DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the claim set filed 11/17/2023. Claims 1-15 are pending and under consideration in this Office Action.
Claims 1-15 are rejected for the reasons set forth below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The Examiner found disclosure of the instant claims 1-6, 9-10 and 12-15 in the JP2021084881 application, therefore, claims 1-6, 9-10 and 12-15 has the effective filling date of 05/19/2021. The Examiner found disclosure of the instant claims 7-8 in the JP2021188916 application, therefore, claims 7-8 has the effective filling date of 11/19/2021. The Examiner did not find disclosure of the instant Claim 11 in the priority applications. Therefore, Claim 11 has the effective filling date of 11/17/2023.
If claims 7-8 and 11 are disclosed in the earlier applications. Applicant is advised to submit English translation of the disclosure, with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 claims Rf is a fluorine-containing alkylene group having 1 to 40 carbon atoms or a fluorine-containing alkylene group having 2 to 100 carbon atoms and having an ether bond or a keto group. In accordance with instant specification paragraph [0088], Rf can be:
a fluorine-containing alkylene group having 1 to 40 carbon atoms;
a fluorine-containing alkylene group having 2 to 100 carbon atoms and an ether bond;
or,
a fluorine-containing alkylene group having 2 to 100 carbon atoms and a keto group.
Claim 11 claims the fluoropolymer is substantially free of a dimer and a trimer of the monomer (I). In accordance with the instant specification [0142], it is interpreted as the fluoropolymer contains a dimer, a trimer, or a combination thereof in the amount of 1% by mass or less.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Tatemoto (US6,274,677 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tatemoto teaches a copolymer derived from a monomer of:
MOSO2CFXCF2O(CFXCF2O)nCF=CF2, wherein n=0 to 5, M is a metal atom, X a fluorine atom, or a trifluorometyl group (claim 5) The monomer reads on the instant claimed General formula (I). Attention is drawn to Example 2, wherein a copolymer obtained from NaSO3CF2CF2OCF=CF2 and tetrafluoroethylene (TFE). The resulting copolymer contains 41 mol% of NaSO3CF2CF2OCF=CF2, corresponding to 68 wt.% of the copolymer falling within the claimed 50% by mass or more.
Regarding Claim 2, the copolymer of Example 2 has a molecular weight of 110,000, reading on more than 0.6 X 104.
Regarding Claim 4, X is F in NaSO3CF2CF2OCF=CF2.
Regarding Claim 5, Rf is a C2 fluorine-containing alkylene group in NaSO3CF2CF2OCF=CF2.
Regarding Claim 6, the co-monomer of the copolymer is tetrafluoroethylene (CF2=CF2).
Regarding Claim 7, the copolymer of Example 2 contains about 68 wt.% units derived from the monomer reading on the instant claimed formula (I) and 32 wt.% units derived from the monomer reading on the general formula CFR=CR2.
Regarding Claims 13-14, Example 2 of D1 discloses the preparation of a 14 mass% solution of polymer in water (5 g polymer is dissolved in 30 ml water).
Regarding Claim 15, the copolymer of Example 2 is made into a sheet.
Claims 1, 4-8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Murai et al. (US2012/0178017 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Murai teaches a fluoropolymer has a monomer unit having an SO3Z group, Z is hydrogen, metal atom or NR group (ab.). Attention is drawn to Example 2 where the polymer is derived from CF2=CF-O-(CF2)2-SO3H which reads on the instant claimed formula (I). And the polymer contains 45.2 mol% of the repeating units derived from CF2=CF-O-(CF2)2-SO3H, converting to wt.%, the polymer contains about 70 wt.% of the units derived from CF2=CF-O-(CF2)2-SO3H.
Regarding Claim 4, X is F in CF2=CF-O-(CF2)2-SO3H.
Regarding Claim 5, Rf is (CF2)2 in CF2=CF-O-(CF2)2-SO3H.
Regarding Claim 6, the co-monomer of Example 2 is CF2=CF2.
Regarding Claim 7, the polymer of Example 2 contains about 70 wt.% of CF2=CF-O-(CF2)2-SO3H and about 30 wt.% of CF2=CF2.
