DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-21 are pending in this application.
Response to Amendment
3. This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 07/28/2025 in response to the non-final action mailed on 01/28/2025. Claims 1-11, 13, 17 and 19-21 have been amended. Claims 12, 14-16 and 18 have been kept original. Claims 7, and 14 have been cancelled. Amendment has been entered.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments, filed on 07/28/2025, with respect to the U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection of claims 11-19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. It is respectfully noted that the Applicant's amendments and clarifications have convinced the Examiner that the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection of claims 11-19 is overcome (Applicant’s arguments, page 19). Therefore, the U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection of claims 11-19 is withdrawn from the record.
However, due to the amendment to claim 11, it introduced a U.S.C. § 112(b) indefiniteness to claims 17-18 (see U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection below).
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 07/28/2025, with respect to the U.S.C. § 101 Abstract Idea (mental process) rejection of claims 1-21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. It is respectfully noted that the Applicant's filed amendments and clarifications in the argument have convinced the Examiner that the claims are integrated into a practical application (Applicant’s arguments, pages 19-43). Therefore, the U.S.C. § 101 Abstract Idea (mental process) rejection of claims 1-21 is withdrawn from the record.
Applicant's arguments, filed on 07/28/2025, with respect to the priority date (Applicant’s arguments, page 45), have been fully considered. Respectfully, the Examiner can only consider the documents that were filed with the application. The Applicant has not filed any documents to support the priority date in the application 18/512,739. Therefore, the only documents the Examiner can consider for priority date under U.S.C. § 119 are the documents filed in the parent application 16/039,462.
The arguments regarding the priority date of the prior art of Alsina et al. (US 20220006763 A1) is not persuasive. Respectfully, the U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) consider U.S. Patent Application as prior art. The prior art of Alsina et al. (US 20220006763 A1) have a U.S. Patent Application (62/349,101) granted priority to the prior art of Alsina et al. filed on 06/12/2016 which is prior to the Applicant priority claim from the Canada Patent (CA2939395). See MPEP 2154.02 - Prior Art Exceptions Under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2).
Applicant's arguments, filed on 07/28/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1,3-8 and 10-21 under 35 U.S.C. §103 (Applicant’s arguments, pages 43-56), have been fully considered and are but are moot because the independent claims are amended and introduce new limitations that were not previously presented newly found prior art has been applied.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 12, 14-16 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims were previously presented and have not been amended in the filed amended claims filed on 07/28/2025 and is not marked as original. The MPEP 714(II)(C)(C) “The text of pending claims not being currently amended, including withdrawn claims, must be presented in clean version, i.e., without any markings.”. No clean version of the claims was sent to the office. The application fell to comply with the MPEP 714(II)(C)(C) rules, see also 714(II)(F).
All claims 12, 14-16 and 18 should be submitted and be marked as original.
Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claims the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claims 17-18, recites the limitations of “… the first and second indicators …”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. The insufficient antecedent basis is a result of the fact that claims 17-18 are dependent on claim 11, and claim 11 has been amended and no longer recites a first indicator and second indicator. Claim 11 now recites “… the text string start indicator and text string end indicator …”
The Examiner gave the best reasonable interpretation to the claims. Therefore, for purpose of this examination the recited ““… the first and second indicators …”” will be interpreted as “… the text string start indicator and text string end indicator …”.
Applicant is encouraged to review the claims for similar inconsistencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-2, 11-12 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Szeto et al. (US 20050234883 A1).
