Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 7 - 11, & 15 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrashekhar (US 11088916 B1) in view of Yefet (US 2022/0407824 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Chandrashekhar teaches:
issuing control commands to the shared network adapter using the control queues, wherein the control commands configure a data plane for exchanging data between the host and the shared network adapter (283 & 260, The input devices enable the user to communicate information and select commands to the electronic system. The configuration data to the central control plane of the logical network at the source site (e.g., a set of controllers 1420-1425). The controllers then distribute the configuration data to the process 3500, via an agent in some embodiments that executes on the same host); and upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the control queues to still transmit control plane data between the host and the shared network adapter (99, The validation is based on whether there is any error or inconsistency in applying the CUD event to the configuration of the logical network at the physical site. a loophole is created where the security policies applicable to the logical network element are not fully applied. In some embodiments, the validation is performed by the local manager service 1410, which retrieves the CUD event from the ingress queue 1402 and stores it in the database 1405).
However, Yefet teaches:
A method comprising: establishing a data device in a host, wherein the data device serves as an interface between an operating system in the host and a shared network adapter; activating, in the data device control queues between the host and the shared network adapter; (0006, An embodiment that is describe herein provides a network adapter that includes a network interface, a host interface and processing circuitry. The host interface is configured to connect to a host that accesses a Multi-Channel Send Queue (MCSQ) storing Work Requests (WRs) originating from client processes running on the host).
activating, in the data device, data queues between the host and the shared network adapter after issuing the control commands (0008, The processing circuitry is configured to retrieve WRs from the MCSQ and distribute the retrieved WRs among multiple Network Send Queues (NSQs) accessible by the processing circuitry, and retrieve WRs from the multiple NSQs and execute data transmission operations specified in the WRs retrieved from the multiple NSQs.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system of a method for defining a logical network (LN) that spans multiple sites and is managed at each site by a local manager of Chandrashekhar with the teaching of Yefet, which teaches a network adapter includes a network interface, a host interface and processing circuitry in order to connect to a communication network for communicating with remote targets (Yefet, 0006).
With regards to claim 2, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches the method of claim 1:
wherein the control queues are part of a control plane in a data device that serves as an interface between an operating system in the host and the shared network adapter (11, provide configuration data to the control plane of the logical network (e.g., a cluster of controllers at each site). In some embodiments, these controllers identify computing devices at the site which execute physical forwarding elements).
With regards to claim 3, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches the method of claim 1:
further comprising, after identifying the error: receiving a stop local access network (LAN) command and returning to a start LAN state which purges previously issued control commands (212 & 284, The user interface 2900 is in some embodiments a full user interface for the network management and control system, and used to define the desired state of the logical network (e.g., by issuing create, update, and delete events for logical network elements) as well as query the realized state of one or more logical network elements. In this manner, the computer can be a part of a network of computers (such as a local area network (“LAN”)).
With regards to claim 7, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches the method of claim 1 and teaches:
wherein the error is an error in the shared network adapter (99, The validation is based on whether there is any error or inconsistency in applying the CUD event to the configuration of the logical network at the physical site).
With regards to claim 8, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches the method of claim 1 and teaches:
wherein the error is a network interface card/controller (NIC) port transitioning from operational to nonoperational (281 & 284, When the electronic system 3700 is off. bus 3705 also couples electronic system 3700 to a network 3765 through a network adapter (not shown). In this manner, the computer can be a part of a network of computers (such as a local area network (“LAN”)).
With regards to claim 9, Chandrashekhar teaches:
A system, comprising: one or more processors configured to host a plurality of logical partitions or virtual machines (3, a cluster of machines); a shared network adapter configured to provide an interface between the plurality of logical partitions or virtual machines and a network interface card/controller (NIC); and host memory storing computer code configured to perform an operation, the operation comprising (284, Finally, as shown in FIG. 37, bus 3705 also couples electronic system 3700 to a network 3765 through a network adapter (not shown). In this manner, the computer can be a part of a network of computers (such as a local area network (“LAN”), a wide area network (“WAN”), or an Intranet, or a network of networks, such as the Internet. Any or all components of electronic system 3700 may be used in conjunction with the invention): activating control queues between the host and the shared network adapter (95, to receive input via REST APIs from a user client 440, and a handler 1417 to send configuration data to the control plane for realization of the desired logical network configuration); issuing control commands to the shared network adapter using the control queues, wherein the control commands configure a data plane for exchanging data between the host and the shared network adapter (257, At 3520, the process 3500 receives the global port identifier from the local manager 425, as illustrated in FIG. 34A by instruction 3436. In some embodiments, the local manager 425 provides the global identifier to the central control plane of the logical network at the source site (e.g., a set of controllers 1420-1425)); activating data queues between the host and the shared network adapter after issuing the control commands (6, When the primary global manager receives the global desired configuration for the logical network, the global manager stores portions of the global configuration in each queue, based on the relevance of the portions to the configuration of the logical network at the queue's corresponding physical site.); and upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the control queues to still transmit control plane data between the host and the shared network adapter (99, The validation is based on whether there is any error or inconsistency in applying the CUD event to the configuration of the logical network at the physical site. a loophole is created where the security policies applicable to the logical network element are not fully applied. In some embodiments, the validation is performed by the local manager service 1410, which retrieves the CUD event from the ingress queue 1402 and stores it in the database 1405).
