DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination received 27 July 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-30 amended 22 June 2026 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-14, 18-22, and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatraman (US Pub. No. 2012/0059578) in view of Donovan (US Pub. No. 2014/0022121).
As per Claim 1, Venkatraman discloses a method (Fig. 7) of determining route information (as per 716) (Fig. 7; ¶75-85), the method comprising:
receiving, from respective one or more devices (as per “multiple user navigation devices” in ¶19; as per “The location server 110 may … provide locations of access points (e.g., WLAN hotspots) along the routes” in ¶70), one or more measurements (as per 708, 710) corresponding to at least one or more portions (as per “first segment” in ¶83, as per “subsequent segment” in ¶83) of one or more routes (as per 706, 714) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88);
determining (for embodiments in which functionality of “route reliability calculation unit 108” is performed “entirely on the remote computer or server” as per ¶92) one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83), based on the received one or more measurements (as per 708, 710), associated with the at least the one or more portions (as per “first segment” in ¶83, as per “subsequent segment” in ¶83) of the one or more routes (as per 706, 714), the one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) comprising a localization reliability parameter as per “The reliability rating for the route may be calculated as a weighted combination (e.g., a weighted sum or a weighted average) of the visibility metrics associated with the route (or with each segment of the route)” in ¶71 and “The route reliability calculation unit 108 can combine satellite visibility metrics associated with the first segment of the route and access point visibility metrics associated with the subsequent segments of the route to determine a reliability rating for the route” in ¶83) indicating, for each of a plurality of positioning technologies (as per GPS in 708, as per WLAN in 710), a respective reliability (as per “both satellite visibility metrics and access point visibility metrics” in ¶83) of the positioning technology (as per GPS in 708, as per WLAN in 710) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88, 92);
obtaining (for embodiments in which functionality of “routing unit 104” is performed “entirely on the remote computer or server” as per ¶92) a request for localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) from a target device (102) associated with a requested route (as per 702) associated with at least a starting point (as per “source location” in 702, 704), a destination (as per “destination location” in 702, 704), or {both} (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88, 92); and
sending (for embodiments in which functionality of “route reliability calculation unit 108” is performed “entirely on the remote computer or server” as per ¶92) one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) associated with the requested route (as per 702) to the target device (102) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88, 92).
Venkatraman does not expressly disclose wherein the respective reliability of the positioning technology is for determining a position positioning fix along a given portion of the one or more routes, the respective reliability being indicative of whether to use data from the positioning technology in performing the positioning fix, a localization uncertainty parameter, or a combination thereof.
Donovan a dynamic navigation unit (102) that includes a dynamic navigation model (112), a data link receiver (120), a positioning data receiver (124), and sensors (126) (Fig. 1; ¶64). The dynamic navigation model (112) includes data relevant for navigating in a region of interest (¶70) derived from data received via the data link receiver (120), the positioning data receiver (124), and the sensors (126) (¶69-73). The dynamic navigation model (112) further includes a positioning system model (154) and an excursion route model (156) (Figs. 1-2; ¶64, 69-75, 82-84). The positioning system model (154) includes data regarding the attributes of a corresponding positioning system (e.g., coverage, reliability, accuracy, signal strength, etc.) at some or all areas within the region of interest (¶80) and further includes data relating to interference with signals of a corresponding positioning system that is known to exist or predicted to exist at areas within the region of interest (¶81). The excursion route model (156) includes data for identifying a positioning system that is likely to provide the most reliable and/or accurate positioning data along one or more portions of a route (¶83). As such, Donovan discloses wherein the respective reliability (as per “attributes of a corresponding positioning system” in ¶80 and “most reliable” in ¶83) of the positioning technology (as per 120, 124, 126) is for determining a position positioning fix (as per 154, 156) along a given portion of the one or more routes (as per 112), the respective reliability (as per “attributes of a corresponding positioning system” in ¶80 and “most reliable” in ¶83) being indicative of whether to use data from the positioning technology (as per 120, 124, 126) in performing the positioning fix (as per 154, 156), {a localization uncertainty parameter}, or {a combination thereof}. In this way, the dynamic model (112) changes over time to reflect corresponding changes in conditions within the area of interest (¶84). Like Venkatraman, Donovan is concerned with navigation systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Venkatraman and Donovan, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Donovan to the system of Venkatraman since doing so would enhance the system since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the navigation data in response to changes in conditions. Applying the teachings of Donovan to the system of Venkatraman would result in a system that operates “wherein the respective reliability of the positioning technology is for determining a position positioning fix along a given portion of the one or more routes, the respective reliability being indicative of whether to use data from the positioning technology in performing the positioning fix, a localization uncertainty parameter, or a combination thereof” in that the system of Venkatraman would be adapted to evaluate reliability data for specified positioning technologies as per Donovan when analyzing routes (as per 706, 714).
