DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, “direction..” should be replaced with --direction.--.
In claim 10, “toner..” should be replaced with --toner.--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nada et al. (US 7,623,820) in view of Tani et al. (US 4,297,021).
Regarding claim 1, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device (element 402, Fig. 13) comprising: a plate-like cleaning member (element 111, Fig. 13) that cleans a cleaning target surface, which is moved with toner attached thereto, of a cleaning target body (element 12e, Fig. 13) by scraping the toner with a part of a distal end surface of the cleaning member contacting the cleaning target surface; a body (element 150, Fig. 13) that has a storage space that stores waste toner that has fallen after being scraped by the cleaning member; and a transport member (element 200, Fig. 13) disposed in the storage space of the body at a position below the distal end surface of the cleaning member to transport the waste toner stored in the storage space along a longitudinal direction of the cleaning member, wherein the transport member includes a non-transport portion (see annotated Fig. 9 below) that exerts no transport force in a direction along the longitudinal direction of the cleaning member.
Although Nada et al. does not appear to disclose the transport member transporting waste toner to be fed to the outside of the body, Tani et al. shows that this feature is well known in the art. Tani et al. discloses a cleaning device (see Fig. 4), wherein the transport member (element 33, Fig. 8) transports waste toner to be fed to the outside of the body (see Fig. 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, such as increased waste collection capacity by providing a waste recovery tank.
Regarding claim 2, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device, wherein the non-transport portion is provided at one position in a range to include and face an end portion (see annotated Fig. 9 below) of the cleaning member on an upstream side in a transport direction, of two end portions of the cleaning member in the longitudinal direction (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device, wherein the non-transport portion is provided at one position in a range from the upstream end portion of the cleaning member to a position on a downstream side in the transport direction (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device, wherein the non-transport portion is provided at two positions in a range to respectively include and face two end portions (see annotated Fig. 9 above) of the cleaning member in the longitudinal direction (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 5, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device, wherein the non-transport portion is provided at two positions including a first position in a range from an end portion on an upstream side in a transport direction (see Fig. 9), of the two end portions of the cleaning member, to a position on a downstream side in the transport direction, and a second position in a range from an end portion on a downstream side in the transport direction to a position on an upstream side in the transport direction (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device, wherein the transport member includes transport portions provided at positions upstream and downstream of the non-transport portion in a transport direction so as to interpose the non-transport portion, the transport portion exerting a transport force in a direction along the longitudinal direction of the cleaning member (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 7, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device, further comprising: a holding member (see annotated Fig. 13 below) that holds a rear end portion of the cleaning member, wherein the transport member is disposed such that a lowermost end of the transport portion is located below an upper end of a portion of the holding member that holds the cleaning member (see Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 8, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device, wherein the transport member is an auger (see Fig. 9) including a rotary shaft disposed along the longitudinal direction of the cleaning member (see Fig. 9), and a transport blade provided so as to be spirally wound around the rotary shaft (see Fig. 9), and the non-transport portion is a portion of the auger at which the transport blade is discontinuous and not provided (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 17, Nada et al. discloses an image forming apparatus (see Fig. 12) comprising: an image forming portion (see Fig. 12) that forms an image composed of toner on a recording medium; and the cleaning device (element 402, Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 18, Nada et al. discloses an image forming apparatus, wherein, in a case where an effective image holding region is located on the cleaning target surface, the non-transport portion of the transport member is provided at two positions in a range to respectively face the two ends of the cleaning member in the longitudinal direction and ends of the effective image holding region (see Figs. 9, 12, and 13).
Claims 1-8, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nada et al. (US 7,623,820) in view of Nakajima (US 8,971,785).
Regarding claim 1, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device (element 402, Fig. 13) comprising: a plate-like cleaning member (element 111, Fig. 13) that cleans a cleaning target surface, which is moved with toner attached thereto, of a cleaning target body (element 12e, Fig. 13) by scraping the toner with a part of a distal end surface of the cleaning member contacting the cleaning target surface; a body (element 150, Fig. 13) that has a storage space that stores waste toner that has fallen after being scraped by the cleaning member; and a transport member (element 200, Fig. 13) disposed in the storage space of the body at a position below the distal end surface of the cleaning member to transport the waste toner stored in the storage space along a longitudinal direction of the cleaning member, wherein the transport member includes a non-transport portion (see annotated Fig. 9 above) that exerts no transport force in a direction along the longitudinal direction of the cleaning member.
Although Nada et al. does not appear to disclose the transport member transporting waste toner to be fed to the outside of the body, Nakajima shows that this feature is well known in the art. Nakajima discloses a cleaning device (element 46, Fig. 6), wherein the transport member (element 463, Fig. 6) transports waste toner to be fed to the outside of the body (see Fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, such as increased waste collection capacity by providing a waste toner box.