However, Yefet teaches:
a shared network adapter configured to provide an interface between the plurality of logical partitions or virtual machines and a network interface card/controller (NIC); and host memory storing computer code configured to perform an operation, the operation comprising: (0006 An embodiment that is describe herein provides a network adapter that includes a network interface, a host interface and processing circuitry. The host interface is configured to connect to a host that accesses a Multi-Channel Send Queue (MCSQ) storing Work Requests (WRs) originating from client processes running on the host).
establishing a data device in a host, wherein the data device serves as an interface between an operating system in the host and a shared network adapter; activating, in the data device, control queues between [[a]] the host and [[a]] the shared network adapter; (0016, There is additionally provided, in accordance with an embodiment that is described herein, a computing system, comprising a memory, which stores one or more multi-channel send queues (MCSQs) of work requests (WRs), a central processing unit (CPU) which places WRs on the one or more MCSQs, wherein each WR includes a respective stream ID, and a network adapter, which manages communication over a network in multiple channels, in accordance with WRs from one or more MCSQs, and ensures that WRs having a same stream ID are transmitted through a same network send queue (NSQ)).
activating, in the data device, data queues between the host and the shared network adapter after issuing the control commands; (0008, The processing circuitry is configured to retrieve WRs from the MCSQ and distribute the retrieved WRs among multiple Network Send Queues (NSQs) accessible by the processing circuitry, and retrieve WRs from the multiple NSQs and execute data transmission operations specified in the WRs retrieved from the multiple NSQs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system of a method for defining a logical network (LN) that spans multiple sites and is managed at each site by a local manager of Chandrashekhar with the teaching of Yefet, which teaches a network adapter includes a network interface, a host interface and processing circuitry in order to connect to a communication network for communicating with remote targets (Yefet, 0006).
With regards to claim 10, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches the system of claim 9 and corresponds to claim 2 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 11, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches the system of claim 9 and corresponds to claim 3 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 15, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches a computer program product and corresponds to claim 1 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 16, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches the system of claim 15 and corresponds to claim 2 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 17, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches the system of claim 15 and corresponds to claim 3 as analyzed accordingly.
Claim 4 - 6, 12 - 14, and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrashekhar (US 11088916 B1) in view of Yefet (US 2022/0407824 A1) in view of Smith (US 9432298 B1).
With regards to claim 4, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches the method of claim 1. Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet fails to teach:
wherein, after identifying the error, the data queues are suspended without affecting a current protocol configuration.
However, Smith teaches:
wherein, after identifying the error, the data queues are suspended without affecting a current protocol configuration (Smith: 1117, Using an SMBus a device may provide manufacturer information, model number, part number, may save state (e.g. for a suspend, sleep event etc.), report errors, accept control parameters, return status, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system of a method upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the transmission of information of Chandrashekhar with the teaching of Smith, which teaches suspending without affecting a current protocol configuration in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter.
With regards to claim 5, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches the method of claim 1. Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet fails to teach:
further comprising, after identifying the error: resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane.
However, Smith teaches:
further comprising, after identifying the error: resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane (Smith: 1117, Using an SMBus a device may provide manufacturer information, model number, part number, may save state (e.g. for a suspend, sleep event etc.), report errors, accept control parameters, return status, etc; Chandrashekhar: 13 & 11, The local manager at each site uses the relevant portion of the global desired configuration, received from the global manager, to manage the logical network at the site. For example, in some embodiments, the local manager uses the relevant portion to generate and provide configuration data to the control plane of the logical network.
The local manager uses the service rules to generate configuration data for distribution by controllers, to configure the data plane (i.e., the forwarding elements and the service machines) to enforce the received service rules on data message flows that are associated with groups of logical network endpoints.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system of a method of identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the transmission of information of Chandrashekhar with the teaching of Smith, which teaches resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter.