As per Claim 2, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) are determined at least in part via crowdsourcing the one or more measurements (as per 708, 710) from the one or more devices (as per “multiple user navigation devices” in ¶19) other than the target device (102) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88).
As per Claim 3, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the localization reliability parameter (as per “The reliability rating for the route may be calculated as a weighted combination (e.g., a weighted sum or a weighted average) of the visibility metrics associated with the route (or with each segment of the route)” in ¶71 and “The route reliability calculation unit 108 can combine satellite visibility metrics associated with the first segment of the route and access point visibility metrics associated with the subsequent segments of the route to determine a reliability rating for the route” in ¶83) is indicative of at least a likelihood of determining a position (as per “The reliability rating can be a score within a predetermined range that indicates the likelihood of maintaining continuous connectivity with four or more GPS satellites along the route and also indicates the reliability of routing directions determined along the route” in ¶40; as per “a high reliability rating for the route may indicate that a sufficient number of reliable access points are available on the route and that the route can be traversed without losing WLAN connectivity” in ¶71; as per “determine a reliability rating for the route, as was described above with reference to FIGS. 1-5” IN ¶82) along of the requested route (as per 702) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 40, 67-88).
As per Claim 4, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the localization reliability parameter (as per “The reliability rating for the route may be calculated as a weighted combination (e.g., a weighted sum or a weighted average) of the visibility metrics associated with the route (or with each segment of the route)” in ¶71 and “The route reliability calculation unit 108 can combine satellite visibility metrics associated with the first segment of the route and access point visibility metrics associated with the subsequent segments of the route to determine a reliability rating for the route” in ¶83) is configured to enable the target device (102) to select the requested route from a plurality of routes or select another route from the plurality of routes (as per “prompt the user to select one of the routes” in ¶85) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 40, 67-88).
As per Claim 5, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the one or more measurements (as per 708, 710) comprise one or more location measurements of a signal received by the one or more devices via Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) (as per “Each sample point along the route can be analyzed to determine whether a line of sight path to at least four GPS satellites is available at the user navigation device 102” in ¶80), {a signal received by the one or more devices from a network entity}, or {a combination thereof}.
As per Claim 10, Venkatraman discloses a device (as per device 800 for embodiments of the device in which functionality of the device 800 is performed “entirely on the remote computer or server” as per ¶92) (Fig. 8; ¶92-95) comprising:
one or more memories (806) (Fig. 8; ¶93);
one or more communication interfaces (810, 804) (Fig. 8; ¶93); and
one or more processors (802) coupled to the one or more memories (806) and the one or more communication interfaces (810, 804), the one or more processors (802) configured to cause the device (800) (Fig. 8; ¶92-95) to:
receive, from respective one or more devices (as per “multiple user navigation devices” in ¶19; as per “The location server 110 may … provide locations of access points (e.g., WLAN hotspots) along the routes” in ¶70) via the one or more communication interfaces (810, 804), one or more measurements (as per 708, 710) corresponding to at least one or more portions (as per “first segment” in ¶83, as per “subsequent segment” in ¶83) of one or more routes (as per 706, 714) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88);
determine (for embodiments in which functionality of “route reliability calculation unit 108” is performed “entirely on the remote computer or server” as per ¶92) one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83), based on the received one or more measurements (as per 708, 710), associated with the at least the one or more portions (as per “first segment” in ¶83, as per “subsequent segment” in ¶83) of the one or more routes (as per 706, 714), the one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) comprising a localization reliability parameter (as per “The reliability rating for the route may be calculated as a weighted combination (e.g., a weighted sum or a weighted average) of the visibility metrics associated with the route (or with each segment of the route)” in ¶71 and “The route reliability calculation unit 108 can combine satellite visibility metrics associated with the first segment of the route and access point visibility metrics associated with the subsequent segments of the route to determine a reliability rating for the route” in ¶83) indicating, for each of a plurality of positioning technologies (as per GPS in 708, as per WLAN in 710), a respective reliability (as per “both satellite visibility metrics and access point visibility metrics” in ¶83) of the positioning technology (as per GPS in 708, as per WLAN in 710) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88, 92);
obtain (for embodiments in which functionality of “routing unit 104” is performed “entirely on the remote computer or server” as per ¶92) a request for localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) from a target device (102) associated with a requested route (as per 702) associated with at least a starting point (as per “source location” in 702, 704), a destination (as per “destination location” in 702, 704), or {both} (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88, 92); and
sending (for embodiments in which functionality of “route reliability calculation unit 108” is performed “entirely on the remote computer or server” as per ¶92) one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) associated with the requested route (as per 702) to the target device (102) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88, 92).
