CTFR 18/513,120 CTFR 100758 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Response to Arguments Applicant's arguments filed 04/01/2026 regarding the prior art rejections of Claims 1 – 20 have been fully considered. The Remarks argue that: During the telephone interview, amended claim 1 overcomes the rejections under § 103. Claim 1, as amended, is patentable. Independent claims 9, and 15, as amended, include analogous amendments of claim 1 and are patentable. Claims 1, 9, and 15 are patentable over the cited Chandrashekhar, Yefet, and Smith and the prior art of record. The Examiner denies coming to an agreement on proposed amendments overcoming the rejections during the interview. The Examiner explained the initial proposed amendments required an update to search before declaring the claim patentable. Chandrashekhar in combination with Yefet and Smith discloses, teaches, and suggests the features recited in independent claims 1, 9, & 15. The previous prior art rejection is maintained. Claims 2 – 8 which depend from amended claim 1, have been considered and rejected. Claims 10 – 14 which depend from amended claim 9, have been considered and rejected. Claims 16 – 20 which depend from amended claim 15, have been considered and rejected. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrashekhar (US 11088916 B1) in view of Yefet (US 2022/0407824 A1) in view of Smith (US 9432298 B1) . With regards to claim 1, Chandrashekhar teaches: issuing control commands to the shared network adapter using the control queues, wherein the control commands configure a data plane for exchanging data between the host and the shared network adapter (283 & 260, The input devices enable the user to communicate information and select commands to the electronic system. The configuration data to the central control plane of the logical network at the source site (e.g., a set of controllers 1420-1425). The controllers then distribute the configuration data to the process 3500, via an agent in some embodiments that executes on the same host) ; and upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the control queues to still transmit control plane data between the host and the shared network adapter (99, The validation is based on whether there is any error or inconsistency in applying the CUD event to the configuration of the logical network at the physical site. a loophole is created where the security policies applicable to the logical network element are not fully applied. In some embodiments, the validation is performed by the local manager service 1410, which retrieves the CUD event from the ingress queue 1402 and stores it in the database 1405) . However, Yefet teaches: A method comprising: establishing a data device in a host, wherein the data device serves as an interface between an operating system in the host and a shared network adapter; activating, in the data device control queues between the host and the shared network adapter; (0006, An embodiment that is describe herein provides a network adapter that includes a network interface, a host interface and processing circuitry. The host interface is configured to connect to a host that accesses a Multi-Channel Send Queue (MCSQ) storing Work Requests (WRs) originating from client processes running on the host) . activating, in the data device, data queues between the host and the shared network adapter after issuing the control commands to initiate inbound and outbound data transmissions between the host and the shared network adapter; exchanging, using the data queues, inbound and outbound data transmissions between the host and the shared network adapter; (0008, The processing circuitry is configured to retrieve WRs from the MCSQ and distribute the retrieved WRs among multiple Network Send Queues (NSQs) accessible by the processing circuitry, and retrieve WRs from the multiple NSQs and execute data transmission operations specified in the WRs retrieved from the multiple NSQs.) ; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the system of a method for defining a logical network (LN) that spans multiple sites and is managed at each site by a local manager of Chandrashekhar with the teaching of Yefet, which teaches a network adapter includes a network interface, a host interface and processing circuitry in order to connect to a communication network for communicating with remote targets (Yefet, 0006). Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith fails to teach: to deactivate inbound and outbound data transmissions between the host and the shared network adapter; However, Smith teaches: to deactivate inbound and outbound data transmissions between the host and the shared network adapter; (Smith: 514, In one embodiment links between stacked memory packages and/or CPU and/or other system components may be activated and deactivated at run time.) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the system of a method upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the transmission of information of Chandrashekhar with the teaching of Smith, which teaches suspending without affecting a current protocol configuration in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter. With regards to claim 2, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches the method of claim 1: wherein the control queues are part of a control plane in a data device that serves as an interface between an operating system in the host and the shared network adapter (11, provide configuration data to the control plane of the logical network (e.g., a cluster of controllers at each site). In some embodiments, these controllers identify computing devices at the site which execute physical forwarding elements) . With regards to claim 3, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches the method of claim 1: further comprising, after identifying the error: receiving a stop local access network (LAN) command and returning to a start LAN state which purges previously issued control commands (212 & 284, The user interface 2900 is in some embodiments a full user interface for the network management and control system, and used to define the desired state of the logical network (e.g., by issuing create, update, and delete events for logical network elements) as well as query the realized state of one or more logical network elements. In this manner, the computer can be a part of a network of computers (such as a local area network (“LAN”)) . With regards to claim 4, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches the method of claim 1. Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith fails to teach: wherein, after identifying the error, the data queues are suspended without affecting a current protocol configuration. However, Smith teaches: wherein, after identifying the error, the data queues are suspended without affecting a current protocol configuration (Smith: 1117, Using an SMBus a device may provide manufacturer information, model number, part number, may save state (e.g. for a suspend, sleep event etc.), report errors, accept control parameters, return status, etc.) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the system of a method upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the transmission of information of Chandrashekhar with the teaching of Smith, which teaches suspending without affecting a current protocol configuration in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter. With regards to claim 5, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches the method of claim 1. Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith fails to teach: further comprising, after identifying the error: resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane. However, Smith teaches: further comprising, after identifying the error: resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane (Smith: 1117, Using an SMBus a device may provide manufacturer information, model number, part number, may save state (e.g. for a suspend, sleep event etc.), report errors, accept control parameters, return status, etc; Chandrashekhar: 13 & 11, The local manager at each site uses the relevant portion of the global desired configuration, received from the global manager, to manage the logical network at the site. For example, in some embodiments, the local manager uses the relevant portion to generate and provide configuration data to the control plane of the logical network. The local manager uses the service rules to generate configuration data for distribution by controllers, to configure the data plane (i.e., the forwarding elements and the service machines) to enforce the received service rules on data message flows that are associated with groups of logical network endpoints.) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the system of a method of identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the transmission of information of Chandrashekhar with the teaching of Smith, which teaches resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter. With regards to claim 6, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith fails to teach the method of claim 5. However, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches: wherein resetting the control plane places the control plane in a state where the only control command that can be executed is a start LAN request (Chandrashekhar: 110 & 284, by applying a set of priority rules to the CUD event to determine whether the CUD event is allowed to override the globally-defined desired configuration. The computer can be a part of a network of computers (such as a local area network (“LAN”)) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the system, where the only instruction that can be executed is a start LAN request of Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith with the teaching of Smith, which teaches resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter. With regards to claim 7, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches the method of claim 1 and teaches: wherein the error is an error in the shared network adapter (99, The validation is based on whether there is any error or inconsistency in applying the CUD event to the configuration of the logical network at the physical site) . With regards to claim 8, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches the method of claim 1 and teaches: wherein the error is a network interface card/controller (NIC) port transitioning from operational to nonoperational (281 & 284, When the electronic system 3700 is off. bus 3705 also couples electronic system 3700 to a network 3765 through a network adapter (not shown). In this manner, the computer can be a part of a network of computers (such as a local area network (“LAN”)) . With regards to claim 9, Chandrashekhar teaches: A system, comprising: one or more processors configured to host a plurality of logical partitions or virtual machines (3, a cluster of machines) ; a shared network adapter configured to provide an interface between the plurality of logical partitions or virtual machines and a network interface card/controller (NIC); and host memory storing computer code configured to perform an operation, the operation comprising (284, Finally, as shown in FIG. 37, bus 3705 also couples electronic system 3700 to a network 3765 through a network adapter (not shown). In this manner, the computer can be a part of a network of computers (such as a local area network (“LAN”), a wide area network (“WAN”), or an Intranet, or a network of networks, such as the Internet. Any or all components of electronic system 3700 may be used in conjunction with the invention) : activating control queues between the host and the shared network adapter (95, to receive input via REST APIs from a user client 440, and a handler 1417 to send configuration data to the control plane for realization of the desired logical network configuration) ; issuing control commands to the shared network adapter using the control queues, wherein the control commands configure a data plane for exchanging data between the host and the shared network adapter (257, At 3520, the process 3500 receives the global port identifier from the local manager 425, as illustrated in FIG. 34A by instruction 3436. In some embodiments, the local manager 425 provides the global identifier to the central control plane of the logical network at the source site (e.g., a set of controllers 1420-1425)) ; activating data queues between the host and the shared network adapter after issuing the control commands (6, When the primary global manager receives the global desired configuration for the logical network, the global manager stores portions of the global configuration in each queue, based on the relevance of the portions to the configuration of the logical network at the queue's corresponding physical site.) ; and upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the control queues to still transmit control plane data between the host and the shared network adapter (99, The validation is based on whether there is any error or inconsistency in applying the CUD event to the configuration of the logical network at the physical site. a loophole is created where the security policies applicable to the logical network element are not fully applied. In some embodiments, the validation is performed by the local manager service 1410, which