As per claim 1, Szeto teaches a non-transitory processor readable medium embodying computer program instructions (i.e. “The various components of an instant messaging system may be implemented using hardware components, programmable devices (e.g., microprocessors) executing software instructions”; para. [0044]; Examiner note: A non-transitory processor readable medium is the hardware components, programmable devices (e.g., microprocessors). The embodying computer program instructions is interpreted as the executing software instructions),
wherein the instructions are operative to cause at least one processor of a computing device to carry out steps (i.e. “The Internet search server returns one or more search results. One of these results is selected, formatted, and displayed inline in window 200. In FIG. 2, the search result 202 provides a text weather forecast for Santa, Clara Calif.”; fig.2,4, para. [0024]; Examiner note: The computing device is interpreted as the Internet search server. The steps are interpreted as the selected, formatted, and displayed inline in window 200) comprising:
(a) causing to be assigned within a text entry application a text string start indicator and a text string end indicator (i.e. “The IM application recognizes a particular character string as a search trigger that indicates the user is attempting to initiate a web search.”; para. [0013]. Further, i.e. “For example, the user Justin has entered search request 106 “s:define onomatopoeia” in window 100. In this example, the characters “s:” define a search trigger. When a user enters “s:” followed by additional characters, the IM application recognizes that a search request is being made. The IM application treats the characters following “s:” as a search query.”; figs.1, 3, para. [0014]-[0016]; Examiner note: the text entry application is interpreted as the IM application. The text string start indicator is “s:. The text string end indicator is ”),
(b) enabling receipt from a user of the computing device into the text entry application through at least one input device of the computing device (i.e. “At step 501, a search request is received from an IM user in an IM environment. The search request includes a search query, and typically, a search trigger. At step 502, the search request is displayed inline in an instant messaging window on client computers.”; fig. 5, para. [0035]. Examiner note: the text entry application is interpreted as the IM environment. The input device is interpreted as the instant messaging window on client computers),
user entered text (i.e. “At step 501, a search request is received from an IM user in an IM environment. The search request includes a search query, and typically, a search trigger.”; fig. 5, para. [0035]. Examiner note: The user entered text is interpreted as the search query),
wherein the user entered text includes therein as a subset thereof the text string start indicator, search string text, and the text string end indicator (i.e. “For example, the user Justin has entered search request 106 “s:define onomatopoeia” in window 100. In this example, the characters “s:” define a search trigger. When a user enters “s:” followed by additional characters, the IM application recognizes that a search request is being made. The IM application treats the characters following “s:” as a search query.”; figs.1-3, para. [0014]-[0016]; Examiner note: The user entered text is “s:define onomatopoeia”. The text string start indicator is “s:. The search string text is define onomatopoeia. The text string end indicator is ”),
wherein search string text includes a plurality of characters selected and arranged by the user (i.e. “When a user enters “s:” followed by additional characters, the IM application recognizes that a search request is being made. The IM application treats the characters following “s:” as a search query.”; para. [0014]; Examiner note: the plurality of characters is interpreted as the additional characters),
(c) responsive at least in part to receipt of the text string search indicator, the search string text, and the text string end indicator in (b), automatically providing through at least one output device of the computing device, a user interface output (i.e. “The search result 302 is displayed in response to search request 301.”; fig.3, para. [0030]. Further, i.e. “an instant messaging (IM) server issues a search request in response to receiving a search query preceded by a predefined search trigger.”; para. [0007], [0035]. Further, i.e. “At step 502, the search request is displayed inline in an instant messaging window on client computers.”; fig.5, para. [0035]; the output device is the client computers. The user interface output is interpreted as the instant messaging window),
wherein the user interface output corresponds to the user entered text with a hyperlink corresponding to the search string text, in place of at least the search string text (i.e. “Inline search results of the present invention can include graphics and HTML in additional to plain text. For example, search result 202 also includes a graphic for partly cloudy and an HTML hyperlink to a 5-day forecast for Santa Clara, Calif.”; para. [0026]; Examiner note: a hyperlink corresponding to the search string text is interpreted as the HTML hyperlink to a 5-day forecast for Santa Clara, Calif),
(d) enabling receipt of at least one input through the at least one input device corresponding to user selection of the hyperlink in the user interface output (i.e. “Search result 302 also includes a “more search results” hyperlink. When the user clicks on the “more search results” link,”; fig. 3, para. [0026], [0031]),
(e) responsive at least in part to receipt of the at least one input to the at least one input device corresponding to user selection of the hyperlink (i.e. “Search result 302 also includes a “more search results” hyperlink. When the user clicks on the “more search results” link, the IM application opens a web browser to display the full list of search results. Alternatively, one or more additional search results can be displayed inline in the conversation region of IM window 300 when the user selects “more search results.”; para. [0031]; Examiner note: the user selection of the hyperlink is interpreted as the user clicks on the “more search results” link),
(i) automatically invoking an internet search based on the search string text (i.e. “Internet search server 413 performs a search through the Internet 414 (e.g., World Wide Web) for information relating to the search query”; para. [0033]; Examiner note: the invoking an internet search based on the search string text is interpreted as the performs a search through the Internet 414 (e.g., World Wide Web) for information relating to the search query),
(ii) receiving results of the search in (e)(i) (i.e. “Alice's IM client receives the search results from the search server.”; para. [0039], and
(iii) outputting through at least one output device, indicia corresponding to the at least a portion of the results of the search received in (e)(ii) (i.e. “Inline search results of the present invention can include graphics and HTML in additional to plain text. For example, search result 202 also includes a graphic for partly cloudy and an HTML hyperlink to a 5-day forecast for Santa Clara, Calif.”; para. [0026]; Examiner note: the indicia is interpreted as the graphics).
