DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communication filed on 04/22/2026.
Claims1-20 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 10-13, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babbellapati et al (US 20230422085 A1) (hereinafter “Babbellapati”) in view of Kotecha et al (US 20220303822 A1) (hereinafter “Kotecha”).
Regarding claim 1, Babbellapati discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a device, a data stream connection request via a wireless local area network (WLAN) connection or a wired connection (see para. [0007]-[0008] discloses method performed by access device (5G-CPE) and access device can be used interchangeably [0029]), includes managing a BSS of a WLAN, receiving request from STA for a wireless communication network, include traffic flow between STA to a network slice of the wireless communication network; method may include communication network having QoS for the service);
establishing, by the device, a cellular wireless connection with a base station based on the data stream connection request (see Fig. 2, (212) para. [0029];[0067] discloses The 5G-CPE may receive a request via a WLAN from STA to access a service of the 5G wireless communication. The 5G-CPE may enable a STA in the WLAN to utilize a particular service provided by the 5G communication system; 5G-CPE may communicate with a base station using wireless communication link 212);
determining, by the device, a cellular wireless Quality of Service (QoS) class or network slice assigned to the cellular wireless connection by a core network associated with the base station (see Fig. 4 (450,460,470-A) para. [0030]-[0031];[0070] discloses 5G-CPE may enable bridging STA in a WLAN to a service in the 5G wireless communication system. The 5G-CPE may connect can stablish a network slice for the service via 5G wireless communication system and determine the 5QI values associated to with the service; The 5G wireless communication system may define 5QI associated with a set of QoS parameters);
mapping, by the device, the cellular wireless QoS class or network slice to a priority class associated with the WLAN connection or the wired connection (see Fig. 4 (460), para. [0030]-[0031] discloses Map traffic between the 5G network slice and the WLAN connection and set WLAN to support the 5QI; 5G-CPE may enable to routing of traffic between STA in a WLAN to a service in the 5G wireless communication system. The 5G-CPE can establish a network slice for the service via the 5G wireless communication system and determine 5QI value associated with the service), wherein the priority class is different from the cellular wireless QoS class or network slice (see para. [0092]; [0105]; [0106], Table 2, discloses although the example is presented based on 5QI for delay critical GBR, other types of services and 5QI values may be associated with other preconditions or WLAN configurations, table 2 indicates type of traffic and potential WLAN QoS mapping that may be related to each of the respective 5QI values and also WLAN scheduling adaptation that may be made to support WLAN QoS; the QoS manager may cause the WLAN connection manager may include packets for the traffic flow mapped to the network slice. QoS may communicate settings to the WLAN connection manager, or QoS manager may provide 5QI value or related QoS requirement s to the WLAN connection manager and the WLAN connection manager may perform the traffic flow mapping and WLAN configuration based on 5QI value or QoS requirement; CPE connection manager may inform he UE that the network slice has been setup and the traffic flow has been mapped to an appropriate quality of service feature set in the WLAN connection manager);
assigning, by the device, the priority class to a data stream associated with the data stream connection request (see Fig. 14 (information elements from CPE1470), para. [0028];[0075] discloses 5G-CPE may may manage scheduling in WLAN so the STA can achieve QoS in the WLAN that corresponds to QoS requirements of requested service in the 5G wireless communication system; LAN client may initiate an application session , 5G-CPE may check to verify that the WLAN connection can support the QoS needed associated with the request); and
processing, by the device, data units associated with the data stream based on the assigned priority class (see Fig. 14 (1400), para. [0171] discloses one or more message transmitted as PPDU and associated QoS parameter).
Although Babbellapati discloses wherein the priority class from the cellular wireless QoS class or network slice, Kotecha is provided to add clarity on wherein the priority class is different from the cellular wireless QoS class or network slice (see Abstract, Fig. 8 (850), Fig. 10A (1000), Fig. 10B (1050), para. [0101; [017]] discloses processor may be configured to obtain mapping between a plurality of applications and a plurality of Quality of Service classes, identify an application, select a QoS class from the plurality of QoS classes and obtain mapping; process include identifying an application for a communication session associated with the UE, selection a QoS class for the session based on the mapping and the identified application, processing messages bases on the selected QoS; enterprise policy may include a mapping for a set of QoS classes that include voice, video, email, etc.).