Venkatraman does not expressly disclose wherein the respective reliability is for determining a position positioning fix along a given portion of the one or more routes, the respective reliability being indicative of whether to use data from the positioning technology in performing the positioning fix, a localization uncertainty parameter, or a combination thereof.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Donovan.
Therefore, from these teachings of Venkatraman and Donovan, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Donovan to the system of Venkatraman since doing so would enhance the system since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the navigation data in response to changes in conditions. Applying the teachings of Donovan to the system of Venkatraman would result in a system that operates “wherein the respective reliability is for determining a position positioning fix along a given portion of the one or more routes, the respective reliability being indicative of whether to use data from the positioning technology in performing the positioning fix, a localization uncertainty parameter, or a combination thereof” in that the system of Venkatraman would be adapted to evaluate reliability data for specified positioning technologies as per Donovan when analyzing routes (as per 706, 714).
As per Claim 11, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 10. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) are determined at least in part via crowdsourcing the one or more measurements (as per 708, 710) from the one or more devices (as per “multiple user navigation devices” in ¶19) other than the target device (102) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88).
As per Claim 12, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 10. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the localization reliability parameter (as per “The reliability rating for the route may be calculated as a weighted combination (e.g., a weighted sum or a weighted average) of the visibility metrics associated with the route (or with each segment of the route)” in ¶71 and “The route reliability calculation unit 108 can combine satellite visibility metrics associated with the first segment of the route and access point visibility metrics associated with the subsequent segments of the route to determine a reliability rating for the route” in ¶83) is indicative of at least a likelihood of determining a position (as per “The reliability rating can be a score within a predetermined range that indicates the likelihood of maintaining continuous connectivity with four or more GPS satellites along the route and also indicates the reliability of routing directions determined along the route” in ¶40; as per “a high reliability rating for the route may indicate that a sufficient number of reliable access points are available on the route and that the route can be traversed without losing WLAN connectivity” in ¶71; as per “determine a reliability rating for the route, as was described above with reference to FIGS. 1-5” IN ¶82) along of the requested route (as per 702) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 40, 67-88).
As per Claim 13, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 10. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the localization reliability parameter (as per “The reliability rating for the route may be calculated as a weighted combination (e.g., a weighted sum or a weighted average) of the visibility metrics associated with the route (or with each segment of the route)” in ¶71 and “The route reliability calculation unit 108 can combine satellite visibility metrics associated with the first segment of the route and access point visibility metrics associated with the subsequent segments of the route to determine a reliability rating for the route” in ¶83) is configured to enable the target device (102) to select the requested route from a plurality of routes or select another route from the plurality of routes (as per “prompt the user to select one of the routes” in ¶85) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 40, 67-88).
As per Claim 14, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 10. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the one or more measurements (as per 708, 710) comprise one or more location measurements of a signal received by the one or more devices via Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) (as per “Each sample point along the route can be analyzed to determine whether a line of sight path to at least four GPS satellites is available at the user navigation device 102” in ¶80), {a signal received by the one or more devices from a network entity}, or {a combination thereof}.