Regarding claim 2, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device, wherein the non-transport portion is provided at one position in a range to include and face an end portion (see annotated Fig. 9 above) of the cleaning member on an upstream side in a transport direction, of two end portions of the cleaning member in the longitudinal direction (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device, wherein the non-transport portion is provided at one position in a range from the upstream end portion of the cleaning member to a position on a downstream side in the transport direction (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device, wherein the non-transport portion is provided at two positions in a range to respectively include and face two end portions (see annotated Fig. 9 above) of the cleaning member in the longitudinal direction (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 5, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device, wherein the non-transport portion is provided at two positions including a first position in a range from an end portion on an upstream side in a transport direction (see Fig. 9), of the two end portions of the cleaning member, to a position on a downstream side in the transport direction, and a second position in a range from an end portion on a downstream side in the transport direction to a position on an upstream side in the transport direction (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device, wherein the transport member includes transport portions provided at positions upstream and downstream of the non-transport portion in a transport direction so as to interpose the non-transport portion, the transport portion exerting a transport force in a direction along the longitudinal direction of the cleaning member (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 7, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device, further comprising: a holding member (see annotated Fig. 13 above) that holds a rear end portion of the cleaning member, wherein the transport member is disposed such that a lowermost end of the transport portion is located below an upper end of a portion of the holding member that holds the cleaning member (see Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 8, Nada et al. discloses a cleaning device, wherein the transport member is an auger (see Fig. 9) including a rotary shaft disposed along the longitudinal direction of the cleaning member (see Fig. 9), and a transport blade provided so as to be spirally wound around the rotary shaft (see Fig. 9), and the non-transport portion is a portion of the auger at which the transport blade is discontinuous and not provided (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 17, Nada et al. discloses an image forming apparatus (see Fig. 12) comprising: an image forming portion (see Fig. 12) that forms an image composed of toner on a recording medium; and the cleaning device (element 402, Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 18, Nada et al. discloses an image forming apparatus, wherein, in a case where an effective image holding region is located on the cleaning target surface, the non-transport portion of the transport member is provided at two positions in a range to respectively face the two ends of the cleaning member in the longitudinal direction and ends of the effective image holding region (see Figs. 9, 12, and 13).
Claims 9-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nada et al. (US 7,623,820) in view of Tani et al. (US 4,297,021) as applied to claims 1-8, 17, and 18 above, and further in view of Kamimura et al. (US 7,447,467).
Regarding claims 9-16 and 19, even assuming arguendo, without conceding, that Nada et al. does not disclose the cleaning target body and the cleaning device configured as a removable unit, Kamimura et al. discloses a removable unit (elements 50b, 55b, Fig. 11) comprising: a cleaning target body (element 58, Fig. 11) that includes a cleaning target surface that is moved with toner attached thereto; and the cleaning device (element 55b, Fig. 11), wherein the removable unit is removably mountable to an image forming apparatus (element 15, Fig. 11) that forms an image composed of toner; the image forming apparatus comprising an image forming portion (see Fig. 11) that forms an image composed of toner on a recording medium; and the removable unit, which constitutes a part of the image forming portion (see Fig. 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, such as improving accessibility to the interior of the image forming apparatus for maintenance and repair purposes. The Applicant is reminded that “The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference... Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.” In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). See also In re Sneed, 710 F.2d 1544, 1550, 218 USPQ 385, 389 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (“It is not necessary that the inventions of the references be physically combinable to render obvious the invention under review.”); and In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973) (“Combining the teachings of references does not involve an ability to combine their specific structures.”) (MPEP § 2145.III).
Regarding claim 20, in the modified device of Nada et al. in a case where an effective image holding region is located on the cleaning target surface in the removable unit (see Fig. 11 of Kamimura et al.), the non-transport portion of the transport member would be provided at two positions in a range to respectively face the two ends of the cleaning member in the longitudinal direction and ends of the effective image holding region (see Figs. 9, 12, and 13 of Nada et al.).
Claims 9-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nada et al. (US 7,623,820) in view of Nakajima (US 8,971,785) as applied to claims 1-8, 17, and 18 above, and further in view of Kamimura et al. (US 7,447,467).
Regarding claims 9-16 and 19, even assuming arguendo, without conceding, that Nada et al. does not disclose the cleaning target body and the cleaning device configured as a removable unit, Kamimura et al. discloses a removable unit (elements 50b, 55b, Fig. 11) comprising: a cleaning target body (element 58, Fig. 11) that includes a cleaning target surface that is moved with toner attached thereto; and the cleaning device (element 55b, Fig. 11), wherein the removable unit is removably mountable to an image forming apparatus (element 15, Fig. 11) that forms an image composed of toner; the image forming apparatus comprising an image forming portion (see Fig. 11) that forms an image composed of toner on a recording medium; and the removable unit, which constitutes a part of the image forming portion (see Fig. 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, such as improving accessibility to the interior of the image forming apparatus for maintenance and repair purposes. The Applicant is reminded that “The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference... Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.” In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). See also In re Sneed, 710 F.2d 1544, 1550, 218 USPQ 385, 389 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (“It is not necessary that the inventions of the references be physically combinable to render obvious the invention under review.”); and In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973) (“Combining the teachings of references does not involve an ability to combine their specific structures.”) (MPEP § 2145.III).
Regarding claim 20, in the modified device of Nada et al. in a case where an effective image holding region is located on the cleaning target surface in the removable unit (see Fig. 11 of Kamimura et al.), the non-transport portion of the transport member would be provided at two positions in a range to respectively face the two ends of the cleaning member in the longitudinal direction and ends of the effective image holding region (see Figs. 9, 12, and 13 of Nada et al.).
Response to Arguments
The argued limitations of amended claim 1 are now rejected over Nada et al. in view of newly discovered Tani et al. (US 4,297,021), as well as over Nada et al. in view of previously cited Nakajima.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/M.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
2/7/2026