DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 08 September 2026 have been entered. Claims 1 – 31 and 50 are pending. Claims 16 – 31 and 50 are withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments to the abstract and claims have overcome each and every objection to the specification and claims previously applied in the office action dated 08 June 2026.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant argues at [Page 11, “Application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) in the interpretation of the claims” section] – [Page 12, 1st Full Paragraph] that the claim does not recite “means” or “step”, and a person or ordinary skill in the art reading the specification would understand the term to have the meaning of non-limiting examples of blood pressure sensing devices in [0099]. It is precisely that reading of the term from the specification that the 112(f) interpretation uses to interpret the meaning of the term.
From the previous action: “This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.”
The term “blood pressure sensing device” includes the nonce term “device” with the functional language of “blood pressure sensing”. There is nothing particular in “device” that indicates that it has any structure necessary to sense blood pressure, that indicates whether this might be just a blood pressure cuff portion, an implanted sensor, a processor, or some combination of mechanical and electrical parts. As such, 112(f) is invoked, and the interpretation is found looking to the specification at [0099] and Figs 4A and 4B for the structural meaning of the term, as described in the previous action. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 12, 1st Full Paragraph] that 112f should not be applied because [0177] in Applicant’s specification says that no claim element herein should be construed under 112(f) unless it expressly recites “means for”. Per MPEP guidance, recitations in claim language that “uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier” are to be interpreted under 112(f). Whether 112(f) is applied to a claim is based on the claim language recited, and proceeds per the MPEP § 2181 guidance. The argument is not persuasive.
It appears that overall, Applicant indicates that a “blood pressure sensing device” should be interpreted under paragraph [0099] of the present application, which is consistent with the previously-applied 112f claim interpretation using [0099] and Figs 4A and 4B. The interpretation detailed in the Office Action dated 08 June 2026 is maintained for the term “blood pressure sensing device” in Claim 1 and its dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (lines 11 - 12) recites the term “which physiological condition affects the sensed at least one tissue oxygenation parameter”. It is unclear if there are intended to be multiple physiological conditions recited, or if this is intended to be the same or different than the previously-recited physiological condition. For the purposes of examination, the term “which physiological condition affects the sensed at least one tissue oxygenation parameter” is deemed to claim “and the physiological condition affects the sensed at least one tissue oxygenation parameter”. Claims 2 – 15 are similarly rejected due to their dependence on Claim 1.
As previously applied, Claim 11 (line 3 and line 4) recites the terms “the first subset of first signals” and “the second subset of first signals”. It is unclear if these first signals are intended to be the same or different than the previously-recited first signals. For the purposes of examination, the terms “the first subset of first signals” and “the second subset of first signals” are deemed to claim “the first subset of the first signals” and “the second subset of the first signals”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1, the claim recites "an act or step, or series of acts or steps" and is therefore a process, which is a statutory category of invention (Step 1). The claims are then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception (Step 2A, Prong 1).
Each of Claims 1 – 15 has been analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exceptions.
Step 2A, Prong 1
Each of Claims 1 – 15 recites at least one step or instruction for observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, which are grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG. The claimed invention involves making observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, which are concepts performed in the human mind under the 2019 PEG.
Accordingly, each of Claims 1 – 15 recites an abstract idea.
Specifically, Independent Claim 1 recites (underlined are observations, judgements, evaluations, or opinions, which are grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG) (additional elements bolded, see Step 2A, prong 2);
Claim
A method for determining a subject's autoregulation function state, comprising:
continuously sensing a tissue region of the subject with a tissue oximeter, the sensing producing first signals representative of at least one tissue oxygenation parameter of the subject during a period of time;
continuously measuring a blood pressure level of the subject using a blood pressure sensing device during the period of time, the measuring producing second signals representative of the blood pressure level of the subject during the period of time;
receiving, by the controller, the first signals and the second signals;
determining, by the controller, a presence or an absence of a confounding factor that is a physiological condition of the subject that is present during the period of time, which physiological condition affects the sensed at least one tissue oxygenation parameter in a manner independent of the autoregulation function of the subject, the determination using the first signals; and
determining, by the controller, the autoregulation function state of the subject using the first signals representative of the at least one tissue oxygenation parameter during the period of time and the second signals representative of the blood pressure level of the subject during the period of time, when the confounding factor is determined to be absent during the period of time.
(observation, judgment or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG);
These underlined limitations describe a mathematical calculation and/or a mental process, as a skilled practitioner is capable of performing the recited limitations and making a mental assessment thereafter. Examiner notes that nothing from the claims suggests that the limitations cannot be practically performed by a human with the aid of a pen and paper, or by using a generic computer as a tool to perform mathematical calculations and/or mental process steps in real time. Examiner additionally notes that nothing from the claims suggests and undue level of complexity that the mathematical calculations and/or the mental process steps cannot be practically performed by a human with the aid of a pen and paper, or using a generic computer as a tool to perform mathematical calculations and/or mental process steps. For example, in Independent Claim 1, these limitations include:
Observation and judgment of a presence or an absence of a confounding factor that is a physiological condition of the subject that is present during the period of time, which physiological condition affects the sensed at least one tissue oxygenation parameter in a manner independent of the autoregulation function of the subject, the determination using the first signals
Observation and judgment of the autoregulation function state of the subject using the first signals representative of the at least one tissue oxygenation parameter during the period of time and the second signals representative of the blood pressure level of the subject during the period of time, when the confounding factor is determined to be absent during the period of time.
Similarly, Dependent Claims 2 – 15 include the following abstract limitations, in addition to the aforementioned limitations in Independent Claim 1 (underlined observation, judgment or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG):
determining whether the confounding factor has affected the measured blood pressure level of the subject in a manner independent of the autoregulation function of the subject using the second signals.
Observation and judgment of whether the confounding factor has affected the measured blood pressure level of the subject in a manner independent of the autoregulation function of the subject using the second signals.
determining said presence or said absence of the confounding factor utilizes a tissue oxygenation parameter trend data based on the first signals, and a blood pressure level trend data based on the second signals.
Observation and judgment of whether said presence or said absence of the confounding factor utilizes a tissue oxygenation parameter trend data based on the first signals, and a blood pressure level trend data based on the second signals.
determining a heart rate of the subject during the period of time, and producing third signals representative of the subject's heart rate during the period of time;
Observation and judgment of a heart rate of the subject during the period of time, and producing third signals representative of the subject's heart rate during the period of time;
determining whether the confounding factor has affected the heart rate of the subject in a manner independent of the autoregulation function of the subject using the third signals.
