DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nuzzi et al. (US 20100067994 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Nuzzi et al. discloses a drilling tool (50) for drilling machining, comprising: at least one major cutting edge (cutting insert 60 is a major cutting edge, fig. 4 or alternatively 94 and/or 92 of insert 80); a second cutting edge (104) that is provided on an outer side of a tool radial direction of the major cutting edge; a third cutting edge (100 or 92 and/or chip evacuating grooves/flutes 62/70) that is provided on the outer side of the tool radial direction of the second cutting edge; a first honing portion that is formed at the major cutting edge; a second honing portion that is formed at the second cutting edge; and a third honing portion that is formed at the third cutting edge, wherein a honing size of the third honing portion is larger than a honing size of the first honing portion, wherein the drilling tool is a head- exchangeable drill that includes a body (52/54) and a head (56/ drilling insert 60/80) that is removable from the body, and the major cutting edge, the second cutting edge, and the third cutting edge are formed at the head ([0021-0038], claim 1 figs. 1-13).
Regarding claim 2, Nuzzi et al. discloses a honing size of the second honing portion is larger than the honing size of the first honing portion ([0028-0031], claim 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nuzzi et al. (US 20100067994 A1) in view of FUJISAWA (JP 2023068305 A) and further in view of SAGARA (US 20190061016 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 5. Nuzzi et al. teaches modifying the honing sizes for the particular needs but fails to disclose having a honing size of the second honing portion is equal to the honing size of the first honing portion and the honing size is a width of each of the first honing portion, the second honing portion, and the third honing portion.
FUJISAWA teaches drills 10 and 20 having a honing size that is a width of each of a first honing portion, a second honing portion, and a third honing portion ([0053-0090], figs. 5-12).
SAGARA also teaches a cutting tool (1) having a honing size of the second honing portion is equal to the honing size of the first honing portion and/or the honing size is a width of each of the first honing portion, the second honing portion, and the third honing portion (two cutting edges 20 the same with honing surface 21, [0027-0028, 0044], figs. 1-12).
Given the teachings of Nuzzi et al. to have honing sizes for the particular needs, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the honing sizes of the cutting surfaces with having a honing size of the second honing portion is equal to the honing size of the first honing portion and the honing size is a width of each of the first honing portion, the second honing portion, and the third honing portion to have precise chip removal, reduce resistance more precise action on a workpiece (avoid overshoot/damage to the workpiece) and/or for cutting path purposes as taught by FUJISAWA and SAGARA.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6-8 are allowed.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious a drilling tool for drilling machining comprising all the structural and functional limitations and further comprising, amongst other limitations/features, at least one major cutting edge; a second cutting edge that is provided on an outer side of a tool radial direction of the major cutting edge; a third cutting edge that is provided on the outer side of the tool radial direction of the second cutting edge; a first honing portion that is formed at the major cutting edge; a second honing portion that is formed at the second cutting edge; and a third honing portion that is formed at the third cutting edge, wherein a honing size of the third honing portion is larger than a honing size of the first honing portion, wherein a honing size of the second honing portion is equal to the honing size of the first honing portion, wherein a point angle of the third cutting edge is 600 to 120°. Though Nuzzi et al. US 20100067994 A1 teaches having three cutting surfaces/portions that are honed, it would not be obvious to modify a honing size of the third honing portion to larger than a honing size of the first honing portion, wherein a honing size of the second honing portion is equal to the honing size of the first honing portion and wherein a point angle of the third cutting edge is 600 to 120°and one of ordinary skill would recognize that having a honing sizes changed with the point of angle of the third cutting edge would require modifying the other two cutting surfaces and third point angle resulting in the unexpected result of reducing damage to a shoulder portion and reducing cutting resistance, reducing blade wear and burr generation during drilling. Having the cutting edges formed for reducing damage to a shoulder portion and reducing cutting resistance, reducing blade wear and burr generation during drilling improves the performance of the drill bit during a drilling process.
While various features of the claimed subject matter are found individually in the prior art, a skilled artisan would have to include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed subject matter, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
Additional prior art considered pertinent: see form 892.
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731