As per claim 2, Szeto teaches wherein (e)(i) includes presenting the search string text to a search engine (i.e. “The search query “weather 95054” is transmitted to the Internet search server.”; fig.2, para. [0024]. Further, i.e. “The Internet search server searches the Internet using the search query and returns a set of search results (e.g., web sites).”; para. [0018]; Examiner note: the presenting is the transmitted. The search engine is the website or online service on the internet), and
wherein presenting the search string text to the search engine is operative to invoke the search (i.e. “The search query “weather 95054” is transmitted to the Internet search server. The Internet search server returns one or more search results.”; para. [0024]. Further, i.e. “The Internet search server searches the Internet using the search query and returns a set of search results (e.g., web sites).”; para. [0018]; Examiner note: the invoking the search is interpreted as the searches the internet).
As per claim 11, Szeto teaches a processor implemented method (i.e. “process”; fig. 5; para. [0035]) of improving a computing device by generating a hyperlinks in a text entry application on the computing device (i.e. “Search result 302 also includes a “more search results” hyperlink. When the user clicks on the “more search results” link, the IM application opens a web browser to display the full list of search results. Alternatively, one or more additional search results can be displayed inline in the conversation region of IM window 300 when the user selects “more search results.”; fig. 3, para. [0031]; Examiner note: the user interface is interpreted as the conversation region of IM window 300), the method comprising:
(a) causing to be assigned within the text entry application a search string text start indicator and a search string text end indicator (i.e. “The IM application recognizes a particular character string as a search trigger that indicates the user is attempting to initiate a web search.”; para. [0013]. Further, i.e. “For example, the user Justin has entered search request 106 “s:define onomatopoeia” in window 100. In this example, the characters “s:” define a search trigger. When a user enters “s:” followed by additional characters, the IM application recognizes that a search request is being made. The IM application treats the characters following “s:” as a search query.”; figs.1, 3, para. [0014]-[0016]; Examiner note: the text entry application is interpreted as the IM application. The text string start indicator is “s:. The text string end indicator is ”),
(b) enabling receipt from a user into the text entry application through at least one input device of the computing device (i.e. “At step 501, a search request is received from an IM user in an IM environment. The search request includes a search query, and typically, a search trigger. At step 502, the search request is displayed inline in an instant messaging window on client computers.”; fig. 5, para. [0035]. Examiner note: the text entry application is interpreted as the IM environment. The input device is interpreted as the instant messaging window on client computers),
user entered text (i.e. “At step 501, a search request is received from an IM user in an IM environment. The search request includes a search query, and typically, a search trigger.”; fig. 5, para. [0035]. Examiner note: The user entered text is interpreted as the search query),
wherein the user entered text includes therein as a subset thereof the text string start indicator, search string text, and the text string end indicator (i.e. “For example, the user Justin has entered search request 106 “s:define onomatopoeia” in window 100. In this example, the characters “s:” define a search trigger. When a user enters “s:” followed by additional characters, the IM application recognizes that a search request is being made. The IM application treats the characters following “s:” as a search query.”; figs.1-3, para. [0014]-[0016]; Examiner note: The user entered text is “s:define onomatopoeia”. The text string start indicator is “s:. The search string text is define onomatopoeia. The text string end indicator is ”),
wherein the search string text comprises a plurality of user selected and arranged characters (i.e. “When a user enters “s:” followed by additional characters, the IM application recognizes that a search request is being made. The IM application treats the characters following “s:” as a search query.”; para. [0014]; Examiner note: the plurality of characters is interpreted as the additional characters),