Babbellapati and Kotecha are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and QoS.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babbellapati to include QoS as described by Kotecha.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving different types of service management.
Regarding claim 2, Babbellapati discloses a method (see para. [0007]-[0008] discloses method), wherein the device includes a Fixed Wireless Access (FWA) device (see Fig. 4 (1500, para. [0084] discloses in some implementations, the 5G-CPE (150) may be a fixed wireless access (FWA) device).
Regarding claim 4, Babbellapati discloses a method (see para. [0007]-[0008] discloses method), wherein processing the data units associated with the data stream based on the assigned priority class includes at least one of:
assigning a bandwidth to the data stream based on the assigned priority class (see para. [0036] discloses in the scheduled WLAN, the 5G-CPE may increase resources such as the bandwidth, allocated to the STA based on the 5QI of the service), or
assigning the data stream to a QoS buffer associated with the assigned priority class (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 7, Babbellapati discloses a method (see para. [0007]-[0008] discloses method), further comprising:
detecting a trigger condition associated with the data stream (see para. [0076] discloses the 5G-CPE may implement machine learning (ML) algorithm to determine that a series of packets matches a traffic flow related to a service);
activating a hardware accelerator associated with the device, in response to detecting the trigger condition (see para. [0076] discloses 5G-CPE may observe packets directed to a particular network address associated with the service. The 5G-CPE may implement machine learning (ML) algorithm to determine that a series of packets matches a traffic flow related to a service (trigger to the hardware accelerator (machine learning)); and
using the hardware accelerator to process data units associated with the data stream (see para. [0076] discloses 5G-CPE may observe packets directed to a particular network address associated with the service. The 5G-CPE may implement machine learning (ML) algorithm to determine that a series of packets matches a traffic flow related to a service (trigger to the hardware accelerator (machine learning)). When 5G-CPE determines that the LAN client is sourcing or receiving traffic related to a service, 5G-CPE may stablish network slice).
Regarding claim 10, Babbellapati discloses a method (see para. [0007]-[0008] discloses method), wherein detecting the trigger condition associated with the data stream includes:
receiving a request for a service deployed on the hardware accelerator (see Fig. 7 (700, 710) Receive setup request from URLLC STA, para. [0076] discloses; see para. [0076] discloses 5G-CPE may observe packets directed to a particular network address associated with the service. The 5G-CPE may implement machine learning (ML) algorithm to determine that a series of packets matches a traffic flow related to a service (trigger to the hardware accelerator (machine learning)). When 5G-CPE determines that the LAN client is sourcing or receiving traffic related to a service, 5G-CPE may stablish network slice).
Although Babbellapati discloses an accelerator based on Machine Learning, Kotecha is provided here to further clarify wherein detecting the trigger condition associated with the data stream includes:
receiving a request for a service deployed on the hardware accelerator (see para. [0028]-[0029] discloses MEC microservice may include use of artificial intelligence (AI) accelerators , GPUs, or other types of hardware accelerators for processing; the enterprise may select a particular application or a particular microservice associated with and application, for a QoS associated with the MEC network).
Babbellapati and Kotecha are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and access networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babbellapati to include MEC as described by Kotecha.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving different types of service management.
Regarding claim 11, Babbellapati discloses a method (see para. [0007]-[0008] discloses method).
Babbellapati fails to disclose but Kotecha teaches wherein the service deployed on the hardware accelerator includes a Multi-Access Edge Computing (MEC) service associated with the base station (see Fig. 6A (640 RAN interface), para. [0084];[0087] discloses PGW or UPG may include MEC network interface; RAN interface may receive data packets from UE device via base station and may provide data packets to destined UE via base station).
Babbellapati and Kotecha are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and access networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babbellapati to include MEC as described by Kotecha.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving different types of service management.
