Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/17/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, clams 1-26, in the reply filed on 04/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant recites “ pattern shaping elements”. The limitation is nebulous to the Examiner. The specification does not define what pattern shaping is. Moreover, the drawings do not show the limitation. The Examiner interprets the claim as “a plurality of columns and each column comprises of a plurality of radiating elements and all together forming a pattern near each other” for the purpose of examining.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, and 13-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghoshal et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0128638, hereby referred as Ghoshal) in view of WU (US Pub. No. 2023/0188181).
Regarding claim 1,
Ghoshal discloses,
A switchable antenna, comprising (figures 2A and 3):
a radio frequency ("RF") port (figure 3, RF1 and RF2 are connected to the RF port for providing an RF signals);
an antenna array that includes at least a first column of radiating elements, a second column of radiating elements and a third column of radiating elements (first column of radiating elements 170-1, second column of radiating elements (170-2 or 170-3), and third column of radiating elements 170-4. Each column comprising a plurality of radiating elements 271); and
a feed network coupled between the RF port and the antenna array (feed network 210), wherein the feed network comprises a power divider that has an input that is coupled to the RF port (the input from RF to the power dividers 210-1/210-2),
a first output that is coupled to the first and third columns of radiating elements through a delay line (the output from power divider 210-1 coupled to first column of radiating elements 170-1 and the output from power divider 210-2 coupled to the third column of radiating elements 170-4, each of the output coupled through a delay line 230-1 and 230-2) and a second output that is coupled to the second column of radiating elements (the two inter outputs from both power dividers 210-1/210-2 which couple to the second column of radiating elements 170-2 or 170-3).
Ghoshal does not disclose,
a first output that is coupled to the first and third columns of radiating elements through a phase shifter.
However, WU teaches,
a first output that is coupled to the first and third columns of radiating elements through a phase shifter (figure 1, a power divider 108 between column of radiating elements and the output from the power divider is coupled to the radiating elements in the form of plurality of columns through phase shifters 103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a first output that is coupled to the first and third columns of radiating elements through a phase shifter, as taught by WU, into Ghoshal in order to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable result which is providing an antenna array with an improved or better characteristics such as improving beam steering or signal directionality or multi-beam operation.
Regarding claim 2,
Ghoshal does not disclose,
wherein the phase shifter comprises a selectively switched phase shifter that switches between providing a phase shift or not providing a phase shift to RF signals received from the output of the power divider.
Regarding claim 3,
Ghoshal does not disclose,
wherein the phase shifter comprises an inductive element that is configured to determine the phase shift when the phase shifter is selectively switched to provide the phase shift.
Regarding claim 4,
Ghoshal does not disclose,
wherein the phase shifter comprises a diode that is selectively switched to provide a phase shift or not provide the phase shift to the output of the power divider.
Regarding claim 5,
Ghoshal does not disclose,
an inductive element that is in parallel with the diode and is configured determine an amount of the phase shift when the phase shifter is selectively switched to provide the phase shift.
However, the Examiner taking an official notice that Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art, PHOSITA, would recognize that providing switches, inductive element, diode, and any LC circuits in parallel or series would be obvious.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide various circuitry elements such as LC circuit or diode or switches, in order to provide an improved circuitry device for the antenna array.
Regarding claim 6,
Ghoshal discloses,
wherein the antenna array includes a total of three columns of radiating elements, and wherein the power divider comprises a 1x2 power divider that provides half of an RF energy input thereto to the phase shifter and half of the RF energy to the second column of radiating elements (figures 2A and 3, plurality of columns of radiating elements 170 and power dividers 210, each of the output coupled through a delay line 230).
Ghoshal does not disclose,
a phase shifter.
However, WU teaches,
a phase shifter (figure 1, a power divider 108 between column of radiating elements and the output from the power divider is coupled to the radiating elements in the form of plurality of columns through phase shifters 103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a phase shifter, as taught by WU, into Ghoshal in order to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable result which is providing an antenna array with an improved or better characteristics such as improving beam steering or signal directionality or multi-beam operation.