Observation and judgment of whether the confounding factor has affected the heart rate of the subject in a manner independent of the autoregulation function of the subject using the third signals.
the step of determining said presence or said absence of the confounding factor utilizes a tissue oxygenation parameter trend data based on the first signals, and a heart rate trend data based on the third signals.
the step of Observation and judgment of said presence or said absence of the confounding factor utilizes a tissue oxygenation parameter trend data based on the first signals, and a heart rate trend data based on the third signals.
evaluating the first signals using a magnitude of change filter.
Observation and judgment of the first signals using a magnitude of change filter.
determining a blood carbon dioxide (CO2) level of the subject.
Observation and judgment of a blood carbon dioxide (CO2) level of the subject.
determining said presence or said absence of the confounding factor utilizes the first subset of the first signals and the second subset of the first signals.
Observation and judgment of said presence or said absence of the confounding factor utilizes the first subset of the first signals and the second subset of the first signals.
determining said presence or said absence of the confounding factor utilizes a first tissue oxygenation parameter trend data based on the first subset of the first signals, and a second tissue oxygenation parameter trend data based on the second subset of the first signals.
Observation and judgment of said presence or said absence of the confounding factor utilizes a first tissue oxygenation parameter trend data based on the first subset of the first signals, and a second tissue oxygenation parameter trend data based on the second subset of the first signals.
evaluating the first signals to determine extracerebral blood flow as the confounding factor.
Observation and judgment of the first signals to determine extracerebral blood flow as the confounding factor.
all of which are grouped as mental processes or mathematical algorithms under the 2019 PEG.
Accordingly, as indicated above, each of the above-identified claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The above-identified abstract ideas in each of Independent Claim 1 (and their respective Dependent Claims) are not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the additional elements (identified in Claims 1 – 15), either alone or in combination, generally link the use of the above-identified abstract ideas to a particular technological environment or field of use. More specifically, the additional elements of:
“tissue oximeter”
“blood pressure sensing device”
“near infra-red spectroscopy type tissue oximeter”
“one or more sensors”
“at least one light source”
“at least one near detector”
“at least one far detector”
Additional elements recited include “tissue oximeter”, “blood pressure sensing device”, “near infra-red spectroscopy type tissue oximeter”, “one or more sensors”, “at least one light source”, “at least one near detector”, and “at least one far detector” in Independent Claim 1 (and its Dependent Claims). These components are recited at a high level of generality, , i.e., as a tissue oximeter performing a generic function of measuring an oxygenation parameter (the sensing). These generic hardware component limitations for “tissue oximeter”, “blood pressure sensing device”, “near infra-red spectroscopy type tissue oximeter”, “one or more sensors”, “at least one light source”, “at least one near detector”, and “at least one far detector” are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and hardware components. As such, these additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Further additional elements from Independent Claim 1 and their dependent claims includes pre-solution activity limitations, such as:
continuously sensing the tissue region of a subject with a tissue oximeter, the sensing producing first signals representative of at least one tissue oxygenation parameter of the subject during a period of time;
continuously measuring a blood pressure level of the subject using a blood pressure sensing device during the period of time, the measuring producing second signals representative of the blood pressure level of the subject during the period of time;
the at least one tissue oxygenation parameter includes one or more of tissue oxygen saturation (StO2), total hemoglobin concentration per volume of tissue (THb), relative total hemoglobin concentration per volume of tissue (rTHb), differential changes in oxyhemoglobin and deoxyhemoglobin (HbD).
wherein the at least one tissue oxygenation parameter includes a first tissue oxygenation parameter and a second oxygenation parameter;
wherein the first signals produced from the sensing include a first subset of the first signals representative of the first tissue oxygenation parameter, and a second subset of the first signals representative of the second tissue oxygenation parameter;
the first tissue oxygenation parameter is one of a tissue oxygen saturation (StO2), a total hemoglobin concentration per volume of tissue (THb), a relative total hemoglobin concentration per volume of tissue (rTHb), or a differential change in oxyhemoglobin and deoxyhemoglobin (HbD), and the second tissue oxygenation parameter is another of the StO2, the THb, the rTHb, differential changes in oxyhemoglobin (O2Hb) and deoxyhemoglobin (HHb), or HbD.
the tissue oximeter is a near-infrared spectroscopy type tissue oximeter.
the tissue region is brain tissue, and the autoregulation function state determined in the absence of the confounding factor is a brain autoregulation function state of the subject.
the continuously sensing the tissue region of the subject with the tissue oximeter, includes using one or more sensors in communication with the tissue oximeter, the one or more sensors each having at least one light source, at least one near detector located a first distance from the at least one light source, and at least one far detector located a second distance from the at least one light source, where the second distance is greater than the first distance.
These pre-solution measurement elements are insignificant extra-solution activity, setting up the parameters of the system, and serve as data-gathering for the subsequent steps.
The “tissue oximeter”, “blood pressure sensing device”, “near infra-red spectroscopy type tissue oximeter”, “one or more sensors”, “at least one light source”, “at least one near detector”, and “at least one far detector” as recited in Independent Claim 1 (and its Dependent Claims) are generically recited computer and hardware elements which do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these above-identified additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified additional elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract ideas identified above in Independent Claim 1 (and its dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mental process and certain method of organizing human activity) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer processor as claimed. In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in Independent Claim 1 (and its dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Accordingly, Independent Claim 1 (and its dependent claims) are each directed to an abstract idea under 2019 PEG.
Step 2B –
None of Claims 1 – 15 include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for at least the following reasons.
These claims require the additional elements of: “tissue oximeter”, “blood pressure sensing device”, “near infra-red spectroscopy type tissue oximeter”, “one or more sensors”, “at least one light source”, “at least one near detector”, and “at least one far detector” as recited in Independent Claims 1, 8, and 9 (and their dependent claims).