Regarding claim 12, Babbellapati discloses a device comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 5, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, para. [0009];[0093] –[0094] discloses device that includes at least one processor, processor performing function or operations of respective modules on Fig. 5) configured to:
receive a data stream connection request via a wireless local area network (WLAN) connection or a wired connection (see para. [0007]-[0008] discloses method performed by access device, includes managing a BSS of a WLAN, receiving request from STA for a wireless communication network, include traffic flow between STA to a network slice of the wireless communication network; method may include communication network having QoS for the service);
establish a cellular wireless connection with a base station based on the data stream connection request (see Fig. 2, (212) para. [0067] discloses 5G-CPE may communicate with a base station using wireless communication link 212);
determine a cellular wireless Quality of Service (QoS) class or network slice assigned to the cellular wireless connection by a core network associated with the base station (see Fig. 4 (450,460,470-A) para. [0030]-[0031];[0070] discloses 5G-CPE may enable bridging STA in a WLAN to a service in the 5G wireless communication system. The 5G-CPE may connect can stablish a network slice for the service via 5G wireless communication system and determine the 5QI values associated to with the service; The 5G wireless communication system may define 5QI associated with a set of QoS parameters);
map the cellular wireless QoS class or network slice to a priority class associated with the WLAN connection or the wired connection (see Fig. 4 (460), para. [0030]-[0031] discloses Map traffic between the 5G network slice and the WLAN connection and set WLAN to support the 5QI; 5G-CPE may enable to routing of traffic between STA in a WLAN to a service in the 5G wireless communication system. The 5G-CPE can establish a network slice for the service via the 5G wireless communication system and determine 5QI value associated with the service), wherein the priority class is different from the cellular wireless QoS class or network slice (see para. [0092]; [0105]; [0106], Table 2, discloses although the example is presented based on 5QI for delay critical GBR, other types of services and 5QI values may be associated with other preconditions or WLAN configurations, table 2 indicates type of traffic and potential WLAN QoS mapping that may be related to each of the respective 5QI values and also WLAN scheduling adaptation that may be made to support WLAN QoS; the QoS manager may cause the WLAN connection manager may include packets for the traffic flow mapped to the network slice. QoS may communicate settings to the WLAN connection manager, or QoS manager may provide 5QI value or related QoS requirement s to the WLAN connection manager and the WLAN connection manager may perform the traffic flow mapping and WLAN configuration based on 5QI value or QoS requirement; CPE connection manager may inform he UE that the network slice has been setup and the traffic flow has been mapped to an appropriate quality of service feature set in the WLAN connection manager);
assign the priority class to a data stream associated with the data stream connection request (see Fig. 14 (information elements from CPE1470), para. [0028];[0075] discloses 5G-CPE may may manage scheduling in WLAN so the STA can achieve QoS in the WLAN that corresponds to QoS requirements of requested service in the 5G wireless communication system; Lan client may initiate an application session , 5G-CPE may check to verify that the WLAN connection can support the QoS needed associated with the request); and
process data units associated with the data stream based on the assigned priority class (see Fig. 14 (1400), para. [0171] discloses one or more message transmitted as PPDU and associated QoS parameter).
Although Babbellapati discloses wherein the priority class from the cellular wireless QoS class or network slice, Kotecha is provided to add clarity on wherein the priority class is different from the cellular wireless QoS class or network slice (see Abstract, Fig. 8 (850), Fig. 10A (1000), Fig. 10B (1050), para. [0101; [017]] discloses processor may be configured to obtain mapping between a plurality of applications and a plurality of Quality of Service classes, identify an application, select a QoS class from the plurality of QoS classes and obtain mapping; process include identifying an application for a communication session associated with the UE, selection a QoS class for the session based on the mapping and the identified application, processing messages bases on the selected QoS; enterprise policy may include a mapping for a set of QoS classes that include voice, video, email, etc.).
Babbellapati and Kotecha are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and QoS.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babbellapati to include QoS as described by Kotecha.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving different types of service management.
Regarding claim 13, Babbellapati discloses a device (see Fig. 5, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, para. [0009];[0093] –[0094] discloses device), wherein the device includes a Fixed Wireless Access (FWA) device (see Fig. 4 (1500, para. [0084] discloses in some implementations, the 5G-CPE (150) may be a fixed wireless access (FWA) device).
