DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 03/30/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 03/30/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9 and 15-17 are amended
Claims 1-20 remain rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jae Heung KIM (US 20180279403 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim, in view of Wu et al. (US 20210329483 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wu.
Regarding claims 1, 17 and 19, Kim teaches a request information sending method (Para. [0009]-Kim discloses methods for supporting multiple connectivity in a mobile communication system. Para. [0018]-Kim discloses transferring, ..., the control information for configuring the multiple connectivity for the terminal to the first terminal; generating, by the first base station, a control message based on the control information for configuring the multiple connectivity for the terminal; and transmitting, by the first base station, the control message to the terminal. Para. [0108]-Kim discloses base station technology, the non-ideal backhaul means cases except a case in which Remote Radio Heads (RRH) or Radio and analog processing Units (RU) are connected through optical fibers to which Common Public Radio Interface (CPRI) is applied, and the dual connectivity should consider both an intra-eNB case and an inter-eNB case. Para. [0621]-Kim discloses the multiple connectivity terminal may update stored system information, perform configuration of necessary parameters and operations according to the changed system information received from the base station according to the request), comprising:
sending, by a first user equipment (UE), configuration request information to a network side device (Para. [0182]-Kim discloses if a terminal maintaining a connection with either a macro base station or a small base station determines that configuration of multiple connectivity is necessary with no regard to a radio protocol structure, it may transmit a control message requesting configuration of multiple connectivity to a base station. Para. [0194]-Kim discloses a multiple connectivity terminal may transmit ... a connection reconfiguration request RRC message for the macro base station),
the configuration request information is used to indicate a configuration resource expected by the first UE (Para. [0619-0620]-Kim discloses the multiple connectivity terminal may selectively inform the base station of which information the terminal requires, and the base station may configure a control message as comprising only system information requested by the terminal, and transmit the control message to the terminal through the dedicated control message. Para. [0782]-Kim discloses a user of the terminal or the terminal may transmit indication information requesting support of inter-RAT CA function or inter-RAT switching or indicating preference to the base station 2420 or the WLAN AP 2430 in a form of a separate control signaling message. Such the control signaling message may be constructed as one of a RRC message);
at least one of: an expected band configuration, an expected measurement configuration, or an unexpected band configuration (Para. [0622]-Kim discloses in case that the system information on systems existing in unlicensed frequency bands such as WLAN, etc. is transferred as separately configured, the terminal can selectively request and receive the corresponding system information. Para. [0756]-Kim discloses the frequency band and frequency bandwidth information of WLAN APs may include information indicating transmission frequencies of respective WLAN APs, system bandwidths or supported WLAN standard versions of respective APs included in the list. Para. [0238]-Kim discloses the terminal 510 may report the measurement result by using a control message for reporting measurement result, or by using a separate request message for configuring multiple connectivity. The separate request message may be configured with an RRC control message, a MAC control Protocol Data Unit (PDU), or separate indication bit information. For example, when the separate indication bit information is used, the terminal may transmit a multiple connectivity indication bit to the base station according to the event or user's request).
Kim fails to explicitly teach the configuration request information comprises at least one of: an expected band configuration, an expected measurement configuration, or an unexpected band configuration.
However, Wu teaches the configuration request information comprises at least one of: an expected band configuration, an expected measurement configuration, or an unexpected band configuration (Para. [0056-0059]-Wu discloses assistance information may be specifically used to request the network-side device to configure an RRM measurement parameter, ..., the assistance information may include at least one of the following: ... first request information for requesting configuration of an RRM measurement parameter; ... capability information of the terminal under a single frequency network; and ... a mobility state of the terminal. Para. [0164-0166]-Wu discloses first request information includes at least one of the following: ... first sub-request information for requesting configuration of a synchronization signal block measurement time configuration SMTC, where the SMTC includes at least one of a duration, a first measurement periodicity, a first reporting periodicity, an index of a measured synchronization signal block SSB, and a first measurement frequency; ... second sub-request information for requesting configuration of a measurement object, where the measurement object includes at least one of a cell, a beam, a measurement resource, a second measurement frequency).
Kim and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communications technologies, dealing with information reporting method.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim to incorporate the teachings of Wu on configuration request, with a motivation to indicate at least one of: an expected band configuration, an expected measurement configuration, or an unexpected band configuration, and guarantee supporting multiple connectivity, (Kim, Para. [0010]).
