DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument: Gaalaas teaches away from a separate bi-directional isolated configuration channel based on paragraph 43 of Gaalaas.
Examiner’s response: While paragraph 43 of Gaalaas discloses “it is desired to provide control circuits and communication methods that achieve the control goals using only existing isolator devices 720, since additional devices would increase die area and cost, it also discloses that additional separate isolation devices could be provided to communicate extra control information. That is to say, Gaalaas discloses it is possible and conceivable to provide additional and separate isolation devices for extra control information, and merely discloses a preference for no additional devices, not that additional devices would not be suitable or impossible. In combination with Moghe (Fig. 1) which specifically discloses an additional isolation device/channel to enable bi-directional control channel, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implementing a bi-directional isolated configuration channel since Gaalaas discloses it is possible to use additional isolation devices for extra control information, and Moghe discloses such an implementation. The trade-off of additional die area/cost to obtain extra control information would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the references of Gaalaas and Moghe are still appropriately combinable.
Applicant’s argument: Gaalaas explicitly discusses that the subsystem 710A does not include an inactivated low-power state. Gaalaas does not include a “second mode in which the isolated data channel is inactivated to a low-power state”.
Examiner’s response: However, paragraph 44 of Gaalaas only discloses that subsystem 710A does not have a low-power ‘suspend” mode. Claim 1 recites “operating the digital isolator in a second mode in which the isolated data channel is inactivated to a low-power state.” The claims only require that the “isolated data channel” be inactivated to a low power state. Thus, if an operational state results in the isolated data channel being idle/inactive and consuming less power, that would also apply to the recited “inactivated to a low-power state”.
Gaalaas discloses isolator receiver 744A, transmitter 742A and USB transmitter 734A can all be disabled (Paragraph 45), and also discloses when power consumption is minimized when no pulses are transmitted in the isolated devices (para. 65). Therefore, Gaalaas properly discloses the claimed subject matter.
The rest of applicant’s arguments are based on those addressed above.
The prior art rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 11, 15, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaalaas et al. (WO 2010/117674, cited in the IDS, hereinafter “Gaalaas”) in view of Moghe et al. (US 2014/0211862, hereinafter “Moghe”).
Regarding claim 1, Gaalaas discloses method of operating a digital isolator having an isolation barrier, an isolated data channel and an isolated configuration channel (method flow, Figs. 8 and 9, for isolator transceivers 710 and isolation barrier 720, Fig. 7), the method comprising:
operating the digital isolator in a first mode in which data is communicated across the isolation barrier on the isolated data channel and configuration information is communicated across the isolation barrier on the isolated configuration channel (drive downstream/upstream path states, Fig. 8 para. 45, see also data channels for isolator transceivers 130 via isolator devices 120, and “configuration” channel via isolator device 140 for enumeration enable, Fig. 1); and
operating the digital isolator in a second mode in which the isolated data channel is inactivated to a low-power state (digital isolator goes to RESET state, isolator transmitters and receivers are disabled, and USB transmitter also disabled, Fig. 8, para. 0045, save power, minimizing power consumption, para. 0065).
However Gaalaas does not expressly disclose both the isolated data channel and the isolated configuration channel are bi-directional channels.
Moghe discloses a similar USB digital isolator system which includes a bi-directional control channel that allows for each of the two sides of the digital isolator to transmit the current state to the other side so that each side can update its own side, detecting and correcting errors due to power supply or signal glitches or common mode transients (para. 0085).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, to modify the digital isolator system of Gaalaas with a bi-directional control channel as taught by Moghe since this provides both sides of the isolator with additional status information that enables error detection and correction.
Regarding claim 2, Gaalaas further discloses entering the second mode in response to detecting a lack of communication on the isolated data channel (entering IDLE state when end of packet condition occurs, para. 0047, 0048).
Regarding claim 3, Gaalaas discloses everything applied to claim 1 above, but does not expressly disclose when operating the digital isolator in the second mode, conveying a wake-up signal across the isolation barrier.
Moghe discloses a similar USB digital isolator system (Fig. 1) that also has multiple operation modes including upstream and downstream transmission modes (of varying speeds) as well as corresponding “suspend” and “wake” modes (see page 4, para. 0062-0082). Moghe further discloses wakeup signals (from suspend) are propagated through the isolator by FS/LS signaling (para. 0110).
