DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 2-4 be found allowable, claims 5-7 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 10 objected to because of the following informalities: the value for roughness is missing units of measure, for the purposes of examination it will be understood to be µm). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamoto et al. US 2021/0333725 (Nakamoto).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamoto teaches an image forming system comprising:
an image carrying element (8) that is rotatably provided and carries an image (¶0040);
an image forming element (1) that forms the image on the image carrying element using an image forming material containing at least an external additive (¶0041);
a transfer element (70/80) that transfers the image carried by the image carrying element to a medium (¶0055);
a cleaning element (10) having a plate shape, the cleaning element being disposed so that a leading end comes into contact with the image carrying element (¶0044) while being inclined in a direction opposite to a rotation direction of the image carrying element (FIG. 3) to clean a residue remaining on the image carrying element after a transfer operation by the transfer element (¶0044);
a maintenance element (90) that forms, using the image forming element, a band-shaped maintenance image (bands that are crossed, R1 and R2) of the image forming material in a non-image formation region of the image carrying element (FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B), and regularly or irregularly supplies the maintenance image to the cleaning element in a state where the transfer operation by the transfer element is not performed;
a microparticle application element (30) that regularly or irregularly applies a microparticle having lubricity to the image carrying element (powder formed from brush and solid lubricant); and
a maintenance control element that controls an amount of the maintenance image by the maintenance element depending on an application state of the microparticle on the image carrying element (i.e., when the image forming apparatus is off and no lubricant is being deposited on the belt, the test patch is also NOT formed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto et al. US 2021/0333725 (Nakamoto) and Watanabe et al. US 2013/0071163 A1 (Watanabe).
Regarding claims 8-9, Nakamoto teaches the image forming system according to claim 1. Nakamoto differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the maintenance control element includes a detection element capable of detecting an application state of the microparticle. However this is known. Watanabe teaches the maintenance control element includes a detection element capable of detecting an application state of the microparticle (¶0057) and controls the amount of the maintenance image on the basis of a detection result of the detection element (¶0059-¶0062). Furthermore Watanabe teaches the detection element includes a reflective optical sensor disposed facing an application layer of the microparticle (detecting the presence of streaks, ¶0046). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the detection method taught by Watanabe with the device taught by Nakamoto since Watanabe teaches that by monitoring the amount of lubricant and adjusting it minimizes generation of abnormal images.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto et al. US 2021/0333725 (Nakamoto) and Ishio et al. US 2021/0302901 (Ishio).
Regarding claims 10-11, Nakamoto teaches the image forming system according to claim 1. Nakamoto differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the size of the pulverized particles of lubricant or the surface roughness of the intermediate transfer belt, leaving it to one skilled in the art to pursue the known options within his or her grasp. Ishio teaches the microparticle application element applies the microparticle (PTFE particles from solid lubricant 44, ¶0164) having a particle diameter within a range of 30 nm to 150 nm (120nm, ¶0142) onto the image carrying element having a surface roughness Rz of 1.5 or less (40 nm to 120 nm, which is less than 1.5 µ, ¶0142). Furthermore Ishio tach wherein the microparticle application element applies the microparticle to the image carrying element with a coverage in a range of 10% to 50% (i.e., 20 parts by weight, ¶0165). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the specifications taught by Ishio with the device taught by Nakamoto since Nakamoto is silent with regards to these specificatons, leaving it to one skilled in the art to pursue the known options within his or her grasp, of which the teaching of Ishio provides an exemplary teaching that would yield the predictable result of an image forming apparatus functioning with minimum fine particles pass through to the final image.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JESSICA L ELEY/
Examiner, Art Unit 2852