With regards to claim 6, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet fails to teach the method of claim 5.
However, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches:
wherein resetting the control plane places the control plane in a state where the only control command that can be executed is a start LAN request (Chandrashekhar: 110 & 284, by applying a set of priority rules to the CUD event to determine whether the CUD event is allowed to override the globally-defined desired configuration. The computer can be a part of a network of computers (such as a local area network (“LAN”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system, where the only instruction that can be executed is a start LAN request of Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet with the teaching of Smith, which teaches resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter.
With regards to claim 12, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches the system of claim 9. Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet fails to teach:
wherein, after identifying the error, the data queues are suspended without affecting a current protocol configuration.
However, Smith teaches:
wherein, after identifying the error, the data queues are suspended without affecting a current protocol configuration (Smith: 1117, Using an SMBus a device may provide manufacturer information, model number, part number, may save state (e.g. for a suspend, sleep event etc.), report errors, accept control parameters, return status, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system of a method of identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the transmission of information of Chandrashekhar with the teaching of Smith, which teaches suspending without affecting a current protocol configuration in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter.
With regards to claim 13, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches the system of claim 9. Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet fails to teach:
wherein the operation further comprises, after identifying the error: resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane.
However, Smith teaches:
wherein the operation further comprises, after identifying the error: resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane(Smith: 1117, Using an SMBus a device may provide manufacturer information, model number, part number, may save state (e.g. for a suspend, sleep event etc.), report errors, accept control parameters, return status, etc; Chandrashekhar: 13 & 11, The local manager at each site uses the relevant portion of the global desired configuration, received from the global manager, to manage the logical network at the site. For example, in some embodiments, the local manager uses the relevant portion to generate and provide configuration data to the control plane of the logical network.
The local manager uses the service rules to generate configuration data for distribution by controllers, to configure the data plane (i.e., the forwarding elements and the service machines) to enforce the received service rules on data message flows that are associated with groups of logical network endpoints.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system of a method upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the transmission of computer information of Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet with the teaching of Smith, which teaches resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter.
With regards to claim 14, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet fails to teach the system of claim 13.
However, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches:
wherein resetting the control plane places the control plane in a state where the only control command that can be executed is a start LAN request (Chandrashekhar: 110 & 284, by applying a set of priority rules to the CUD event to determine whether the CUD event is allowed to override the globally-defined desired configuration. The computer can be a part of a network of computers (such as a local area network (“LAN”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system of Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet where the only instruction that can be executed is a start LAN request of Chandrashekhar with the teaching of Smith, which teaches resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter.
With regards to claim 18, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches the computer program product of claim 15. Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet fails to teach:
wherein, after identifying the error, the data queues are suspended without affecting a current protocol configuration.
However, Smith teaches:
wherein, after identifying the error, the data queues are suspended without affecting a current protocol configuration (Smith: 1117, Using an SMBus a device may provide manufacturer information, model number, part number, may save state (e.g. for a suspend, sleep event etc.), report errors, accept control parameters, return status, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system of a method upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the transmission of computer information of Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet with the teaching of Smith, which teaches suspending without affecting a current protocol configuration in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter.
With regards to claim 19, Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet teaches the computer program product of claim 15. Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet fails to teach:
wherein the operation further comprises, after identifying the error: resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane.
However, Smith teaches:
wherein the operation further comprises, after identifying the error: resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane (Smith: 1117, Using an SMBus a device may provide manufacturer information, model number, part number, may save state (e.g. for a suspend, sleep event etc.), report errors, accept control parameters, return status, etc; Chandrashekhar: 13 & 11, The local manager at each site uses the relevant portion of the global desired configuration, received from the global manager, to manage the logical network at the site. For example, in some embodiments, the local manager uses the relevant portion to generate and provide configuration data to the control plane of the logical network.
The local manager uses the service rules to generate configuration data for distribution by controllers, to configure the data plane (i.e., the forwarding elements and the service machines) to enforce the received service rules on data message flows that are associated with groups of logical network endpoints.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the system of a method upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting transmission of information of Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet with the teaching of Smith, which teaches resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter.