As per Claim 18, Venkatraman discloses a device (as per device 800 for embodiments of the device in which functionality of the device 800 is performed “entirely on the remote computer or server” as per ¶92) (Fig. 8; ¶92-95) comprising:
means for receiving, from respective one or more devices (as per “multiple user navigation devices” in ¶19; as per “The location server 110 may … provide locations of access points (e.g., WLAN hotspots) along the routes” in ¶70), one or more measurements (as per 708, 710) corresponding to at least one or more portions (as per “first segment” in ¶83, as per “subsequent segment” in ¶83) of one or more routes (as per 706, 714) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88);
means for determining (for embodiments in which functionality of “route reliability calculation unit 108” is performed “entirely on the remote computer or server” as per ¶92) one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83), based on the received one or more measurements (as per 708, 710), associated with the at least the one or more portions (as per “first segment” in ¶83, as per “subsequent segment” in ¶83) of the one or more routes (as per 706, 714), the one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) comprising a localization reliability parameter (as per “The reliability rating for the route may be calculated as a weighted combination (e.g., a weighted sum or a weighted average) of the visibility metrics associated with the route (or with each segment of the route)” in ¶71 and “The route reliability calculation unit 108 can combine satellite visibility metrics associated with the first segment of the route and access point visibility metrics associated with the subsequent segments of the route to determine a reliability rating for the route” in ¶83) indicating, for each of a plurality of positioning technologies (as per GPS in 708, as per WLAN in 710), a respective reliability (as per “both satellite visibility metrics and access point visibility metrics” in ¶83) of the positioning technology (as per GPS in 708, as per WLAN in 710);
means for obtaining (for embodiments in which functionality of “routing unit 104” is performed “entirely on the remote computer or server” as per ¶92) a request for localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) from a target device (102) associated with a requested route (as per 702) associated with at least a starting point (as per “source location” in 702, 704), a destination (as per “destination location” in 702, 704), or {both} (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88, 92); and
means for sending (for embodiments in which functionality of “route reliability calculation unit 108” is performed “entirely on the remote computer or server” as per ¶92) one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) associated with the requested route (as per 702) to the target device (102) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88, 92).
Venkatraman does not expressly disclose wherein the respective reliability is for determining a position positioning fix along a given portion of the one or more routes, the respective reliability being indicative of whether to use data from the positioning technology in performing the positioning fix, a localization uncertainty parameter, or a combination thereof.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Donovan.
Therefore, from these teachings of Venkatraman and Donovan, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Donovan to the system of Venkatraman since doing so would enhance the system since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the navigation data in response to changes in conditions. Applying the teachings of Donovan to the system of Venkatraman would result in a system that operates “wherein the respective reliability is for determining a position positioning fix along a given portion of the one or more routes, the respective reliability being indicative of whether to use data from the positioning technology in performing the positioning fix, a localization uncertainty parameter, or a combination thereof” in that the system of Venkatraman would be adapted to evaluate reliability data for specified positioning technologies as per Donovan when analyzing routes (as per 706, 714).
As per Claim 19, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 18. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) are determined at least in part via crowdsourcing the one or more measurements (as per 708, 710) from the one or more devices (as per “multiple user navigation devices” in ¶19) other than the target device (102) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88).
As per Claim 20, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 18. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the localization reliability parameter (as per “The reliability rating for the route may be calculated as a weighted combination (e.g., a weighted sum or a weighted average) of the visibility metrics associated with the route (or with each segment of the route)” in ¶71 and “The route reliability calculation unit 108 can combine satellite visibility metrics associated with the first segment of the route and access point visibility metrics associated with the subsequent segments of the route to determine a reliability rating for the route” in ¶83) is indicative of at least a likelihood of determining a position (as per “The reliability rating can be a score within a predetermined range that indicates the likelihood of maintaining continuous connectivity with four or more GPS satellites along the route and also indicates the reliability of routing directions determined along the route” in ¶40; as per “a high reliability rating for the route may indicate that a sufficient number of reliable access points are available on the route and that the route can be traversed without losing WLAN connectivity” in ¶71; as per “determine a reliability rating for the route, as was described above with reference to FIGS. 1-5” IN ¶82) along of the requested route (as per 702) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 40, 67-88).
As per Claim 21, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 18. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the localization reliability parameter (as per “The reliability rating for the route may be calculated as a weighted combination (e.g., a weighted sum or a weighted average) of the visibility metrics associated with the route (or with each segment of the route)” in ¶71 and “The route reliability calculation unit 108 can combine satellite visibility metrics associated with the first segment of the route and access point visibility metrics associated with the subsequent segments of the route to determine a reliability rating for the route” in ¶83) is configured to enable the target device (102) to select the requested route from a plurality of routes or select another route from the plurality of routes (as per “prompt the user to select one of the routes” in ¶85) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 40, 67-88).
