DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a vibration sensing device … configured to detect a time-domain vibration signal when the DUT is in operation (claims 1, 17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The time-domain vibration signal (130) is outputted from (not inputted to) the vibration sensing device (106) (Fig. 1).
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, “generate” (line 2) should be – generates --.
claim 13, after “signal” (last line), “,” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a vibration sensing device (claims 1, 20), control device (claim 1), control unit (claim 2), processing unit (claims 5, 20).
Note Regarding 35 USC § 101
Pursuant to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (MPEP 2106), the following analysis is made:
Under step 1 of the Guidance, the claims fall within a statutory category.
Under step 2A, prong 1, claims 1 and 21 does not recite an abstract idea.
The respective dependent claims 2-4, 8, 10, 12, 14, 15 do not recite an abstract idea.
Thus, claims 1-4, 8, 10, 14, 15, and 21 are patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Under step 2A, prong 1, claim 17 recites an abstract idea of “converting the time-domain vibration signal into a frequency-domain vibration signal” (mathematical concept).
Under step 2A, prong 2, the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application of converting the characteristic signal into a characteristic sound signal (MPEP 2106.05(e)).
Thus, claim 17 and its dependent claims 18-20 are patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Under step 2A, prong 1, claim 5 recites an abstract idea of convert the time-domain vibration signal into a frequency-domain vibration signal (mathematical concept). Claim 16 recites an abstract idea of calculating a sampling rate (mathematical concept).
Under step 2A, prong 2, claims 5-7 and 16 recite a particular machine including the particulars of a vibration sensing device. Thus, the abstract idea of claims 5-7 and 16 is indicative of integration into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(b)).
Thus, claims 5-7 and 16 are patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Under step 2A, prong 1, claim 9 recites an abstract idea of “convert the time-domain vibration signal into a frequency-domain vibration signal” (mathematical concept).
Under step 2A, prong 2, the abstract idea of claims 9 and 11-13 is integrated into a practical application of converting the frequency-domain vibration signal into the characteristic sound signal in time-domain (MPEP 2106.05(e)).
Thus, claims 9 and 11-13 are patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
In summary, claims 1, 17, and 21 and their respective dependent claims 2-16 and 18-20 are patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 15-17, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mutoh et al. (WO/202234704).
Examiner’s Note: Mutoh et al. (US 2024/0159623) is used as an English translation for WO/202234704.
Regarding claim 1, Mutoh et al. discloses a system to convert vibration to a sound signal (100, Fig. 1), comprising:
a vibration sensing device (20), disposed on a surface of a device under test (DUT) (11, Fig. 1), configured to detect a time-domain vibration signal (paragraph 0055) when the DUT is in operation (paragraph 0075, lines 4-7);
a control device (40), configured to receive the time-domain vibration signal, and convert the time-domain vibration signal into a sound signal (paragraph 0040, lines 4-8);
wherein the sound signal is loaded in a computer playable audio file (reproduction (replay) of the sound based on various data received from the vibration diagnosis device 20, paragraph 0040, lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 2, Mutoh et al. discloses the vibration detected by the vibration sensing device is physical vibration of an object instead of air vibration (vibration of bearing 11; vibration of target, Abstract, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 15, Mutoh et al. discloses the bearing is selected from one or more of a motor bearing (paragraph 0122).
It is noted that the bearing is selected from one or more of an intermediate bearing, and a bottom bearing is an alternative limitation because it is recited in a Markush format.
Regarding claim 16, Mutoh et al. discloses a sampling rate of the sensor is equal to a characteristic frequency of inner and outer rings of a motor shaft of the DUT (determines bearing damage via frequency derived from bearing 11, paragraph 0013, bearing includes inner/outer rings of motor shat, paragraph 0031).
It is noted that a sampling rate of the sensor is equal to (rpm/60)*N*n; wherein N is a value not less than 5, rpm is a rotation speed of a motor of the DUT, and n is the number of shaft blades of the motor is an alternative limitation because it is recited in the alternative form.