Because both Gaalaas and Moghe disclose USB digital isolator systems with active and inactive transmission modes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, to substitute one mode switching scheme for another for the predictable result of implementing transmit and receive functions for a wake up signal across the isolation barrier for switching from a suspend mode to a wake mode.
Regarding claim 10, Gaalaas discloses a multi-mode galvanic isolator, comprising:
an isolated data channel configured to transfer data across an isolation barrier of the multi- mode galvanic isolator (data channels across barriers 720, Fig. 7, multiple modes, see Figs. 8 and 9); and
control circuitry coupled to the isolated data channel and configured to deactivate at least some circuitry of the isolated data channel to a low-power state in response to an absence of data communication through the isolated data channel (upstream controller 750A controls the operating modes of the data channel between drive modes and RESET 810 mode, para. 0045, Fig. 8; similar for reset 910, para. 0050, DRIVE DOWNSTREAM state 830 returns to IDLE state 820 when end of packet is encountered, para. 0048, Fig. 8, IDLE state “disables USB transmitter”, para. 0045).
Gaalaas does not expressly disclose wakeup circuitry configured to transfer a wakeup signal across the isolation barrier to wake up at least some circuitry of the isolated data channel from a deactivated low-power state.
Moghe discloses a similar USB digital isolator system (Fig. 1) that also has multiple operation modes including upstream and downstream transmission modes (of varying speeds) as well as corresponding “suspend” and “wake” modes (see page 4, para. 0062-0082). Moghe further discloses wakeup signals (from suspend) are propagated through the isolator by FS/LS signaling (para. 0110, it is implicit that corresponding circuitry for sending and receiving the wake(up) signals would be present to enable the wakeup state of the isolator).
Because both Gaalaas and Moghe disclose USB digital isolator systems with active and inactive transmission modes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, to substitute one mode switching scheme for another for the predictable result of implementing circuitry to transmit and receive wake up signal for switching between active transmit and suspend modes.
Regarding claim 11, Gaalaas further discloses the control circuitry is configured to activate the at least some circuitry of the isolated data channel after deactivating the at least some circuitry (system can go from IDLE 820 state to Drive Upstream state, which enables the USB transmitter, Fig. 8, para. 0045).
Regarding claim 15, Gaalaas further discloses the control circuitry comprises event detection circuitry configured to detect a data transmission event (controller 750, detects end of packet, para. 0064)
Regarding claim 16, Gaalaas discloses an isolated system, comprising:
a first device (710A, Fig. 7);
a second device (710B, Fig. 7); and
a digital isolator coupling the first and second devices, wherein the digital isolator is configured to operate in a first power consumption mode when the first and second devices are communicating with each other and a second power consumption mode when the first and second devices are not communicating with each other (isolation barrier 720, Fig. 7; drive downstream/upstream path states, Fig. 8 para. 45, see also data channels for isolator transceivers 130 via isolator devices 120, and “configuration” channel via isolator device 140 for enumeration enable, Fig. 1; and digital isolator goes to RESET state, isolator transmitters and receivers are disabled, and USB transmitter also disabled, Fig. 8, para. 0045, save power, minimizing power consumption, para. 0065).
However Gaalaas does not expressly disclose wakeup circuitry configured to be active during the second power consumption mode.
Moghe discloses a similar USB digital isolator system (Fig. 1) that also has multiple operation modes including upstream and downstream transmission modes (of varying speeds) as well as corresponding “suspend” and “wake” modes (see page 4, para. 0062-0082). Moghe further discloses wakeup signals (from suspend) are propagated through the isolator by FS/LS signaling (para. 0110, it is implicit that corresponding circuitry for receiving the wake(up) signals would be present to enable the wakeup state of the isolator).
Because both Gaalaas and Moghe disclose USB digital isolator systems with active and inactive transmission modes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, to substitute one mode switching scheme for another for the predictable result of implementing wakeup circuitry configured to be active during a suspend mode for receiving a wakeup signal.
Regarding claim 19, Gaalaas further discloses the digital isolator is configured to deactivate a portion of its circuitry during the second power consumption mode (entering RESET state when end of packet condition occurs, para. 0047, 0048).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 13-14, and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/David S Huang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 4/4/2026