DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims should be amended to read in part “generate display information including the surgical instrument area”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 12, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overmyer (US 2020/0188046) in view of Zhao (US 8,792,963).
As per claims 1, 8, and 12, Overmyer teaches a force sense display device comprising at least one processor configured to at least:
obtain image information from an image-capturing device configured to capture an image of an affected part of a patient (see at least para. 59 for image capture device 310 arranged to capture images of the surgical site 618);
obtain position information on at least one surgical instrument, the position information being received from a surgical assist robot (see at least para. 60 for determining position of end effector using sensors 622; see at least para. 43 for surgical tool 400 includes end effector 404);
obtain force sense information comprising information on a magnitude of and a direction of a force acting on the at least one surgical instrument (see at least para. 62 for determining loading data such as force and direction of force on end effector 404 from sensors 622);
generate a force sense representation based on the force sense information, the force sense representation comprising a force amount representation that represents the magnitude of the force and a direction representation that represents the direction of the force (see at least para. 64 for augmenting visual display with force indicator that provides magnitude and direction of loading);
detect
generate display information including the surgical instrument area with the force sense representation superimposed thereon and output the display information for display on the display (see at least para. 65-66 for force indicator 704 graphically tied to the known reference point).
Overmyer is not explicit regarding detecting a surgical instrument area in an image based on image information and position information.
Zhao teaches detecting a surgical instrument area based on image information and position information (see at least col. 33, ln. 35-42, for using sequence of images and kinematics information, equivalent to positional information, to determine tool tip location within the image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Overmyer with the features of Zhao to provide a tool tracking system that is accurate and reliable by fusing kinematics and visual information compared to using only optical or magnetic devices which may only provide a single clue of the position of a robotic tool.
As per claim 3, Overmyer further teaches wherein the force amount representation comprises a numerical value (see at least Fig. 7-8 and 13 for numerical representation of force).
As per claims, 16-18, Overmyer further teaches wherein the display information including the surgical instrument area with the force sense representation superimposed thereon is displayed on the display.
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overmyer (US 2020/0188046) in view of Zhao (US 8,792,963) and further in view of Reiley (“Effects of visual force feedback on robot-assisted surgical task performance”).
As per claim 2, 9, and 13, modified Overmyer is silent regarding, but Reiley teaches wherein the force amount representation comprises at least one of a color type, a color brightness/darkness, or a transparency (see at least Fig. 3 and section Real-Time Visual Force Feedback Graphic Overlays for different colored visual indicators overlayed on the surgical images based on the measured force range at each instrument tip).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Overmyer with the features of Reiley because providing visual force feedback using overlays that change color across three discrete force magnitude intervals provides an quick and easy to understand visual indication to avoid applying excessive forces.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overmyer (US 2020/0188046) in view of Zhao (US 8,792,963) and further in view of Jun (KR 20160079223).
As per claim 4, modified Overmyer is silent regarding, but Jun teaches wherein the force amount representation comprises a character size of the numerical value to be displayed (see at least para. 43 for displaying the measured force numerically but also varying the size of the numbers based on whether the measured force is less than, equal to, or greater than reference forces).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Overmyer with the features of Jun because the varying font sizes provide clear and easy to distinguish visual indicators of when the measured forces are less than, equal to, or greater than reference forces.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overmyer (US 2020/0188046) in view of Zhao (US 8,792,963) and further in view of Dempe (US 2022/0163409).
As per claim 5, modified Overmyer is silent regarding, but Dempte teaches a storage configured to store at least one of a color tone or a pattern of the at least one surgical instrument, wherein the surgical instrument area is detected in the image, based on the at least one of the color tone or the pattern of the at least one surgical instrument stored in the storage (see at least para. 37-39 for registering and tracking fiducial marks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of modified Overmyer with the features of Dempe because providing a fiducial mark associated with a tool allows a system to track the tool as it moves in the environment as it is a unique identifier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 10-11, and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT T NGUYEN/PRIMARY EXAMINER, Art Unit 3619