Regarding claims 15, 18 and 20, Kim teaches a request information sending method (Para. [0009]-Kim discloses methods for supporting multiple connectivity in a mobile communication system. Para. [0018]-Kim discloses transferring, ..., the control information for configuring the multiple connectivity for the terminal to the first terminal; generating, by the first base station, a control message based on the control information for configuring the multiple connectivity for the terminal; and transmitting, by the first base station, the control message to the terminal. Para. [0108]-Kim discloses base station technology, the non-ideal backhaul means cases except a case in which Remote Radio Heads (RRH) or Radio and analog processing Units (RU) are connected through optical fibers to which Common Public Radio Interface (CPRI) is applied, and the dual connectivity should consider both an intra-eNB case and an inter-eNB case. Para. [0621]-Kim discloses the multiple connectivity terminal may update stored system information, perform configuration of necessary parameters and operations according to the changed system information received from the base station according to the request), comprising:
receiving, by a network side device, configuration request information sent by a first user equipment UE (Para. [0182]-Kim discloses if a terminal maintaining a connection with either a macro base station or a small base station determines that configuration of multiple connectivity is necessary with no regard to a radio protocol structure, it may transmit a control message requesting configuration of multiple connectivity to a base station. Para. [0194]-Kim discloses a multiple connectivity terminal may transmit ... a connection reconfiguration request RRC message for the macro base station),
the configuration request information is used to indicate a configuration resource expected by the first UE (Para. [0619-0620]-Kim discloses the multiple connectivity terminal may selectively inform the base station of which information the terminal requires, and the base station may configure a control message as comprising only system information requested by the terminal, and transmit the control message to the terminal through the dedicated control message. Para. [0782]-Kim discloses a user of the terminal or the terminal may transmit indication information requesting support of inter-RAT CA function or inter-RAT switching or indicating preference to the base station 2420 or the WLAN AP 2430 in a form of a separate control signaling message. Such the control signaling message may be constructed as one of a RRC message);
at least one of: an expected band configuration, an expected measurement configuration, or an unexpected band configuration (Para. [0622]-Kim discloses in case that the system information on systems existing in unlicensed frequency bands such as WLAN, etc. is transferred as separately configured, the terminal can selectively request and receive the corresponding system information. Para. [0756]-Kim discloses the frequency band and frequency bandwidth information of WLAN APs may include information indicating transmission frequencies of respective WLAN APs, system bandwidths or supported WLAN standard versions of respective APs included in the list. Para. [0238]-Kim discloses the terminal 510 may report the measurement result by using a control message for reporting measurement result, or by using a separate request message for configuring multiple connectivity. The separate request message may be configured with an RRC control message, a MAC control Protocol Data Unit (PDU), or separate indication bit information. For example, when the separate indication bit information is used, the terminal may transmit a multiple connectivity indication bit to the base station according to the event or user's request).
Kim fails to explicitly teach the configuration request information comprises at least one of: an expected band configuration, an expected measurement configuration, or an unexpected band configuration.
However, Wu teaches the configuration request information comprises at least one of: an expected band configuration, an expected measurement configuration, or an unexpected band configuration (Para. [0056-0059]-Wu discloses assistance information may be specifically used to request the network-side device to configure an RRM measurement parameter, ..., the assistance information may include at least one of the following: ... first request information for requesting configuration of an RRM measurement parameter; ... capability information of the terminal under a single frequency network; and ... a mobility state of the terminal. Para. [0164-0166]-Wu discloses first request information includes at least one of the following: ... first sub-request information for requesting configuration of a synchronization signal block measurement time configuration SMTC, where the SMTC includes at least one of a duration, a first measurement periodicity, a first reporting periodicity, an index of a measured synchronization signal block SSB, and a first measurement frequency; ... second sub-request information for requesting configuration of a measurement object, where the measurement object includes at least one of a cell, a beam, a measurement resource, a second measurement frequency).