As per Claim 22, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 18. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the one or more measurements (as per 708, 710) comprise one or more location measurements of a signal received by the one or more devices via Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) (as per “Each sample point along the route can be analyzed to determine whether a line of sight path to at least four GPS satellites is available at the user navigation device 102” in ¶80), {a signal received by the one or more devices from a network entity}, or {a combination thereof}.
As per Claim 25, Venkatraman discloses a non-transitory computer-readable apparatus (as per device 800 for embodiments of the device in which functionality of the device 800 is performed “entirely on the remote computer or server” as per ¶92) comprising a storage medium, the storage medium comprising a plurality of instructions (as per “medium having stored thereon instructions” in ¶91) configured to, when executed by one or more processors (802), cause a device (800) (Fig. 8; ¶92-95) to:
receive, from respective one or more devices (as per “multiple user navigation devices” in ¶19; as per “The location server 110 may … provide locations of access points (e.g., WLAN hotspots) along the routes” in ¶70), one or more measurements (as per 708, 710) corresponding to at least one or more portions (as per “first segment” in ¶83, as per “subsequent segment” in ¶83) of one or more routes (as per 706, 714) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88);
determine (for embodiments in which functionality of “route reliability calculation unit 108” is performed “entirely on the remote computer or server” as per ¶92) one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83), based on the received one or more measurements (as per 708, 710), associated with the at least the one or more portions (as per “first segment” in ¶83, as per “subsequent segment” in ¶83) of the one or more routes (as per 706, 714), the one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) comprising a localization reliability parameter (as per “The reliability rating for the route may be calculated as a weighted combination (e.g., a weighted sum or a weighted average) of the visibility metrics associated with the route (or with each segment of the route)” in ¶71 and “The route reliability calculation unit 108 can combine satellite visibility metrics associated with the first segment of the route and access point visibility metrics associated with the subsequent segments of the route to determine a reliability rating for the route” in ¶83) indicating, for each of a plurality of positioning technologies (as per GPS in 708, as per WLAN in 710), a respective reliability (as per “both satellite visibility metrics and access point visibility metrics” in ¶83) of the positioning technology (as per GPS in 708, as per WLAN in 710) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88, 92);
obtain (for embodiments in which functionality of “routing unit 104” is performed “entirely on the remote computer or server” as per ¶92) a request for localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) from a target device (102) associated with a requested route (as per 702) associated with at least a starting point (as per “source location” in 702, 704), a destination (as per “destination location” in 702, 704), or {both} (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88, 92); and
send (for embodiments in which functionality of “route reliability calculation unit 108” is performed “entirely on the remote computer or server” as per ¶92) one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) associated with the requested route (as per 702) to the target device (102) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88, 92).
Venkatraman does not expressly disclose wherein the respective reliability is for determining a positioning fix along a given portion of the one or more routes, the respective reliability being indicative of whether to use data from the positioning technology in performing the positioning fix, a localization uncertainty parameter, or a combination thereof.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Donovan.
Therefore, from these teachings of Venkatraman and Donovan, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Donovan to the system of Venkatraman since doing so would enhance the system since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the navigation data in response to changes in conditions. Applying the teachings of Donovan to the system of Venkatraman would result in a system that operates “wherein the respective reliability is for determining a positioning fix along a given portion of the one or more routes, the respective reliability being indicative of whether to use data from the positioning technology in performing the positioning fix, a localization uncertainty parameter, or a combination thereof” in that the system of Venkatraman would be adapted to evaluate reliability data for specified positioning technologies as per Donovan when analyzing routes (as per 706, 714).
As per Claim 26, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 25. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the one or more localization parameters (as per “satellite visibility metrics” and “access point reliability metrics” in ¶83) are determined at least in part via crowdsourcing the one or more measurements (as per 708, 710) from the one or more devices (as per “multiple user navigation devices” in ¶19) other than the target device (102) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 67-88).