Regarding claim 7,
Ghoshal discloses,
wherein the second column of radiating elements is positioned between the first and third columns of radiating elements (figures 2C and 3, first column of radiating elements 170-1, second column of radiating elements (170-2 or 170-3), and third column of radiating elements 170-4. Each column comprising a plurality of radiating elements 271).
Regarding claim 8,
Ghoshal discloses,
wherein the power divider comprises a first power divider, wherein the feed network further comprises a second power divider that has an input that is coupled to an output of the phase shifter, and wherein the second power divider includes a first output that is coupled to the first column of radiating elements and a second output that is coupled to the third column of radiating elements (figure 3, first power divider 210-1 and second power divider 210-2 which has two outputs and one output is coupled to third column of radiating element 170-4 and the other output is coupled to the first column of radiating elements 170-1 because the examiner interprets “couple” as near under broadest reasonable interpretation).
Ghoshal does not disclose,
a phase shifter.
However, WU teaches,
a phase shifter (figure 1, a power divider 108 between column of radiating elements and the output from the power divider is coupled to the radiating elements in the form of plurality of columns through phase shifters 103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a phase shifter, as taught by WU, into Ghoshal in order to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable result which is providing an antenna array with an improved or better characteristics such as improving beam steering or signal directionality or multi-beam operation.
Regarding claim 9,
Ghoshal discloses,
wherein the second power divider comprises a 1x2 power divider that provides half of an RF energy input thereto to the first column of radiating elements and half of the RF energy to the third column of radiating elements (figure 3, power divider 210-2 and columns of radiating elements 170).
Regarding claim 10,
Ghoshal discloses,
wherein the second column of radiating elements is between the first column of radiating elements and the third column of radiating elements (figures 2C and 3, first column of radiating elements 170-1, second column of radiating elements (170-2 or 170-3), and third column of radiating elements 170-4. Each column comprising a plurality of radiating elements 271).
Regarding claim 11,
As best understood, Ghoshal discloses,
wherein pattern shaping elements are positioned adjacent at least some of the radiating elements in both the first column of radiating elements and the third column of radiating elements, the pattern shaping elements configured to redirect portions of the RF energy emitted by the first column of radiating elements and the third column of radiating elements toward a center of a coverage area for the antenna array (figures 2C and 3, first column of radiating elements 170-1, second column of radiating elements (170-2 or 170-3), and third column of radiating elements 170-4. Each column comprising a plurality of radiating elements 271).
Regarding claim 13,
Ghoshal discloses,
wherein the power divider comprises a first power divider that receives first frequency band signals and a second power divider that receives second frequency band signals, wherein a first diplexer is between the first power divider and the phase shifter, and wherein a second diplexer is between the second power divider and the second column of radiating elements (see figure 3 for disclosing a plurality of columns of radiating elements and plurality of power dividers. See paragraph [0065] for teaching one or more frequency bands for the antenna).
Regarding claim 14,
Ghoshal discloses,
A switchable antenna, comprising (figures 2A and 3):
a radio frequency ("RF") input port (figure 3, RF1 and RF2 are connected to the RF port for providing an RF signals);
an antenna array that includes at least a first column of radiating elements, a second column of radiating elements and a third column of radiating elements (first column of radiating elements 170-1, second column of radiating elements (170-2 or 170-3), and third column of radiating elements 170-4. Each column comprising a plurality of radiating elements 271); and
a feed network coupled between the RF port and the antenna array (feed network 210), and
wherein the first and third columns of radiating elements are coupled to the RF input port via a greater number of power dividers than the second column of radiating elements (the output from power divider 210-1 coupled to first column of radiating elements 170-1 and the output from power divider 210-2 coupled to the third column of radiating elements 170-4, and a second output that is coupled to the second column of radiating elements (the two inter outputs from both power dividers 210-1/210-2 which couple to the second column of radiating elements 170-2 or 170-3).
Ghoshal does not disclose,
wherein the feed network comprises a phase shifter.
However, WU teaches,
wherein the feed network comprises a phase shifter (figure 1, a power divider 108 between column of radiating elements and the output from the power divider is coupled to the radiating elements in the form of plurality of columns through phase shifters 103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the feed network comprises a phase shifter, as taught by WU, into Ghoshal in order to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable result which is providing an antenna array with an improved or better characteristics such as improving beam steering or signal directionality or multi-beam operation.
