DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
The status of the claims as of the response filed 5/1/2026 is as follows: Claims 1, 16-17, and 19-20 are currently amended. Claims 2-15 and 18 are original. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
Rejection Under 35 USC 103
The amendments made to independent claims 1, 19, and 20 introduce limitations that are not fully addressed in the previous office action, and thus the corresponding 35 USC 103 rejections are withdrawn. However, Examiner will consider the amended claims in light of an updated prior art search and address their patentability with respect to prior art below.
Response to Arguments
Rejection Under 35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments directed to Kain’s deficiencies with respect to the amended “monitoring” step in the independent claims have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 refers to both a “new workbook” and “the new notebook.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the new notebook” in the claim. Further, it is unclear if the “workbook” and “notebook” elements are intended to be the same feature, or if they are intended as two distinct computational objects, rendering the claim indefinite. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret the new workbook and the new notebook as the same element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crafts, JR. et al. (US 20170124263 A1) in view of Kain et al. (US 20200210405 A1) and Shuster et al. (US 20180052891 A1).
Claims 1, 19, and 20
Crafts teaches a method, comprising:
provisioning a cloud computing environment having access to a plurality of databases and a plurality of pre-defined notebooks (Crafts Figs. 6 & 8, [0086]-[0087], [0097], noting a cloud-based clinical analytics system that includes a storage/data layer and an analytics layer (i.e. a cloud computing environment having access to a plurality of storage databases and a plurality of pre-defined analytical tools and/or workflows)), each of the pre-defined notebooks comprising a template configured to be displayed in an interactive portal as one or more cells, each cell fillable with one of a plurality of preconfigured elements selected from analytics, models, visualizations, or reportings for implementing a specific type of disease progression analysis, wherein the cloud computing environment is accessible via an interactive user portal (Crafts Figs. 8 & 16, [0106]-[0108], noting the analytical tools and/or workflows (i.e. notebooks) include corresponding visualization templates for displaying data representative of analytics or modeling workflows in fillable fields (i.e. cells) on an interactive user interface (e.g. as shown in Figs. 12A-15B); the analytics/modeling results can represent a specific type of predictive disease risk model as noted in [0045] & [0089], considered equivalent to a specific type of disease progression analysis);
receiving, via the interactive portal displayed on a display device operatively coupled to a computer, a user selection of features defining a dataset (Crafts Fig. 16, [0092], [0112]-[0113], noting a user selects features such as disease/condition and a corresponding information set (i.e. as derived from and stored in the plurality of databases/data sources noted in [0005] & [0086]) such as genomic markers to apply to a specific analytical workflow), wherein each subject in the cohort of subjects has been diagnosed with one or more cancers, and wherein the dataset comprises clinical information relating to each of the subjects and biomarker information relating to a tumor specimen of each of the subjects (Crafts [0043], [0067]-[0068], noting the system can perform analyses by aggregating datasets representing cohorts of similar patients with similar medical conditions (which can include cancer as contemplated in [0089]), similar clinical information, and similar genetic or other biomarkers from biological specimens (considered to encompass biomarker information relating to a tumor specimen of each subject));
identifying a subset of notebooks of the plurality of pre-defined notebooks based on the user selection (Crafts [0098], [0106]-[0108], noting the system selects appropriate workflows and visualization templates (i.e. notebooks) based on the user selection/query),
generating, within the cloud computing environment, a notebook interface comprising a plurality of notebook user interface elements, each one of the plurality of notebook user interface elements configured to launch a corresponding notebook from among the subset of notebooks (Crafts Figs. 12A-15B, [0112], [0124], noting generation of interface displays with interactive elements which may launch corresponding workflow and visualization templates (i.e. notebooks) responsive to user selection); and
In summary, Crafts teaches a method for facilitating user queries regarding various patient features (e.g. disease and other clinical features) that result in the selection and launching of various pre-defined workflow analyses and corresponding visualization templates at an interactive user interface. Crafts further notes that various analyses may be based on patient data aggregated into cohorts based on features like condition, clinical data, and genetic/biomarker data. Though Crafts both (1) allows for a user to make a query related to a single given patient’s features so that workflow analyses and visualization templates are provided and (2) contemplates defining user cohorts, it fails to explicitly disclose that the user query for the purpose of workflow analyses and visualization templates as in Fig. 16 & [0106]-[0115] specifically represents a cohort of patients with the selected features. That is, Crafts appears to contemplate cohort grouping as part of the analytical model process, but not as part of the patient feature selection/querying function as related to selecting data for a given workflow analysis. Further, though Crafts contemplates performance of the method in a cloud computing environment, it fails to explicitly disclose monitoring computation resource usage by one or more launched notebooks within the cloud computing environment.
