DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 06/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doi (JP2021002426).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Doi teaches battery casing film comprising fire-resistant layer 15 and metal layer 12 (paragraph [0012], Figure 3). The fire-resistant layer comprises a solid flame retardant (paragraph [0053]). The metal layer is made from aluminum (paragraph [0067]).
Regarding claim 4, Doi teaches adhesive layer 14 between fire-resistant layer 15 and metal layer 12 (Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doi (JP2021002426).
Doi is relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 3, Doi fails to teach a thickness for the metal layer as claimed.
However, Doi discloses the thickness is not limited and by having a metal layer, the pinhole resistance of the battery's outer film is improved and it is possible to prevent water vapor, oxygen, light, etc. from entering the inside of the battery (paragraph [0067]). Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific thickness is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the pinhole resistance is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the thickness, the precise thickness would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed thickness cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the thickness in Doi to obtain the desired pinhole resistance (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 5, Doi teaches wherein the adhesive layer includes fluorine propylene copolymers, i.e. polypropylene (paragraph [0069]).
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2021/0384515).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Zhao et al. teaches a current collector, i.e. material comprising a functional film layer and metal layers provided on an upper surface and a lower surface of the functional film layer, where the functional film layer includes a fire retardant (See Abstract), such as magnesium hydroxide, zinc borate, ammonium polyphosphate, etc. (paragraph [0010]) which are solid and wherein the metal layer(s) is aluminum (paragraph [0019]).
However, the recitation in the claims that the material is “an exterior material for battery module or battery pack” is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that Zhao et al. disclose material as presently claimed, it is clear that the material of Zhao et al. would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. an exterior material for battery module or battery pack, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787