(c) responsive at least in part to receipt of the text string search indicator,
the search string text, and the search string end indicator in (b) (i.e. “The search result 302 is displayed in response to search request 301.”; fig.3, para. [0030]. Further, i.e. “an instant messaging (IM) server issues a search request in response to receiving a search query preceded by a predefined search trigger.”; para. [0007], [0035]),
automatically, generating a hyperlink corresponding to the search string text (i.e. “Inline search results of the present invention can include graphics and HTML in additional to plain text. For example, search result 202 also includes a graphic for partly cloudy and an HTML hyperlink to a 5-day forecast for Santa Clara, Calif.”; para. [0026]; Examiner note: a hyperlink corresponding to the search string text is interpreted as the HTML hyperlink to a 5-day forecast for Santa Clara, Calif),
(d) outputting the hyperlink through the user interface in place of at least the search string text, wherein the hyperlink is user selectable through the at least one input device, (i.e. “one or more additional search results can be displayed inline in the conversation region of IM window 300 when the user selects “more search results.”; para. [0031]; Examiner note: the outputting the hyperlink through the user interface is interpreted as the one or more additional search results can be displayed inline in the conversation region of IM window 300 when the user selects “more search results),
(e) responsive at least in part to selection through the at least one input device of the hyperlink (i.e. “Search result 302 also includes a “more search results” hyperlink. When the user clicks on the “more search results” link, the IM application opens a web browser to display the full list of search results. Alternatively, one or more additional search results can be displayed inline in the conversation region of IM window 300 when the user selects “more search results.”; para. [0031]; Examiner note: the responsive at least in part to selection is interpreted as the IM application opens a web browser to display the full list of search results),
(i) automatically invoking an internet search of the search string text (i.e. “Internet search server 413 performs a search through the Internet 414 (e.g., World Wide Web) for information relating to the search query”; para. [0033]; Examiner note: the invoking an internet search of the search string text is interpreted as the performs a search through the Internet 414 (e.g., World Wide Web) for information relating to the search query), and
(ii) outputting at least some results of the search through the user interface (i.e. “the IM server delivers the search results to the two IM clients.”; para. [0043]; Examiner note: the outputting is the delivers the search results).
As per claim 12, Szeto teaches wherein (e)(i) includes presenting the search string text to a search engine (i.e. “The search query “weather 95054” is transmitted to the Internet search server.”; fig.2, para. [0024]. Further, i.e. “The Internet search server searches the Internet using the search query and returns a set of search results (e.g., web sites).”; para. [0018]; Examiner note: the presenting is the transmitted. The search engine is the website or online service on the internet),
wherein presenting the search string text to the search engine is operative to invoke the search (i.e. “The search query “weather 95054” is transmitted to the Internet search server. The Internet search server returns one or more search results.”; para. [0024]. Further, i.e. “The Internet search server searches the Internet using the search query and returns a set of search results (e.g., web sites).”; para. [0018]; Examiner note: the invoking the search is interpreted as the searches the internet).
As per claim 19, Szeto teaches wherein (b) includes enabling receipt from the user into the text entry application thought the at least one input device, at least one of the search text string start indicator, search string text, and the text string end indicator, via at least one of manual text entry, voice entry, video entry, audible input entry, entry via manual selection, entry via motion, entry via light, entry via brain-computer interface, entry via pasting, entry via a data or media file, or any combination thereof (i.e. “User Justin enters search request 301 “s:Mercedes slk” into a line of IM window 300.”; fig. 3, para. [0030]; Examiner note: the Mercedes slk is the manual text entry).