The additional elements of the “tissue oximeter”, “blood pressure sensing device”, “near infra-red spectroscopy type tissue oximeter”, “one or more sensors”, “at least one light source”, “at least one near detector”, and “at least one far detector” in Independent Claim 1 (and its dependent claims), as discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and hardware components. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
The above-identified additional elements are generically claimed computer components which enable the above-identified abstract idea(s) to be conducted by performing the basic functions of automating mental tasks. The courts have recognized such computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. See, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. , 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Per Applicant’s specification, the “tissue oximeter” and “near infra-red spectroscopy type tissue oximeter” is described generically at [0019] with “the tissue oximeter may be a near-infrared spectroscopy (NIRS) type tissue oximeter,” and [0023] “The NIRS tissue oximeter is configured to continuously sense a tissue region of the subject during a period of time, and to produce first signals representative of at least one tissue oxygenation parameter during the period of time.” The “tissue oximeter” and “near infra-red spectroscopy (NIRS) tissue oximeter” are shown in as generic block element “tissue oximeter 24” in Fig. 4A and 4B.
Per Applicant’s specification, the “blood pressure sensing device” is described generically in [0099] with “The blood pressure sensing device 22 (“BP sensing device 22”) may be any sensor or device configured to continuously determine a subject's blood pressure (e.g., arterial blood pressure)” including “arterial catheter line”, “continuous non-invasive blood pressure device” or “pulse oximetry sensor”. The blood pressure sensing device is shown as generic block element “blood pressure sensing device 22” in Figs. 4A and 4B.
Per Applicant’s specification, the “one or more sensors”, “at least one light source”, “at least one near detector”, and “at least one far detector” are described generically at [0101] as part of the tissue oximeter, including “one or more light sources (e.g., light emitting diodes, or “LEDs”) and one or more light detectors (e.g., photodiodes, etc.).” The “one or more sensors” are not particularly shown in a figure beyond being part of “tissue oximeter 24” generic block element in Fig. 4A and 4B.
Accordingly, in light of Applicant’s specification, the claimed terms “tissue oximeter”, “blood pressure sensing device”, “near infra-red spectroscopy type tissue oximeter”, “one or more sensors”, “at least one light source”, “at least one near detector”, and “at least one far detector” are reasonably construed as a generic computing and hardware devices. Like SAP America vs Investpic, LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear, from the claims themselves and the specification, that these limitations require no improved computer resources, just already available computers, with their already available basic functions, to use as tools in executing the claimed process.
Furthermore, Applicant’s specification does not describe any special programming or algorithms required for the “tissue oximeter”, “blood pressure sensing device”, “near infra-red spectroscopy type tissue oximeter”, “one or more sensors”, “at least one light source”, “at least one near detector”, and “at least one far detector”. This lack of disclosure is acceptable under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) since this hardware performs non-specialized functions known by those of ordinary skill in the computer arts. By omitting any specialized programming or algorithms, Applicant's specification essentially admits that this hardware is conventional and performs well understood, routine and conventional activities in the computer industry or arts. In other words, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional elements because it describes these additional elements in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (see Berkheimer memo from April 19, 2018, (III)(A)(1) on page 3). Adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (TLI Communications).
The recitation of the above-identified additional limitations in Independent Claim 1 (and its dependent claims) amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Simply using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); and TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Moreover, implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not add significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.
A claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification for any assertion that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes. That is, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. Here, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. Instead, as in Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC 838 F.3d 1253, 1263-64, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207-08 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution.
For at least the above reasons, the method of Claims 1 – 15 are directed to applying an abstract idea as identified above on a general-purpose computer without (i) improving the performance of the computer itself, or (ii) providing a technical solution to a problem in a technical field. None of Claims 1 – 15 provides meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that these claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not provide significantly more. Specifically, when viewed individually, the above-identified additional elements for Step 2A Prong 2 in Independent Claim 1 (and its dependent claims) do not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. That is, neither the general computer elements nor any other additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity. When viewed as a combination, these above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment. As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application. When viewed as whole, the above-identified additional elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, Claims 1 – 15 apply an abstract idea to a computer and do not (i) improve the performance of the computer itself (as in Bascom and Enfish), or (ii) provide a technical solution to a problem in a technical field (as in DDR).
Therefore, none of the Claims 1 – 15 amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, Claims 1 – 15 are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 6 – 7, and 9 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montgomery et. al., (US 2016/0345913 A1), hereinafter Montgomery 2016, in view of Montgomery et. al., (US 2019/0328242 A1), hereinafter Montgomery 2019.
Regarding Claim 1, Montgomery 2016 discloses A method for determining a subject's autoregulation function state ([Abstract]), comprising:
continuously sensing a tissue region of the subject with a tissue oximeter ([0033] “physiological
values (e.g., the regional oxygen saturation values 44…)…may be provided to the controller 16 continuously…”; [0032] “oxygen saturation value 44…obtained from the patient…from the regional oxygen saturation sensor 14.”; Fig 2A), the sensing producing first signals representative of at least one tissue oxygenation parameter of the subject during a period of time ([0032] - [0034] “…oxygen saturation measurements derived from the oxygen saturation values 44…”; [0032] “oxygen saturation value 44…obtained from the patient…from the regional oxygen saturation sensor 14.”; Fig 2A)
continuously measuring a blood pressure level of the subject using a blood pressure sensing device during the period of time ([0033] “physiological values ( e.g., the…blood pressure values 48…)…may be provided to the controller 16 continuously…”; [0032] “blood pressure value 48 obtained…from the blood pressure sensor 12”; Fig 2B), the measuring producing second signals representative of the blood pressure level of the subject during the period of time ([0034] “blood pressure measurements derived from the blood pressure values 48…”; Fig 2B);
receiving, by the controller, the first signals and the second signals ([0021] “…the blood pressure sensor 12 may provide the blood pressure signal to the controller 16 or to any other suitable processing device”;[0027] - [0028] “…the controller 16 may be configured to determine a significance value ( e.g., a p-value) associated with the linear correlations of the blood pressure measurements and the oxygen saturation measurements…reliable or unreliable…”);
determining, by the controller, a presence or an absence of a confounding factor that is present during the period of time ([0027] – [0028] “controller 16 may be configured to determine…noise…”), which affects the sensed at least one tissue oxygenation parameter in a manner independent of the autoregulation function of the subject (Fig 7,[0027] “identifying the pair of regression lines that exclude or ignore outliers indicative of noise…” [0028] p-value may indicate whether certain rSO2 values, or portions of rSO2 curve generated based on such values, are reliable or unreliable”), the determination using the first signals ([0027] - [0028 ] “…outliers indicative of noise…”, “…p-value may indicate whether certain rSO2 values, or portions of rSO2 curve generated based on such values, are reliable or unreliable”); and
determining, by the controller, the autoregulation function state of the subject using the first signals representative of the at least one tissue oxygenation parameter during the period of time and the second signals representative of the blood pressure level of the subject during the period of time when the confounding factor is determined to be absent during the period of time ([0034] “blood pressure measurements derived from the blood pressure values 48…”; Fig 2B; [0027] “…controller 16 may determine…identifying the pair of regression lines that exclude or ignore outliers indicative of noise, as further described with respect to FIGS. 5-7…”; Figs. 5 – 7; [0028] “…use the p-value to determine the most suitable pair of regression lines…monitor the autoregulation of the patient...determine approximately when the autoregulation transitions from intact to impaired. As noted above, the autoregulation of the patient fails to function properly (e.g., impaired) when the cerebral pressure is too high and blood flow is insufficient or when the cerebral pressure is too low and blood flow is excessive…”,; Fig 7, [0037] “…accurately determine the LLA value 58 based on the pair of regression lines…”).
