Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown, US 2021/0162097 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Brown discloses a printable, biocompatible scaffold (paras [0102]-[0107]; 3-D printing of biological scaffolds) comprising: a first layer comprising a first material (para [0122]; first of the plurality of films/assemblies of bio-ink); and a second layer comprising a second material (para [0122]; second of the plurality of films/assemblies) that is different from the first material (para [0122]; different bio-ink compositions); wherein the scaffold includes a first region having a first thickness (3D material can vary incrementally to have a first region with a first thickness, para [0122]) and a second region having a second thickness (step-wise or different topographical features that would make up a second region with second thickness, para [0122]) that is greater than the thickness of the first region (thickness can vary or be greater, for example a step-wise region has a second region that is greater in thickness, para [0122]).
Regarding claims 2-3, Brown discloses the scaffold of claim 1, further comprising a first support material integrated into the first layer and a second support material integrated into the second layer (bio-ink compositions, see para [0110] and also para [0117]; support material is viscosity control agent and/or one of the other synthetic or natural polymers).
Regarding claims 4-5, Brown discloses the scaffold of claim 1, wherein the first material is a synthetic polymer (para [0111]) and wherein the second material is a synthetic polymer (para [0111]).
Regarding claim 6, Brown discloses the scaffold of claims 4 or 5, wherein the synthetic polymer is selected from the group consisting of poly(urethanes), poly(siloxanes) or silicones, poly(ethylene), poly(vinyl pyrrolidone), poly(2-hydroxy ethyl methacrylate), poly(N-vinyl pyrrolidone), poly(methyl methacrylate), poly(vinyl alcohol), poly(acrylic acid), polyacrylamide, poly(ethylene-co-vinyl acetate), poly(ethylene glycol), poly(methacrylic acid), polylactic acid (PLA), poly(L-lactic acid) (PLLA), polyglycolic acids (PGA), poly(lactide-co-glycolides) (PLGA), polycaprilactone (PCL), tri-calcium phosphate (TCP), polycaprilactone-tri-calcium phosphate (PCL-TCP), nylons, polyamides, polyanhydrides, poly(ethylene-co-vinyl alcohol) (EVOH), polycaprolactone, poly(vinyl acetate) (PVA), polyvinylhydroxide, poly(ethylene oxide) (PEO), polyorthoesters, any combinations thereof (see para [0111]).
Regarding claims 7-8, Brown discloses the scaffold of claim 1, wherein the first material is a biological material and wherein the second material is a biological material (bio-ink compositions with naturally derived polymers such as fibrin, see paras [0111] and [0117]).
Regarding claim 9, Brown discloses the scaffold of claim 8, wherein the biological material is selected from the group
consisting of collagen, fibrin, fibrinogen, thrombin, elastin, laminin, fibronectin, hyaluronic acid, chondroitin 4-sulfate, chondroitin 6-sulfate, dermatan sulfate, gelatin, heparin sulfate, heparin, keratan sulfate, proteoglycans, polysaccharides, chitin, chitosan, alginic acids, and alginates and any combinations thereof (see paras [0111] and [0117]).
Regarding claim 10, Brown discloses the scaffold of claims 9, wherein the first layer is a synthetic polymer and the second layer is a biological material (paras [0110]-[0117]; bio-ink compositions can include synthetic and/or naturally derived polymers or materials).
Regarding claim 12, Brown discloses the scaffold of claim 1, wherein the first or second layer comprises both a synthetic polymer and a biological material (paras [0110]-[0117]; bio-ink compositions can include synthetic and/or naturally derived polymers or materials).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown in view of Crook et al, WO 2022/082259 A1.
Regarding claim 11, Brown discloses the scaffold of claim 8, wherein the biological material is collagen (para [0117]), but is silent as to the collagen is applied via electrocompaction.
However, Crook, in the same field of art, namely biocompatible tissue scaffolds (page 2, lines 5-15), teaches a scaffold having multiple layers, formed of material, wherein the material is a biological material (page 7, lines 20-40 and also page 22, lines 20-40), and wherein the biological material is collagen, the collagen is applied via electrocompaction (page 22, lines 20-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the second material of Brown with collagen applied via electrocompaction as taught by Crook in order to provide the stated advantages of creating densely packed and highly ordered bundles to form the scaffold, as is in known in the art, and since electrocompaction is a known method it would lead to predictable results and have a reasonable expectation of success (Crook, page 22, lines 30-40).
Conclusion
/KATRINA M STRANSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3700