Kim and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communications technologies, dealing with information reporting method.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim to incorporate the teachings of Wu on configuration request, with a motivation to indicate at least one of: an expected band configuration, an expected measurement configuration, or an unexpected band configuration, and guarantee supporting multiple connectivity, (Kim, Para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Wu teaches the request information sending method according to claim 1,
Kim further teaches the expected band configuration comprises at least one of: an expected band, an expected band combination, an expected carrier aggregation (CA) band, an expected multi-radio access technology dual connectivity (MR-DC) band combination, or an expected time-division multiplexing (TDM) pattern, wherein the expected TDM pattern comprises at least one of: a band combination identifier or a carrier aggregation identifier (Para. [0622]-Kim discloses in case that the system information on systems existing in unlicensed frequency bands such as WLAN, etc. is transferred as separately configured, the terminal can selectively request and receive the corresponding system information. Para. [0756]-Kim discloses the frequency band and frequency bandwidth information of WLAN APs may include information indicating transmission frequencies of respective WLAN APs, system bandwidths or supported WLAN standard versions of respective APs included in the list).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Wu teaches the request information sending method according to claim 1,
Kim further teaches the expected measurement configuration comprises at least one of: a measurement object, a measurement frequency, or a measurement band (Table 5, Para. [0155]-Kim discloses MeasConfig Measurement configuration/change/release (MeasId, Measurement gap setup/release measObject) Measurement report management Support of measurement logging and reporting. Para. [0238]-Kim discloses the terminal 510 may report the measurement result by using a control message for reporting measurement result, or by using a separate request message for configuring multiple connectivity. The separate request message may be configured with an RRC control message, a MAC control Protocol Data Unit (PDU), or separate indication bit information. For example, when the separate indication bit information is used, the terminal may transmit a multiple connectivity indication bit to the base station according to the event or user's request. Para. [0773]-Kim discloses the terminal being serviced by a WLAN AP may be controlled to measure reception qualities of mobile communication base stations (e.g. RSSI, RSRQ, RSRP, SIR, EbNo, EcNo, RSCP, etc.) and report them to the WLAN AP. The WLAN AP may transmit the reported reception qualities, identification information of the base stations (e.g. Physical Cell Identifier (PCI), Public Land Mobile Network Identifier (PLMN ID), Global Cell Identifier (GCI), etc.), frequency bands or carrier indexes of the base stations).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Wu teaches the request information sending method according to claim 1,
Kim further teaches the unexpected band configuration comprises at least one of: an unexpected band, an unexpected band combination, an unexpected carrier, or an unexpected carrier combination (Para. [0622]-Kim discloses in case that the system information on systems existing in unlicensed frequency bands such as WLAN, etc. is transferred as separately configured, the terminal can selectively request and receive the corresponding system information even when the base station does not notify the system information change).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Wu teaches the request information sending method according to claim 1,
Kim further teaches the configuration request information is sent through at least one of: a UE assistance information message, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message, a UE capability information message, an RRC setup request message, an RRC setup complete message, a registration request message, or a service request message (Para. [0748]-Kim discloses the terminal 2310 may transmit the information on whether to support the data offloading function to the base station 2320 when configuring the connection with the base station 2320, or indicate it by using capability information of the terminal (e.g. FGI information). Para. [0194]-Kim discloses a multiple connectivity terminal may transmit ... a connection reconfiguration request RRC message for the macro base station).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Wu teaches the request information sending method according to claim 1,
Kim further teaches the sending, by a first UE, configuration request information to a network side device comprises: sending, by the first UE, the configuration request information to the network side device in a case that a preset condition is met (Para. [0386]-Kim discloses the terminal 1110 may transmit a small base station addition request message for supporting multiple connectivity function, or report only a measurement result triggering addition of small base station when the measurement result meets a pre-configured event condition),
the preset condition comprises at least one of: that the first UE is configured to be allowed to send the configuration request information; that when the first UE connects to the network side device; that when a second UE establishes a connection to the network side device, the second UE and the first UE belong to a same terminal; that the first UE detects that there is in-device coexistence (IDC) interference; that the configuration resource expected by the first UE is changed; that the first UE has not sent the configuration request information after establishing a connection to the network side device; or that a prohibit timer is not running, wherein the prohibit timer is used to prohibit the first UE from sending the configuration request information to the network side device (Para. [0491]-Kim discloses it is permitted that the terminal performs an RA procedure to the small base station or transmits physical-layer uplink control signaling information (or, bits) to the small base station for activating configuration of multiple connectivity. Para. [0194]-Kim discloses a multiple connectivity terminal may transmit ... a connection