Montgomery 2016 does not specifically disclose that the confounding factor is particularly a physiological condition for the limitations a confounding factor that is a physiological condition of the subject that is present during the period of time, which physiological condition affects the sensed at least one tissue oxygenation parameter in a manner independent of the autoregulation function of the subject.
Montgomery 2019 teaches a method for monitoring autoregulation, including consideration that noise in physiological parameter measurement can be attributed to relative sensor movement and patient movement ([Abstract]; [0043]). Specifically for Claim 1, Montgomery 2019 teaches a confounding factor that is a physiological condition of the subject that is present during the period of time ([0043] “…determine a patient’s autoregulation status based on various physiological parameter values… Such physiological values may be subject to various sources of error, such as noise caused by relative sensor and patient motion, operator error, poor quality measurements, drugs, or other anomalies…”)(Examiner notes that based on Applicant’s specification at [0150] “…The term “confounding factor” as used herein refers to a physiological condition that affects one or more physiological parameters …The confounding factors include, but are not limited to, physiological uncertainty…” As such, a physiological condition of “physiological uncertainty” would broadly include ”patient motion” that promotes uncertainty of where the patient’s limbs are at a given moment. There is a physiological uncertainty, or noise, in the physiological measurement that can occur due to the relative motion between the sensor and the patient’s body.), which physiological condition affects the sensed at least one tissue oxygenation parameter in a manner independent of the autoregulation function of the subject ([0043] “…determine a patient’s autoregulation status based on various physiological parameter values… Such physiological values may be subject to various sources of error, such as noise caused by relative sensor and patient motion, operator error, poor quality measurements, drugs, or other anomalies…”)(Examiner notes that based on Applicant’s specification at [0150] “…The term “confounding factor” as used herein refers to a physiological condition that affects one or more physiological parameters …The confounding factors include, but are not limited to, physiological uncertainty…” As such, a physiological condition of “physiological uncertainty” would broadly include ”patient motion” that promotes uncertainty of where the patient’s limbs are at a given moment. There is a physiological uncertainty, or noise, in the physiological measurement that can occur due to the relative motion between the sensor and the patient’s body, independent of the overall autoregulation function of the subject.)
Montgomery 2019 provides a motivation to combine at [0043] with “Such physiological values may be subject to various sources of error, such as noise caused by relative sensor and patient motion, operator error, poor quality measurements, drugs, or other anomalies…” A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that physiological signal noise that may confound a determination of autoregulation of the subject could be caused by a physiological condition of “patient movement” by the patient, such that adjusting for this noise would be useful to obtain accurate measurements of autoregulation based on the relevant factors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the targeting of data noise as a confounding factor for autoregulation monitoring to be excluded or ignored from the physiological parameter measurements disclosed in Montgomery 2016 with the teaching that noise in physiological measurements for autoregulation monitor can be as a result of patient movement taught by Montgomery 2019, creating a single method for monitoring autoregulation that removes anomalous, confounding data points associated with noise, which can be due to patient movement during physiological parameter monitoring, for more accurate autoregulation monitoring results.
Regarding Claim 2, Montgomery 2016 discloses as described above, The method of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 2, Montgomery 2016 discloses wherein the step of determining, by the controller ([0027] “…the controller 16 may be configured to determine..”), said presence or said absence of the confounding factor (Fig 7, [0027] – [0028]), further includes determining, by the controller ([0043] “…the controller 16 may exclude or ignore data outliers 74…”), whether the confounding factor has affected the blood pressure level of the subject during the period of time ([0043] “…data outliers…measurements indicative of signal noise… pressure measurements less than approximately 20 mmHg may be excluded from the regression line...”; Fig. 7; [0034] “blood pressure measurements derived from the blood pressure values 48…”; Fig 2B) in a manner independent of the autoregulation function of the subject using the second signals ([0038] “…one or more outliers 72, 74 indicative of signal noise that may bias the left regression line 62 and/or the right regression line 64…”; [0043] “signal noise… pressure measurements less than approximately 20 mmHg may be excluded from the regression line...”; Fig 4; Fig. 7)
Regarding Claim 3, Montgomery 2016 discloses as described above, The method of claim 2. For the remainder of Claim 3, Montgomery 2016 discloses wherein the determining, by the controller ([0027] “…the controller 16 may be configured to determine..”), said presence or said absence of the confounding factor (Fig 7, [0027] – [0028]), utilizes a tissue oxygenation parameter trend data based on the first signals ([0038] “pair of linear correlations between oxygen saturation measurements 54 and the blood pressure measurements 56 to determine the LLA value 58…one or more outliers 72, 74 indicative of signal noise that may bias the left regression line 62 and/or the right regression line 64…”; Fig. 4), and a blood pressure level trend data based on the second signals ([0038] “pair of linear correlations between oxygen saturation measurements 54 and the blood pressure measurements…signal noise that may bias the left regression line 62 and/or the right regression line 64…”; Fig. 4)(Examiner notes that both trend data lines are based on both body oxygen saturation and blood pressure, the first and second signals.)
Regarding Claim 6, Montgomery 2016 discloses as described above, The method of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 6, Montgomery 2016 discloses wherein the determining, by the controller ([0039] “...the controller 16 may be configured to exclude…”), said presence or said absence of the confounding factor (Fig 7, [0027] – [0028]) further includes evaluating the first signals using a magnitude of change filter ([0039] “...the controller 16 may be configured to exclude or ignore one or more outliers 72, 74 and utilize the remaining data to determine the linear correlations (e.g., regression lines)… less than a predetermined threshold value in order to remove measurements that are most likely outliers”, “pre-determined threshold may be any oxygen saturation value, such as any oxygen saturation value approximately less than 50%...”)(Examiner notes at Applicant’s specification at [0155] that a magnification of change evaluation is described as evaluating a change in the data and determining if that “change is minimal (e.g., below a threshold amount”), which is consistent with Montgomery 2016’s disclosure of filtering out (“exclude or ignore”) outlier data that is lower than a threshold.)
