DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 11-13, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pellenc (US 20190198843 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pellenc teaches:
A magnetic battery cell connector comprising ([0028]):
A body having a first arm and a second arm that diverge away from one another ([0076-0077], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22);
An electrical pathway ([0064], [0076-0077], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22);
An electrical contact ([0077], Fig. 1, contact area 300):
Located proximate a terminal end of one of the first arm and the second arm ([0077], Fig. 1,contact area 30);
Electrically connected to the electrical pathway ([0077], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22, contact area 30);
Adapted to allow electricity to pass from a battery cell terminal to the first electrical pathway ([0077], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22, contact area 30);
A magnet at least partially seated in the electrical contact ([0078], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22, contact area 30, magnet 32);
The magnet being adapted to magnetically releasably secure the first body to the battery cell ([0078], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22, contact area 30, magnet 32).
Regarding claim 4, Pellenc teaches:
The electrical contact is cup-shaped and the magnet is at least partially seated in the electrical contact ([0079], cup 42, magnet 32).
Regarding claim 5, Pellenc teaches:
The magnetic battery cell connector Comprising a first contact plate at the end of the first arm and the magnet is disposed on the first contact plate ([0077-0078], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22, contact area 30, magnet 32).
Regarding claim 6, Pellenc teaches:
The magnetic battery cell connector comprising a second contact plate at the end of the second arm ([0077-0078], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22, contact area 30).
Regarding claim 11, Pellenc teaches:
The magnet and the electrical contact comprise a unitary structure ([0077-0078], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22, contact area 30, magnet 32).
Regarding claim 12, Pellenc teaches:
The electrical contact is a first electrical contact and a second electrical contact ([0106]):
The second electrical contact being electrically connected to the electrical pathway ([0106]);
The second electrical contact being adapted to allow electricity to pass from a battery cell terminal to the electrical pathway ([0106], [0077-0078], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22, contact area 30).
Regarding claim 13, Pellenc teaches:
The magnet is a first magnet, and further comprising a second magnet at least partially seated in the second electrical contact ([0078], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22, contact area 30, magnet 32);
The second magnet being adapted to magnetically releasably secure the body to a battery cell ([0078], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22, contact area 30, magnet 32).
Regarding claim 16, Pellenc teaches:
The second magnet and the second electrical contact comprise a unitary structure ([0077-0078], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22, contact area 30, magnet 32).
Regarding claim 17, Pellenc teaches:
The magnetic battery cell connector further comprises an electrical connection to an electronic module ([0055], [0106], Fig. 7 interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 7-10, 14, 15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellenc in view of Latour et al. (US 20190157728 A1), hereinafter Latour.
Regarding claim 2, Pellenc teaches the limitation of claim 1, as stated above. Pellenc further teaches the first and second arms form an arc-shape ([0076-0077], [0109], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22). Specifically, Pellenc teaches a ring-shaped connector which satisfies the claimed arc-shaped (Fig. 1, [0109]).
Regarding claim 3, Pellenc teaches the limitation of claim 2, as stated above. Pellenc further teaches an inner radius of the arc shape is substantially the same as a battery end cap of a battery cell ([0076-0077], [0109], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22). Specifically, Pellenc teaches a ring-shaped connector that fits the battery end cap of the battery cell (Fig. 1, [0109]).
Regarding claim 7, Pellenc teaches the limitation of claim 1, as stated above. Pellenc fails to teach that the body comprises a printed circuit board (PCB). Latour teaches a battery module that includes a printed circuit board (PCB) ([0043-0045]). Pellenc and Latour are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify battery assembly of Pellenc to include the PCB arrangement taught by Latour because incorporating a PCB into the battery module would provide improved electrical control, monitoring, communication, and battery management functions within the battery assembly.
Regarding claim 8, Pellenc teaches the limitation of claim 1, as stated above. Pellenc further teaches the body is a ring-shape ([0109]). Pellenc fails to teach that the first and second arms form one of a u-shape or a V-shape. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the ring-shaped connector of Pellenc to instead have a U-shape or V-shape because the particular shape of the connector is a matter of design choice that depends on factors such as manufacturability, assembly configuration, spatial constrains, and desired engagement with corresponding battery components. Modifying the connector geometry from a ring shape to a U-shape or V-shape would have been a predictable variation while maintaining the same intended function of mechanically and/or electrically connecting the battery components.
Regarding claim 9, Pellenc teaches the limitation of claim 1, as stated above. Pellenc further teaches the electrical contact comprises a through-hole ([0109], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22, contact area 30, magnet 32). Specifically, Pellenc teaches a ring-shaped electrical contact. A ring-shaped electrical contact necessarily includes a central opening extending through the contact, thereby teaching the claimed through hole.
Regarding claim 10, Pellenc teaches the limitation of claim 9, as stated above. Pellenc further teaches the magnet is seated at least partially within the through-hole ([0109], [0113], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22, contact area 30, magnet 32, openings 62). Specifically, Pellenc discloses that openings 62 are dimensioned to receive the magnet associated with the contact areas. Thus, the magnet is positioned within the central opening of the ring-shaped electrical contact, i.e., seated at least partially within the through hole.
Regarding claim 14, Pellenc teaches the limitation of claim 13, as stated above. Pellenc further teaches the second electrical contact is a through-hole ([0109], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22, contact area 30, magnet 32). Specifically, Pellenc teaches a ring-shaped electrical contact. A ring-shaped electrical contact necessarily includes a central opening extending through the contact, thereby teaching the claimed through hole.
Regarding claim 15, Pellenc teaches the limitation of claim 14, as stated above. Pellenc further teaches the second magnet is seated at least partially within the through-hole ([0109], [0113], Fig. 1, interconnecting device 20, electrically conductive strip 22, contact area 30, magnet 32, openings 62). Specifically, Pellenc discloses that openings 62 are dimensioned to receive the magnet associated with the contact areas. Thus, the magnet is positioned within the central opening of the ring-shaped electrical contact, i.e., seated at least partially within the through hole.
Regarding claim 18, Pellenc teaches the limitation of claim 17, as stated above. Pellenc fails to teach the electronic module comprises an integrated circuit. Latour teaches the electronic module comprises an integrated circuit ([0043]). Pellenc and Latour are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the integrated circuit taught by Latour into the electronic module of Pellenc in order to improve battery control and management capabilities.
Regarding claim 19, Pellenc and Latour teach the limitation of claim 18, as stated above. Pellenc fails to teach the electronic module further comprises an embedded voltage sensor. Latour teaches the electronic module further comprises an embedded voltage sensor (Abstract). Pellenc and Latour are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the embedded voltage sensor taught by Latour into the electronic module of Pellenc in order to provide voltage monitoring and improve battery management and diagnostic functionality.
Regarding claim 20, Pellenc and Latour teach the limitation of claim 18, as stated above. Pellenc fails to teach the electronic module further comprises a communication module (Abstract). Pellenc and Latour are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the communication module of Pellenc in order to enable communication of battery status, operational data, and diagnostic information.
Conclusion
/TAMARA ORDUNA/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776