Regarding claim 15, Babbellapati discloses a device (see Fig. 5, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, para. [0009];[0093] –[0094] discloses device), wherein the processor is further configured to:
detect a trigger condition associated with the data stream (see Fig. 7 (750) discloses detection of delay critical GBR);
activate a hardware accelerator associated with the device, in response to detecting the trigger condition (see para. [0076] discloses 5G-CPE may observe packets directed to a particular network address associated with the service. The 5G-CPE may implement machine learning (ML) algorithm to determine that a series of packets matches a traffic flow related to a service (trigger to the hardware accelerator (machine learning)); and
use the hardware accelerator to process data units associated with the data stream (see para. [0076] discloses 5G-CPE may observe packets directed to a particular network address associated with the service. The 5G-CPE may implement machine learning (ML) algorithm to determine that a series of packets matches a traffic flow related to a service (trigger to the hardware accelerator (machine learning)). When 5G-CPE determines that the LAN client is sourcing or receiving traffic related to a service, 5G-CPE may stablish network slice).
Regarding claim 18, Babbellapati discloses a device (see Fig. 5, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, para. [0009];[0093] –[0094] discloses device), wherein, when detecting the trigger condition associated with the data stream (see Fig. 5, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, para. [0009];[0093] –[0094] discloses device that includes at least one processor, processor performing function or operations of respective modules on Fig. 5), the processor is further configured to:
receive a request for a service deployed on the hardware accelerator (see Fig. 7 (700, 710) Receive setup request from URLLC STA, para. [0076] discloses; see para. [0076] discloses 5G-CPE may observe packets directed to a particular network address associated with the service. The 5G-CPE may implement machine learning (ML) algorithm to determine that a series of packets matches a traffic flow related to a service (trigger to the hardware accelerator (machine learning)). When 5G-CPE determines that the LAN client is sourcing or receiving traffic related to a service, 5G-CPE may stablish network slice).
Regarding claim 19, Babbellapati a device (see Fig. 5, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, para. [0009];[0093] –[0094] discloses device).
Babbellapati fails to disclose but Kotecha teaches wherein the service deployed on the hardware accelerator includes a Multi-Access Edge Computing (MEC) service associated with the base station (see Fig. 6A (640 RAN interface), para. [0084];[0087] discloses PGW or UPG may include MEC network interface; RAN interface may receive data packets from UE device via base station and may provide data packets to destined UE via base station).
Babbellapati and Kotecha are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and access networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babbellapati to include MEC as described by Kotecha.
Regarding claim 20, Babbellapati discloses a non-transitory computer-readable memory device, storing instructions executable by a processor (see para. [0239] discloses functions of components, blocks, steps of a method, operation, process or algorithm can be implemented as one or more modules of one or more computer programs, that include non-transitory processor or computer-executable instructions encoded on one or more computer-readable storage media for execution (such as RAM, ROM, EEPROM, etc.), the non-transitory computer-readable memory device comprising:
one or more instructions to receive a data stream connection request via a wireless local area network (WLAN) connection or a wired connection (see para. [0007]-[0008] discloses method performed by access device, includes managing a BSS of a WLAN, receiving request from STA for a wireless communication network, include traffic flow between STA to a network slice of the wireless communication network; method may include communication network having QoS for the service);
one or more instructions to establish a cellular wireless connection with a base station based on the data stream connection request (see Fig. 2, (212) para. [0067] discloses 5G-CPE may communicate with a base station using wireless communication link 212);
one or more instructions to determine a cellular wireless Quality of Service (QoS) class or network slice assigned to the cellular wireless connection by a core network associated with the base station (see Fig. 4 (450,460,470-A) para. [0030]-[0031];[0070] discloses 5G-CPE may enable bridging STA in a WLAN to a service in the 5G wireless communication system. The 5G-CPE may connect can stablish a network slice for the service via 5G wireless communication system and determine the 5QI values associated to with the service; The 5G wireless communication system may define 5QI associated with a set of QoS parameters);
