DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “the first terminal plate.” However, parent claim 7 introduces two distinct terminal plates: “a first inner terminal plate” and “a first outer terminal plate.” Because claim 10 merely recites “the first terminal plate,” it is unclear whether the limitation refers to the first inner terminal plate or the first outer terminal plate. For purposes of examination, based on the disclosure in the specification (130, FIG. 5A.), this limitation has been interpreted as “the first inner terminal plate.” However, the claim language itself remains indefinite.
Additionally, claim 8 and 10 both depend ultimately on claim 1, which establishes “a coupling protrusion” in the singular form. Both claims 8 and 10 then recite that “the couple coupling protrusion on an inside thereof” and “the coupling protrusion is located on opposite sides of the terminal hole.” By requiring a single, singular protrusion to be simultaneously located on two separate, opposite sides of a hole, the claims create a physical contradiction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHOI et al. (WO 2021/241939 A1, machine translation provided for citation).
Regarding claim 1, CHOI discloses:
an electrode assembly comprising a first electrode tab and a second electrode tab exposed at opposite sides.
an electrode assembly (10, FIG. 2) that includes a positive electrode tab (11b, 11a) and a negative electrode tab (13b, 13a) as explicitly illustrated in (paragraphs [0007], [0008], [0009], [0016], FIG. 3). The tabs extend outward and are exposed at opposite physical ends (or sides) of the structure.
a case accommodating the electrode assembly and open on opposite sides.
a battery housing case (30, FIGS. 1-3) which houses the electrode stack. The prismatic body of the case features open ends at both its top and bottom longitudinal profiles (paragraphs [0002], [0007], [0008], [0009], [0016], FIGS. 1-3).
a first cap plate that seals a first side opening of the case.
a first end cap plate (510, FIGS 2-4a, b, and c) configured to fit perfectly inside or over the top rim of the peripheral opening, effectively sealing off the first open side of the protective housing body (paragraph [0010]).
a first current collector that is in contact with and coupled to the first electrode tab exposed at a first side of the electrode assembly, the first current collector comprising a coupling hole.
a conductive plate as a current collector (630, 530, FIGS. 2-5). This plate is welded directly to and physically contacts the first exposed electrode tab at the upper edge of the assembly. Furthermore, this current collector plate features a coupling hole (523a, 632a, FIG. 2) passing completely through its structural thickness. (paragraphs [0011], [0015], [0018], [0021]).
a first terminal comprising a coupling protrusion inserted and coupled to the coupling hole of the first current collector, the first terminal comprising a portion exposed to an outside of the first cap plate wherein an outer diameter of an end of the coupling protrusion is larger than the diameters of other regions thereof (as seen in the annotated Figure below).
an external post having a downward facing coupling protrusion. This protrusion is pushed directly through and secured inside the current collector’s matching aperture. The opposite head portion of this terminal sits able the cell top, remain fully exposed outside the cap plate area for external connection (524, 528, 624, 628, FIGS. 2, 3, 4a, and 5a).
Regarding claim 2 which depends from claim 1, CHOI further discloses:
a first electrode connection portion that is in contact with and coupled to the first electrode tab exposed at the first side of the electrode assembly.
a lower horizontal flange serving as a first electrode connection portion (terminal plate 530, FIGS. 2, 3, and 4a) that sits flush against and is laser welded to the top edges of the exposed positive electrode tab (11b) exposed at the first side of the electrode assembly (paragraphs [0007], [0010], [0017] and [0018], FIGS. 3 and 4a).
a first terminal connection portion welded to the electrode connection portion comprising a first end coupled to the first electrode connection portion by welding, and the coupling hole within plate (532a) at a second to be coupled to the coupling protrusion (paragraph [0059], FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 3 which depends from claim 2, CHOI further discloses:
the first electrode connection portion is bent at least once (paragraph [0058]) between a first end and a second end thereof and is located between the first electrode tab and the first terminal assembly (FIGS. 3 and 4a) of the electrode assembly.
Regarding claim 4 which depends from claim 2, CHOI further discloses:
the first electrode connection portion comprises a metal plate extending along a first direction,
an elongated plate profile (11a, 11b) stamped along a primary longitudinal axis (paragraphs [0016], [0043] and [0073]) that can be coated with a negative active material such as metal (paragraph [0043]).
and comprises a metal plate extending along a first direction, and comprises a first connection portion welded in contact with the first side of the electrode assembly,
outer peripheral wings of the plate drop down to physically touch and fuse with the upper margins of the electrode assembly (paragraph [0043], FIG. 4a.).
and a first center portion that is bent from the first connection portion, protrudes in a direction of the first cap plate relative to the first connection portion, and is spaced apart from the first side of the electrode assembly.
a middle region of the plate that is punched and offset upward to form a first center portion that curves away from the active material layers. This center portion arches upward toward the overlying cap plate (510), leaving an intentional physical air gap space directly underneath it (paragraph [0062], FIG. 2 and 4a.).