Regarding claim 15,
Ghoshal discloses,
wherein the power dividers comprise: a first power divider having a first output that is coupled to an input of the phase shifter and a second output that is coupled to the second column of radiating elements; and a second power divider whose input is coupled to an output of the phase shifter and a first output that is coupled to the first column of radiating elements and a second output that is coupled to the third column of radiating elements (figure 3, first power divider 210-1 and second power divider 210-2 which has two outputs and one output is coupled to third column of radiating element 170-4 and the other output is coupled to the first column of radiating elements 170-1 because the examiner interprets “couple” as near under broadest reasonable interpretation).
Ghoshal does not disclose,
a phase shifter.
However, WU teaches,
a phase shifter (figure 1, a power divider 108 between column of radiating elements and the output from the power divider is coupled to the radiating elements in the form of plurality of columns through phase shifters 103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a phase shifter, as taught by WU, into Ghoshal in order to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable result which is providing an antenna array with an improved or better characteristics such as improving beam steering or signal directionality or multi-beam operation.
Regarding claim 16,
Ghoshal does not disclose,
wherein the phase shifter comprises a selectively switched phase shifter that switches between providing a phase shift or not providing a phase shift to RF signals received from the output of the first power divider.
Regarding claim 17,
Ghoshal does not disclose,
wherein the phase shifter comprises an inductive element that is configured to determine an amount of the phase shift when the phase shifter is selectively switched to provide the phase shift.
Regarding claim 18,
Ghoshal does not disclose,
wherein the phase shifter comprises a diode that is in parallel with an inductance.
However, the Examiner taking an official notice that Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art, PHOSITA, would recognize that providing switches, inductive element, diode, and any LC circuits in parallel or series would be obvious.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide various circuitry elements such as LC circuit or diode or switches, in order to provide an improved circuitry device for the antenna array.
Regarding claim 19,
Ghoshal discloses,
wherein the antenna array includes a total of three columns of radiating elements, and wherein the first power divider comprises a 1x2 power divider that provides half of an RF energy input thereto to the phase shifter and half of the RF energy to the second column of radiating elements (figures 2A and 3, plurality of columns of radiating elements 170 and power dividers 210, each of the output coupled through a delay line 230).
Ghoshal does not disclose,
a phase shifter.
However, WU teaches,
a phase shifter (figure 1, a power divider 108 between column of radiating elements and the output from the power divider is coupled to the radiating elements in the form of plurality of columns through phase shifters 103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a phase shifter, as taught by WU, into Ghoshal in order to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable result which is providing an antenna array with an improved or better characteristics such as improving beam steering or signal directionality or multi-beam operation.
Regarding claim 20,
Ghoshal discloses,
wherein the second power divider comprises a 1x2 power divider that provides half of an RF energy input thereto to the first column of radiating elements and half of the RF energy to the third column of radiating elements (figure 3, power divider 210-2 and columns of radiating elements 170).
Regarding claim 21,
Ghoshal discloses,
A switchable antenna, comprising (figures 2A and 3):
a radio frequency ("RF") port (figure 3, RF1 and RF2 are connected to the RF port for providing an RF signals);
an antenna array that includes at least a first column of radiating elements, a second column of radiating elements and a third column of radiating elements (first column of radiating elements 170-1, second column of radiating elements (170-2 or 170-3), and third column of radiating elements 170-4. Each column comprising a plurality of radiating elements 271); and
a feed network coupled between the RF port and the antenna array (feed network 210), wherein the feed network comprises: a first power divider that has an input that is coupled to the RF port, a first output that is coupled to a delay line and a second output that is coupled to the second column of radiating elements; and a second power divider that has an input that is coupled to the delay line, a first output that is coupled to the first column of radiating elements and a second output that is coupled to the third column of radiating elements (the output from power divider 210-1 coupled to first column of radiating elements 170-1 and the output from power divider 210-2 coupled to the third column of radiating elements 170-4, each of the output coupled through a delay line 230 and the two inter outputs from both power dividers 210-1/210-2 which couple to the second column of radiating elements 170-2 or 170-3).