As per claim 20, Szeto teaches a non-transitory processor readable medium embodying computer program instructions (i.e. “The various components of an instant messaging system may be implemented using hardware components, programmable devices (e.g., microprocessors) executing software instructions”; para. [0044]; Examiner note: A non-transitory processor readable medium is the hardware components, programmable devices (e.g., microprocessors). The embodying computer program instructions is interpreted as the executing software instructions),
wherein the instructions are operative to cause at least one processor of a computing device to carry out steps (i.e. “The Internet search server returns one or more search results. One of these results is selected, formatted, and displayed inline in window 200. In FIG. 2, the search result 202 provides a text weather forecast for Santa, Clara Calif.”; fig.2,4, para. [0024]; Examiner note: The computing device is interpreted as the Internet search server. The steps are interpreted as the selected, formatted, and displayed inline in window 200), comprising:
(a) causing to be assigned within a text entry application at least one search string text indictor (i.e. “The IM application recognizes a particular character string as a search trigger that indicates the user is attempting to initiate a web search.”; para. [0013]. Further, i.e. “For example, the user Justin has entered search request 106 “s:define onomatopoeia” in window 100. In this example, the characters “s:” define a search trigger. When a user enters “s:” followed by additional characters, the IM application recognizes that a search request is being made. The IM application treats the characters following “s:” as a search query.”; figs.1, 3, para. [0014]-[0016]; Examiner note: the text entry application is interpreted as the IM application. The search string text indicator is “s: and ”),
(b) enabling receipt into the text entry application through at least one input device of the computing device (i.e. “At step 501, a search request is received from an IM user in an IM environment. The search request includes a search query, and typically, a search trigger. At step 502, the search request is displayed inline in an instant messaging window on client computers.”; fig. 5, para. [0035]. Examiner note: the text entry application is interpreted as the IM environment. The input device is interpreted as the instant messaging window on client computers),
user entered text including as only a portion thereof the at least one search string text indicator and the search string text (i.e. “At step 501, a search request is received from an IM user in an IM environment. The search request includes a search query, and typically, a search trigger.”; fig. 5, para. [0035]. Examiner note: The user entered text is interpreted as the search query. The search string text indicator is the search trigger. The search string text is interpreted as the search query),
wherein within the user entered text the at least one search string text indicator at least one of precedes and follows the search string text without searchable characters being intermediate of the search text indicator and the search string text (i.e. “For example, the user Justin has entered search request 106 “s:define onomatopoeia” in window 100. In this example, the characters “s:” define a search trigger. When a user enters “s:” followed by additional characters, the IM application recognizes that a search request is being made. The IM application treats the characters following “s:” as a search query.”; figs.1-3, para. [0014]-[0016]; Examiner note: The user entered text is “s:define onomatopoeia”. The at least one of precedes is “s:. The search string text is define onomatopoeia. The follows is ”),
wherein search string text includes a plurality of user selected and arranged characters (i.e. “When a user enters “s:” followed by additional characters, the IM application recognizes that a search request is being made. The IM application treats the characters following “s:” as a search query.”; para. [0014]; Examiner note: the plurality of characters is interpreted as the additional characters),
(c) responsive at least in part to receipt through the at least one input device of the at least one search string text indicator and the search string text in (b), automatically providing a user interface output through at least one output device of the computing device (i.e. “The search result 302 is displayed in response to search request 301.”; fig.3, para. [0030]. Further, i.e. “an instant messaging (IM) server issues a search request in response to receiving a search query preceded by a predefined search trigger.”; para. [0007], [0035]. Further, i.e. “At step 502, the search request is displayed inline in an instant messaging window on client computers.”; fig.5, para. [0035]; the output device is the client computers. The user interface output is interpreted as the instant messaging window),
wherein the user interface output includes a hyperlink corresponding to the search string text (i.e. “Inline search results of the present invention can include graphics and HTML in additional to plain text. For example, search result 202 also includes a graphic for partly cloudy and an HTML hyperlink to a 5-day forecast for Santa Clara, Calif.”; para. [0026]; Examiner note: a hyperlink corresponding to the search string text is interpreted as the HTML hyperlink to a 5-day forecast for Santa Clara, Calif),
(d) responsive at least in part to receipt of an input to the at least one input device corresponding to user selection of the hyperlink (i.e. “Search result 302 also includes a “more search results” hyperlink. When the user clicks on the “more search results” link, the IM application opens a web browser to display the full list of search results. Alternatively, one or more additional search results can be displayed inline in the conversation region of IM window 300 when the user selects “more search results.”; para. [0031]; Examiner note: the user selection of the hyperlink is interpreted as the user clicks on the “more search results” link),
(i) invoking an internet search based on the search string text(i.e. “Internet search server 413 performs a search through the Internet 414 (e.g., World Wide Web) for information relating to the search query”; para. [0033]; Examiner note: the invoking an internet search based on the search string text is interpreted as the performs a search through the Internet 414 (e.g., World Wide Web) for information relating to the search query), and
(ii) outputting at least some of the received results (i.e. “Bob's IM client displays one or more of the inline IM search results in the IM window.”; para. [0043]; the outputting is the displays).
