DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 and 10-14 are pending in the application. Claim 9 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the prior art of record taken alone, or in combination, fails to teach (1) to "control image transmission to the display via the interface so that a single image is displayed on the display for at least the display time," and (2) that "the display setting of the display includes an electro-optical transfer function set in the display and information of a tone range," as currently recited. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is attempting to attack the prior art references separately rather than taking the prior references as a whole. As discussed in the previous action, Jang (US 2014/0125555 A1) clearly discloses the ability to control transmission of an image from a digital camera to an external display as shown in figs. 3 and 5. Furthermore, the claim merely says for “at least the display time”. The display time could be 1 sec, 2 sec, etc, fig. 5 shows the thumbnail selected on the display of the digital camera, and the external display concurrently showing the thumbnail, therefore at the minimum, the claim limitation has been met. Lastly as disclosed by Ishii et al (US 2016/0309093 A1) and put forth in the prior office action, fig. 7 discloses a display time-setting unit for displaying an image to an external display either during predetermined time or a random time. Regarding "the display setting of the display includes an electro-optical transfer function set in the display and information of a tone range," Yamaguchi (US 2019/0080435 A1) clearly discloses the claim language as currently recited. Attention is directed to para 0036, which recites the following, “A tone conversion unit 204 performs predetermined tone conversion (nonlinear processing) on the RGB signals output from the signal integration unit 203 to generate the output signals R′, G′ and B′. Here, the tone conversion processing performed in the tone conversion unit 204 can be expressed as y=f(x) where x is input, y is output, and conversion characteristic is f(x). Therefore, the output signals R′, G′, B′ are obtained by the calculations of expressions (10) to (12) with respect to input Rmix, Gmix and Bmix. The conversion characteristic f(x) is an inverse characteristic to the EOTF (electrooptical conversion) characteristic defined for an HDR compatible monitor. FIG. 5A shows the EOTF characteristic on the monitor side, and FIG. 5B shows the tone conversion characteristics of the camera.” The electrooptical transfer function characteristic is on the monitor side (i.e. display) based on tone information (emphasis added). Finally, each prior art used is in the same field of endeavor, being camera image(s) being displayed on an external display/monitor. Based on these reasoning(s)/rationale(s), the prior art of rejection will remain. It is highly suggested to amend the claim further highlight the inventive concept.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 2014/0125555 A1) and Ishii et al (US 2016/0309093 A1) in further view of Yamaguchi (US 2019/0080435 A1).
As per claim 1, Jang discloses an image processing apparatus (fig. 3, digital image processing apparatus 100), comprising:
an interface configured to transmit an image that a display is to be caused to display (fig. 3, digital image processing apparatus 100, connector 150, external display apparatus 200, para 0052);
one or more processors (fig. 3, digital image processing apparatus 100, digital signal processor 160); and
a memory storing instructions which, when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors (fig. 3, digital image processing apparatus 100, storage unit 140, para 0051, also see para 0101), cause the image processing apparatus to function as:
a control unit (fig. 3, digital image processing apparatus 100, digital signal processor 160) configured to control image transmission to the display via the interface so that a single image is displayed on the display (fig. 5, digital image processing apparatus 100 transmitting a single image to external display apparatus 200),
wherein the control unit, in a case where a display setting of the display is changed so that the display setting of the display and a characteristic of an image that the display is to be caused to display correspond, controls image transmission so that after the change to the display setting in the display is completed, a single image is displayed on the display (figs. 3 and 5, digital image processing apparatus 100, digital signal processor 160, external display apparatus 200, changing to thumbnail reproduction mode signal causes a single image to be displayed and in a second display command, the thumbnail image is displayed in a full screen on external display apparatus 200, see para 0064, 0066-0069).
Jang fails to teach a setting unit configured to set a display time corresponding to a length of time that the display is to be caused to display a single image. However, Ishii discloses an imaging module 100 connected to an image display terminal 20d which may be external, comprising a display time-setting unit 2021 wherein each displayed image may be set either to a predetermined time or a random time to be displayed (Ishii, fig. 7, imaging module 100, image display terminal 20d, display time-setting unit 2021, para 0125-0129).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Jang in view of Ishii, as a whole, by incorporating the ability to modify the display times of images being displayed as taught by Ishii, into the imaging system as taught by Jang, because doing so would provide a more efficient way of controlling the images be displayed to an external display, thus enhancing controllability of the imaging system.
The combined teachings of Jang in view of Ishii, as a whole, fails to teach wherein the display setting of the display includes an electro-optical transfer function set in the display and information of a tone range. However, Yamaguchi discloses a digital camera that can be hooked to an HDR monitor, including an electro-optical transfer function (EOTF) on the monitor side regarding tone characteristics (Yamaguchi, figs. 1, 5A and 5B, digital camera, para 0036, also see Response to Arguments above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Jang and Ishii, in further view of Yamaguchi, as a whole, by incorporating the ability to adjust tone conversions as taught by Yamaguchi, into the imaging system as taught by Jang and Ishii, because doing so would provide a more efficient way of adjusting the colors of an image, thus enhancing the image quality.
As per claim 2, the combined teachings of Jang and Ishii, in further view of Yamaguchi, as a whole, further discloses the image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control unit further, in a case where a characteristic of a first image that has been displayed in the display and a characteristic of a second image that the display is to be caused to display next differ, changes the display setting of the display via the interface so that the display setting of the display and the characteristic of the second image that the display is to be caused to display correspond (Jang, figs. 9 and 10, discloses the ability to apply an effect to a thumbnail image, and the external display is changed to the characteristic of the effect that is applied to the thumbnail image and displayed).