retrieves the CUD event from the ingress queue 1402 and stores it in the database 1405) . However, Yefet teaches: a shared network adapter configured to provide an interface between the plurality of logical partitions or virtual machines and a network interface card/controller (NIC); and host memory storing computer code configured to perform an operation, the operation comprising: (0006 An embodiment that is describe herein provides a network adapter that includes a network interface, a host interface and processing circuitry. The host interface is configured to connect to a host that accesses a Multi-Channel Send Queue (MCSQ) storing Work Requests (WRs) originating from client processes running on the host) . establishing a data device in a host, wherein the data device serves as an interface between an operating system in the host and a shared network adapter; activating, in the data device, control queues between the host and the shared network adapter; (0016, There is additionally provided, in accordance with an embodiment that is described herein, a computing system, comprising a memory, which stores one or more multi-channel send queues (MCSQs) of work requests (WRs), a central processing unit (CPU) which places WRs on the one or more MCSQs, wherein each WR includes a respective stream ID, and a network adapter, which manages communication over a network in multiple channels, in accordance with WRs from one or more MCSQs, and ensures that WRs having a same stream ID are transmitted through a same network send queue (NSQ)) . activating, in the data device, data queues between the host and the shared network adapter after issuing the control commands; to initiate inbound and outbound data transmissions between the host and the shared network adapter; exchanging, using the data queues, inbound and outbound data transmissions between the host and the shared network adapter; (0008, The processing circuitry is configured to retrieve WRs from the MCSQ and distribute the retrieved WRs among multiple Network Send Queues (NSQs) accessible by the processing circuitry, and retrieve WRs from the multiple NSQs and execute data transmission operations specified in the WRs retrieved from the multiple NSQs) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the system of a method for defining a logical network (LN) that spans multiple sites and is managed at each site by a local manager of Chandrashekhar with the teaching of Yefet, which teaches a network adapter includes a network interface, a host interface and processing circuitry in order to connect to a communication network for communicating with remote targets (Yefet, 0006). Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith fails to teach: to deactivate inbound and outbound data transmissions between the host and the shared network adapter; However, Smith teaches: to deactivate inbound and outbound data transmissions between the host and the shared network adapter; (Smith: 514, In one embodiment links between stacked memory packages and/or CPU and/or other system components may be activated and deactivated at run time.) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the system of a method upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the transmission of information of Chandrashekhar with the teaching of Smith, which teaches suspending without affecting a current protocol configuration in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter. With regards to claim 10, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches the system of claim 9 and corresponds to claim 2 as analyzed accordingly. With regards to claim 11, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches the system of claim 9 and corresponds to claim 3 as analyzed accordingly. With regards to claim 12, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches the system of claim 9. Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith fails to teach: wherein, after identifying the error, the data queues are suspended without affecting a current protocol configuration. However, Smith teaches: wherein, after identifying the error, the data queues are suspended without affecting a current protocol configuration (Smith: 1117, Using an SMBus a device may provide manufacturer information, model number, part number, may save state (e.g. for a suspend, sleep event etc.), report errors, accept control parameters, return status, etc.) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the system of a method of identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the transmission of information of Chandrashekhar with the teaching of Smith, which teaches suspending without affecting a current protocol configuration in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter. With regards to claim 13, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches the system of claim 9. Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith fails to teach: wherein the operation further comprises, after identifying the error: resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane. However, Smith teaches: wherein the operation further comprises, after identifying the error: resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane (Smith: 1117, Using an SMBus a device may provide manufacturer information, model number, part number, may save state (e.g. for a suspend, sleep event etc.), report errors, accept control parameters, return status, etc; Chandrashekhar: 13 & 11, The local manager at each site uses the relevant portion of the global desired configuration, received from the global manager, to manage the logical network at the site. For example, in some embodiments, the local manager uses the relevant portion to generate and provide configuration data to the control plane of the logical network. The local manager uses the service rules to generate configuration data for distribution by controllers, to configure the data plane (i.e., the forwarding elements and the service machines) to enforce the received service rules on data message flows that are associated with groups of logical network endpoints.) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the system of a method upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the transmission of computer information of Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smithwith the teaching of Smith, which teaches resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter. With regards to claim 14, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith fails to teach the system of claim 13. However, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches: wherein resetting the control plane places the control plane in a state where the only control command that can be executed is a start LAN request (Chandrashekhar: 110 & 284, by applying a set of priority rules to the CUD event to determine whether the CUD event is allowed to override the globally-defined desired configuration. The computer can be a part of a network of computers (such as a local area network (“LAN”)) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the system of Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith where the only instruction that can be executed is a start LAN request of Chandrashekhar with the teaching of Smith, which teaches resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter. With regards to claim 15, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches a computer program product and corresponds to claim 1 as analyzed accordingly. With regards to claim 16, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches the system of claim 15 and corresponds to claim 2 as analyzed accordingly. With regards to claim 17, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches the system of claim 15 and corresponds to claim 3 as analyzed accordingly. With regards to claim 18, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches the computer program product of claim 15. Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith fails to teach: wherein, after identifying the error, the data queues are suspended without affecting a current protocol configuration. However, Smith teaches: wherein, after identifying the error, the data queues are suspended without affecting a current protocol configuration (Smith: 1117, Using an SMBus a device may provide manufacturer information, model number, part number, may save state (e.g. for a suspend, sleep event etc.), report errors, accept control parameters, return status, etc.) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the system of a method upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the transmission of computer information of Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smithwith the teaching of Smith, which teaches suspending without affecting a current protocol configuration in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter. With regards to claim 19, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith teaches the computer program product of claim 15. Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smith fails to teach: wherein the operation further comprises, after identifying the error: resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane. However, Smith teaches: wherein the operation further comprises, after identifying the error: resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane (Smith: 1117, Using an SMBus a device may provide manufacturer information, model number, part number, may save state (e.g. for a suspend, sleep event etc.), report errors, accept control parameters, return status, etc; Chandrashekhar: 13 & 11, The local manager at each site uses the relevant portion of the global desired configuration, received from the global manager, to manage the logical network at the site. For example, in some embodiments, the local manager uses the relevant portion to generate and provide configuration data to the control plane of the logical network. The local manager uses the service rules to generate configuration data for distribution by controllers, to configure the data plane (i.e., the forwarding elements and the service machines) to enforce the received service rules on data message flows that are associated with groups of logical network endpoints.) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the system of a method upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting transmission of information of Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smithwith the teaching of Smith, which teaches resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter. With regards to claim 20, Chandrashekhar fails to teach the computer program product of claim 19. However, Chandrashekhar teaches: wherein resetting the control plane places the control plane in a state where the only control command that can be executed is a start LAN request (Chandrashekhar: 110 & 284, by applying a set of priority rules to the CUD event to determine whether the CUD event is allowed to override the globally-defined desired configuration. The computer can be a part of a network of computers (such as a local area network (“LAN”)) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the method, where the only instruction that can be executed is a start LAN request of Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet in view of Smithwith the teaching of Smith, which teaches resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter. Prior Art Made of Record The prior art mode of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure: Terpstra (US 20230297682 A1): A computing device quarantine action system includes a computing device having a plurality of computing device components and a Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) subsystem. Zhang (US 20160226967 A1): A novel design of a gateway that handles traffic in and out of a network by using a datapath daemon. Conclusion Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Applicant's arguments filed 04/01/2026 regarding the prior art rejections of Claims 1 – 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VICTOR PERRY whose telephone number is (571)272-6319. The examiner can 07-100 normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mark Featherstone can be reached on (571) 270-3750. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2111 /GUERRIER MERANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111 6/11/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 2 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 3 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 4 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 5 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 6 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 7 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 8 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 9 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 10 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 11 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 12 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 13 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 14 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 15 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 16 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 17 Art Unit: 2111 Application/Control Number: 18/513,120 Page 18 Art Unit: 2111