reconfiguration request RRC message for the macro base station. Para. [0397]-Kim discloses a method of maintaining a control plane (C-Plane) temporarily through a small base station when a RLF of a macro cell occurs or a method of permitting data transceiving through a small base station even when a RLF of a macro cell occurs may be considered. Para. [0447-0448]-Kim discloses the base station (cell) or base station group(s) operating in DTX state may change its state to active state according to the request of an adjacent base station or the related control function entity located in the network, and provide a service to a terminal. If a terminal is in idle state having no connection with a base station, the terminal may perform the above-described procedure after changing its state to connected state through a random access procedure ... the terminal may perform measurements on the base stations or base station groups operating in DTX state, and request the base stations or base station groups to change their state into active state by accessing them via the uplink resources when result of the measurements is not less than a preconfigured threshold value (e.g. when RSRQ or RSRP of a discovery signal or other reference signal is not less than the threshold value).. Para. [0194]-Kim discloses a multiple connectivity terminal may transmit ... a connection reconfiguration request RRC message for the macro base station. Para. [0470]-Kim discloses a request of a terminal, for configuring initial conditions of the base station (e.g. transmission power, system bandwidth, System Frame Number (SFN), discovery signal, synchronization configuration information, etc.)).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Wu teaches the request information sending method according to claim 1,
Kim further teaches before the sending, by a first UE, configuration request information to a network side device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first UE, configuration negotiation control information sent by the network side device (Para. [0150]-Kim discloses configuration of DRX-parameters for the multiple connectivity UE may be determined through negotiation based on control messages exchanged between the base stations at the time of configuration of the multiple connectivity. Para. [0752]-Kim discloses regarding interworking of mobile communication system and WLAN system, ..., the base station may determine whether to perform the data offloading using a WLAN AP based on the negotiation with the terminal (or, the user of the terminal), and provide a service through the data offloading using the WLAN AP),
the configuration negotiation control information is used to indicate whether the network side device supports processing the configuration request information of the first UE (Para. [0222-0223]-Kim discloses the small base station may be activated for supporting multiple connectivity function so that data can be exchanged with the terminal … if a new small base station (or, a cell), which can support multiple connectivity function, is detected when the steps 4) and 5) are being performed and before multiple connectivity function is released, the terminal may report information on the new secondary small base station (or, the new cell) to the macro base station. The macro base station which receives the report on the new small base station may transmit a connection reconfiguration control message for providing multiple connectivity service by using the new small base station instead of the small base station in which the RLF occurred after negotiation with the corresponding small base station, and provide services by using multiple connectivity function. (See also PAra. [0747])); and
the sending, by a first UE, configuration request information to a network side device comprises: sending, by the first UE, the configuration request information to the network side device in a case that the configuration negotiation control information indicates that the network side device supports processing the configuration request information of the first UE (Para. [0222-0223]-Kim discloses the small base station may be activated for supporting multiple connectivity function so that data can be exchanged with the terminal … if a new small base station (or, a cell), which can support multiple connectivity function, is detected when the steps 4) and 5) are being performed and before multiple connectivity function is released, the terminal may report information on the new secondary small base station (or, the new cell) to the macro base station. The macro base station which receives the report on the new small base station may transmit a connection reconfiguration control message for providing multiple connectivity service by using the new small base station instead of the small base station in which the RLF occurred after negotiation with the corresponding small base station, and provide services by using multiple connectivity function. (See also PAra. [0747])).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Wu teaches the request information sending method according to claim 10,
Kim further teaches the configuration negotiation control information is obtained through at least one of: a UE capability enquiry message, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, or system information (Para. [0150]-Kim discloses each base station can manage its RRC context for a multiple connectivity UE, it is more efficient that RRC contexts are managed by a single base station as integrated ... configuration of DRX-parameters for the multiple connectivity UE may be determined through negotiation based on control messages exchanged between the base stations at the time of configuration of the multiple connectivity. Para. [0748]-Kim discloses terminal 2320 may determine whether to use the data offloading function using a WLAN AP, illustrated in FIG. 23, through a negotiation with the terminal 2310. That is, the base station 2320 may transmit a control message requesting or identifying whether to use the data offloading function using a WLAN AP to the terminal 2310. Alternatively, the base station 2320 may transmit information requesting a report on whether to support the data offloading function to the terminal 2310 by using system information. Alternatively, the terminal 2310 may transmit the information on whether to support the data offloading function to the base station 2320 when configuring the connection with the base station 2320, or indicate it by using capability information of the terminal (e.g. FGI information)).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Wu teaches the request information sending method according to claim 10,