one or more instructions to map the cellular wireless QoS class or network slice to a priority class associated with the WLAN connection or the wired connection (see Fig. 4 (460), para. [0030]-[0031] discloses Map traffic between the 5G network slice and the WLAN connection and set WLAN to support the 5QI; 5G-CPE may enable to routing of traffic between STA in a WLAN to a service in the 5G wireless communication system. The 5G-CPE can establish a network slice for the service via the 5G wireless communication system and determine 5QI value associated with the service), wherein the priority class is different from the cellular wireless QoS class or network slice (see para. [0092]; [0105]; [0106], Table 2, discloses although the example is presented based on 5QI for delay critical GBR, other types of services and 5QI values may be associated with other preconditions or WLAN configurations, table 2 indicates type of traffic and potential WLAN QoS mapping that may be related to each of the respective 5QI values and also WLAN scheduling adaptation that may be made to support WLAN QoS; the QoS manager may cause the WLAN connection manager may include packets for the traffic flow mapped to the network slice. QoS may communicate settings to the WLAN connection manager, or QoS manager may provide 5QI value or related QoS requirement s to the WLAN connection manager and the WLAN connection manager may perform the traffic flow mapping and WLAN configuration based on 5QI value or QoS requirement; CPE connection manager may inform he UE that the network slice has been setup and the traffic flow has been mapped to an appropriate quality of service feature set in the WLAN connection manager));
one or more instructions to assign the priority class to a data stream associated with the data stream connection request (see Fig. 14 (information elements from CPE1470), para. [0028];[0075] discloses 5G-CPE may may manage scheduling in WLAN so the STA can achieve QoS in the WLAN that corresponds to QoS requirements of requested service in the 5G wireless communication system; Lan client may initiate an application session , 5G-CPE may check to verify that the WLAN connection can support the QoS needed associated with the request); and
one or more instructions to process data units associated with the data stream based on the assigned priority class (see Fig. 14 (1400), para. [0171] discloses one or more message transmitted as PPDU and associated QoS parameter).
Although Babbellapati discloses wherein the priority class from the cellular wireless QoS class or network slice, Kotecha is provided to add clarity on wherein the priority class is different from the cellular wireless QoS class or network slice (see Abstract, Fig. 8 (850), Fig. 10A (1000), Fig. 10B (1050), para. [0101; [017]] discloses processor may be configured to obtain mapping between a plurality of applications and a plurality of Quality of Service classes, identify an application, select a QoS class from the plurality of QoS classes and obtain mapping; process include identifying an application for a communication session associated with the UE, selection a QoS class for the session based on the mapping and the identified application, processing messages bases on the selected QoS; enterprise policy may include a mapping for a set of QoS classes that include voice, video, email, etc.).
Babbellapati and Kotecha are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and QoS.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babbellapati to include QoS as described by Kotecha.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving different types of service management.
Claim 3 and 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babbellapati et al (US 20230422085 A1) (hereinafter “Babbellapati”) in view of Kotecha et al (US 20220303822 A1) (hereinafter “Kotecha”) as applied to claim 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Salkintzis et al (US 20220393972 A1) (hereinafter “Salkintzis”).
Regarding claim 3, Babbellapati discloses a method (see para. [0007]-[0008] discloses method).
Babbellapati fails to disclose but Salkintzis teaches wherein processing the data units associated with the data stream based on the assigned priority class includes:
assigning the data stream to an Internet Protocol (IP) address associated with the assigned priority class (see para. [0064] discloses the TCLAS (traffic classification) element specifies traffic carried over TS (traffic stream), containing source and destination IP addresses, the traffic specification element specifies the QoS requirement for the TS).
Babbellapati and Salkintzis are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and data flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babbellapati to include the IP address associated with the traffic as described by Salkintzis.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving access to applications in the wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 14, Babbellapati discloses a device (see Fig. 5, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, para. [0009];[0093] –[0094] discloses device).
Babbellapati fails to disclose but Salkintzis teaches wherein, when processing the data units associated with the data stream based on the assigned priority class, the processor is further configured to: assign the data stream to an Internet Protocol (IP) address associated with the assigned priority class (see para. [0064] discloses the TCLAS (traffic classification) element specifies traffic carried over TS (traffic stream), containing source and destination IP addresses, the traffic specification element specifies the QoS requirement for the TS).
Babbellapati and Salkintzis are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and data flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babbellapati to include the IP address associated with the traffic as described by Salkintzis.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving access to applications in the wireless communication system.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babbellapati et al (US 20230422085 A1) (hereinafter “Babbellapati”) in view of Kotecha et al (US 20220303822 A1) (hereinafter “Kotecha”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Altman et al (US 20240323748 A1) (hereinafter “Altman”).
Regarding claim 5, Babbellapati discloses a method (see para. [0007]-[0008] discloses method).