Regarding Claim 7, Montgomery 2016 discloses as described above, The method of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 7, Montgomery 2016 discloses wherein the at least one tissue oxygenation parameter includes one or more of tissue oxygen saturation (StO2) ([0023] “generate a regional oxygen saturation (rSO2 ) signal for the target tissues over time…”; [0022] “…oxygen saturation signal…in the cerebral cortex”), total hemoglobin concentration per volume of tissue (THb), relative total hemoglobin concentration per volume of tissue (rTHb), differential changes in oxyhemoglobin and deoxyhemoglobin (HbD).
Regarding Claim 9, Montgomery 2016 discloses as described above, The method of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 9, Montgomery 2016 discloses wherein the at least one tissue oxygenation parameter (([0034] “…oxygen saturation measurements derived from the oxygen saturation values 44…”) includes a first tissue oxygenation parameter ([0036] “oxygen saturation measurements 54…on the left side of the LLA value 58…”) and a second oxygenation parameter ([0036] “oxygen saturation measurements 54…on the right side of the LLA value 58…”); and
wherein the first signals produced from the sensing include a first subset of first signals representative of the first tissue oxygenation parameter ([0036] “oxygen saturation measurements 54…on the left side of the LLA value 58…”), and a second subset of first signals representative of the second tissue oxygenation parameter ([0036] “oxygen saturation measurements 54…on the right side of the LLA value 58…”); and
the determining, by the controller ([0037] – [0038] “…as further discussed with respect to FIG. 4, in non-ideal situations…the controller 16 may be configured to algorithmically determine…”), said presence or said absence of the confounding factor utilizes the first subset of first signals and the second subset of the first signals ([0037] - [0038] “pair of linear correlations between oxygen saturation measurements 54 and the blood pressure measurements 56 to determine the LLA value 58…one or more outliers 72, 74 indicative of signal noise that may bias…the left regression line 62 and/or the right regression line 64…”; Fig. 4)
Regarding Claim 10, Montgomery 2016 discloses as described above, The method of claim 9. For the remainder of Claim 10, Montgomery 2016 discloses wherein the first tissue oxygenation parameter is one of a tissue oxygen saturation (StO2) ([0023] “generate a regional oxygen saturation (rSO2 ) signal for the target tissues over time…”; [0022] “…oxygen saturation signal…in the cerebral cortex”)(Examiner notes that the “regional oxygen saturation for the target tissues over time” is broadly an oxygen saturation of a tissue), a total hemoglobin concentration per volume of tissue (THb), a relative total hemoglobin concentration per volume of tissue (rTHb), or a differential in oxyhemoglobin and deoxyhemoglobin (HbD), and the second tissue oxygenation parameter is another of the StO2 ([0023] “generate a regional oxygen saturation (rSO2) signal for the target tissues over time…”; [0022] “…oxygen saturation signal…in the cerebral cortex”), the THb, the rTHb, or the HbD.
Regarding Claim 11, Montgomery 2016 discloses as described above, The method of claim 9. For the remainder of Claim 11, Montgomery 2016 discloses wherein the determining, by the controller ([0039] “...the controller 16 may be configured to exclude…”), said presence or said absence of the confounding factor (Fig 7, [0027] – [0028]) utilizes a first tissue oxygenation parameter trend data ([0038] “…left regression line 62”; Fig. 4) based on the first subset of first signals ([0038] “pair of linear correlations between oxygen saturation measurements 54 and the blood pressure measurements 56 to determine the LLA value 58…one or more outliers 72, 74 indicative of signal noise that may bias the left regression line 62…”; Fig. 4), and a second tissue oxygenation parameter trend data ([0038] “…right regression line 64”; Fig. 4) based on the second subset of first signals ([0038] “pair of linear correlations between oxygen saturation measurements 54 and the blood pressure measurements 56 to determine the LLA value 58…one or more outliers 72, 74 indicative of signal noise that may bias…the right regression line 64…”; Fig. 4)(Examiner notes that both trend data lines are based on both body oxygen saturation and blood pressure, the first and second signals.)
Regarding Claim 12, Montgomery 2016 discloses as described above, The method of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 12, Montgomery 2016 discloses wherein the tissue oximeter is a near-infrared spectroscopy type tissue oximeter ([0023] “…the oxygen saturation sensor 14 may include an emitter 20… emit at different wavelengths of light, e.g., red or near infrared light…”)
Regarding Claim 13, Montgomery 2016 discloses as described above, The method of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 13, Montgomery 2016 discloses wherein the tissue region is brain tissue ([0023] “(tissue in addition to the tissue through which the light received by the "close" detector passed, e.g., the brain tissue)…”), and the autoregulation function state determined in the absence of the confounding factor is a brain autoregulation function state of the subject ([0025] “…to evaluate the patient's cerebral autoregulation status.”)
Claims 4 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montgomery 2016 in view of Montgomery 2019, further in view of of Bienek et. al., (US 2018/0249916 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Montgomery 2016 discloses as described above, The method of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 4, Montgomery 2016 discloses further comprising determining, by the controller ([0024] – [0025] “…As noted above, the blood pressure sensor 12 may be configured to provide the blood pressure signal to the controller 16…”), a heart rate of the subject during the period of time ([0024] – [0025] “blood pressure sensor 12 or the oxygen saturation sensor 14…measure other parameters, such as…heart rate…”; [0033]), and producing third signals representative of the subject's heart rate during the period of time ([0024] “blood pressure sensor 12 or the oxygen saturation sensor 14…measure other parameters, such as…heart rate…”; [0033]); and
wherein the determining, by the controller ([0027] “…the controller 16 may be configured to determine..”), said presence or said absence of the confounding factor (Fig 7, [0027] – [0028]).
Montgomery 2016 does not specifically disclose determining, by the controller, whether the confounding factor has affected the heart rate of the subject in a manner independent of the autoregulation function of the subject using the third signals.
