Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “battery heat exchanger”, “Conductive member”, and “suction line“ must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6, the limitation of “wherein: the HVAC system includes a heater core; the component includes the heater core” seems unclear. It is not clear how a “heater core” can contain “the heater core.”. The examiner is treating this a possible error and should read “wherein: the HVAC system includes a heat pump; the component includes the heater core”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140217080 A1 – Hoke in view of US 20210086587 A1 – Koberstein.
Regarding claim 1, Hoke is directed towards an vehicle glass heater. Hoke does teach a transparent metallic layer configured to be mounted to a transparent material, conduct electrical current, ([0018] a vehicle glass 102 having a plurality of electrically heated zones 104, each carrying one or more electric heating members 106, such as a resistive wire 108), and increase in temperature to heat the transparent material in response to electrical current running across the transparent metallic layer (Figure 4, steps 425 and 430); a power supply ([0015] Accordingly, the heating strategy may determine power supply for the electrically heated zones and/or a biased demist flow for the vehicle glass, to minimize energy utilization of the HVAC system.); and a control module configured to: apply voltage from the power supply to the transparent metallic layer to heat the transparent material ([0015] the heating strategy may determine a fogging probability and related output that requires a decrease or discontinued supply of power to the heated zone and/or a decrease or discontinued supply of the demist flow to the respective zone.);
Hoke does not expressly teach a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system configured to heat and cool a passenger cabin of the vehicle and apply voltage from the power supply to a component of the HVAC system to heat the component of the HVAC system.
Koberstein is directed towards an heat pump. Koberstein does teach a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system configured to heat and cool a passenger cabin of the vehicle ([0002] Vehicle HVAC systems may also include air conditioning systems to cool and/or dehumidify air that is supplied to the vehicle interior space.) and apply voltage from the power supply to a component of the HVAC system to heat the component of the HVAC system ([0003] Heat pumps may be used in the cooling and heating system of hybrid motor vehicles or entirely battery-powered electric motor vehicles).
The combination of the heated glass of Hoke and the generic HVAC system of Koberstein is common, most modern automobiles have both of these systems and often are controlled by the same user interface.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke to include a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system configured to heat and cool a passenger cabin of the vehicle and apply voltage from the power supply to a component of the HVAC system to heat the component of the HVAC system because it allows the controller to control all heating and cooling systems from one user interface.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140217080 A1 – Hoke in view of US 20210086587 A1 – Koberstein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20190373681 A1 – Saad.
Regarding claim 2, Hoke and Koberstein teach the limitations of claim 1. Hoke does teach the transparent material includes glass ([0005] One embodiment of a vehicle glass heating system may include a vehicle glass);the glass is one of a windshield, a side window, a rear window, and a roof ([0014] For example, the vehicle glass may be a windshield packaged in the vehicle);
Hoke does not expressly teach the control module is a pulse-electro thermal deicing (PETD) control module.
Saad is directed towards an deicing system. the control module is a pulse-electro thermal deicing (PETD) control module ([0038] Turning to FIG. 4A, a pulsed PETD system employs high power pulses 130 at regular intervals. Before each PETD pulse 130, the system tests the resistance of the system through a low power pulse 132.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke to include the control module is a pulse-electro thermal deicing (PETD) control module because the control system of Saad allows for less power to be used in the heating process.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140217080 A1 – Hoke in view of US 20210086587 A1 – Koberstein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20140182832 A1 – Styles.
Regarding claim 3, Hoke and Koberstein teach the limitations of claim 1. Hoke does not expressly teach the HVAC system includes a heat pump; the component includes at least one of a manifold and a conduit of the heat pump configured to carry refrigerant; and the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to at least one of the manifold and the conduit to heat refrigerant flowing therethrough.
Koberstein does teach the HVAC system includes a heat pump ([0046] In an exemplary cooling mode of the heat pump system 14 depicted in FIGS. 3 and 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke to include the HVAC system includes a heat pump because heat pumps are needed device for a HVAC system to work correctly.
