Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 11, 14, 20, 23, 25, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Paluri et al. US 2025/0240442.
Paluri discloses:
1. and under similar rationales 11. 20. A method of decoding video data, the method being performed by at least one processor (Fig. 2: processor 230) and comprising: determining, using a picture header syntax element, and for all slices of a coded picture, whether the slices are B, P, and/or I type, the picture header syntax element being coded using an unsigned integer and included in a slice layer raw byte sequence payload network abstraction layer unit (0070; 0121; 0149; 0152-3; Figs. 23, 26-35, e.g.
descriptor u(n) in an unsigned integer of length n); and decoding the video data based on types of slices indicated by the picture header syntax element, and for the coded picture, only related syntax elements are coded, and when all slices of the coded picture are indicated as including intra-prediction, no inter-prediction syntax elements are coded (Fig. 14: decoding apparatus; 0070; 0121; 0149; 0152-3; Figs. 23, 26-35; 0184-5; 0232-3).
14. and 4. And 23. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein a flag is used to indicate a presence of the picture header related syntax elements in the slice layer raw byte sequence payload network abstraction layer unit (0070; 0121; 0149; 0152-3; Figs. 23, 26-35, e.g.
).
6. The method of claim 11, wherein the types of the slices are inferred when signaled in high level syntax (0149; 0152-3; Figs. 23, 26-35; 0184-5; 0232-3; 0161-6; 0177-80).
25. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 20, wherein the types of the slices are inferred when signaled in high level syntax (0149; 0152-3; Figs. 23, 26-35; 0184-5; 0232-3; 0161-6; 0177-80); or wherein the types of the slices are inferred based on a number of rectangular slices in the coded picture.
28. The method of claim 1, wherein a picture header raw byte sequence payload is included within the slice layer raw byte sequence payload network abstraction layer unit, and a picture parameter set includes a picture parameter set picture type indicator, and the picture header syntax element comprises a picture header picture type indicator that specifies the slice types for all slices of the coded picture, wherein signaling of the picture header picture type indicates the types of slices when the picture parameter set picture type indicator indicates a presence of both intra slices and inter slices in coded pictures, and otherwise without signaling of the picture header picture type indicator the picture header picture type indicator is inferred to be equal to the picture parameter set picture type indicator (0149; 0152-3; Figs. 23, 26-35; 0184-5; 0232-3; 0161-6; 0177-80).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 16 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paluri in view of Ryu et al. US 2014/0036999 from IDS
Paluri discloses:
5. 16. and 24. The apparatus of claim 1,
Paluri does not explicitly disclose the following, however Ryu teaches wherein the types of the slices are inferred from a decoded access unit delimiter value. (0141-3; table 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to the AU delimiter may include a picture type, a priority identifier, and/or RBSP trailing bits and the picture type may indicate the type of picture following the AU delimiter, such as an I-picture/slice, a P-picture/slice, and/or a B-picture/slice (Ryu 0142)
Claim 7, 9, 10, 17 and 19 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paluri in view of Chen et al. US 2012/0189053 hereinafter Chen053 from IDS.
Paluri discloses:
17. and 7. The method of claim 11,
Paluri does not explicitly disclose the following, however Chen053 teaches wherein the setting code is configured such that the picture header syntax element is a 2 bit syntax element configurable with three statuses. (0021-3; 0038-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to have syntax elements defined to indicate construction information for the reference picture lists are encoded and signaled to a decoding device in a slice header of a coded video slice (Chen053 0021)
19. and 9. The method of claim 11,
Paluri does not explicitly disclose the following, however Chen053 teaches wherein the setting code is configured such that the picture header syntax element is a 2 bit syntax element configurable with four statuses. (0021-3; 0038-44; as there are 2 bits which can represent four values (0-3) it would be obvious to include a forth status if desired).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to have syntax elements defined to indicate construction information for the reference picture lists are encoded and signaled to a decoding device in a slice header of a coded video slice (Chen053 0021)
10. The method of claim 1,
Paluri does not explicitly disclose the following, however Chen053 teaches wherein the syntax element is a 2 bit syntax element configurable with four statuses. (0021-3; 0038-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to have syntax elements defined to indicate construction information for the reference picture lists are encoded and signaled to a decoding device in a slice header of a coded video slice (Chen053 0021)
27. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 20,
Paluri does not explicitly disclose the following, however Chen053 teaches wherein the picture header syntax element is a 2 bit syntax element configurable with any of three statuses four statuses. (0021-3; 0038-44; as there are 2 bits which can represent four values (0-3) it would be obvious to include a forth status if desired).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to have syntax elements defined to indicate construction information for the reference picture lists are encoded and signaled to a decoding device in a slice header of a coded video slice (Chen053 0021)
Claim(s) 8, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paluri in view of Chen et al. US 2014/0198181
Chen ‘181
8. and 26. The apparatus of claim 1,
Paluri does not explicitly disclose the following, however Chen teaches wherein the single syntax element is a 0-th order Exp-Golomb-coded syntax element (0171; 0212).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to assign variable-length unsigned integers encoded using 0.sup.th order exponential Golomb (Exp-Golomb) coding with left bit first which can give more options than the u(1) which should only have 1 bit/two states (Chen ‘181 0171)
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W BECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2424