However, Kain teaches an analogous method of performing clinical analytics on patient data that allows a user to select patient features to define a cohort of patient data that is then extracted and loaded into a cloud environment to be further analyzed for various purposes (Kain [0060], [0108], [0179], [0243]-[0247], noting a third-party user may query a clinical analytics system for subsets of information representing a cohort of patients associated with the selected patient features for desired analytics in a secure cloud sandbox environment). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the query/selection for analytics related to a single given patient’s features as in Crafts such that the query/selection for analytics may define a cohort of a plurality of patients with the desired features in a cloud sandbox as in Kain in order to permit the predefined analytic workflows and visualization to be applied to cohorts of similar patients in a secure and private sandbox environment, thereby improving the research capabilities and statistical power of the analyses by providing a powerful use case for determining clinical correlations across a patient population (as suggested by Kain [0243]-[0244] & [0246]) while still ensuring data privacy and security for the underlying patient data (as suggested by Kain [0060]).
Shuster teaches an analogous cloud-based data analysis environment (Shuster abstract, [0040]) in which computational resource usage of individual analytic notebooks is monitored (Shuster [0086]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cloud computing environment of the combination to include functionality for monitoring the usage of computing resources of notebooks as in Shuster in order to track and display the status of the resources, as well as to promote flexibility that permits independent management of each notebook’s processing functions (as suggested by Shuster [0086]).
Regarding claim 19, Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches a system, comprising: a computer including a processing device, the processing device configured to (Crafts [0100], [0125]) perform steps substantially similar to those of claim 1, as explained above.
Regarding claim 20, Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon program code instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to (Crafts [0100], [0105], [0125]) perform steps substantially similar to those of claim 1, as explained above.
Claim 2
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 1, but the present combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least a portion of the dataset is inaccessible to the user selecting the features defining the dataset. However, Kain further teaches at least a portion of a dataset being inaccessible to the user selecting the features defining the dataset (Kain [0060], [0129], [0221], noting users defining member data for retrieval such as third-parties or administrative entities may not have access to the members’ personal information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cohort selection method of the combination such that at least a portion of the requested dataset is inaccessible to the user selecting the dataset as in Kain in order to facilitate increased control and ownership of the data such that patient privacy, security, and autonomy are enhanced (as suggested by Kain [0050], [0060], & [0221]).
Claim 3
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 2, and the combination further teaches wherein, after receiving the user selection of features, the defined dataset is loaded into the cloud computing environment (Kain [0060], [0126], [0179]-[0180], noting a requested cohort dataset may be loaded into a secure, controlled virtual “sandbox” of a cloud computing environment for analysis).
Claim 4
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 3, and the combination further teaches wherein the user cannot perform queries against the at least a portion of the dataset outside of the cloud computing environment (Kain [0060], [0129], [0221], noting users such as third-parties or administrative entities may not have access to the members’ personal information which is stored in separate secured databases, considered equivalent to the user not being able to perform queries against a portion of the dataset outside of the dataset that has been loaded into the cloud computing environment).
Claim 5
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 3, and the combination further teaches wherein the cloud computing environment prohibits egress of data from the cloud computing environment (Kain [0060], [0126], noting a requested cohort dataset may be loaded into a secure, controlled virtual “sandbox” for analysis, considered equivalent to prohibiting egress of data from the sandbox because third parties may only access the data for analysis within the context of the controlled sandbox).
Claim 6
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 3, and the combination further teaches limiting egress of data from the cloud computing environment to defined resources within the interactive user portal (Kain [0060], [0126], [0220], noting the secure, controlled virtual “sandbox” for analysis of cohort data, with various protocols for restricting processing of the data, considered equivalent to prohibiting egress of data from the sandbox to certain processing resources).