Ghoshal does not disclose,
a first output that is coupled to the first and third columns of radiating elements through a phase shifter.
However, WU teaches,
a first output that is coupled to the first and third columns of radiating elements through a phase shifter (figure 1, a power divider 108 between column of radiating elements and the output from the power divider is coupled to the radiating elements in the form of plurality of columns through phase shifters 103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a first output that is coupled to the first and third columns of radiating elements through a phase shifter, as taught by WU, into Ghoshal in order to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable result which is providing an antenna array with an improved or better characteristics such as improving beam steering or signal directionality or multi-beam operation.
Regarding claim 22,
Ghoshal does not disclose,
wherein the phase shifter comprises a selectively switched phase shifter that switches between providing a phase shift or not providing a phase shift to RF signals received from the output of the first power divider.
Regarding claim 23,
Ghoshal does not disclose,
wherein the phase shifter comprises an inductive element that is configured to determine the phase shift when the phase shifter is selectively switched to provide the phase shift.
Regarding claim 24,
Ghoshal does not disclose,
wherein the phase shifter comprises a diode that is selectively switched to provide a phase shift or not provide the phase shift to the output of the first power divider.
Regarding claim 25,
Ghoshal does not disclose,
an inductive element that is in parallel with the diode and is configured determine an amount of the phase shift when the phase shifter is selectively switched to provide the phase shift.
However, the Examiner taking an official notice that Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art, PHOSITA, would recognize that providing switches, inductive element, diode, and any LC circuits in parallel or series would be obvious.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide various circuitry elements such as LC circuit or diode or switches, in order to provide an improved circuitry device for the antenna array.
Regarding claim 26,
Ghoshal discloses,
wherein the antenna array includes a total of three columns of radiating elements, wherein the first power divider comprises a 1x2 power divider that provides half of an RF energy input thereto to the phase shifter and half of the RF energy to the second column of radiating elements (figures 2A and 3, plurality of columns of radiating elements 170 and power dividers 210, each of the output coupled through a delay line 230), and
wherein the second power divider comprises a 1x2 power divider that provides half of an RF energy input thereto to the first column of radiating elements and half of the RF energy to the third column of radiating elements (figure 3, first power divider 210-1 and second power divider 210-2 which has two outputs and one output is coupled to third column of radiating element 170-4 and the other output is coupled to the first column of radiating elements 170-1 because the examiner interprets “couple” as near under broadest reasonable interpretation).
Ghoshal does not disclose,
a phase shifter.
However, WU teaches,
a phase shifter (figure 1, a power divider 108 between column of radiating elements and the output from the power divider is coupled to the radiating elements in the form of plurality of columns through phase shifters 103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a phase shifter, as taught by WU, into Ghoshal in order to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable result which is providing an antenna array with an improved or better characteristics such as improving beam steering or signal directionality or multi-beam operation.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghoshal et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0128638, hereby referred as Ghoshal) in view of WU (US Pub. No. 2023/0188181) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jervis US Pub. No. 2023/0178888.
Regarding claim 12,
Ghoshal, as modified, does not disclose,
a first impedance matching block coupled to the first output of the power divider and a second impedance matching block coupled to the second output of the power divider, wherein the first and second impedance matching blocks have equal but opposite imaginary components.
However, Jervis teaches,
a first impedance matching block coupled to the first output of the power divider and a second impedance matching block coupled to the second output of the power divider, wherein the first and second impedance matching blocks have equal but opposite imaginary components (figure 5B, impedance matching 170-1 and Power divider 190-1, impedance matching 170-3 and power divider 190-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a first impedance matching block coupled to the first output of the power divider and a second impedance matching block coupled to the second output of the power divider, wherein the first and second impedance matching blocks have equal but opposite imaginary components, as taught by Jervis, into Ghoshal as modified in order to provide an improved circuitry for the antenna array and to have maximum power transfer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Junttila et al. US 2022/0131578, Lindmark US 2020/0411962, Li et al. US 2020/0328503, Zimmerman US Pub. No. 2018/0287255.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AWAT M SALIH whose telephone number is (571)270-5601. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 8:30AM-5:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dimary Lopez can be reached at (571)-270-7893. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AWAT M SALIH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845