DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The Examiner notes that it has been held that a recitation that a structural element is "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” perform a function does not limit the claim to a particular structure and thus only requires the ability to so perform the function. (See In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. See also, MPEP 2111.04) As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the recitations of "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” will be deemed met by an element in the prior art capable of performing the function recited in connection with "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to”. The examiner is aware of the functional language in the various claims.
Disclaimer
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10, 11, 13 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Randolph (US Patent NO. 6,277,040).
Regarding claim 1, Randolph discloses an apparatus (see Figures 1-3), comprising: a shaft having a length (as shown in Figure 1, the bat (2) has a length that measures from the top end to the bottom end), from a first end of the shaft (the end towards the knob (5)) to a second end of the shaft opposite to the first end (the tip top end of the bat as shown in Figure 1), of not less than 10 centimeters (column 1 lines 47-48 discloses that the device is a standard ball bat and this confirms that the length of the bat/shaft is inherently not less than 10 centimeters); and an attachment member attached to the shaft and configured to be removably attached (1) to a handle of a sporting bat (the bottom section of the bat identified as component 4) such that a longitudinal axis of the shaft extends at an angle with respect to a longitudinal axis of the handle that is between, and inclusive of, 0 and 25 degrees (as shown in Figures 1-2, the longitudinal axis of the shaft and the handle are considered to be the same and this can be interpreted as these two sections of the bat as having zero angle).
It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the attachment member comprises a first polymeric material (column 3 lines 3-5 discloses “The taper grip 1, when formed from injection molding, can be made from elastomers such as "KRATON.RTM.", "VERSAFLEX.TM.","DYNAFLEX.RTM.". The taper grip 1 can also be formed from compression molding or transfer molding, in which case it can be made from natural or synthetic rubber or a combination of both, such as a natural rubber/styrene butadiene rubber mixture, "31X" extruder rope rubber, or HD-30 cushion gum (both manufactured by BANDAG.RTM.)” . As it is known, KRATON, VERSAFLEX, and DYNAFLEX are considered polymeric materials).
Regarding claim 5, wherein: the handle (4) comprises a knob (5); the attachment member is configured to be removably attached to the knob (1); and the attachment member is configured to be stretched to and/or has a width greater than a maximum width of the knob (column 3 lines 13-15 discloses that the taper grip 1 is resilient enough to stretch over the knob 5).
Regarding claim 6, the attachment member further comprising a portion configured to conform to a shape of the knob when the attachment member is attached to the handle (column 3 lines 13-15 discloses that the taper grip 1 is resilient enough to stretch over the knob 5 and since the attachment member is resilient, it is capable of conforming to the shape of the knob).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the attachment member is made of an attachment member material having a Young's modulus of not greater than 1 and configured to allow the attachment member to be removably attached to and/or removed from the handle by stretching the attachment member material (column 3 lines 3-5 discloses “The taper grip 1, when formed from injection molding, can be made from elastomers such as "KRATON.RTM.", "VERSAFLEX.TM.","DYNAFLEX.RTM.". The taper grip 1 can also be formed from compression molding or transfer molding, in which case it can be made from natural or synthetic rubber or a combination of both, such as a natural rubber/styrene butadiene rubber mixture, "31X" extruder rope rubber, or HD-30 cushion gum (both manufactured by BANDAG.RTM.)” . As it is known, KRATON, VERSAFLEX, and DYNAFLEX are considered polymeric materials and these elastomers are polymeric materials, typically have a very low Young's modulus, often in the range of megapascals (MPa) or even lower, significantly less than 1 GPa).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the angle is between, and inclusive of, 0 and 10 degrees (as shown in Figures 1-2, the longitudinal axis of the shaft and the handle are considered to be the same and this can be interpreted as these two sections of the bat as having zero angle).
Regarding claim 10, the shaft further comprising: a first width at the first end; a second width at the second end that is greater than the first width; and a tapered portion between the first end and the second end (as shown in Figure 1, the bottom end of bat 2 has a first width and the second width at the top end of bat 2 has a greater width than the first width and the middle tapered section as shown in the figure meets the claim limitations).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the shaft and attachment member are shaped to resemble the sporting bat (as shown in Figure 1, a baseball bat is disclosed).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the sporting bat comprises at least one of: a baseball bat, a softball bat, a cricket bat, or any combination thereof (column 2 line 65 discloses that the device could be a baseball or softball bat).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the attachment member surrounds a perimeter of the shaft at the first end (see Figures 1-2. The inner circumference (10) of the attachment member (1) is shown as surrounding a perimeter of the shaft at the first end).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the shaft has a circular cross-section (since the bat overall structure is cylindrical, it clearly has a circular cross-section).
