rearrange the upper fixing member from the top frame onto the base to allow the energy storage system to hang in a suspended manner, in the same way as if the upper fixing members were arranged on the top frame; and (3) Kim discloses that fixing the housing rack to an external wall can absorb or suppress vibrations, from external impacts or earthquakes, and its effects on the housing rack (Kim, lines 8-14 of [0053]).
Conclusion
/NATHAN NGOC-NGOC HOANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1772
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772