Bienek teaches a method of monitoring and/or diagnosing an autoregulation mechanism of blood pressure of a subject using heart rate intervals measured with ECG, for which noise is present in heart rate-associated signals and smoothed with filters ([Abstract]; [0081]). Specifically for Claim 4, Bienek teaches determining, by the controller ([0073] “…further processing…performed in a computer 8…”), whether the confounding factor has affected the heart rate of the subject in a manner independent of the autoregulation function of the subject using the third signals ([0057] “The respective time intervals (heart rate intervals) can thus be identified…”; [0081] “Appropriate smoothing filters are to be used or to be adjusted due to noise in the signals and specifically in the leads…”; [0082]);
Bienek provides a motivation to combine at [0009] with “…underlying regulation mechanisms are poorly pronounced, and the blood pressure variations are low. They can therefore easily be superimposed by noise and are thus not detected…” and [0081] “Appropriate smoothing filters are to be used or to be adjusted due to noise in the signals and specifically in the leads.” A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that each signal that is measured may have associated noise (such as noise in a heart rate signal when investigating autoregulation mechanisms), which would be a confounding factor to affect an overall analysis that requires examination of subtle changes in the signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Montgomery 2016’s disclosed method for monitoring autoregulation using oxygen saturation, blood pressure, and heart rate sensors ([0024]) and determining noise associated with its sensors with the heart rate signal noise accommodation for autoregulation taught by Bienek, creating a single method for monitoring autoregulation using oxygen saturation, blood pressure, and heart rate sensors for which noise is noted in the each of the types of signals with the purpose of obtaining more accurate measurements of autoregulation.
Regarding Claim 5, Montgomery 2016 discloses as described above, The method of claim 4. For the remainder of Claim 5, Montgomery 2016 discloses wherein the determining, by the controller ([0027] “…the controller 16 may be configured to determine..”), said presence or said absence of the confounding factor (Fig 7, [0027] – [0028]) utilizes a tissue oxygenation parameter trend data based on the first signals ([0038] “pair of linear correlations between oxygen saturation measurements 54 and the blood pressure measurements 56 to determine the LLA value 58…one or more outliers 72, 74 indicative of signal noise that may bias the left regression line 62 and/or the right regression line 64…”; Fig. 4).
Montgomery 2016 does not specifically disclose a heart rate trend data based on the third signals.
Bienek teaches utilizes a tissue oxygenation parameter trend data based on the first signals, and a heart rate trend data based on the third signals ([0081] “Appropriate smoothing filters are to be used or to be adjusted due to noise in the signals and specifically in the leads.”; [0005] “ The heart rate is then plotted against the blood pressure (one respective value for each heartbeat), and a straight line is interpolated through the correspondingly activated region…”)(Examiner notes that a smoothing filter would result in signal data with best fit, or an overall trend of the heart rate signal.).
Bienek provides a motivation to combine at [0009] with “…underlying regulation mechanisms are poorly pronounced, and the blood pressure variations are low. They can therefore easily be superimposed by noise and are thus not detected…” and [0081] “Appropriate smoothing filters are to be used or to be adjusted due to noise in the signals and specifically in the leads.” A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that each signal that is measured may have associated noise (such as noise in a heart rate signal when investigating autoregulation mechanisms), which would be a confounding factor to affect an overall analysis that requires examination of subtle changes in the signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Montgomery 2016’s disclosed method for monitoring autoregulation using oxygen saturation, blood pressure, and heart rate sensors ([0024]) and determining noise associated with its sensors with the heart rate signal noise accommodation for autoregulation taught by Bienek, creating a single method for monitoring autoregulation using oxygen saturation, blood pressure, and heart rate sensors for which noise is noted in the each of the types of signals with the purpose of obtaining more accurate measurements of autoregulation.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montgomery 2016 in view of Montgomery 2019, further in view of Hornick, (US 2011/0082357 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Montgomery 2016 discloses as described above, The method of claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 8, Montgomery 2016 discloses wherein the determining, by the controller ([0027] “…the controller 16 may be configured to determine..”), said presence or said absence of the confounding factor (Fig 7, [0027] – [0028])
Hornick teaches a method of measuring the carbon dioxide level of blood in a patient, while removing noise or other unexpected high-frequency spikes from the measurement data using signal conditioning ([Abstract]; [0092]). Specifically for Claim 8, Hornick teaches further includes determining a blood carbon dioxide (CO2) level of the subject ([0015] “CO2 level is evaluated periodically, optionally providing continuous monitoring of the CO2 level of a patient.”; [0007] “…deriving an evaluation of CO2 level in the blood of a patient”).
Hornick provides a motivation to combine at [0014] with “…evaluation of CO2 level based on the simultaneous correlation between haemodynamic parameters may provide a better performance in terms such as precision and/or repeatability and/or consistency between patients and/or reliance on calibration relative to an evaluation based on a single parameter.” A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that evaluating blood gas and autoregulation would be more diagnostically complete with both oxygenation and carbon dioxide measurement, and that it would be important to evaluate if there are confounding noise effects associated with the carbon dioxide measurements to obtain the benefit of additional reliable diagnostic information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Montgomery 2016’s disclosed method for monitoring autoregulation using oxygen saturation sensors of the subject’s cranium and identifying portions of the oxygen saturation measurement that are noisy and unreliable ([Abstract], [0023], [0028]) with the blood carbon dioxide level measurement with noise filtering taught by Hornick, creating a single method for monitoring autoregulation using blood oxygen saturation and carbon dioxide sensors to determine more diagnostic details about the patient’s autoregulation.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montgomery 2016 in view of Montgomery 2019, further in view of Milej et. al., (“Direct assessment of extracerebral signal contamination on optical measurements of cerebral blood flow, oxygenation, and metabolism”).
Regarding Claim 14, Montgomery 2016 discloses as described above, The method of claim 13. For the remainder of Claim 14, Montgomery 2016 discloses wherein the determining, by the controller ([0027] “…the controller 16 may be configured to determine..”), said presence or said absence of the confounding factor (Fig 7, [0027] – [0028]) further includes evaluating the first signals ([0027] - [0028 ] p-value may indicate whether certain rSO2 values, or portions of rSO2 curve generated based on such values, are reliable or unreliable”);
Montgomery 2016 does not disclose to determine extracerebral blood flow as the confounding factor.