As per Claim 27, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 25. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the localization reliability parameter (as per “The reliability rating for the route may be calculated as a weighted combination (e.g., a weighted sum or a weighted average) of the visibility metrics associated with the route (or with each segment of the route)” in ¶71 and “The route reliability calculation unit 108 can combine satellite visibility metrics associated with the first segment of the route and access point visibility metrics associated with the subsequent segments of the route to determine a reliability rating for the route” in ¶83 is indicative of at least a likelihood of determining a position (as per “The reliability rating can be a score within a predetermined range that indicates the likelihood of maintaining continuous connectivity with four or more GPS satellites along the route and also indicates the reliability of routing directions determined along the route” in ¶40; as per “a high reliability rating for the route may indicate that a sufficient number of reliable access points are available on the route and that the route can be traversed without losing WLAN connectivity” in ¶71; as per “determine a reliability rating for the route, as was described above with reference to FIGS. 1-5” IN ¶82) along of the requested route (as per 702) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 40, 67-88).
As per Claim 28, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 25. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the localization reliability parameter (as per “The reliability rating for the route may be calculated as a weighted combination (e.g., a weighted sum or a weighted average) of the visibility metrics associated with the route (or with each segment of the route)” in ¶71 and “The route reliability calculation unit 108 can combine satellite visibility metrics associated with the first segment of the route and access point visibility metrics associated with the subsequent segments of the route to determine a reliability rating for the route” in ¶83) is configured to enable the target device (102) to select the requested route from a plurality of routes or select another route from the plurality of routes (as per “prompt the user to select one of the routes” in ¶85) (Figs. 1, 6-7; ¶16-27, 40, 67-88).
As per Claim 29, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 25. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the one or more measurements (as per 708, 710) comprise one or more location measurements of a signal received by the one or more devices via Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) (as per “Each sample point along the route can be analyzed to determine whether a line of sight path to at least four GPS satellites is available at the user navigation device 102” in ¶80), {a signal received by the one or more devices from a network entity}, or {a combination thereof}.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatraman (US Pub. No. 2012/0059578) in view of Donovan (US Pub. No. 2014/0022121), further in view of Mathis (US Patent No. 5,948,043).
As per Claim 6, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 5. Venkatraman does not expressly disclose responsive to a position of the target device determined based on the one or more location measurements not corresponding to a location of the target device determined based on at least the one or more measurements from the one or more devices, identifying a potential mismatch, a false positive, or a combination thereof.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Donovan.
Mathis discloses an automobile that includes a GPS receiver (106) which processes data received from satellites (100, 102, 104) (Fig. 1; 5:25-7:3). In operation, the receiver (106) operates with a computer (108) to determine whether received (200) GPS data is reliable (202) (Fig. 2; 6:4-48). Specifically, the system (106, 108) determines whether GPS data is reliable (202) based on factors derived from previous vehicle position and current GPS data (6:4-7:60). If the data is reliable (yes at 202), the system (106, 108) updates position data (6:25-48). If the data is not reliable (no at 202), the system (106, 108) receives another set of data (as per 200) (6:25-48). In this way, the system updates position only when a real position change has been made (7:61-8:3). Like Venkatraman, Mathis is concerned with positioning systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Venkatraman, Donovan, and Mathis, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Donovan and Mathis to the system of Venkatraman since doing so would enhance the system by: adapting the navigation data in response to changes in conditions; and adapting the system to update position data only when a real position change has been made. Applying the teachings of Donovan and Mathis to the system of Venkatraman would result in a system that operates “responsive to a position of the target device determined based on the one or more location measurements not corresponding to a location of the target device determined based on at least the one or more measurements from the one or more devices, identifying a potential mismatch, a false positive, or a combination thereof” in that position data as per Venkatraman as modified in view of Donovan would be checked for reliability as per Mathis.
As per Claim 15, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 14. Venkatraman does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the device to, responsive to a position of the target device determined based on the one or more location measurements not corresponding to a location of the target device determined based on at least the one or more measurements from the one or more devices, identify a potential mismatch, a false positive, or a combination thereof.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Donovan.
See rejection of Claim 6 for discussion of teachings of Mathis.
Therefore, from these teachings of Venkatraman, Donovan, and Mathis, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Donovan and Mathis to the system of Venkatraman since doing so would enhance the system by: adapting the navigation data in response to changes in conditions; and adapting the system to update position data only when a real position change has been made. Applying the teachings of Donovan and Mathis to the system of Venkatraman would result in a system that operates “responsive to a position of the target device determined based on the one or more location measurements not corresponding to a location of the target device determined based on at least the one or more measurements from the one or more devices, identifying a potential mismatch, a false positive, or a combination thereof” in that position data as per Venkatraman as modified in view of Donovan would be checked for reliability as per Mathis.
