DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Davoodi et al. (US 2024/0348842).
Claim 1, Davoodi teaches a secure video transmission system comprising:
a secure network comprising at least one video source (i.e. sourced data) and an ingestion node (i.e. server nodes, RTMP server), wherein the ingestion node is adapted to normalize video data generated by the at least one video source and generate a user datagram protocol/real-time transport protocol (UDP/RTP) video stream and session description protocol (SDP) file (i.e. WebRTC within collaboration workspace) (p. 0037-0038, 0052, 0143-0151); and
a distribution network comprising at least one distribution node operably connected to the secure network (i.e. server nodes to WebRTC), wherein the SDP file (i.e. media config) and the UDP/RTP video stream are received at the distribution node through a firewall, wherein an external user can access the UDP/RTP video stream from the distribution node through the firewall (i.e. open in firewalls) by transmitting a request video URL (i.e. URL and stream key for access) to the distribution node (i.e. request by client devices) thereby permitting video data from the at least one video source to be viewed by the external user (i.e. secure access from client devices) (p. 0141-0151).
Claim 2, Davoodi teaches The transmission system of claim 1, wherein the distribution node (i.e. WebRTC) comprises at least one server (i.e. server nodes) (p. 0052, 0143).
Claim 3, Davoodi teaches the transmission system of claim 1, wherein the ingestion node comprises at least one video ingestion/transcoding server (i.e. uploading within collaboration server) (p. 0060-0069).
Claim 5, Davoodi teaches The transmission system of claim 1, wherein after the video data generated by the at least one video source and the at least one other video source is transmitted from the ingestion node (i.e. RTMP server), the video data generated by the at least one video source and the at least one other video source are in the same format (i.e. transcoded for the collaboration workspace) (p. 0143).
Claim 6, Davoodi teaches the transmission system of claim 1, wherein the video data generated by the at least one video source is live video data, and the external user (i.e. users) can view the live video data without directly accessing the secure network (i.e. when added to workspace) (p. 0074-0075).
Claim 8, Davoodi teaches the transmission system of claim 1, wherein the SDP file contains information regarding a UDP port for the UDP/RTP video stream (i.e. media connection configuration) (p. 0151).
Claim 9, Davoodi teaches the transmission system of claim 1, wherein the SDP file and the UDP/RTP video stream are transmitted from the ingestion node (i.e. RTMP server) through the firewall to the distribution node (i.e. WebRTC) (p. 0143).
Claim 10, Davoodi teaches the transmission system of claim 1, wherein the external user is an authorized external user (i.e. authorized users in the group) (p. 0069).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davoodi et al. (US 2024/0348842) in view of Allen et al. (US 2019/0320014).
Claim 4, Davoodi is silent regarding the transmission system of claim 1, wherein there is at least one other video source, wherein the video data generated by the at least one video source and the at least one other video source are in different formats.
Allen teaches the transmission system of claim 1, wherein there is at least one other video source (i.e. media device), wherein the video data generated by the at least one video source and the at least one other video source are in different formats (i.e. media device capabilities and shared and then connected) (p. 0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided multiple sources of different format capabilties as taught by Allen to the system of Davoodi to provide various devices that can establish connection (p. 0069).
Claim 7, Davoodi is not entirely clear in teaching the transmission system of claim 1, wherein the distribution node does not directly communicate with the at least one video source.
Allen teaches the transmission system of claim 1, wherein the distribution node (i.e. edge nodes) does not directly communicate with the at least one video source (102, data is communicated p2p to subscribers and not through the video source) (p. 0040-0042). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided decentralized network as taught by Allen to the system of Davoodi to provide secure network connections (p. 0039).
Claim 11 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claims 1 and 4.
Claim 12 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claims 1 and 4.
Claim 13 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 3.
Claim 14 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 9.
Claim 15 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 8.
Claim 16 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 9.
Claim 17 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 1.
Claim 18 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 7.
Claim 19 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 10.
Claim 20 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claims 1 and 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/4/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 1, Applicant argues that Davoodi discloses sharing of live stream content such as videos, screen casting, etc. using a shared collaboration workspace in a collaboration session. Participants of the collaboration session can view live streamed content in the shared collaboration workspace and new participants can be easily included in the collaboration session. The technology disclosed allows live streaming of locally sourced and remotely sourced data. See Davoodi, 1 [0037]. At no point is there disclosure of normalization of the data from the video sources, passing them through a firewall to a distribution network and then accessing the distributions. This provides an extra layer of securitynot contemplated by Davoodi.
Claim 1 requires "wherein the SDP file and the UDP/RTP video stream are received at the distribution node through a firewall, wherein an external user can access the UDP/RTP video stream from the distribution node through the firewall by transmitting a request video URL to the distribution node thereby permitting video data from the at least one video source to be viewed by the external user" (emphasis added).
Davoodi fails to meet the limitations of claim 1. Davoodi does not normalize and pass the data through a firewall before permitting access to the data via the distribution network. Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 is in condition for allowance. Furthermore, claims 2-3, 5-6, and 8-10 are in condition for allowance by virtue of their dependence upon an allowable base claim.
In response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Reading the claims in the broadest sense, the limitation requires that “…wherein the SDP file and the UDP/RTP video stream are received at the distribution node through a firewall, wherein an external user can access the UDP/RTP video stream from the distribution node through the firewall…”. The Examiner appreciates the Applicant’s disclosure regarding “an extra layer of security”, however according to the claims what is required is an RTP video stream received at a node “through a firewall”. Davoodi discloses RTP stream received at an ingest server or WebRTC server, or both (transferring RTP stream from ingest server to WebRTC server). Davoodi also discloses the use of transmitting the stream to end users through a port 443 which would go “through the firewall”. Davoodi also discloses a config file as an SDP file and the users requesting a URL and receiving the video data (p. 0141-0151). Therefore, reading the claims in the broadest sense, Davoodi meets the limitation of “wherein the SDP file and the UDP/RTP video stream are received at the distribution node through a firewall, wherein an external user can access the UDP/RTP video stream from the distribution node through the firewall by transmitting a request video URL to the distribution node thereby permitting video data from the at least one video source to be viewed by the external user”.
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 3/26/2026