Styles is directed towards an apparatus for controlling a HVAC system. Styles does teach the component includes at least one of a manifold and a conduit of the heat pump configured to carry refrigerant and the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to at least one of the manifold and the conduit to heat refrigerant flowing therethrough ([0063] Generally, during step 510, the controller 123, adjusts the flow of coolant through the RESS chiller 115 and the output of the electric heater 112 to obtain a heat pump performance result that indicates the first condition 511, wherein the heat pump performance is adequate. The flow through the RESS chiller 115 and the output of the electric heater 112 are adjusted based upon the heat pump performance result returned in step 509.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include at least one of a manifold and a conduit of the heat pump configured to carry refrigerant and the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to at least one of the manifold and the conduit to heat refrigerant flowing therethrough because the electric heater of Styles allows the coolant of Hoke to flow earlier and cause less stress on the system.
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140217080 A1 – Hoke in view of US 20210086587 A1 – Koberstein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20220305876 A1 – Bidner.
Regarding claim 4, Hoke and Koberstein teach the limitations of claim 1. Hoke does not expressly teach the HVAC system includes a heat pump; the component includes a compressor of the heat pump; and the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the compressor to heat refrigerant flowing through the compressor.
Koberstein does teach the HVAC system includes a heat pump ([0046] In an exemplary cooling mode of the heat pump system 14 depicted in FIGS. 3 and 4); the component includes a compressor of the heat pump ([0045] Referring now to FIGS. 3 and 4, an exemplary heat pump system 14 is depicted including a compressor 40);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke to include a heat pump; the component includes a compressor of the heat pump because the compressor of Koberstein pressurizes and circulates the refrigerant.
Bidner is directed towards a cabin heater. Bidner does teach the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the compressor to heat refrigerant flowing through the compressor. ([0031] Returning to FIG. 2A, the A/C system 200 may include an electric heater 208 arranged on the conduit 230 (e.g., that couples the evaporator 206 to the compressor 202)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the compressor to heat refrigerant flowing through the compressor because the with the heater of Bidner and the compressor of Koberstein allows the compressor to be more energy efficient on startup.
Regarding claim 7, Hoke and Koberstein teach the limitations of claim 1. Hoke does not expressly teach the HVAC system includes a heat pump; the component includes an outside heat exchanger of the heat pump.
Koberstein does teach the HVAC system includes a heat pump ([0046] In an exemplary cooling mode of the heat pump system 14 depicted in FIGS. 3 and 4);the component includes an outside heat exchanger of the heat pump ([0045] Referring now to FIGS. 3 and 4, an exemplary heat pump system 14 … an exterior heat exchanger 58)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke to include the HVAC system includes a heat pump; the component includes an outside heat exchanger of the heat pump because the outside heat exchanger of Koberstein allows for the HVAC unit to shed the excess heat from the system.
Bidner does teach the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the outside heat exchanger to de-ice the outside heat exchanger ([0035] In another example, the refrigerant/coolant heat exchanger 234 may be positioned within the electric heater 208 (e.g., where one or more coils of the electric heater wrap around and/or are collocated with one or more coils of the refrigerant/coolant heat exchanger 234)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include the electric heater of Bidner to deice the outside heat exchanger so the coolant can flow properly.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140217080 A1 – Hoke in view of US 20210086587 A1 – Koberstein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20210285699 A1 – Kawabe.
Regarding claim 5, Hoke and Koberstein teach the limitations of claim 1. Hoke does not expressly teach the HVAC system includes a heat pump; the component includes a cabin condenser of the heat pump; and the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the cabin condenser to heat air flowing across the cabin condenser.
Koberstein does teach the HVAC system includes a heat pump ([0046] In an exemplary cooling mode of the heat pump system 14 depicted in FIGS. 3 and 4); the component includes a cabin condenser of the heat pump ([0045] Referring now to FIGS. 3 and 4, … a first interior heat exchanger 44,);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke to include the HVAC system includes a heat pump; the component includes a cabin condenser of the heat pump because the cabin condenser of Koberstein allows the user to receive temperature air into the cabin of the vehicle.