Claim 7
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 3, and the combination further teaches wherein the cloud computing environment is accessible by a plurality of users including (Crafts [0090], [0115], noting different user roles (e.g. patient, clinician, researcher, etc.) with different levels of access to the data may interact with the system, such that certain users are considered to have greater functional control over the data than others). However, the present combination fails to explicitly disclose that one of the users is an owner of the defined dataset, and that the owner of the defined dataset is the user who has greater functional control over the defined dataset than the one or more other users. However, Kain further teaches that a variety of users may access the analytics system, including members who contribute their own data to the system and may retain 100% control and ownership of the data, with the ability to revoke consent at any time, as well as other users like administrative entities and third-parties who may access more limited aspects of the data in accordance with the member’s consent (Kain [0050], [0060], [0103]-[0105], [0221]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the various user access levels of the combination such that data owners have greater functional control over the data than other users as in Kain in order to facilitate maximum autonomy for data owners so that they retain 100% control and ownership of the data, with the ability to revoke consent at any time (as suggested by Kain [0050]).
Claim 8
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein the cloud computing environment defines a specific workspace comprising a logically partitioned environment, and wherein one or more separate servers or virtual machines are provisioned to the specific workspace (Kain [0060], [0126], noting the requested cohort data is loaded into a secure, controlled virtual “sandbox” of a cloud computing environment, considered equivalent to a specific workspace comprising a logically partitioned environment with a separate provisioned virtual machine).
Claim 9
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein the cloud computing environment defines a workspace comprising a logically partitioned environment, the environment including preconfigured services to be implemented with the dataset (Crafts Figs. 8 & 16, [0106]-[0108], noting predefined analytical tools and/or workflows (i.e. services) that are applied to the selected data; see also Kain [0060], [0126], noting the requested cohort data is loaded into a secure, controlled virtual “sandbox” of a cloud computing environment, considered equivalent to a specific workspace comprising a logically partitioned environment for analytics. Taken together in the context of the combination explained above, these teachings show that data loaded into cloud sandbox workspaces as in Kain may be processed with the predefined analytic services of Crafts).
Claim 10
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 9, and the combination further teaches wherein the workspace further comprises one or more compute resources, the compute resources provisioned to the workspace independently of the preconfigured services (Crafts [0085], [0102], noting the system utilizes cloud based and scalable resources; see also Kain [0127], noting cloud service includes a platform of servers. These disclosures indicate that one or more cloud compute resources such as servers may be provisioned as needed and ‘independently’ of any predefined analytic workflows or services).
Claim 11
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein the cloud computing environment defines a workspace (Kain [0060], [0126], noting the requested cohort data is loaded into a secure, controlled virtual “sandbox” of a cloud computing environment, considered equivalent to a specific workspace) and further comprises access rights for a plurality of users, the access rights determining eligibility for access to the workspace by each of the plurality of users (Crafts [0090], [0115], noting different user roles (e.g. patient, clinician, researcher, etc.) with different levels of access to the data may interact with the system, considered to include the sandbox workspace of Kain when considered in the context of the combination).
Claim 12
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 11, and the combination further teaches wherein the access rights further determine limits on rights with respect to the dataset or other elements of the interactive portal, outside of the workspace (Crafts [0090], [0115], noting different user roles (e.g. patient, clinician, researcher, etc.) with different levels of access to the data or other functions of the system such as the ability to modify analytic models, i.e. another element of the interactive portal outside the specific loaded sandbox workspace of the combination).
Claim 13
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 1, and the combination further teaches: receiving, within the notebook interface, a user selection of one of the notebooks; modeling the dataset according to the model or analyzing the dataset according to the analysis of the selected notebook; and applying the preconfigured visualizations or reportings to the modeled or analyzed dataset to provide results to the user via the interactive portal (Crafts [0112]-[0113], noting a user selects a button associated with a specific workflow and visualization (i.e. notebook) which results in corresponding predefined workflow and visualization analytics being applied to the data (i.e. the selected cohort data as in the combination with Kain) and results being filled in for the user at the interactive portal).