Regarding Claim 8, the molar ratio of CF2=CF-O-(CF2)2-SO3H: CF2=CF2 is 45.2 : 54.8, which is close to 1:1; CF2=CF2 is a small, unhindered symmetric molecule, which easily fits next to the bulky radical end of CF2=CF-O-(CF2)2-SO3H. Thus, it would be reasonably to infer the alternating ratio of the two monomers is 40% or more.
Regarding Claims 13-15, Murai teaches an electrolyte emulsion contains 2 to 80% by mass of the fluoropolymer and water (claim 9). Murai further teaches an electrolyte membrane comprising the electrolyte emulsion (claim 11).
Claims 1-8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Atsushi et al. (JP2002260705 A, Espacenet English translation is provided herein).
Regarding Claim 1, Atsushi teaches a fluoropolymer has a monomer unit having the formula of: CF2=CFO(CF2CFYO)k'(CF2)2S03M, Y represents a fluorine atom or trifluoromethyl group, k' represents 0 or 1, M is a hydrogen atom, an alkali metal atom or NR. The formula reads on the instant claimed general formula (I). Attention is drawn to the Synthesis Example 1, where a polymer is obtained of polymerization of CF2=CFOCF2CF(CF3)OCF2CF2SO3H (PSVE-H) and Perfluoro(2,2-dimethyl-1,3-dioxole) (PDD), the resulted polymer has molar ratio of PDD/PSVE-H is 56.5/43.5, converting to wt.%, the polymer contains about 58 wt.% of units derived from PSVE-H.
Regarding Claim 2, the obtained polymer has a weight average molecular weight of 5.6 X104.
Regarding Claim 3, the obtained polymer has a number average molecular weight of 3.3X104, the molecular weight distribution is 1.7.
Regarding Claim 4, X in CF2=CFOCF2CF(CF3)OCF2CF2SO3H is F.
Regarding Claim 5, Rf in PSVE-H is a fluorine-containing alkylene group having 5 carbon atoms and having an ether bond.
Regarding Claims 6-7, the Synthesis Example 5 discloses a TFE/PSVE-H copolymer wherein the molar ratio of TFE/PSVE= 82.2/17.8, converting to weight ratio, PSVE/TFE=49/51, close to 50/50.
Regarding claim 8, as discussed in Claims 6-7 above, Atsushi teaches a polymer is obtained from the claimed monomers in the claimed amount. Atsushi further teaches the polymerization is processed with nitrogen at 400C ([0115]), therefore, the polymer is obtained with a substantially identical process to the instant application. Thus, the resulting polymer should likewise be substantially identical to the claimed copolymer. Because the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to Applicant to show otherwise. (See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).)
Regarding Claim 13-15, Murai teaches a coating liquid containing TFE/PSVE-H copolymer and water and the solid content is 8%, the solid content of the TFE/PSVE-H copolymer is 2.4%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatemoto, as applied to Claim 1 at para. 9 above.
Regarding Claims 3 and 11-12, Example 2 of Tatemoto discloses of repeating purification of the resulted copolymer. The purification decreases molecular weight distribution value and contents of dimer and trimer and fraction having a molecular weight of 3,000 or less contained in the copolymer. NaSO3CF2CF2OCF=CF2 dimers or trimers are environmental hazardous and causes bleeding of products made from NaSO3CF2CF2OCF=CF2 polymer and the dimers or the trimers. Therefore, one ordinary skilled artisan is motivated, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to eliminate NaSO3CF2CF2OCF=CF2 dimers and trimers from the copolymer composition. The low-molecular-weight fraction has -SO3 concentration, therefore, the low-molecular-weight molecules behave more like surfactants than structural polymers, as such mechanical strength would be impaired of the copolymer containing the low-molecular-weight fraction. Thus, one ordinary skilled artisan is motivated, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to eliminate the low-molecular-weight fraction.