Babbellapati fails to disclose but Altman teaches wherein the data stream is assigned to the cellular wireless QoS class, the method further comprising:
establishing a second cellular wireless connection with the base station for a second data stream associated with a second WLAN or a second wired connection, wherein the second cellular wireless connection is assigned to a second cellular wireless QoS class different from the cellular wireless QoS class (see para. [0026] discloses same device using (A) a first slice which may be “standard quality” network cellular slice having “best effort” QoS and (B) a second different slice with “premium quality” slice that may available from the same cellular network or from different cellular network, guaranteed level QoS); and
assigning the second data stream to a second priority class based on the second cellular wireless QoS class, wherein the second priority class is different from the priority class (see para. [0026] discloses same device using (A) a first slice which may be “standard quality” network cellular slice having “best effort” QoS and (B) a second different slice with “premium quality” slice that may available from the same cellular network or from different cellular network, guaranteed level QoS).
Babbellapati and Altman are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and data flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babbellapati to include the network slices as described by Altman.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving access to applications in the wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 6, Babbellapati discloses a method (see para. [0007]-[0008] discloses method).
Babbellapati fails to disclose but Altman teaches wherein the data stream is assigned to the network slice, the method further comprising:
establishing a second cellular wireless connection with the base station for a second data stream associated with a second WLAN or a second wired connection, wherein the second cellular wireless connection is assigned to a second network slice different from the network slice (see para. [0026] discloses same device using (A) a first slice which may be “standard quality” network cellular slice having “best effort” QoS and (B) a second different slice with “premium quality” slice that may available from the same cellular network or from different cellular network, guaranteed level QoS); and
assigning the second data stream to a second priority class based on the second network slice, wherein the second priority is different from the priority class (see para. [0026] discloses same device using (A) a first slice which may be “standard quality” network cellular slice having “best effort” QoS and (B) a second different slice with “premium quality” slice that may available from the same cellular network or from different cellular network, guaranteed level QoS).
Babbellapati and Altman are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and data flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babbellapati to include the network slices as described by Altman.
Claims 8, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babbellapati et al (US 20230422085 A1) (hereinafter “Babbellapati”) in view of Kotecha et al (US 20220303822 A1) (hereinafter “Kotecha”) as applied to claim 1 and 12 above, and further in view Qiao (US 20220248318 A1) (hereinafter “Qiao”).
Regarding claim 8, Babbellapati discloses a method (see para. [0007]-[0008] discloses method).
Babbellapati fails to disclose but Qiao teaches wherein detecting the trigger condition associated with the data stream includes:
determining that the cellular wireless QoS class or network slice is associated with a latency requirement that is lower than a latency threshold (see para. [0338], [0378] discloses Network Slice may be available to UEs via variety of RANs, UE potentially stablishing multiple PDU sessions. The network may guarantee/maintain certain level of QoS for users of network slice for UEs, guaranteeing that the UE connected to the network slice have a latency that is below a particular threshold).
Babbellapati and Qiao are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and network slice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babbellapati to include the latency threshold as described by Qiao.
The motivation to combine both references would come from maintaining QoS in the wireless communication system
Regarding claim 16, Babbellapati discloses a device (see Fig. 5, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, para. [0009];[0093] –[0094] discloses device).
Babbellapati fails to disclose but Qiao teaches wherein, when detecting the trigger condition associated with the data stream (Fig. 5 (505), the processor is further configured to:
determine that the cellular wireless QoS class or network slice is associated with a latency requirement that is lower than a latency threshold (see para. [0338], [0378] discloses Network Slice may be available to UEs via variety of RANs, UE potentially stablishing multiple PDU sessions. The network may guarantee/maintain certain level of QoS for users of network slice for UEs, guaranteeing that the UE connected to the network slice have a latency that is below a particular threshold).
Babbellapati and Qiao are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and network slice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babbellapati to include the latency threshold as described by Qiao.
The motivation to combine both references would come from maintaining QoS in the wireless communication system.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babbellapati et al (US 20230422085 A1) (hereinafter “Babbellapati”) in view of Kotecha et al (US 20220303822 A1) (hereinafter “Kotecha”) as applied to claim 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Cakulev et al (US 20240040494 A1) (hereinafter “Cakulev”).
Regarding claim 9, Babbellapati discloses a method (see para. [0007]-[0008] discloses method).