Regarding claim 17, Mutoh et al. discloses a signal processing method, applicable to an electronic device (100, Fig. 1) comprising a vibration sensing device (20) and a control device (40), comprising:
detecting a time-domain vibration signal (paragraph 0055) when a device under test (DUT) (11) is in operation (paragraph 0075, lines 4-7);
converting the time-domain vibration signal into a frequency-domain vibration signal (paragraph 0008, lines 5-9);
performing signal processing on the frequency-domain vibration signal to generate a characteristic signal (paragraph 0008, lines 9-11); and
converting the characteristic signal into a characteristic sound signal (paragraph 0040, lines 4-8);
wherein the characteristic sound signal is loaded in a computer playable audio file (reproduction (replay) of the sound based on various data received from the vibration diagnosis device 20, paragraph 0040, lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 19, Mutoh et al. discloses
amplifying (via 28) the specific frequency range of the frequency-domain vibration signal to obtain the characteristic signal (Fig. 1); and
converting the characteristic signal into the characteristic sound signal in time-domain (replay sound, paragraph 0040, lines 4-9).
Regarding claim 21, Mutoh et al. discloses a control device (40), comprising:
a transmission interface (42a), configured to receive a time-domain vibration signal from a vibration sensing device (paragraph 0040, lines 3-5); and
a processing unit (43), configured to read the time-domain vibration signal (paragraph 0055) (43 reads from the vibration diagnosis device 20 via 42, Fig. 1; paragraph 0041, lines 1-5), and convert the time-domain vibration signal into a sound signal (paragraph 0040, lines 4-8);
wherein the sound signal is loaded in a computer playable audio file (paragraph 0040, lines 4-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-13, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mutoh et al..
Regarding claim 3, Mutoh et al. discloses
a first transmission interface (26a), configured to receive a control instruction from the control device (paragraph 0038, lines 3-5);
a first register, configured to store the time-domain vibration signal (data storage stores vibration and time-and-waveform domain analysis, paragraph 0056, lines 1-4).
While Mutoh et al. does not expressly disclose a control unit being configured to output an enable signal according to the control instruction, Mutoh et al. discloses a control unit (23), the vibration detection is automatically performed according to the control instruction (paragraph 00110, lines 9-12); the control instruction is received via 26 (paragraph 0038, lines 3-5). Thus, it would have been obvious to configure the control unit to output an enable signal according to the control instruction for automatically performing vibration detection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Mutoh et al. with configuring the control unit to output an enable signal according to the control instruction for the purpose of automatically performing vibration detection.
While Mutoh et al. does not expressly disclose a sensor, configured to receive the enable signal and start to detect the time-domain vibration signal when the DUT is in operation, Mutoh et al. discloses a sensor (21) for vibration detection, control instruction is received via 26 (paragraph 0038, lines 3-5), the vibration detection is automatically performed according to the control instruction (paragraph 00110, lines 9-12). Thus, it would have been obvious to configure the vibration sensor to output an enable signal according to the control instruction for automatically performing vibration detection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Mutoh et al. with configuring the vibration sensor to output an enable signal according to the control instruction for the purpose of automatically performing vibration detection.
While Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. does not expressly disclose sending the time-domain vibration signal to the first transmission interface, so that the time-domain vibration signal is output to the control device, Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. discloses sending the time-domain vibration signal to the first transmission interface (26a) (communications from 20 and 40 are through 26a/42a), so that the time-domain vibration signal is output to the control device (paragraph 0097, lines 3-6) for (11) (paragraph 0097, lines 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. with sending the time-domain vibration signal to the first transmission interface, so that the time-domain vibration signal is output to the control device as disclosed by Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. for the purpose of producing sound of a bearing.
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. does not expressly disclose the control device comprises:
a second transmission interface, configured to receive the time-domain vibration signal from the vibration sensing device;
a second register, configured to store the time-domain vibration signal from the second transmission interface, and output the time-domain vibration signal; and
a memory, configured to store the time-domain vibration signal from the second register.
Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. discloses a control device (40a, Fig. 6) comprises:
a second transmission interface (42a), configured to receive the time-domain vibration signal from the vibration sensing device (communications from 20 and 40 are through 26a/42a);
a second register (42), configured to store the time-domain vibration signal from the second transmission interface (Fig. 6), and output the time-domain vibration signal (42 outputs to 44, Fig. 6); and
a memory (44), configured to store the time-domain vibration signal from the second register (paragraph 0103, lines 4-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. with the control device as disclosed by Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. for the purpose of producing sound of a bearing.
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. does not expressly disclose the control device (40a, Fig. 6) further comprises:
a processing unit, configured to read the time-domain vibration signal from the second register or the memory, convert the time-domain vibration signal into a frequency-domain vibration signal, perform signal processing on the frequency-domain vibration signal, and convert the frequency-domain vibration signal into a characteristic sound signal in time-domain.
Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. discloses the control device (40a, Fig. 6) further comprises:
a processing unit (43), configured to read the time-domain vibration signal from the second register (42) or the memory (44), convert the time-domain vibration signal into a frequency-domain vibration signal (paragraph 0097, lines 11-15), perform signal processing on the frequency-domain vibration signal (paragraph 0097, lines 11-15), and convert the frequency-domain vibration signal into a characteristic sound signal in time-domain (sound reproduction, paragraph 0099, lines 1-7; paragraph 0097, lines 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. with reading the time-domain vibration signal as disclosed by Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. for the purpose of producing sound of a bearing.
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. does not expressly disclose the control device (40a) generate the computer playable audio file based on the sound signal (paragraph 0097, lines 1-3), and stores the computer playable audio file into the memory (reproduction of the sound from data stored in memory, paragraph 0104, lines 8-11).
Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. does not expressly disclose the control device (40a) generate the computer playable audio file based on the sound signal (paragraph 0097, lines 1-3), and stores the computer playable audio file into the memory (reproduction of the sound from data stored in memory, paragraph 0104, lines 8-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. with storing the computer playable audio file as disclosed by Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. for the purpose of generating the computer playable audio file.
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. does not expressly disclose the control device outputs the computer playable audio file through the second transmission interface.
Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. discloses the control device (40a) outputs the computer playable audio file through the second transmission interface (paragraph 0101, lines 3-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. with a second transmission interface as disclosed by Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. for the purpose of sending a computer playable audio file.
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. does not expressly disclose
a user interface, configured to generate the control instruction according to a user's operation;
a processing unit, configured to store the time-domain vibration signal from the vibration sensing device into the memory; wherein when the system is in an offline mode, after the control device receives the control instruction from the user interface, the processing unit converts the time-domain vibration signal into a sound signal.
Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. discloses the control device (40a) further comprises:
a user interface (45), configured to generate the control instruction according to a user's operation (paragraph 0104, lines 1-3);
a processing unit (43), configured to store the time-domain vibration signal from the vibration sensing device into the memory (paragraph 0103, lines 4-6); wherein when the system is in an offline mode (the processing is performed within 40a while not online, paragraph 0104), after the control device (40a) receives the control instruction from the user interface (paragraph 0104, lines 1-5), the processing unit (43) converts the time-domain vibration signal into a sound signal (paragraph 0104, lines 6-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. with generating a control instruction as disclosed by Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. for the purpose of producing a sound signal.
Regarding claim 9, Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. does not expressly disclose the control device further comprises:
a user interface, configured to generate the control instruction according to a user's operation;
wherein the processing unit stores the time-domain vibration signal from the vibration sensing device into the memory; wherein when the system is in an offline mode, after the control device receives the control instruction from the user interface, the processing unit converts the time-domain vibration signal into the frequency-domain vibration signal, performs signal processing on the frequency-domain vibration signal, and converts the frequency-domain vibration signal into the characteristic sound signal in time-domain.
Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. discloses the control device (40a) further comprises:
a user interface (45), configured to generate the control instruction according to a user's operation (paragraph 0104, lines 1-3);
wherein the processing unit (43) stores the time-domain vibration signal from the vibration sensing device into the memory (paragraph 0103, lines 4-6); wherein when the system is in an offline mode (the processing is performed within 40a while not online, paragraph 0104), after the control device (40a) receives the control instruction from the user interface (paragraph 0104, lines 1-5), the processing unit (43) converts the time-domain vibration signal into the frequency-domain vibration signal (paragraph 0097, lines 11-15), performs signal processing on the frequency-domain vibration signal, and converts the frequency-domain vibration signal into the characteristic sound signal in time-domain (paragraph 0097, lines 11-15, 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. with generating a control instruction as disclosed by Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. for the purpose of producing a sound signal.
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. does not expressly disclose the processing unit receives the control instruction, and sends the control instruction to the vibration sensing device through the second transmission interface.
Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. discloses the processing unit (43) receives the control instruction (paragraph 0104, lines 1-5; Fig. 6), and sends the control instruction to the vibration sensing device (20) through the second transmission interface (42a) (paragraph 0101, lines 3-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. with receiving/sending a control instruction as disclosed by Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. for the purpose of producing a sound signal.
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. does not expressly disclose the signal processing comprises:
the processing unit amplifies a specific frequency range of the frequency-domain vibration signal to obtain a characteristic signal; and
the processing unit converts the characteristic signal into the characteristic sound signal in time-domain.
Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. does not expressly disclose the signal processing (Fig. 6) comprises:
the processing unit (43) amplifies a specific frequency range of the frequency-domain vibration signal to obtain a characteristic signal (paragraph 0097, lines 11-15); and
the processing unit (43) converts the characteristic signal into the characteristic sound signal in time-domain (paragraph 0097, lines 11-15, 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. with processing a characteristic signal as disclosed by Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. for the purpose of obtaining a sound signal.
Regarding claim 12, while Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. does not disclose the control device uses a digital filter to filter the time-domain vibration signal, and converts the time-domain vibration signal into a characteristic sound signal in time-domain, Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. discloses the control device (43) uses a digital filter (49) to filter the time-domain vibration signal (paragraph 0097, lines 8-11), and converts the time-domain vibration signal into a characteristic sound signal in time-domain (paragraph 0097, lines 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. with the control device uses a digital filter to filter the time-domain vibration signal, and converts the time-domain vibration signal into a characteristic sound signal in time-domain as suggested by Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. for the purpose of producing sound of a bearing.
Regarding claim 13, Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. does not disclose the signal processing comprises:
the processing unit amplifies the specific frequency range of the frequency-domain vibration signal to obtain a characteristic signal; and
the processing unit converts the characteristic signal from frequency-domain to time-domain to obtain the characteristic sound signal; and
the processing unit uses a digital filter to filter the characteristic sound signal.
Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. does not disclose the signal processing comprises:
the processing unit (43) amplifies the specific frequency range of the frequency-domain vibration signal to obtain a characteristic signal (paragraph 0097, lines 11-15); and
the processing unit converts the characteristic signal from frequency-domain to time-domain to obtain the characteristic sound signal (paragraph 0097, lines 11-15); and
the processing unit uses a digital filter to filter the characteristic sound signal (sound reproduction, paragraph 0099, lines 1-7; paragraph 0097, lines 1-3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. with filtering a characteristic sound signal as disclosed by Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. for the purpose of removing noise from the characteristic sound signal.
Regarding claim 18, Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. discloses
receiving a control instruction from the control device (receiving instruction, paragraph 0110, lines 9-12, via 26, Fig. 1; paragraph 0038, lines 3-5);
outputting an enable signal according to the control instruction (vibration detection is enabled to be performed, paragraph 0110, lines 9-10);
starting to detect the time-domain vibration signal (via 21) according to the enable signal when the DUT is in operation (when vibration detection is enabled to be performed, paragraph 0110, lines 9-10);
storing the time-domain vibration signal (data storage stores vibration and time-and-waveform domain analysis, paragraph 0056, lines 1-4).
However, Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. does not disclose sending the time-domain vibration signal to the control device.
However, Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. discloses sending the time-domain vibration signal to the control device (paragraph 0097, lines 3-6) for producing sound of a bearing (11) (paragraph 0097, lines 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Fig. 1of Mutoh et al. with sending the time-domain vibration signal to the control device as disclosed by Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. for the purpose of producing sound of a bearing.
Regarding claim 20, Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. discloses the characteristic signal is in the frequency-domain (paragraph 0036) and converting the characteristic signal into the characteristic sound signal in time-domain (replay sound, paragraph 0040, lines 4-9).
However, Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. does not disclose using a digital filter to filter the characteristic signal after the characteristic signal is converted from frequency-domain to time-domain.
Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. discloses using a digital filter (49) to filter the characteristic signal in time-domain (paragraph 0097, lines 8-11) for producing sound of bearing (paragraph 0097, lines 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Fig. 1 of Mutoh et al. with a digital filter to filter the characteristic signal after the characteristic signal is converted from frequency-domain to time-domain as suggested by Fig. 6 of Mutoh et al. for the purpose of producing sound of a bearing.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mutoh et al. as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Admitted Prior Art (APA).
Regarding claim 14, Mutoh et al. discloses the vibration sensing device is disposed on a surface of a bearing of the DUT (vibration sensing device 20 is disposed on a surface of a bearing 11, Fig. 1).
Mutoh et al. as modified does not disclose the DUT is a high-pressure reactor in petrochemical industry.
APA discloses that it is known to monitor a DUT being a high-pressure reactor in petrochemical industry for determining failure of the DUT (specification, related art, paragraph 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Mutoh et al. as modfied with monitoring a DUT being a high-pressure reactor in petrochemical industry as suggested by APA for the purpose of determining failure of the DUT.
Contact Information
/MICHAEL P NGHIEM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857 February 14, 2026