Kawabe is directed towards a heat requesting device. Kawabe does teach the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the cabin condenser to heat air flowing across the cabin condenser ([0050] In the path pattern A-3, the flow path of the coolant is the same as those of the path patterns A-1 and A-2. In the path pattern A-3, heat transfer control is performed in which the electric heater (EH) 22 is actively operated so that the electric heater 22 exhausts heat to the coolant (shaded arrow), the water cooling condenser 33 is actively operated to exhaust heat from the refrigerant circuit RE to the coolant via the water cooling condenser 33 (shaded arrow), and the heater core (HC) 21 absorbs heat from the coolant (white arrow).).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the cabin condenser to heat air flowing across the cabin condenser because the electric heater of Kawabe provides heat when the coolant isn’t at the proper temperature to heat the cabin.
Regarding claim 6, Hoke and Koberstein teach the limitations of claim 1. Hoke does not expressly teach the HVAC system includes a heat pump; the component includes the heater core and the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the heater core to heat air flowing across the heater core.
Koberstein does teach the HVAC system includes a heat pump ([0046] In an exemplary cooling mode of the heat pump system 14 depicted in FIGS. 3 and 4);the component includes the heater core ([0045] Referring now to FIGS. 3 and 4, … a second interior heat exchanger 54).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke to include the HVAC system includes a heat pump; the component includes the heater core because the heater core of Koberstein allows the vehicle to maintain a comfortable temperature .
Kawabe does teach the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the heater core to heat air flowing across the heater core. ([0041] The radiator 44 is a unit for cooling or heating the coolant with air. The radiator 44 has a radiator core, a grill shutter, and a radiator fan… The electric heater 45 is a unit that heats the coolant when the temperature of the coolant is not high enough.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the heater core to heat air flowing across the heater core because the electric heater of Kawabe helps maintain the proper temperature for operation.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140217080 A1 – Hoke in view of US 20210086587 A1 – Koberstein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20230020687 A1 – Kim.
Regarding claim 8, Hoke and Koberstein teach the limitations of claim 1. Hoke does not expressly teach the HVAC system includes a battery heat exchanger including coolant circulating about a battery; the component includes the battery heat exchanger; and the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the battery heat exchanger to heat the coolant.
Kim is directed toward an temperature control device for a battery. Kim does teach the HVAC system includes a battery heat exchanger including coolant circulating about a battery; ([0009] According to an aspect of the present disclosure, a method for controlling a temperature of a battery using a vehicle thermal management system including a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) subsystem including a refrigerant loop through which a refrigerant circulates, a battery cooling subsystem including a battery coolant loop through which a battery-side coolant circulates, and a battery chiller transferring heat between the refrigerant circulating in the refrigerant loop and the battery-side coolant circulating in the battery coolant loop) the component includes the battery heat exchanger ([0036] The water-cooled heat exchanger 70 may transfer heat among the refrigerant loop 21.) and the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the battery heat exchanger to heat the coolant (Figure 2 shows the controller using the sensors to adjust the temperature by turning the battery heater on and off).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include the HVAC system includes a battery heat exchanger including coolant circulating about a battery; the component includes the battery heat exchanger; and the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the battery heat exchanger to heat the coolant because the heater of Kim allows the battery to remain charged and within operating parameters when the cars active charging unit is not in use.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140217080 A1 – Hoke in view of US 20210086587 A1 – Koberstein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 6124570 A – Ebner.
Regarding claim 9, Hoke and Koberstein teach the limitations of claim 1. Hoke does teach the HVAC system includes a ventilation heat exchanger including the component ([0019] As best shown in FIG. 1B, the system 100 may further include an airflow device 136 having air processing components including air heating components, such as a heater core 138.).
Ebner is directed towards a HVAC system. Ebner does teach the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the ventilation heat exchanger to heat the ventilation heat exchanger and prevent icing. ([Col. 2 Ln. 13-20] The heating or air conditioning system according to the invention has the advantage that as a result of the direct integration of the supplementary electric heater into the heat exchanger, the dimensions of the heat exchanger remain unchanged so that it is possible, without structural changes, to introduce into the air channel either a normal heat exchanger through which only the cooling water circuit flows, or a heat exchanger with an integrated supplementary electric heater.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include teach the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the ventilation heat exchanger to heat the ventilation heat exchanger and prevent icing because the heated air system of Ebner allows the vehicle to deice the unit with heated forces air.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140217080 A1 – Hoke in view of US 20210086587 A1 – Koberstein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20220356835 A1 – Jens.