With regards to claim 20, Chandrashekhar fails to teach the computer program product of claim 19. However, Chandrashekhar teaches:
wherein resetting the control plane places the control plane in a state where the only control command that can be executed is a start LAN request (Chandrashekhar: 110 & 284, by applying a set of priority rules to the CUD event to determine whether the CUD event is allowed to override the globally-defined desired configuration. The computer can be a part of a network of computers (such as a local area network (“LAN”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was
effectively filed to modify the method, where the only instruction that can be executed is a start LAN request of Chandrashekhar in view of Yefet with the teaching of Smith, which teaches resetting the control plane; and reconfiguring the data plane in order to recover from errors that occur at the shared network adapter.
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art mode of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
Terpstra (US 20230297682 A1): A computing device quarantine action system includes a computing device having a plurality of computing device components and a Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) subsystem.
Zhang (US 20160226967 A1): A novel design of a gateway that handles traffic in and out of a network by using a datapath daemon.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/05/2025 regarding the prior art rejections of Claims 1 – 20 have been fully considered.
The Remarks argue that:
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 10, 13, 15, 16, and 19 have been amended. Support for the amendments can be found in the Specification originally filed at least at [0024], [0030], [0054], [00108], [00110], [00113], and [00146]. Applicant submits that the amendments do not introduce new matter.
Further, Applicant does not concede that those amended claims are not patentable over the art cited by the Office, as the present claim amendments are only for facilitating expeditious prosecution of the claimed subject matter. Applicant respectfully reserves the right to pursue these pre-amended claims and other claims in one or more continuations and/or divisional patent applications.
After entry of this response, claims 1-20 will remain pending. Applicant believes that the claims are in allowable condition and respectfully requests reconsideration of the claims in light of the following remarks.
The Office rejects claims 1-3, 7-11 and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 by US 11,088,916 B1 (hereinafter "Chandrashekhar").
As discussed during the telephone interview, Applicant respectfully submits that subject matter as recited in the amended claims 1, 9, and 15 is not anticipated, described, nor rendered obvious by the disclosure of Chandrashekhar.
"A claim is anticipated only if each and every element as set forth in the claim is found, either expressly or inherently described, in a single prior art reference." Verdegaal Bros. v. Union Oil Co. of California, 814 F.2d 628, 631, 2 USPQ2d 1051, 1053 (Fed. Cir. 1987). "The identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
More specifically, Applicant respectfully submits that total teachings of Chandrashekhar do not suggest the claimed invention, and that the disclosed global manager and local managers of the network management system are different and do not suggest the inventive subject matter taught and claimed by Applicant.
Chandrashekhar discloses 'The network management system of some embodiments includes a global manager that manages the entire logical network spanning all of the sites, as well as local managers at each site that directly manage the logical network at their respective sites.' (column 1, lines 18-24) 'Data regarding the global desired configuration is received and stored in the database using a series of database transactions which are initiated through a series of application programming interface (API) calls to the global manager.' (column 1, lines 62-66) 'Each global manager's database also includes in some embodiments a set of queues. 'When the primary global manager receives the global desired configuration for the logical network, the global manager stores portions of the global configuration in each queue, based on the relevance of the portions to the configuration of the logical network at the queue's corresponding physical site.' (column 2, lines 14-24) 'The channels retrieve data from the queues in the database and provide the' retrieved data to the destination database at the corresponding physical site. These channels maintain the connections between physical sites and in some embodiments guarantee various connection parameters (e.g., the minimum bandwidth, the maximum roundtrip time, etc.) that are required for replication of data to the secondary global manager and dissemination of data to the local managers. The channels also identify the active machine for each manager, when the managers are implemented by a cluster of machines.' (column 2, lines 32-43) 'The global manager 420 also includes a number of additional modules, including an API processor 706 for receiving the user client input via a REST API, a core global manager service 707 that writes data to the database 710, a persistent work queue 711 in the database 710 to maintain causality for incoming create/update/delete (CUD) events, a log replication module 730 to replicate CUD events to the database 460 at the secondary global manager 460, a broker/ span service 735 to perform span calculations on the CUD events (and the logical network elements referenced therein), an asynchronous replication (AR) module 300 which includes dedicated persistent queues 725-727 for disseminating CUD events to different local managers at different physical sites, and site managers 745 for maintaining connection parameters used by the AR module to establish channels to the other local managers.' (column 17, lines 16-31) 'The local manager 430 of some embodiments includes a number of modules, including a receiving AR module 765 for receiving the data from the global manager 420, an ingress queue 1402 of the AR module for storing received events, a local manager service a database 1405 (which is a distributed database in some embodiments, as described above with reference to FIG. 8). The local manager 430 also includes in some embodiments an API processor 1415 to receive input via REST APIs from a user client 440, and a handler 1417 to send configuration data to the control plane for realization of the desired logical network configuration. (column 20, lines 55-66)
Applicant respectfully submits that Chandrashekhar does not anticipate, disclose the recited elements of claims 1, 9 and 15, as amended. More specifically, Applicant respectfully submits that Chandrashekhar does not disclose or suggest: 'establishing a data device in a host, wherein the data device serves as an interface between an operating system in the host and a shared network adapter,' as recited in claims 1, 9 and 15, as amended. Further Chandrashekhar does not disclose or suggest any of the inventive claim elements of: 'activating, in the data device, control queues between the host and the shared network adapter; ‘issuing control commands to the shared network adapter using the control queues, wherein the control commands configure a data plane for exchanging data between the host and the shared network adapter’; ‘activating, in the data device, data queues between the host and the shared network adapter after issuing the control commands;' and 'upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the control queues to still transmit control plane data a between the host and the shared network adapter,' as taught by Applicant and recited in claims 1, 9 and 15, as amended.