Kim further teaches the configuration negotiation control information comprises at least one of: duration of a prohibit timer or configuration request indication information (Para. [0150]-Kim discloses configuration of DRX-parameters for the multiple connectivity UE may be determined through negotiation based on control messages exchanged between the base stations at the time of configuration of the multiple connectivity. Para. [0046]-Kim discloses the DRX parameters configured by the first base station and the DRX parameters configured by the second base station may respectively include information on a start point of an on-duration. Para. [0227]-Kim discloses the macro base station may transfer preferred DRX operation parameters (e.g. whether to apply short DRX cycle, timer information, information on on-duration, information on a start point for aligning the on-duration, etc.), measurement report cycle, measurement configuration parameters (e.g. measurement target frequency, etc.), service and bearer property information to the small base station),
the prohibit timer is used to prohibit the first UE from sending the configuration request information to the network side device (Para. [0721]-Kim discloses the PHR of the terminal may be configured by setting ‘periodicPHR-Timer’, ‘prohibitPHR-Timer’, and ‘dl-PathlossChange’ in ‘phr-config’ information included in a control message for configuring parameters for MAC function (e.g. ‘MAC-MainConfig’ message of LTE system). Para. [0694]-Kim discloses the timer used for restricting unnecessarily-frequent BSR transmissions for a predetermined duration (e.g. sr-ProhibitTimer) may be managed independently for respective cells constituting multiple connectivity. Alternatively, the timer value (sr-ProhibitTimer) for the macro base station or the small base station may be configured as ‘0’ when multiple connectivity are configured), and
the configuration request indication information is used to indicate whether the first UE is allowed to send the configuration request information (Para. [0491]-Kim discloses it is permitted that the terminal performs an RA procedure to the small base station or transmits physical-layer uplink control signaling information (or, bits) to the small base station for activating configuration of multiple connectivity. Para. [0194]-Kim discloses a multiple connectivity terminal may transmit ... a connection reconfiguration request RRC message for the macro base station. Para. [0397]-Kim discloses a method of maintaining a control plane (C-Plane) temporarily through a small base station when a RLF of a macro cell occurs or a method of permitting data transceiving through a small base station even when a RLF of a macro cell occurs may be considered).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Wu teaches the request information sending method according to claim 12,
Kim further teaches the prohibit timer is started when the first UE has sent the configuration request information to the network side device (Para. [0721]-Kim discloses setting ‘periodicPHR-Timer’, ‘prohibitPHR-Timer’, and ‘dl-PathlossChange’ in ‘phr-config’ information included in a control message for configuring parameters for MAC function (e.g. ‘MAC-MainConfig’ message of LTE system). Para. [0182]-Kim discloses if a terminal maintaining a connection with either a macro base station or a small base station determines that configuration of multiple connectivity is necessary with no regard to a radio protocol structure, it may transmit a control message requesting configuration of multiple connectivity to a base station); and
the first UE is prohibited from sending the configuration request information to the network side device when the prohibit timer is running (Para. [0695]-Kim discloses if a single sr-ProhibitTimer value set when the multiple connectivity are configured is commonly used, a problem, that the BSR for LCG2 cannot be transmitted to the small base station until the timer expires, may occur. Thus, the timer used for restricting unnecessarily-frequent BSR transmissions (e.g. sr-ProhibitTimer) can be managed independently for each cell constituting the multiple connectivity. Alternatively, the timer value for the macro base station or the small base station may be configured as ‘0’ when multiple connectivity are configured, or configured as different values according to a service property (e.g. for each LCG). Para. [0722]-Kim discloses when ‘prohibitPHR-Timer’ expires and there is a transmission opportunity through uplink, if a path loss change larger than ‘dl-PathlossChange’ occurs, the terminal may transmit a PHR MAC control message to a serving cell. Para. [0182]-Kim discloses if a terminal maintaining a connection with either a macro base station or a small base station determines that configuration of multiple connectivity is necessary with no regard to a radio protocol structure, it may transmit a control message requesting configuration of multiple connectivity to a base station).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Wu teaches the request information sending method according to claim 1,
Kim further teaches the method further comprises: receiving, by the first UE, configuration information sent by the network side device (Para. [0194]-Kim discloses a multiple connectivity terminal may transmit ... a connection reconfiguration request RRC message for the macro base station ... in response to the RRC control message transferred from the multiple connectivity terminal via the small base station, the macro base station may transmit a response RRC message to the corresponding terminal by using a scheduling identifier allocated for the terminal through downlink resources of the macro base station),
the configuration information is determined by the network side device based on the configuration request information (Para. [0194]-Kim discloses a multiple connectivity terminal may transmit ... a connection reconfiguration request RRC message for the macro base station ... in response to the RRC control message transferred from the multiple connectivity terminal via the small base station, the macro base station may transmit a response RRC message to the corresponding terminal by using a scheduling identifier allocated for the terminal through downlink resources of the macro base station).