Regarding claim 10, Hoke and Koberstein teach the limitations of claim 1. Hoke does not expressly teach the HVAC system includes a heat pump including a compressor; the component includes at least one of a suction line of the compressor and a conductive member seated on the suction line.
Koberstein does teach the HVAC system includes a heat pump including a compressor; the component includes at least one of a suction line of the compressor and a conductive member seated on the suction line ([0045] Referring now to FIGS. 3 and 4, an exemplary heat pump system 14 is depicted including a compressor 40);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke to include a heat pump including a compressor; the component includes at least one of a suction line of the compressor and a conductive member seated on the suction line because the compressor of Koberstein is used to compress the refrigerant gas so the HVAC system works properly. Furthermore, in a common HVAC unit a suction line is needed therefor is obvious.
Jens is directed towards a electric coolant pump. Jens does teach the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to at least one of the suction line to heat refrigerant flowing through the suction line. ([0031] The electrical heater 13 is attached to the suction line 9 in such a way that the electrical heating element 14 is surrounded by the coolant in the suction line 9. When electric power is supplied to the electric heating element 14 via the electric connection 15, the electric heating element 14 heats up.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to at least one of the suction line to heat refrigerant flowing through the suction line because applying heat to the suction line of Jens promotes flow of the gas.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140217080 A1 – Hoke in view of US 20210086587 A1 – Koberstein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 9029037 B2 - Barleben.
Regarding claim 11, Hoke and Koberstein teach the limitations of claim 1. Hoke does not expressly teach the HVAC system includes a heat pump having an accumulator; the component includes at least one of a bypass pipe of the accumulator and the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to at least one of the bypass pipe.
Koberstein does teach the HVAC system includes a heat pump having an accumulator ([0007] the auxiliary module comprises an accumulator); the component includes at least one of a bypass pipe of the accumulator (Figure 3 shows the pipe between valve 42 and 50 bypasses the accumulator).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke to include the HVAC system includes a heat pump having an accumulator; the component includes at least one of a bypass pipe of the accumulator because the accumulator of Koberstein allows to protect the compressor from getting liquid inside of the chambers.
Barleben is directed towards a fuel cell system. Barleben does teach the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to at least one of the bypass pipe ([Col. 14 Ln. 7-10] the first bypass line capable of being heated by at least one of operational heat and an electrical heater to ensure melting of any frozen fluid in the first bypass line).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to at least one of the bypass pipe because the heater of Barleben allows the bypass line to not have any frozen liquid in it.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140217080 A1 – Hoke in view of US 20210086587 A1 – Koberstein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20070123157 A1 – Shah.
Regarding claim 12, Hoke and Koberstein teach the limitations of claim 1. Hoke and Koberstein does not expressly teach an insulation layer associated with the component configured to insulate the component from loss of heat generated by the heating system.
Shah is directed towards a HVAC duct. Shah does teach an insulation layer associated with the component configured to insulate the component from loss of heat generated by the heating system ([0006] An embodiment according to the present invention may also contemplate a method of forming a structural HVAC duct that is defined by a portion of a roof pillar in an automotive vehicle, the method comprising the steps of: (a) providing at least one metal blank; (b) coating a surface of the at least one metal blank with an insulating coating; (c) forming the at least one metal blank into a hollow structural member defining the structural HVAC duct after step (b); and (d) assembling the roof pillar to the automotive vehicle.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include an insulation layer associated with the component configured to insulate the component from loss of heat generated by the heating system because the insulation wrap around a HVAC system of Shah to improve its efficiency, comfort, and system longevity.
Claims 13 - 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140217080 A1 – Hoke in view of US 20210086587 A1 – Koberstein and US 20220305876 A1 – Bidner.
Regarding claim 13, Hoke does teach a power supply; ([0015] Accordingly, the heating strategy may determine power supply for the electrically heated zones and/or a biased demist flow for the vehicle glass, to minimize energy utilization of the HVAC system.); a transparent metallic layer configured to be mounted to a transparent material ([0018] metal impregnated with conductive polymers), wherein the OHX defrost cycle is initiated based on at least one of OHX refrigerant outlet temperature, OHX refrigerant outlet pressure, and OHX secondary coolant outlet temperature. ([0017] the inputs to the HVAC controls strategy may include the use of one or more sensors that are already incorporated into the vehicle, such as existing humidity sensors, sun-load/direction sensors, rain sensors, wiper operation sensors, cabin temperature sensors, and ambient temperature sensors, among other available sources of information.).