Regarding claim 5 which depends from claim 4, CHOI further discloses:
the first connection portion is located on opposite sides of the first center portion in the first direction.
tabs constituting the first connection portions extend outward in opposite horizontal directions along the main longitudinal axis (paragraph [0045], FIG. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 7 which depends from claim 1, CHOI further discloses:
a first inner terminal plate located inside the first cap plate;
broad, flat base flange acting as a first terminal plate positioned beneath the inner face of the cap plate (510, FIG. 2, 3 and 4a.).
a first outer terminal located outside the first cap plate; and
terminal lug block acting as a first outer terminal plate (522) sitting exposed on the exterior of the battery lid (paragraph [0055], FIG. 3 and 4a.).
a first terminal pillar coupled to the first inner terminal plate at an inside of the first cap plate, penetrating the first cap plate, and coupled to the first outer terminal plate and an outside of the first cap plate.
a conductive shaft acting as a first terminal pillar. This pillar is formed integrally with or joined to the inner flange, runs vertically through a matching through hole through the cap plate thickness, and is joined onto the outer terminal block on the exterior side (paragraphs [0011], [0018], [0055], FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 8 which depends from claim 7, CHOI further discloses:
the first inner terminal plate comprises the coupling protrusion on an inside thereof (FIG. 2, 3, and 4a.).
Regarding claim 9 which depends from claim 8, CHOI further discloses:
the coupling protrusion protrudes in a second direction, which is a direction in which the electrode assembly extends.
a construction where the rivet post profile projects along a vertical vector that runs parallel to the longitudinal axis of the electrode assembly core layers housed inside the prismatic case (paragraph [0073], FIG. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 12 which depends from claim 7, CHOI further discloses:
a first inner insulation member (526) (paragraphs [0019], [0055], [0056], FIG. 2) between the cap plate and the fist terminal plate;
a first outer insulation member (540, 550) (FIG. 2) between the cap plate and the first outer terminal plate and;
a first gasket between the cap plate and the first terminal pillar.
a sleeve serving as a first gasket that wraps completely around the perimeter of the vertical terminal where it passes through the cap plate opening (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 13 which depends from claim 1, CHOI further discloses:
a second cap plate that seals a second side opening of the case;
a symmetrical architecture where the opposite longitudinal opening of the prismatic housing case is mirrored by an identical lower end cap plate (610) (FIG. 2 and 3)
a second current collector that is in contact with and coupled to a second electrode tab exposed on a second side of the electrode assembly and comprises a coupling hole;
a negative second current collector welded to the exposed electrode (630). This negative current collector features an identical terminal mounting aperture (FIG. 2, 3 and 5a).
and a second terminal comprising a coupling protrusion inserted and riveted to the coupling hole of the second current collector, and a portion exposed to an outside of the second cap plate.
a negative terminal assembly (620) whose peg is received and riveted onto the negative collector (FIG. 2, 3, and 5a).
Regarding claim 14 which depends from claim 1, CHOI further discloses:
the coupling protrusion comprises a circular ring-shaped protrusion with a hollow interior.
a hollow, cylindrical center profile of riveting protrusion (528) (paragraph [0057], FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 15 which depends from claim 1, CHOI further discloses:
further comprising a first insulation member between the first cap plate and the electrode assembly to block electrical contact.
an insulating layer (540) situated below the cap plate to prevent shorting with the internal core components (paragraph [0061], FIG.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. in view of KIM DUK JUNG (KR-20120064237-A, machine translation provided).
Regarding claim 6 which depends from claim 1, CHOI discloses:
the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the coupling protrusion of the first terminal is inserted into the coupling hole of the first current collector, and an end of the coupling protrusion is spread and coupled to the first current collector (paragraphs [0011], [0018] and [0055], FIG. 4a).
CHOI fails to explicitly disclose that the end of the protrusion is spread by riveting.
However, KIM DUK JUNG discloses a method of manufacturing batteries where terminal protrusions are inserted through current collectors and their ends are structurally spread by riveting to form a secure mechanical and electrical connection (pg. 4. paragraph 7 and pg. 5. paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the battery of CHOI to explicitly use the riveting method taught by KIM DUK JUNG.
Regarding claim 10 which depends from claim 7, CHOI discloses:
The secondary battery of claim 7, including the first terminal plate (the integrally formed flange) and a coupling protrusion. However, CHOI fails to disclose:
the first terminal plate comprises a terminal hole penetrating a first side and a second side thereof at a center thereof.
and the coupling protrusion is located on opposite sides of the terminal hole in the first direction.
However, in a similar field of endeavor as applicant, KIM DUK JUNG discloses a secondary battery terminal plate layout wherein a terminal plate comprises a central terminal hole (125a-1, 123-b) penetrating a first and second side thereof, and coupling protrusions located on opposite sides of the terminal hole in a first direction (125a-2, 123c) (pg. 5. paragraph 3, pg. 4. paragraph 7 and 8, FIG. 6). This arrangement serves the same purpose as the integral terminal connection in CHOI.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the terminal structure of CHOI by incorporating the central terminal hole and the dual opposing coupling protrusions as taught by KIM DUK JUNG as both relate to arrangements for providing connection between a current collector and an outer sealed terminal utilizing a riveted structure in a secondary battery presenting a reasonable expectation of results, and doing so presents a simple substitution of known prior art structural joints between the terminal and current collector yielding a predictable result (MPEP 2143.I.B).
Regarding claim 11 which depends from claim 10, CHOI further discloses:
wherein the coupling hole is at a location corresponding to the coupling protrusion and has a size corresponding to a diameter of the coupling protrusion.
To the extent that CHOI only shows a single hole matching its single protrusion, KIM DUK JUNG inherently teaches providing a corresponding coupling hole of matching size for each of its protrusions to facilitate proper insertion and alignment (FIG. 6 and 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. GUEN et al. (US-20120328932-A1) is considered pertinent because it discloses a rechargeable battery configuration featuring an electrode assembly positioned relative to an insulating separator. Furthermore, GUEN teaches terminal structures that interface with the electrode assembly, illustrating a general layout for managing current flow in secondary batteries.
/KENDRA DAWN CORONADO/ Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743