Claims 2, 4-5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jae Heung KIM (US 20180279403 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim, in view of Wu et al. (US 20210329483 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wu, and further in view of Sun Ho HWANG (US 20120178500 A1), hereinafter referenced as Hwang.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Kim in view of Wu teaches the request information sending method according to claim 1 and the request information sending method according to claim 15 respectively,
Kim fails to explicitly teach the configuration request information further comprises a UE type.
However, Hwang teaches the configuration request information further comprises a UE type (Table 1, Para. [0046-0047]-Hwang discloses the controller 160 can request a call switch for a call connection request message transmitted to the second SIM card 172, ..., by transmitting a message, which includes information that indicates that the terminal is a terminal including a dual SIM card, to the network system 200 including the base station ... parameters included in the classmark message among signaling messages which inform the network system 200 of performance and the type of the dual SIM card terminal 100).
Kim and Hwang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication network, dealing with a communication operating method of a dual SIM card terminal capable of supporting a call switch of a certain SIM card included in the dual SIM card terminal, and a dual SIM card terminal and network system supporting the same.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim to incorporate the teachings of Hwang on configuration request, with a motivation to indicate UE types, and ensure supporting multiple connectivity, (Kim, Para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Wu and Hwang teaches the request information sending method according to claim 2,
Kim fails to teach the UE type comprises following item: a multi-SIM UE type.
However, Hwang teaches the UE type comprises following item: a multi-SIM UE type (Para. [0033]-Hwang discloses the dual SIM card terminal 100 can activate a communication function based on one of the plurality of SIM cards inserted according to a user's request or schedule information which is set as a default value. At this time, the dual SIM card terminal 100 can transmit information, which indicates that the terminal operates a dual SIM card, to the network system 200).
Kim and Hwang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication network, dealing with a communication operating method of a dual SIM card terminal capable of supporting a call switch of a certain SIM card included in the dual SIM card terminal, and a dual SIM card terminal and network system supporting the same.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim to incorporate the teachings of Hwang on UE types, with a motivation for multi-SIM UE type, and ensure supporting a call switch of a certain SIM card included in the dual SIM card terminal, and a dual SIM card terminal, (Hwang, Para. [0009]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Wu and Hwang in view of Hwang teaches the request information sending method according to claim 4,
Kim fails to teach the multi-SIM UE type is used to indicate at least one of: a dual SIM dual active type; a dual transmit capability; or a dual receive capability.
However, Hwang teaches the multi-SIM UE type is used to indicate at least one of: a dual SIM dual active type; a dual transmit capability; or a dual receive capability (Para. [0033]-Hwang discloses the dual SIM card terminal 100 can activate a communication function based on one of the plurality of SIM cards inserted according to a user's request or schedule information which is set as a default value. At this time, the dual SIM card terminal 100 can transmit information, which indicates that the terminal operates a dual SIM card, to the network system 200. Fig. 2, Para. [0030]-Hwang discloses dual SIM card terminal operating system supports the dual SIM card terminal 100 to register information that indicates that the terminal is a dual SIM card terminal while performing registration in the network system 200 after camping on the network system 200. As such, the network system 200 can recognize in advance that the camped-on certain terminal is a dual SIM card terminal 100. In addition, in a case where the portable terminal 101 requests a call connection based on a phone number registered in a certain SIM card of the dual SIM card terminal 100, the network system 200 can determine whether the dual SIM card terminal having the SIM card is operating a communication function based on the SIM card, and connect the call to the dual SIM card terminal 100 having the SIM card).
Hwang is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication network, dealing with a communication operating method of a dual SIM card terminal capable of supporting a call switch of a certain SIM card included in the dual SIM card terminal, and a dual SIM card terminal and network system supporting the same.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim to incorporate the teachings of Hwang on multi-SIM UE type, with a motivation for dual SIM dual active type, and ensure supporting a call switch of a certain SIM card included in the dual SIM card terminal, and a dual SIM card terminal, (Hwang, Para. [0009]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference (Wu et al. (US 20210329483 A1)) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472