Claim 15
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 13, and the combination further teaches wherein the model or analysis comprises a previously trained machine learning model, a machine learning model that is trained on the fly, or an unsupervised machine learning model (Crafts [0032]-[0033], noting the analytic tools applied to the selected data can include previously trained machine learning models and/or unsupervised machine learning models).
Claim 16
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein each of the pre-defined notebooks further comprises a cell user interface element corresponding to one of the one or more cells, the cell user interface element configured to display an edit cell view of the pre-defined notebook, the edit cell view configured to edit (Crafts Fig. 9, [0117]-[0118], noting the user may update or modify values of a displayed page corresponding to a visualization template, i.e. provide user input to various fields at an edit cell view).
Though Crafts describes the ability for a user to edit or update values in fields of a displayed visualization template, the present combination fails to explicitly disclose editing source code of an analytic, model, or visualization of the one or more cells. However, Shuster further teaches that a user can edit the source code underpinning the analytics or visualization of a cell-based notebook (Shuster [0064], [0075], [0094], [0102], [0116]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the editable visualization templates of the combination such that edits may be made to the source code associated with a given fillable cell as in Shuster in order to allow a user to easily modify global analytic functions and interact with the system even if they are not experienced technical programmers (as suggested by Shuster [0096] & [0116]).
Claim 17
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 1, but the present combination fails to explicitly disclose the specific new workbook generation method recited in claim 17. However, Shuster further teaches generating a new notebook/workbook by:
displaying, within the notebook interface, a blank notebook user interface element configured to launch a notebook generation interface (Shuster [0043], noting notebook manager 106 generates GUI elements that manage the creation, updating, management, execution, saving, and loading of notebooks; see also [0073], [0082], noting a process for creating and storing a new notebook that includes the step of a user requesting creating a new notebook, e.g. by selecting a “new notebook” icon (i.e. a blank notebook user interface element configured to launch a notebook generation interface));
in response to receiving a user selection of the blank notebook user interface element, launching the notebook generation interface, the notebook generation interface configured to receive user input defining cell elements for a new workbook, the user input comprising selections of one or more analytics, models, visualizations, or reportings for implementing the specific type of disease progression analysis (Shuster Fig. 2B, [0073]-[0079], [0082], noting responsive to a user selecting the “new notebook” icon, a notebook creation process is launched in which the user may interact with user interface elements to select desired analytics and visualizations within each cell of the new notebook);
based on the user input received via the notebook generation interface, creating the new notebook, the creating of the new notebook comprising configuring cells of the new notebook to include the cell elements defined by the received user input (Shuster Fig. 2B, [0073]-[0079], [0087], noting the selected cell functions are stored/saved to create the new notebook);
based on the creation of the new workbook, displaying a new workbook user interface element concurrently with the plurality of notebook user interface elements within the notebook interface, the new workbook user interface element configured to launch the new workbook (Shuster [0043], noting notebook manager 106 generates GUI elements that manage the creation, updating, management, execution, saving, and loading of notebooks; see also [0080], noting the notebook manager displays a play icon at a user interface that allows a user to execute the functions of the created and stored notebook. See also Figs. 3-8, showing that play/execution icons for a new notebook (i.e. a new workbook user interface element) may be concurrently displayed with other notebook user interface elements (i.e. other icons or buttons related to notebook management)); and
in response to receiving a user selection of the new workbook user interface element: modeling or analyzing the dataset according to one or more of the cell elements defined by the user input for the new notebook; applying a visualization or reporting to the modeled or analyzed dataset according to one or more of the cell elements defined by the user input for the new notebook; and displaying results of the applying of the visualization or reporting to the modeled or analyzed dataset within the new notebook via the interactive portal (Shuster Fig. 2B, [0048], [0080], [0091]-[0092], noting selection of the play icon results in executing the analytic and visualization functions of the cells of the notebook on a dataset such that the results are displayed to the user at the interactive user interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the visualization template execution methods of the combination to include functionality for creating, saving, launching, and executing new/blank analytic templates/notebooks as in Shuster in order to allow users to easily create, save, and otherwise manage new notebooks in accordance with their desired analytic functions (as suggested by Shuster Fig 2B, [0043], & [0082]).