Hoke does not expressly teach a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system configured to heat and cool a passenger cabin of the vehicle, the HVAC system including a heat pump with an outside heat exchanger (OHX) and a control module configured to: apply voltage from the power supply to the transparent metallic layer to heat the transparent material; and apply voltage from the power supply to the OHX to heat the OHX during an OHX defrost cycle;
Koberstein does teach a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system configured to heat and cool a passenger cabin of the vehicle, ([0002] Vehicle HVAC systems may also include air conditioning systems to cool and/or dehumidify air that is supplied to the vehicle interior space.), the HVAC system including a heat pump with an outside heat exchanger (OHX) ([0045] Referring now to FIGS. 3 and 4, an exemplary heat pump system 14 … an exterior heat exchanger 58);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke to include a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system configured to heat and cool a passenger cabin of the vehicle, the HVAC system including a heat pump with an outside heat exchanger (OHX) because the HVAC system along with the OHX of Koberstein allows the user of the automobile to adjust the temperature as needed.
Bidner does teach and a control module configured to: apply voltage from the power supply to the transparent metallic layer to heat the transparent material; and apply voltage from the power supply to the OHX to heat the OHX during an OHX defrost cycle; ([0035] In another example, the refrigerant/coolant heat exchanger 234 may be positioned within the electric heater 208 (e.g., where one or more coils of the electric heater wrap around and/or are collocated with one or more coils of the refrigerant/coolant heat exchanger 234)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include apply voltage from the power supply to the transparent metallic layer to heat the transparent material; and apply voltage from the power supply to the OHX to heat the OHX during an OHX defrost cycle because applying voltage to the electric heater of Bidner allows the flow of coolant to flow freely.
Regarding claim 14, Hoke, Koberstein, and Bidner teach the limitations of claim 13. Hoke does teach the transparent material is configured as one of a windshield, a side window, a rear window, and a roof. ([0014] For example, the vehicle glass may be a windshield packaged in the vehicle);
Regarding claim 15, Hoke, Koberstein, and Bidner teach the limitations of claim 13. Hoke and Koberstein does not expressly teach the control module is configured to apply voltage to a metallic portion of the OHX including at least one of coils and tanks of the OHX.
Bidner does teach the control module is configured to apply voltage to a metallic portion of the OHX including at least one of coils and tanks of the OHX. ([0035] In another example, the refrigerant/coolant heat exchanger 234 may be positioned within the electric heater 208 (e.g., where one or more coils of the electric heater wrap around and/or are collocated with one or more coils of the refrigerant/coolant heat exchanger 234)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include the control module is configured to apply voltage to a metallic portion of the OHX including at least one of coils and tanks of the OHX because the electric heater of Bidner allows the OHX to remain at a temperature that the flow of coolant is optimal.
Regarding claim 16, Hoke, Koberstein, and Bidner teach the limitations of claim 13. Hoke does teach a sensor configured to measure at least one of temperature and pressure of refrigerant flowing from the OHX; ([0017] the inputs to the HVAC controls strategy may include the use of one or more sensors that are already incorporated into the vehicle, such as existing humidity sensors, sun-load/direction sensors, rain sensors, wiper operation sensors, cabin temperature sensors, and ambient temperature sensors, among other available sources of information.).
Hoke does not expressly teach the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the OHX in response to a reading from the sensor indicating that at least one of the temperature and the pressure of the refrigerant flowing from the OHX is below a threshold indicative of frost accumulation on the OHX.
Bidner does teach the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the OHX in response to a reading from the sensor indicating that at least one of the temperature and the pressure of the refrigerant flowing from the OHX is below a threshold indicative of frost accumulation on the OHX. ([0035] In another example, the refrigerant/coolant heat exchanger 234 may be positioned within the electric heater 208 (e.g., where one or more coils of the electric heater wrap around and/or are collocated with one or more coils of the refrigerant/coolant heat exchanger 234)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include the control module is configured to apply voltage from the power supply to the OHX in response to a reading from the sensor indicating that at least one of the temperature and the pressure of the refrigerant flowing from the OHX is below a threshold indicative of frost accumulation on the OHX because the electric heaters of Bidner and sensors of Hoke allow the HVAC system to control when the temperature of the OHX is to low and need to be raised.