Applicant respectfully submits that amended Claims 1, 9, and 15 are patentable over Chandrashekhar and the prior art of record. Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1-3, 7-11 and 15-17 under § 102.
Consideration and allowance of all the pending Claims 1-20, as amended, is respectfully requested.
The Office rejects claims 4-6, 12-14 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrashekhar in view of US 9,432,298 B1(hereinafter "Smith").
Applicant respectfully submits that subject matter as recited in the amended claims 1, 9, and 15 is not described, nor rendered obvious by the combined disclosure of Chandrashekhar, and Smith.
Applicant respectfully submits that Smith does not overcome the deficiencies of Chandrashekhar alone. Smith discloses System Management Bus (SMBus. SMB) may be a simple (typically a single-ended two-wire) bus used for simple (e.g. Low overhead, lightweight, low-speed, etc.) communication of a SMBus system for a stacked memory package. (column 23, lines 46-60)
Claims 4-6, 12-14 and 18-20 depend from patentable claims 1, 9, and 15, further define the invention, and are likewise believed to be patentable. Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of claims 4-6, 12-14 and 18-20 under § 103.
Applicant respectfully submits that all Claims 1-20, as amended, are allowable and in condition for allowance. Applicant respectfully requests that Claims 1-20, as amended be allowed.
The Examiner agrees that total teachings of Chandrashekhar do not suggest the claimed invention, and that the disclosed global manager and local managers of the network management system are different and do not suggest the inventive subject matter taught and claimed by Applicant alone. Chandrashekhar does not disclose or suggest: 'establishing a data device in a host, wherein the data device serves as an interface between an operating system in the host and a shared network adapter,' as recited in claims 1, 9 and 15, as amended. Further Chandrashekhar does not disclose or suggest any of the inventive claim elements of: 'activating, in the data device, control queues between the host and the shared network adapter; ''activating, in the data device, data queues between the host and the shared network adapter after issuing the control commands;' a between the host and the shared network adapter,' as taught by Applicant and recited in claims 1, 9 and 15, as amended alone.
The Examiner disagrees that Chandrashekhar teaches ‘issuing control commands using the control queues (6, the global manager stores portions of the global configuration in each queue), wherein the control commands configure a data plane for exchanging data'(13, The local manager uses the service rules to generate configuration data for distribution by controllers, to configure the data plane (i.e., the forwarding elements and the service machines) to enforce the received service rules on data message flows that are associated with groups of logical network endpoints); and 'upon identifying an error, suspending the data queues while permitting the control queues to still transmit control plane data (11 & 99, the local manager uses the relevant portion to generate and provide configuration data to the control plane of the logical network; The validation is based on whether there is any error or inconsistency in applying the CUD event to the configuration of the logical network).
The Examiner agrees that Smith does not overcome the deficiencies of Chandrashekhar, nor rendered obvious by the combined disclosure of Chandrashekhar, and Smith. However, with the addition of the prior art Yefet (US 2022/0407824 A1) which teaches data communication to methods and systems for connection management in a network adapter. The network adapter including a network interface, a host interface and processing circuitry. With this source, one skilled in the art could come to the conclusion of the presented invention.
Claims 2 – 8 which depend from amended claim 1, have been considered and rejected.
Claims 10 – 14 which depend from amended claim 9, have been considered and rejected.
Claims 16 – 20 which depend from amended claim 15, have been considered and rejected.
Conclusion
should be directed to VICTOR PERRY whose telephone number is (571)272-6319. The examiner can
normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 - 5:00.
Mark Featherstone can be reached on (571) 270-3750. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2111
/MARK D FEATHERSTONE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2111