Claims 7-9, 16-17, 23-24, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Pub. No. 2016/0025505) in view of Venkatraman (US Pub. No. 2012/0059578), further in view of Donovan (US Pub. No. 2014/0022121).
As per Claims 7, 16, 23, and 30, Oh discloses a target device (10, 40, 50, 60) equipped on a vehicle comprising an advanced driver assistance (ADAS) capability (as per “setting an autonomous driving mode” in ¶37) (Figs. 1-2; ¶23, 27, 29, 39-40). Oh does not expressly disclose the method of Claim 1, the device of Claim 10, the device of Claim 18, and the medium of Claim 25.
As discussed above rejections under 35 USC 103, the combination of Venkatraman and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of the method of Claim 1, the device of Claim 10, the device of Claim 18, and the medium of Claim 25. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the system is adapted to provide the most reliable route (¶43). Like Oh, Venkatraman is concerned with positioning systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Oh, Venkatraman, and Donovan, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Venkatraman and Donovan to the system of Oh since doing so would enhance the system by: adapting the system of Oh to provide the most reliable route as per Venkatraman with navigation data adapted in response to changes in conditions as per Donovan.
As per Claim 8, the combination of Oh, Venkatraman, and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 7. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the localization uncertainty parameter comprises determining a localization uncertainty of the one or more devices associated the requested route based on a statistical value associated with the received one or more measurements, measurements based on a type of the one or more devices, a type of the vehicle, or a combination thereof (“localization uncertainty parameter” signals limitation is directed to alternative embodiments for “localization parameters” as per Claim 1)..
As per Claim 9, the combination of Oh, Venkatraman, and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 8. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the localization uncertainty comprises an estimate of a positioning precision of a position of the one or more devices along the requested route, the estimate of the positioning precision comprising horizontal dilution of precision (HDOP), vertical dilution of precision (VDOP), position dilution of precision (PDOP), geometric dilution of precision (GDOP), or a combination thereof (“localization uncertainty parameter” in Claim 8 signals limitation is directed to alternative embodiments for “localization parameters” as per Claim 1).
As per Claim 17, the combination of Oh, Venkatraman, and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 16. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the localization uncertainty parameter comprises determining a localization uncertainty of the one or more devices associated the requested route based on a statistical value associated with the received one or more measurements, measurements based on a type of the one or more devices, a type of the vehicle, or a combination thereof (“localization uncertainty parameter” signals limitation is directed to alternative embodiments for “localization parameters” as per Claim 10).
As per Claim 24, the combination of Oh, Venkatraman, and Donovan teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 23. Venkatraman further discloses wherein the localization uncertainty parameter comprises determining a localization uncertainty of the one or more devices associated the requested route based on a statistical value associated with the received one or more measurements, measurements based on a type of the one or more devices, a type of the vehicle, or a combination thereof (“localization uncertainty parameter” signals limitation is directed to alternative embodiments for “localization parameters” as per Claim 18).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 June 2026 have been fully considered as follows.
Applicant argues that rejections under 35 USC 102 should not be maintained in view of the amendments (page 9-13 of Amendment). Upon further consideration of the teachings of Venkatraman and the amended claim language, rejections under 35 USC 102 in view of Venkatraman are not maintained. However, the amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented above.
Applicant argues that rejections under 35 USC 103 in view of Venkatraman and Mathis should not be maintained in view of the amendments (page 13-14 of Amendment). Upon further consideration of the teachings of Venkatraman and the amended claim language, rejections under 35 USC 103 in view of Venkatraman and Mathis are not maintained. However, the amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented above.
Applicant argues that rejections under 35 USC 103 in view of Oh and Venkatraman should not be maintained in view of the amendments (page 14-15 of Amendment). Upon further consideration of the teachings of Venkatraman and the amended claim language, rejections under 35 USC 103 in view of Oh and Venkatraman are not maintained. However, the amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Croyle (US Patent No. 5,862,511) disclose a navigation system.
/STEPHEN HOLWERDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656