Further, Tatemoto discloses the copolymer is made into a sheet (example 2). A polymer with narrower molecular weight distribution values would result in smoother surfaces and more precise dimensional control in the finished product. Thus, molecular weight distribution would be considered a result effective variable by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount of molecular weight distribution cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of instant application would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the molecular weight distribution values to obtain a desired final product, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (See MPEP 2144.05(b).)
Regarding Claim 8, The polymer of Example 2 is obtained from 41 mol% of NaSO3CF2CF2OCF=CF2 and 59 mol% of TFE. Poly(TFE) is highly crystalline, rigid, and prone to stress cracking. Thus, one ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make the alternating ratio of each of the blocks as high as possible. Tatemoto discloses that the copolymer of Example 2 is an A-B-A block copolymer, A being a crystalline random copolymer segment and B being an amorphous random copolymer segment (9:5-10). Therefore, one ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make B segment 100% alternating ratio, A segment contains a 100% alternating ratio subsegment next to a PTFE subsegment, consequently, the polymer of Example to can have 80% alternating ratio (100-(59-41)).
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murai, as applied to Claim 1 at para. 10 above.
Regarding Claims 9-10, Murai teaches a polymer can have 10-95 mol% of CF2=CF-O-(CF2)2-SO3H and 5 to 90 mol% of CF2=CF2 ([0023]), where a polymer is obtained from 95 mol% of CF2=CF-O-(CF2)2-SO3H and 5 mol% of CF2=CF2, the wt.% of CF2=CF-O-(CF2)2-SO3H is 98.83 wt.%. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties (See MPEP2144.05 I). Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Here, 98.83 wt.%. is rounded to 99 wt.% and close to 100 wt.%, therefore, one ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to obtain a polymer which consists of the SO3Z group-containing monomer.
Regarding Claims 11-12, Murai teaches filtering the obtained copolymer ([0183] and [0185]). One ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to eliminate dimer and trimer of the constitutive monomers and low-molecular-weight fraction, before the effective filing date of the instant application.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atsushi, as applied to Claim 1 at para. 11 above.
Atsushi teaches purifying the obtained copolymer ([0116-0117]). As discussed above, one ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to eliminate dimer and trimer of the constitutive monomers and low-molecular-weight fraction. Therefore, the amount of the impurities would be considered a result effective variable by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of instant application. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed dimer and trimer content and low-molecular-weight fraction amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of instant application would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the dimer and trimer content and low-molecular-weight fraction amount, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (See MPEP 2144.05(b).)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-12 of copending Application No. 18/317,531 (‘531) dated 08/14/2023. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding Claims 1 and 9-10, claim 1 of ‘531 claims a fluoropolymer derived from monomer (I) having the formula of CX2=CX-O-Rf-A, wherein X and Rf have the same definition of the instant X and Fr. A can be SO3M. claim 1 of ‘531 further claims the monomer (I) is 40 mol% or more based on the entirety of polymerization units constituting the fluoropolymer, in other words, the monomer (I) is 40 mol% to 100 mol% based on the entirety of polymerization units constituting the fluoropolymer. Thus, the content of the monomer (I) claimed by ‘531 overlaps the instant claimed 50% by mass or more, 99% by mass or more, and 100% by mass.
Regarding Claim 2, claims 1-2 of ‘531 claim the limitation.
Regarding Claim 3, claim 3 of ‘531 claims the limitation.
Regarding Claim 4, claim 4 of ‘531 claims the limitation.
Regarding Claim 5, claim 5 of ‘531 claims the limitation.
Regarding Claim 6, claim 7 of ‘531 claims the limitation.
Regarding Claim 7, although claim 8 claims mass ratio while claim 8 of ‘531 claims molar ratio, when using a common CFR=CR2 molecule CF2=CF2 and Na as the metal atom, Rf is CF2 or CF2CF2, the ranges of ‘531 overlap the ranges of the instant Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 8, claim 9 of ‘531 claims the limitation.
Regarding Claim 11, claim 11 of ‘531 claims the limitation.
Regarding Claim 12, the scope of claim 12 of ‘531 overlaps the scope of the instant Claim 12.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/HUIHONG QIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763