As per claim 21, Szeto teaches wherein in (a), the at least one indicator includes a text string start indicator and a text string end indicator (i.e. “For example, the user Justin has entered search request 106 “s:define onomatopoeia” in window 100. In this example, the characters “s:” define a search trigger. When a user enters “s:” followed by additional characters, the IM application recognizes that a search request is being made. The IM application treats the characters following “s:” as a search query.”; figs.1-3, para. [0014]-[0016]; Examiner note: The text string start indicator is “s:. The search The text string end indicator is ”),
wherein in (b), the user entered text includes as the subset thereof the string start indicator, search string text, and the text string end indicator (i.e. “For example, the user Justin has entered search request 106 “s:define onomatopoeia” in window 100. In this example, the characters “s:” define a search trigger. When a user enters “s:” followed by additional characters, the IM application recognizes that a search request is being made. The IM application treats the characters following “s:” as a search query.”; figs.1-3, para. [0014]-[0016]; Examiner note: The user entered text is “s:define onomatopoeia”. The text string start indicator is “s:. The search string text is define onomatopoeia. The text string end indicator is ”), and
wherein in (c), the hyperlink is output through the user interface in place of at least the search string text (i.e. “Inline search results of the present invention can include graphics and HTML in additional to plain text. For example, search result 202 also includes a graphic for partly cloudy and an HTML hyperlink to a 5-day forecast for Santa Clara, Calif.”; para. [0026]; Examiner note: the output is inline search results. Further, i.e. “Search result 302 also includes a “more search results” hyperlink. When the user clicks on the “more search results” link, the IM application opens a web browser to display the full list of search results.”; para. [0031]; Examiner note: the user interface is interpreted as the IM application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 3-5 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Szeto et al. (US 20050234883 A1) in view of Gendler et al (US 20060248035 A1) in further view of Choi (US 20170308292 A1).
As per claim 3, Szeto teaches all the limitations as discussed in claim 2 above.
However, it is noted that the prior art of Szeto does not explicitly teach “wherein (e)(i) includes analyzing the search string text for an indication of a specific search engine, using the internet to communicate with search engine, confirming a connection with the search engine via the communication, and causing the search to be invoked in the indicated search engine based on the communication with the search engine confirming the connection.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, teaches Gendler teaches wherein (e)(i) includes analyzing the search string text for an indication of a specific search engine (i.e. “The cost of a listing placed in various positions within the results for a specific term on a specific search engine at a particular time is referred to herein as the "term landscape." FIG. 2 shows the term landscape for the term "dog food" on a hypothetical search engine at a given time, where the bid for position 1 is $1.35 201, the bid for position 2 is $1.08 202 and the bid for position 3 is $0.87 203.”; para. [0032], [0063]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Gendler that teaches a method of optimizing online pay-for-placement advertising into the prior art of Szeto that teaches an instant messaging environment. Additionally, this allows a user at the receiving device to select the URL, which will launch a web browser.
The motivation for doing so is to provide search terms that include location information, enabling location-specific search capabilities that deliver results tailored to the specified location (Gendler, para. [0023]-[0024]).
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Szeto and Gendler do not explicitly teach “using the internet to communicate with search engine, confirming a connection with the search engine via the communication, and causing the search to be invoked in the indicated search engine based on the communication with the search engine confirming the connection.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, teaches Choi teaches using the internet to communicate with the search engine (i.e. “Keyboard module 122 may include routines for executing search functions and/or may include interfaces for communicating with a separate search engine”; para. [0033]; Examiner note: the internet is interpreted as the interfaces),
confirming a connection with the search engine via the communication Further, i.e. “Such user interfaces may be associated with computing platforms, operating systems, applications, and/or services executing at or accessible from computing device 110 (e.g., electronic message applications, chat applications, Internet browser applications,”; para. [0021]), and
causing the search to be invoked in the indicated search engine based on the communication with the search engine confirming the connection (i.e. “invoke search operations and present search results within the same region of PSD 112 at which graphical keyboard 116B is displayed. Keyboard module 122 may include routines for executing search functions and/or may include interfaces for communicating with a separate search engine”; fig. 2, para. [0033], [0113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi that teaches a method includes outputting, by a mobile computing device, for display, a graphical keyboard comprising a plurality of keys and a search element, determining, based at least in part on a selection of one or more keys from the plurality of keys, a query suggestion into the combination of prior art of Szeto that teaches an instant messaging environment, and Gendler that teaches a method of optimizing online pay-for-placement advertising. Additionally, this allows a user at the receiving device to select the URL, which will launch a web browser.