Regarding claim 18, Randolph discloses a system comprising: a shaft having a length (as shown in Figure 1, the bat (2) has a length that measures from the top end to the bottom end), from a first end of the shaft (the end towards the knob (5)) to a second end of the shaft opposite to the first end (the tip top end of the bat as shown in Figure 1), of not less than 10 centimeters (column 1 lines 47-48 discloses that the device is a standard ball bat and this confirms that the length of the bat/shaft is inherently not less than 10 centimeters); and an attachment member configured to be removably attached to (1): the shaft (2); and a handle of a sporting bat (the bottom section of the bat identified as component 4) such that a longitudinal axis of the shaft extends at an angle with respect to a longitudinal axis of the handle that is between, and inclusive of, 0 and 25 degrees when the attachment member is attached to the shaft (as shown in Figures 1-2, the longitudinal axis of the shaft and the handle are considered to be the same and this can be interpreted as these two sections of the bat as having zero angle).
It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 19, Randolph discloses a method, comprising: attaching a shaft (2) to an attachment member (1), the shaft having a length, from a first end of the shaft to a second end of the shaft opposite to the first end (as shown in Figure 1, the bat (2) has a length that measures from the top end to the bottom end), of not less than 10 centimeters (column 1 lines 47-48 discloses that the device is a standard ball bat and this confirms that the length of the bat/shaft is inherently not less than 10 centimeters); and removably attaching the attachment member (1) to a handle of a sporting bat such that a longitudinal axis of the shaft extends at an angle with respect to a longitudinal axis of the handle that is between, and inclusive of, 0 and 25 degrees when the attachment member is attached to the shaft and to the handle (as shown in Figures 1-2, the longitudinal axis of the shaft and the handle are considered to be the same and this can be interpreted as these two sections of the bat as having zero angle). During normal use and operation of the Randolph device, the method steps as recited would inherently be performed when assembling the bat to the attachment member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims
2, 9, 12, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randolph.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 14, Randolph does not explicitly the shaft material having a density of not greater than 1.7 grams per cubic centimeter, the length not being greater than 80 centimeters, the weight of the apparatus not being greater than 0.1 kilograms. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a device that has the listed values, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 12, the attachment element is capable of being positioned at any higher location along handle 4 and depending on the bat (see abstract of Randolph), the along the attachment member the 10 centimeter location could obviously be met. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a device at any working location including the claimed location, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 20, Randolph does not explicitly the shaft material having a density of not greater than 1.7 grams per cubic centimeter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a device to have a density of not greater than 1.7 grams per cubic centimeter since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 4 and 15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randolph in view of Van Nguyen (US patent Application Publication No. 2007/0202973).
Randolph does not explicitly disclose wherein the shaft material comprises a second polymeric material different from the first polymeric material and the shaft further comprising a surface material that is different from a material of the handle. Van Nguyen is one example of reference that teaches the use of resilient sleeve 22 (see paragraph 18) over the shaft that is considered as a second polymeric material that is different from a material of the handle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to provide the Randolph device with a sleeve material (22) as taught by the Van Nguyen device in order to improve the ability of the bat to absorb impacts when the ball contacts the ball as disclosed in paragraph 31 of the Van Nguyen reference.
Conclusion
The following are suggested formats for either a Certificate of Mailing or Certificate of Transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). The certification may be included with all correspondence concerning this application or proceeding to establish a date of mailing or transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). Proper use of this procedure will result in such communication being considered as timely if the established date is within the required period for reply. The Certificate should be signed by the individual actually depositing or transmitting the correspondence or by an individual who, upon information and belief, expects the correspondence to be mailed or transmitted in the normal course of business by another no later than the date indicated.
Certificate of Mailing
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being deposited with the United States Postal Service with sufficient postage as first class mail in an envelope addressed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
on __________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
________________________________________________________
Signature: ______________________________________
Certificate of Transmission by Facsimile
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the United States Patent and Trademark Office, Fax No. (___)_____ -_________ on _____________. (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Certificate of Transmission via USPTO Patent Electronic Filing System
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being transmitted via the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) patent electronic filing system to the USPTO
on _____________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Please refer to 37 CFR 1.6(a)(4), 1.6(d) and 1.8(a)(2) for filing limitations concerning transmissions via the USPTO patent electronic filing system, facsimile transmissions and mailing, respectively.
/NINI F LEGESSE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711