Babbellapati fails to disclose but Cakulev teaches wherein detecting the trigger condition associated with the data stream includes:
determining that the data stream has increased a load associated with the device above a load threshold (see para. [0028] discloses a network slice for a PDU session, PCF receive indication that particular network slice is congested, from monitoring system that monitors one or more core network elements, to identify measure of load, congestion. Example of congestion monitoring system, identifying large amount of traffic being sent via network slice, where such amount exceeds one or more thresholds).
Babbellapati and Cakulev are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and network slice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babbellapati to include the load threshold as described by Cakulev.
The motivation to combine both references would come from operation of QoS in the wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 17, Babbellapati discloses a device (see Fig. 5, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, para. [0009];[0093] –[0094] discloses device),
Babbellapati fails to disclose but Cakulev teaches wherein, when detecting the trigger condition associated with the data stream, the processor is further configured to:
determine that the data stream has increased a load associated with the device above a load threshold (see para. [0028] discloses a network slice for a PDU session, PCF receive indication that particular network slice is congested, from monitoring system that monitors one or more core network elements, to identify measure of load, congestion. Example of congestion monitoring system, identifying large amount of traffic being sent via network slice, where such amount exceeds one or more thresholds).
Babbellapati and Cakulev are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and network slice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babbellapati to include the load threshold as described by Cakulev.
The motivation to combine both references would come from operation of QoS in the wireless communication system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to claim objection of claims 1, 5, 6, 12 and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. After the amended of claims with the term WLAN, the objections of claims 1, 5, 6, 12 and 60 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-14, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) for claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 18, 20 regarding “Map traffic between the 5G network slice and the WLAN connection and set WLAN to support the QI” and that “the QoS class is different from the cellular wireless QoS class or network slice” have been fully considered by the examiner. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Babbellapati provides a table with the mapping for WLAN QoS related to each respective 5QI values (see para. [0092], Table 2, discloses although the example is presented based on 5QI for delay critical GBR, other types of services and 5QI values may be associated with other preconditions or WLAN configurations, table 2 indicates type of traffic and potential WLAN QoS mapping that may be related to each of the respective 5QI values and also WLAN scheduling adaptation that may be made to support WLAN QoS). Therefore, the rejection for the claims is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-14, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) for claim 7, 10, 15, 18 regarding that ML algorithm provided by Babbellapati is a process implemented in software and not a hardware accelerator, have been fully considered by the examiner. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The machine learning (ML) disclosed by Babbellapati could be a process implemented in software that requires the hardware for its execution. Applicant’s specification describes example of hardware accelerators in paragraph 0051, but those are not included in the claim. Kotecha provides additional disclosure of hardware accelerator, so, to add clarity the rejections are maintained under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Kotecha.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 14, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 for dependent claims 3 and 14 regarding reasons set forth above for rejection U.S.C. 102(a)(2) of independent claims 1 and 12 have been fully considered by the examiner. However, for the reason indicated above for the independent claims 1 and 12 the rejections are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 14-16, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 for dependent claims 5 and 6 regarding reasons set forth above for set forth above for rejection U.S.C. 102(a)(2) of independent claims 1 have been fully considered by the examiner. However, for the reason indicated above for the independent claims 1, the rejections are maintained for claims 5 and 6.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 16, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 for dependent claims 8 and 16 regarding reasons set forth above for rejection U.S.C. 102(a)(2) of independent claims 1 and 12 have been fully considered by the examiner. However, for the reason indicated above for the independent claims 1 and 12, the rejections are maintained for claims 8 and 16.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 16, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 for dependent claims 9 and 17 regarding reasons set forth above for independent claims 1 and 12, and dependent claims 15 and 16 have been fully considered by the examiner.
Applicant indicates rejection of claims 8, 16 while the body of the rejection addresses claims 9 and 17. Examiner agrees that the rejections is for claim 9 and 17 and makes the correction in this office action. However, for the reason indicated above for the independent claims 1 and 12, the rejections are maintained for claims 9 and 17.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 17, filed 04/22/2026, with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 for dependent claims 11 and 19 regarding reasons set forth above for independent claims 1 and 12, and dependent claims 7 and 15 regarding reasons set forth above for independent claims 1 and 12 have been fully considered by the examiner. However, for the reason indicated above for the independent claims 1 and 12, the rejections are maintained for claims 11 and 19.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419