The motivation for doing so is to provide search results based on suggested queries, thereby enhancing user navigation, and minimizing disruptions to their workflow. This approach eliminates the need for task switching or navigating between different application interfaces (Choi, para. [0016]).
As per claim 4, Szeto, Gendler and Choi teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 3 above.
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Szeto and Gendler do not explicitly teach “wherein (e)(i) includes causing the search engine to invoke the search of the search string text based on a location and to return results corresponding to the location, wherein the location is provided through user entered text received in (b) including an indication of the location, or the computing device automatically providing data corresponding to the location in correlated relation with the search string text.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, teaches Choi teaches wherein (e)(i) includes causing the search engine to invoke the search of the search string text based on a location (i.e. “selecting search element 118C (e.g., by tapping or gesturing at a location or within a region of PSD 112 at which search element 118C is displayed),”; para. [0035]) and
to return results corresponding to the location (i.e. “when the link points directly to … the location of the item … output for display a textual and/or graphical indication of one or more search results …”; fig. 4D, para. [0101]),
wherein the location is provided through user entered text received in (b) including an indication of the location, or the computing device automatically providing data corresponding to the location in correlated relation with the search string text (i.e. fig. 4D present a search result named ‘Burrito Land’ at 2117 Haste St; fig. 4D, para. [0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi that teaches a method includes outputting, by a mobile computing device, for display, a graphical keyboard comprising a plurality of keys and a search element, determining, based at least in part on a selection of one or more keys from the plurality of keys, a query suggestion into the combination of prior art of Szeto that teaches an instant messaging environment, and Gendler that teaches a method of optimizing online pay-for-placement advertising. Additionally, this allows a user at the receiving device to select the URL, which will launch a web browser.
The motivation for doing so is to provide search results based on suggested queries, thereby enhancing user navigation, and minimizing disruptions to their workflow. This approach eliminates the need for task switching or navigating between different application interfaces (Choi, para. [0016]).
As per claim 5, Szeto, Gendler and Choi teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 4 above.
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Szeto and Gendler do not explicitly teach “wherein (e)(iii) includes outputting the received results in at least one of a new tab, or a new window, of a web browser application, wherein the at least one of the new tab or the new window is output through the at least one output device.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, teaches Choi teaches wherein (e)(iii) includes outputting the received results in at least one of a new tab, or a new window (i.e. “search results 418E are presented below the suggestion region 418B”; fig. 4D, para. [0101]),
of a web browser application (i.e. “electronic message applications, chat applications, Internet browser applications”; para. [0021]),
wherein the at least one of the new tab or the new window is output through the at least one output device (i.e. “user interfaces 414”; fig. 4D, para. [0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi that teaches a method includes outputting, by a mobile computing device, for display, a graphical keyboard comprising a plurality of keys and a search element, determining, based at least in part on a selection of one or more keys from the plurality of keys, a query suggestion into the combination of prior art of Szeto that teaches an instant messaging environment, and Gendler that teaches a method of optimizing online pay-for-placement advertising. Additionally, this allows a user at the receiving device to select the URL, which will launch a web browser.
The motivation for doing so is to provide search results based on suggested queries, thereby enhancing user navigation, and minimizing disruptions to their workflow. This approach eliminates the need for task switching or navigating between different application interfaces (Choi, para. [0016]).
As per claim 13, Szeto teaches all the limitations as discussed in claim 12 above.