As per claim 3, the combined teachings of Jang and Ishii, in further view of Yamaguchi, as a whole, further discloses the image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control unit further, in a case where the display setting of the display when a first image has been displayed and a characteristic of a second image that the display is to be caused to display next do not correspond, changes the display setting of the display via the interface so that the display setting of the display and the characteristic of the second image that the display is to be caused to display correspond (Jang, figs. 9 and 10, discloses the ability to apply an effect to a thumbnail image, and the external display is changed to the characteristic of the effect that is applied to the thumbnail image and displayed, which may be applied to a first or second image).
As per claim 4, the combined teachings of Jang and Ishii, in further view of Yamaguchi, as a whole, further discloses the image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control unit further, in a case where a characteristic of a first image that has been displayed in the display and a characteristic of a second image that the display is to be caused to display next are the same, controls image transmission so that a single image is displayed on the display for the display time without changing the display setting of the display (Jang, fig. 11, continuous reproduction mode, para 0057 and 0059).
As per claim 5, the combined teachings of Jang and Ishii, in further view of Yamaguchi, as a whole, further discloses the image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control unit further, in a case where the display setting of the display when a first image has been displayed and a characteristic of a second image that is to be caused to be displayed in the display next correspond, controls image transmission so that a single image is displayed on the display for the display time without changing the display setting of the display (Jang, fig. 11, continuous reproduction mode, para 0057 and 0059).
As per claim 6, the combined teachings of Jang and Ishii, in further view of Yamaguchi, as a whole, further discloses the image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein in a case where the control unit changes the display setting of the display, the control unit controls image transmission so that a single image is displayed on the display for the display time in response to a notification indicating that the change to the display setting in the display has been completed being received via the interface (Ishii, fig. 7, imaging module 100, image display terminal 20d, display time-setting unit 2021, para 0125-0129).
As per claim 7, the combined teachings of Jang and Ishii, in further view of Yamaguchi, as a whole, further discloses the image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein in a case where the control unit changes the display setting of the display, the control unit controls image transmission so that a total of the longest time required for changing the display setting in the display and the display time becomes fixed (Ishii, fig. 7, imaging module 100, image display terminal 20d, display time-setting unit 2021, para 0125-0129).
As per claim 8, the combined teachings of Jang and Ishii, in further view of Yamaguchi, as a whole, further discloses the image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control unit further acquires, from the display, information indicating the display setting of the display via the interface (Jang, fig. 3, digital image processing apparatus 100, connector 150, external display apparatus 200, para 0052).
As per claim 10, the combined teachings of Jang and Ishii, in further view of Yamaguchi, as a whole, further discloses the image processing apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a display unit configured to, in a case where a plurality of images are displayed on the display switched by the control unit, display as a playback time either a total time of display times of respective images not including a time required for changing the display setting in the display or a total time of a time required for changing the display setting in the display and the display time for the plurality of images (Ishii, fig. 2, para 0097, also fig. 7, imaging module 100, image display terminal 20d, display time-setting unit 2021, para 0125-0129).
As per claim 11, the combined teachings of Jang and Ishii, in further view of Yamaguchi, as a whole, further discloses the image processing apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a conversion unit configured to convert a characteristic of the image to be transmitted to the display according to the display setting of the display and the characteristic of the image to be transmitted to the display (Jang, figs. 3 and 5, digital image processing apparatus 100, digital signal processor 160, external display apparatus 200, changing to thumbnail reproduction mode signal causes a single image to be displayed and in a second display command, the thumbnail image is displayed in a full screen on external display apparatus 200, see para 0064, 0066-0069).
As per claim 12, the combined teachings of Jang and Ishii, in further view of Yamaguchi, as a whole, further discloses the image processing apparatus of claim 11, wherein the control unit, in a case where the characteristic of the image to be transmitted to the display has been converted by the conversion unit, controls image transmission such that the converted image is displayed on the display for the display time without changing the display setting of the display (Jang, para 0070).
As per claim 13, the combined teachings of Jang and Ishii, in further view of Yamaguchi, as a whole, further discloses a method of controlling an image processing apparatus with an interface for transmitting an image that a display is to be caused to display, the method comprising:
setting a display time corresponding to a length of time that the display is to be caused to display a single image;
controlling image transmission to the display via the interface so that a single image is displayed on the display for at least the display time,
wherein the control includes, in a case where a display setting of the display is changed so that the display setting of the display and a characteristic of an image that the display is to be caused to display correspond, controlling image transmission so that after the change to the display setting in the display is completed, a single image is displayed on the display for at least the display time,
wherein the display setting of the display includes an electro-optical transfer function set in the display and information of a tone range (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claim 1 above).
As per claim 14, the combined teachings of Jang and Ishii, in further view of Yamaguchi, as a whole, further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions for performing a method (Ishii, para 0053) of controlling an image processing apparatus with an interface for transmitting an image that a display is to be caused to display, the method comprising:
setting a display time corresponding to a length of time that the display is to be caused to display a single image;
controlling image transmission to the display via the interface so that a single image is displayed on the display for at least the display time,
wherein the control includes, in a case where a display setting of the display is changed so that the display setting of the display and a characteristic of an image that the display is to be caused to display correspond, controlling image transmission so that after the change to the display setting in the display is completed, a single image is displayed on the display for at least the display time,
wherein the display setting of the display includes an electro-optical transfer function set in the display and information of a tone range (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claim 1 above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN H MOREHEAD III/Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639