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crafts and Kain and Shuster as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Bellin et al. (US 20090076845 A1).
Claim 14
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 13, but the present combination does not appear to discuss repeating cohort selection to generate and analyze a second cohort of patient data and compare the analysis results of the first and second cohorts, such that the present combination fails to explicitly disclose: receiving, via the interactive portal, a user selection of a second dataset representing a second cohort of subjects, wherein each subject in the second cohort of subjects has been diagnosed with one or more cancers, and wherein the second dataset comprises clinical information relating to each of the second subjects and molecular information relating to a tumor of each of the second subjects; modeling the second dataset according to the model or analyzing the second dataset according to the analysis of the selected notebook; and applying the preconfigured visualizations or reportings to the modeled or analyzed second dataset to provide second results to the user via the interactive portal, wherein the results and the second results are provided concurrently to permit direct comparison between the cohort and the second cohorts of subjects.
However, Bellin teaches an analogous clinical analytics system that allows a user to define both first and second cohorts of patients according to desired characteristics, perform the same selected analysis on both cohorts of patients so that preconfigured visualizations representing first and second results are provided via an interactive user portal so that direct comparison between the results for each cohort may be made (Bellin [0093], [0096], [0109]-[0110], [0114]-[0115], [0121], [0140], [0144], [0159], noting a user may select a desired analytic such as length of stay, mortality, lab outcomes, readmission, etc. (considered equivalent to a notebook) as well as define the characteristics of two cohorts so that the analytic may be run on the cohort data and results of the desired analytic may be directly compared between the two cohorts via a preconfigured visualization). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the clinical analytics method of the combination to permit entering additional criteria about a second cohort of patients, running a desired analysis on both cohorts of patients, and visualizing the results of the analysis for both of the cohorts for direct comparison as in Bellin in order to allow a user to draw inferences about relative care and understand differences in outcomes between groups so that the remediation efforts can be more targeted to improve patient care (as suggested by Bellin [0159]). The result of such a combination would include the ability to define multiple cohorts for comparison based on patient characteristics as in Bellin that include the specific characteristics of diagnoses like cancer and biomarker data (considered to include molecular information related to a tumor) as in Crafts, followed by analysis of the selected data with preconfigured analytics and corresponding visualizations as in Crafts and Bellin so that direct comparison may facilitated as in Bellin.
Claim 18
Crafts in view of Kain and Shuster teaches the method of claim 13, and the combination further teaches: receiving a user selection of the model or analysis to apply to the dataset; and (Crafts [0112]-[0113], noting a user selects a button associated with a specific workflow (i.e. model or analysis) with a specific target output specifying one or more features to identify, which results in a corresponding predefined workflow being applied to the data (i.e. the selected cohort data as in the combination with Kain) and results being filled in for the user at the interactive portal). Though the present combination teaches selection of a specific workflow with a specific target output by a user, it fails to explicitly disclose specifically requesting a target output from the user upon receiving selection of the model or analysis.
However, Bellin teaches an analogous clinical analytics system that includes a user first selecting a specific analytic workflow for a set of patient data, the system responsively requesting data about a target output of the analysis, and then performing the defined analysis (Bellin [0093]-[0094], [0118], [0127], noting a user first selects between analytic models such as lab outcomes, mortality, length of stay, readmissions, etc., and responsive to a selected analytic the system requests additional parameters or values for the target output of the analysis such as the desired timeframe of a readmission analysis, desired type of laboratory outcomes and ranges for a laboratory outcome analysis, etc., which are then used when running the analysis to obtain results). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the single analysis selection step of the combination such that a desired analytic model is first selected and additional target output parameters are then requested from a user as in Bellin in order to facilitate increased analytic flexibility and customization by a user by permitting different parameter entry options that vary from analytic model to analytic model so that a very specific desired output type may be defined (as suggested by Bellin [0016] & [0094]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rule (Reference U on the accompanying PTO-892), Mendez et al. (Reference V on the accompanying PTO-892), Sawant et al. (US 20200364606 A1), and Encina et al. (US 20120066625 A1) describe computational notebook and analytics creation and management frameworks.
/KAREN A HRANEK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684