However, it is noted that the prior art of Szeto does not explicitly teach “wherein (e)(i) includes analyzing the search string text for an indication of a specific search engine, using the internet to communicate with the search engine, confirming a connection with the search engine via the communication, and invoking the search of the search string text in the indicated search engine based on the communication with the search engine confirming the connection.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, teaches Gendler teaches wherein (e)(i) includes analyzing the search string text for an indication of a specific search engine (i.e. “The cost of a listing placed in various positions within the results for a specific term on a specific search engine at a particular time is referred to herein as the "term landscape." FIG. 2 shows the term landscape for the term "dog food" on a hypothetical search engine at a given time, where the bid for position 1 is $1.35 201, the bid for position 2 is $1.08 202 and the bid for position 3 is $0.87 203.”; para. [0032], [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Gendler that teaches a method of optimizing online pay-for-placement advertising into the prior art of Szeto that teaches an instant messaging environment. Additionally, this allows a user at the receiving device to select the URL, which will launch a web browser.
The motivation for doing so is to provide search terms that include location information, enabling location-specific search capabilities that deliver results tailored to the specified location (Gendler, para. [0023]-[0024]).
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Szeto and Gendler do not explicitly teach “using the internet to communicate with the search engine, confirming a connection with the search engine via the communication, and invoking the search of the search string text in the indicated search engine based on the communication with the search engine confirming the connection.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, teaches Choi teaches using the internet to communicate with the search engine (i.e. “Keyboard module 122 may include routines for executing search functions and/or may include interfaces for communicating with a separate search engine”; para. [0033]; Examiner note: the internet is interpreted as the interfaces),
confirming a connection with the search engine via the communication (i.e. “Such user interfaces may be associated with computing platforms, operating systems, applications, and/or services executing at or accessible from computing device 110 (e.g., electronic message applications, chat applications, Internet browser applications,”; para. [0021]), and
invoking the search of the search string text in the indicated search engine based on the communication with the search engine confirming the connection (i.e. “invoke search operations and present search results within the same region of PSD 112 at which graphical keyboard 116B is displayed. Keyboard module 122 may include routines for executing search functions and/or may include interfaces for communicating with a separate search engine”; fig. 2, para. [0033], [0113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi that teaches a method includes outputting, by a mobile computing device, for display, a graphical keyboard comprising a plurality of keys and a search element, determining, based at least in part on a selection of one or more keys from the plurality of keys, a query suggestion into the combination of prior art of Szeto that teaches an instant messaging environment, and Gendler that teaches a method of optimizing online pay-for-placement advertising. Additionally, this allows a user at the receiving device to select the URL, which will launch a web browser.
The motivation for doing so is to provide search results based on suggested queries, thereby enhancing user navigation, and minimizing disruptions to their workflow. This approach eliminates the need for task switching or navigating between different application interfaces (Choi, para. [0016]).
As per claim 14, Szeto, Gendler and Choi teach all the limitations as discussed in claim 13 above.
However, it is noted that the combination of the prior arts of Szeto and Gendler do not explicitly teach “wherein (e)(i) includes invoking the search of the search string text based on a location and to return results corresponding to the location, wherein the location is provided through at least one of the search string text received in (b) including an indication of the location, or the computing device automatically providing data corresponding to the location in correlated relation with the search string text.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, teaches Choi teaches wherein (e)(i) includes invoking the search of the search string text based on a location (i.e. “selecting search element 118C (e.g., by tapping or gesturing at a location or within a region of PSD 112 at which search element 118C is displayed),”; para. [0035]) and
to return results corresponding to the location (i.e. “when the link points directly to … the location of the item … output for display a textual and/or graphical indication of one or more search results …”; fig. 4D, para. [0101]),
wherein the location is provided through at least one of the search string text received in (b) including an indication of the location, or the computing device automatically providing data corresponding to the location in correlated relation with the search string text (i.e. fig. 4D present a search result named ‘Burrito Land’ at 2117 Haste St; fig. 4D, para. [0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi that teaches a method includes outputting, by a mobile computing device, for display, a graphical keyboard comprising a plurality of keys and a search element, determining, based at least in part on a selection of one or more keys from the plurality of keys, a query suggestion into the combination of prior art of Szeto that teaches an instant messaging environment, and Gendler that teaches a method of optimizing online pay-for-placement advertising. Additionally, this allows a user at the receiving device to select the URL, which will launch a web browser.
The motivation for doing so is to provide search results based on suggested queries, thereby enhancing user navigation, and minimizing disruptions to their workflow. This approach eliminates the need for task switching or navigating between different application interfaces (Choi, para. [0016]).
As pe