Response to Amendment
This action is entered in response to Applicant’s amendment and reply of August 26, 2026. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 1-12 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed August 26, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-10, 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown, US 2021/0162097 A1, and claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Brown in view of Crook et al, WO 2022/082259 A1 have been fully considered and are persuasive in combination with the amendments to the claims, which changes the scope of the claim. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pulapura, US 2017/0319193 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pulapura et al, US 2017/0319193 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Pulapura discloses a printable, biocompatible scaffold (20, 22, paras [0066]-[0078]; biocompatible substrate, para [0071]; 3D printing, para [0097]) comprising: a first layer comprising a first material (28 and/or 30, para [0091]); and a second layer comprising a second material (24 and/or 30, para [0094]; also para [0115]; multiple layers made up of different first and second polymers and/or the hemostatic agent 24) that is different from the first material (para [0115]; [0116]; layers 28 and 30 can be made of different polymers); wherein the scaffold includes a first region having a first thickness (fold area 32 with thickness, para [0079]) and a second region having a second thickness (area of surfaces 28a, 30a, having a second thickness, para [0079]) that is greater than the thickness of the first region (para [0079]); wherein a transition from the first thickness to the second thickness is configured to create a hinge configured to fold around an edge of soft tissue (paras [0079]-[0080]; regions 32 are thinner than the surrounding regions and therefore are capable of folding or creating a hinge region to allow the folding); and wherein the first thickness is configured to be disposed below the soft tissue and the second thickness is configured to be disposed at the edge of the soft tissue (paras [0070] and [0080]; substrate 22 can be folded and therefore capable of having the first and second thickness regions disposed below or at the edge of soft tissue).
Regarding claims 2-3, Pulapura discloses the scaffold of claim 1, further comprising a first support material integrated into the first layer and a second support material integrated into the second layer (mesh or fibers, paras [0074]-[0075]).
Regarding claims 4-5, Pulapura discloses the scaffold of claim 1, wherein the first material is a synthetic polymer (para [0074]) and wherein the second material is a synthetic polymer (para [0074]).
Regarding claim 6, Pulapura discloses the scaffold of claims 4 or 5, wherein the synthetic polymer is selected from the group consisting of poly(urethanes), poly(siloxanes) or silicones, poly(ethylene), poly(vinyl pyrrolidone), poly(2-hydroxy ethyl methacrylate), poly(N-vinyl pyrrolidone), poly(methyl methacrylate), poly(vinyl alcohol), poly(acrylic acid), polyacrylamide, poly(ethylene-co-vinyl acetate), poly(ethylene glycol), poly(methacrylic acid), polylactic acid (PLA), poly(L-lactic acid) (PLLA), polyglycolic acids (PGA), poly(lactide-co-glycolides) (PLGA), polycaprilactone (PCL), tri-calcium phosphate (TCP), polycaprilactone-tri-calcium phosphate (PCL-TCP), nylons, polyamides, polyanhydrides, poly(ethylene-co-vinyl alcohol) (EVOH), polycaprolactone, poly(vinyl acetate) (PVA), polyvinylhydroxide, poly(ethylene oxide) (PEO), polyorthoesters, any combinations thereof (see paras [0074]-[0075]).
Regarding claims 7-8, Pulapura discloses the scaffold of claim 1, wherein the first material is a biological material and wherein the second material is a biological material (hemostatic agent or other materials such as fibrin, collagen, paras [0074] and [0093]).
Regarding claim 9, Pulapura discloses the scaffold of claim 8, wherein the biological material is selected from the group consisting of collagen, fibrin, fibrinogen, thrombin, elastin, laminin, fibronectin, hyaluronic acid, chondroitin 4-sulfate, chondroitin 6-sulfate, dermatan sulfate, gelatin, heparin sulfate, heparin, keratan sulfate, proteoglycans, polysaccharides, chitin, chitosan, alginic acids, and alginates and any combinations thereof (see para [0093]).
Regarding claim 10, Pulapura discloses the scaffold of claim 9, wherein the first layer is a synthetic polymer and the second layer is a biological material (paras [0074]; [0091]; [0097]-[0099]; layers 28/30 can be made of either polymer or other hemostatic agents, collagen).
Regarding claim 12, Pulapura discloses the scaffold of claim 1, wherein the first or second layer comprises both a synthetic polymer and a biological material (paras [0074]; [0091]; [0093]; [0097]-[0099]; layers 28/30 can be made of either polymer or other hemostatic agents, collagen).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pulapura in view of Crook et al, WO 2022/082259 A1.
Regarding claim 11, Pulapura discloses the scaffold of claim 8, wherein the biological material is collagen (paras [0074] and [0094]), but is silent as to the collagen is applied via electrocompaction.
However, Crook, in the same field of art, namely biocompatible tissue scaffolds (page 2, lines 5-15), teaches a scaffold having multiple layers, formed of material, wherein the material is a biological material (page 7, lines 20-40 and also page 22, lines 20-40), and wherein the biological material is collagen, the collagen is applied via electrocompaction (page 22, lines 20-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the second material of Pulapura with collagen applied via electrocompaction as taught by Crook in order to provide the stated advantages of creating densely packed and highly ordered bundles to form the scaffold, as is in known in the art, and since electrocompaction is a known method it would lead to predictable results and have a reasonable expectation of success (Crook, page 22, lines 30-40).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATRINA M STRANSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3700