Milej teaches evaluating the confounding effects of scalp hemodynamics on near-infrared spectroscopy in combination with diffuse correlation spectroscopy (DCS) cerebral blood flow measurements that occur when making cerebral oxygenation measurements ([Abstract]; [Page 2, 3rd Full Paragraph]). Specifically for Claim 14, Milej teaches to determine extracerebral blood flow as the confounding factor ([Page 2, 1st Full Paragraph] “fluctuations in scalp hemodynamics can overshadow brain-related signals, and quantification of cerebral hemodynamics and metabolism requires accounting for signal contributions from the extracerebral layer (ECL)”; [Page 2, Top] “the blood flow index (BFI) from DCS to be converted into perfusion units…quantify CMRO2...”; [Page 2, 3rd Full Paragraph] “To evaluate the confounding effects of changes in scalp hemodynamics, data were acquired with and without temporarily restricting blood flow to the scalp by a pneumatic tourniquet wrapped around the head...”) Milej provides a motivation to combine at [Page 2, 1st Full Paragraph] with “…fluctuations in scalp hemodynamics can overshadow brain-related signals, and quantification of cerebral hemodynamics and metabolism requires accounting for signal contributions from the extracerebral layer (ECL).” A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that detecting signal contamination at the scalp from extracerebral blood flow oxygen concentration measurements would be useful for determining reliability of cerebral oxygen concentration measurements overall for autoregulation determination.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Montgomery 2016’s disclosed method for monitoring autoregulation using oxygen saturation sensors of the subject’s cranium and identifying portions of the oxygen saturation measurement that are noisy and unreliable ([Abstract], [0023], [0028]) with the Milej’s teaching that fluctuations in scalp hemodynamics can make extracerebral blood flow a source of confounding effects in cerebral oxygen saturation measurements, creating a single method for monitoring autoregulation using oxygen saturation sensors that can evaluate the reliability of its measurements from a variety of potential confounding factors, increasing the overall accuracy of its data reporting.
Regarding Claim 15, Montgomery 2016 discloses as described above, The method of claim 14. For the remainder of Claim 15, Montgomery 2016 discloses wherein the continuously sensing the tissue region of the subject with the tissue oximeter ([0033] “…the regional oxygen saturation values 44…continuously…”; [0032] “…from the regional oxygen saturation sensor 14.”; Fig 2A),, includes using one or more sensors in communication with the tissue oximeter ([0023] “…the oxygen saturation sensor 14 may include an emitter 20 and multiple detectors 22…”), the one or more sensors ([0023] “…emitter 20 and multiple detectors 22…”) each having at least one light source ([0023] “emitter 20…configured to emit light…”), at least one near detector located a first distance from the at least one light source ([0023] “One of the detectors 22 is positioned relatively "close" ( e.g., proximal) to the emitter 20…”), and at least one far detector located a second distance from the at least one light source ([0023] “…one of the detectors 22 is positioned relatively "far" (e.g., distal) from the emitter 22”), where the second distance is greater than the first distance ([0023] “…one of the detectors 22 is positioned relatively "far" (e.g., distal) from the emitter…”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 101:
Applicant argues at [Page 13, 2nd Full Paragraph] – [Page 16, Top] that the claimed subject matter does not recite mental processes with the limitations of “determining a presence or absence of a confounding factor” and “using the first signal and second signals to determine an autoregulation function state of the subject” because no proof has been provided that they are abstract, and the sensing of a tissue region of with a tissue oximeter to produce first signals is a complex technological photometric process and is a specific recitation of a device. Applicant further argues that the recitation “does not monopolize the determination of a blood flow measurement or any surrogate of a blood flow measurement”.
The abstract idea of “determining a presence or absence of a confounding factor” could broadly be performed by a researcher who has been supplied with a data printout using equations, pen, paper, their education, background, and experience. The broad idea could include determining a presence of a confounding factor if the first data is entirely missing, the confounding factor being “no data is recorded” which would be well within the capabilities of a human researcher to observe and judge. For “using the first signal and second signals to determine an autoregulation function state of the subject”, a researcher given oxygenation and blood pressure measurements would be able to broadly determine a qualitative (good/bad) autoregulation state of the subject given equations, pen, paper, their education, background, and experience. As an example, the broad idea would include determining autoregulation for a deceased subject, wherein first oximeter data could yield negligible oxygen saturation, and the second blood pressure signal could yield a negligible blood pressure, such that a researcher would readably be able to observe and judge that the subject’s autoregulation state is poor or nonexistent.
Regarding the measurement of the signals themselves, the “continuously sensing…with a tissue oximeter” and “continuously measuring…using a blood pressure sensing device” limitations are pre-solution activity that serves as data gathering for the subsequent recited abstract idea steps. As recited, it is the manipulation of variables themselves that comprise the abstract idea for claims 1, not the data gathering. The instant claims recite a series of limitations that encompass an abstract idea of manipulating variables obtained from electronic tissue oximeter and blood pressure sensing components used in a usual way, and that variable manipulation can be accomplished with the aid of time, equations, and paper. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 16, 1st Full Paragraph] and [Page 15, Top] that the presence or absence of a confounding factor using the first signals that is a physiological condition of the subject cannot be practically determined by a human with the aid of a pen and paper or by using a generic computer because the PHOSITA would not know how to do this novel determination. Applicant argues that the idea of identifying a confounding factor is novel because the cited prior art reference do not disclose or suggest “determining the autoregulation function state of the subject using the first and the second signals when the confounding factor is determined to be absent during the period of time.”
For “determining the autoregulation function state of the subject using the first and the second signals when the confounding factor is determined to be absent during the period of time”, a researcher given oxygenation and blood pressure measurements would be able to broadly determine a qualitative (good/bad) autoregulation state of the subject given equations, pen, paper, their education, background, and experience. As an example, the broad idea would include determining autoregulation for a deceased subject, wherein first oximeter data could yield continuous negligible oxygen saturation for a period of time, and the second blood pressure signal could yield continuous negligible blood pressure for a period of time, such that a researcher would readably be able to observe and judge that the subject’s autoregulation state is poor or nonexistent. The researcher could further determine that a confounding factor is absent during the period of time by making an observation and judgment that an optional confounding factor is missing data. If there appear to be no gaps of missing recorded data during the time period, then the researcher could broadly observe and judge that the confounding factor is determined to be absent during the period of time, and make their determination.