Claim 18-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140217080 A1 – Hoke in view of US 20210086587 A1 – Koberstein and US 20220305876 A1 – Bidner as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of US 20230020687 A1 – Kim.
Regarding claim 18, Hoke, Koberstein, and Bidner teach the limitations of claim 13. Hoke does not expressly teach the control module is further configured to apply voltage from the power supply to a secondary fluid automotive heat pump.
Kim does teach the control module is further configured to apply voltage from the power supply to a secondary fluid automotive heat pump. ([0063] Generally, during step 510, the controller 123, adjusts the flow of coolant through the RESS chiller 115 and the output of the electric heater 112 to obtain a heat pump performance result that indicates the first condition 511, wherein the heat pump performance is adequate. The flow through the RESS chiller 115 and the output of the electric heater 112 are adjusted based upon the heat pump performance result returned in step 509.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include the control module is further configured to apply voltage from the power supply to a secondary fluid automotive heat pump because the electric heater of Kim allows for proper flow of the coolant.
Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a secondary heat pump, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 19, Hoke, Koberstein, and Bidner teach the limitations of claim 13. Hoke does not expressly teach the control module is further configured to apply voltage from the power supply to a metallic component of a heat pump to heat the metallic component.
Kim does teach the control module is further configured to apply voltage from the power supply to a metallic component of a heat pump to heat the metallic component. ([0063] Generally, during step 510, the controller 123, adjusts the flow of coolant through the RESS chiller 115 and the output of the electric heater 112 to obtain a heat pump performance result that indicates the first condition 511, wherein the heat pump performance is adequate. The flow through the RESS chiller 115 and the output of the electric heater 112 are adjusted based upon the heat pump performance result returned in step 509.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include the control module is further configured to apply voltage from the power supply to a metallic component of a heat pump to heat the metallic component because the electric heater of Kim allows for proper flow of the coolant.
Regarding claim 20, Hoke, Koberstein, and Bidner teach the limitations of claim 13. Hoke does not expressly teach the control module is further configured to apply voltage from the power supply to a component of the HVAC system, the component including at least one of a heat pump manifold, a heat pump conduit configured to carry refrigerant, a compressor, a compressor suction line, a cabin condenser, a heater core, a battery heat exchanger, a ventilation heat exchanger, an insulation layer, and an accumulator.
Kim does teach the control module is further configured to apply voltage from the power supply to a component of the HVAC system, the component including at least one of a heat pump manifold, a heat pump conduit configured to carry refrigerant, a compressor, a compressor suction line, a cabin condenser, a heater core, a battery heat exchanger, a ventilation heat exchanger, an insulation layer, and an accumulator. ([0063] Generally, during step 510, the controller 123, adjusts the flow of coolant through the RESS chiller 115 and the output of the electric heater 112 to obtain a heat pump performance result that indicates the first condition 511, wherein the heat pump performance is adequate. The flow through the RESS chiller 115 and the output of the electric heater 112 are adjusted based upon the heat pump performance result returned in step 509.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hoke and Koberstein to include the control module is further configured to apply voltage from the power supply to a component of the HVAC system, the component including at least one of a heat pump manifold, a heat pump conduit configured to carry refrigerant, a compressor, a compressor suction line, a cabin condenser, a heater core, a battery heat exchanger, a ventilation heat exchanger, an insulation layer, and an accumulator because the control module of Kim can be used to adjust all electric heaters to have them in the range to promote coolant flow.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art does teach a compressor and sensors to control said compressor but the art is silent on prior to applying voltage from the power supply to the OHX, the control module is configured to ramp down and then stop a heat pump compressor of the HVAC system; and subsequent to applying voltage to the OHX, the control module is configured to run an OHX cooling fan of the HVAC system at an increased speed to clear frost from the OHX, and resume operation of the heat pump compressor.
Conclusion
/KEITH BRIAN ASSANTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761