Regarding novelty, From MPEP § 2106.05 I: Although the courts often evaluate considerations such as the conventionality of an additional element in the eligibility analysis, the search for an inventive concept should not be confused with a novelty or non-obviousness determination. See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 91, 101 USPQ2d at 1973 (rejecting “the Government’s invitation to substitute §§ 102, 103, and 112 inquiries for the better established inquiry under § 101”). As made clear by the courts, the “‘novelty’ of any element or steps in a process, or even of the process itself, is of no relevance in determining whether the subject matter of a claim falls within the § 101 categories of possibly patentable subject matter.” Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1315, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (quoting Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. at 188–89, 209 USPQ at 9). See also Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1151, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“a claim for a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea. The search for a § 101 inventive concept is thus distinct from demonstrating § 102 novelty.”). In addition, the search for an inventive concept is different from an obviousness analysis under 35 U.S.C. 103. See, e.g., BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1236, 1242 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“The inventive concept inquiry requires more than recognizing that each claim element, by itself, was known in the art. . . . [A]n inventive concept can be found in the non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known, conventional pieces.”). The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 17, Paragraph 1] – [Page 17, Paragraph 2] that claim 1 recites a novel method that is a technological advancement over prior art autoregulation systems and methods because it takes into consideration the absence or presence of one or more confounding factors and improves the accuracy of the autoregulation function state determination. Applicant argues that when the presence of a confounding factor is determined, the signal data that is not related to the subject’s autoregulation state is either discarded or at least flagged, integrating the judicial exception into a practical application. Looking to Claim 1, it is not particularly recited that signal data that is not related to the subject’s autoregulation state is actually either discarded or actively flagged by the system. It is merely determined to either be present or absent. As described in the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection and discussion above, the “determination” step is an abstract idea that can be performed by a researcher with ordinary skill in the art. From MPEP 2106.05(a): It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. See the discussion of Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187 and 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981)) in subsection II, below. In addition, the improvement can be provided by the additional element(s) in combination with the recited judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.04(d) (discussing Finjan, Inc. v. Blue Coat Sys., Inc., 879 F.3d 1299, 1303-04, 125 USPQ2d 1282, 1285-87 (Fed. Cir. 2018)). The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 17, Paragraph 3] – [Page 17, Paragraph 4] that a PHOSITA would recognize based on [0006] and [0150] – [0170] of Applicant’s specification that the claimed method provides a specific, novel, unconventional, and significant technological advancement over currently known autoregulation function state determination methods. Regarding novelty, From MPEP § 2106.05 I: Although the courts often evaluate considerations such as the conventionality of an additional element in the eligibility analysis, the search for an inventive concept should not be confused with a novelty or non-obviousness determination. See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 91, 101 USPQ2d at 1973 (rejecting “the Government’s invitation to substitute §§ 102, 103, and 112 inquiries for the better established inquiry under § 101”). As made clear by the courts, the “‘novelty’ of any element or steps in a process, or even of the process itself, is of no relevance in determining whether the subject matter of a claim falls within the § 101 categories of possibly patentable subject matter.” Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1315, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (quoting Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. at 188–89, 209 USPQ at 9). See also Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1151, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“a claim for a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea. The search for a § 101 inventive concept is thus distinct from demonstrating § 102 novelty.”). In addition, the search for an inventive concept is different from an obviousness analysis under 35 U.S.C. 103. See, e.g., BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1236, 1242 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“The inventive concept inquiry requires more than recognizing that each claim element, by itself, was known in the art. . . . [A]n inventive concept can be found in the non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known, conventional pieces.”). As claimed, the instant claims recite a series of limitations that encompass an abstract idea of manipulating variables obtained from electronic tissue oximeter and blood pressure sensing components used in a usual way, and that variable manipulation can be accomplished with the aid of time, equations, and paper. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 18, Paragraph 1] – [Page 18, Paragraph 2] that the claim applies the judicial exception with a particular machine. Claim 1 recites a generic tissue oximeter, blood pressure sensing device, and controller to measure an oxygenation parameter, blood pressure level, and process data. This is a well-understood, routine, and conventional use of these types of sensors and processor. There is nothing particular about the tissue oximeter, blood pressure sensing device, and controller that make them more than well-understood, routine, or conventional. The argument is not persuasive.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103:
Applicant argues at [Page 19, Paragraph 3] – [Page 19, Paragraph 4] that an outlier data point is not a physiological condition that affects the sensed at least one tissue oxygenation parameter in a manner independent of the autoregulation function of the subject. Based on the amendment to claim 1, Montgomery (2016) is combined with the newly-applied reference, Montgomery 2019, to teach that a noise outlier data point can be as a result of a physiological condition of “patient motion” that affects the sensed at least one tissue oxygenation parameter in a manner independent of the autoregulation function of the subject. Looking to Applicant’s specification at [0150] “…The term “confounding factor” as used herein refers to a physiological condition that affects one or more physiological parameters …The confounding factors include, but are not limited to, physiological uncertainty…” As such, a physiological condition of “physiological uncertainty” would broadly include ”patient motion” that promotes uncertainty of where the patient’s limbs are at a given moment. There is a physiological uncertainty, or noise, in the physiological measurement that can occur due to the relative motion between the sensor and the patient’s body. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 19, Bottom] – [Page 20, 1st Full Paragraph] that Montgomery does not disclose "determining, by the controller, the autoregulation function state of the subject using the first signals representative of the at least one tissue oxygenation parameter during the period of time and the second signals representative of the blood pressure level of the subject during the period of time, when the confounding factor is determined to be absent during the period of time" because amended claim 1 does not include any recitation directed to determining an LLA or a ULA. Looking to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection above, Montgomery 2016 discloses using the blood pressure signal (2nd signals) and the rSO2 values (1st signal) to identify regression lines that exclude or ignore outliers of noise, and then the autoregulation is monitored using that information to determine “when the autoregulation transitions from intact to impaired” using “controller 16” ([0034] – [0037]; [0027] – [0028]; Figs. 5 – 7). It does not appear necessary for the claim to recite LLA or ULA. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 20, 3rd Full Paragraph] – [Page 21, Bottom] that Claims 4, 5, 8, and 14 and 15 are patentable over their respective cited references because Montgomery does not disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1, and that the cited references of Bienek, Hornick, and Milej do not cure the deficiencies of Montgomery. Based on the amendments to Claim 1, the additional reference of Montgomery 2019 is applied to teach the remaining limitations of Claim 1, as described in the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection and discussion above. As such, Montgomery 2016 and Montgomery 2019 disclose all of the limitation of Claim 1. The argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MELISSA JO MONTGOMERY 2016/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JUSTIN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791