DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on March 13, 2025 and May 23, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-11, 18-23 and 27-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (Park), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0092725.
Regarding claims 7 and 31, Park discloses an apparatus (and method) for wireless communication at a first network entity (old anchor base station), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to (A node (e.g. wireless device, base station, AMF, SMF, UPF, servers, switches, antennas, and/or the like) may comprise one or more processors, and memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors causes the node to perform certain processes and/or functions) (0223): receive, from a second network entity (the “fetching” base station), a resume identifier (ID) having identifying information associated with retrieving a user equipment (UE) context for a UE; and transmit, to the second network entity, a response associated with the UE context (Fetching may comprise: sending a retrieve UE context request message comprising a resume identifier to the old anchor base station and receiving a retrieve UE context response message comprising the UE context of the wireless device from the old anchor base station.) (0309). (Note: the first, second, third and fourth entities can be interchanged throughout).
Regarding claims 8 and 32, Park discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to receive the UE context from a third network entity (can read on the “fetching” base station since in its reasonable broadest interpretation, the third entity can be the second entity), and wherein the response includes the UE context (receiving a retrieve UE context response message comprising the UE context of the wireless device) (0309).
Regarding claims 9 and 33, Park discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to transmit registration information for the first network entity to a fourth network entity (can read on the AMF that receives a registration message from a base station) (the NAS request message is a registration request message or a service request message. The base station may send an N2 message comprising the NAS message in the RRC message to the AMF) (0328).
Regarding claims 10 and 34, Park discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to authenticate the UE using a derived security key (inherent to the connection establishment process) (At RRC connection establishment/re-establishment/handover procedure, one serving cell may provide NAS mobility information, and at RRC connection re-establishment/handover, one serving cell may provide a security input. This cell may be referred to as the PCell.) (0211) and (PSCell may be changed with a SCG change procedure (e.g. with security key change and a RACH procedure)) (0282).
Regarding claims 11 and 35, Park discloses the apparatus and method of claims 7 and 31, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to: derive a security key; and transmit the security key to the second network entity (inherent to the connection establishment process) (At RRC connection establishment/re-establishment/handover procedure, one serving cell may provide NAS mobility information, and at RRC connection re-establishment/handover, one serving cell may provide a security input. This cell may be referred to as the PCell.) (0211) and (PSCell may be changed with a SCG change procedure (e.g. with security key change and a RACH procedure)) (0282).
Regarding claim 18, Park discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network entity, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to (A node (e.g. wireless device, base station, AMF, SMF, UPF, servers, switches, antennas, and/or the like) may comprise one or more processors, and memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors causes the node to perform certain processes and/or functions) (0223): receive a resume identifier (ID) from a user equipment (UE), the resume ID having identifying information associated with retrieving a UE context for the UE; transmit the resume ID to a second network entity; receive the UE context; and transmit a response to the UE (In an example embodiment, a base station receiving one or more uplink packets from a wireless device in an RRC inactive state may fetch a UE context of a wireless device by transmitting a retrieve UE context request message for the wireless device to an anchor base station of the wireless device based on at least one of an AS context identifier, an RNA identifier, a base station identifier, a resume identifier, and/or a cell identifier received from the wireless device. In response to fetching a UE context, a base station may transmit a path switch request for a wireless device to a core network entity (e.g. AMF, MME, and/or the like)) (0311).
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein to receive the UE context, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to receive the UE context from the second network entity (Fetching may comprise: sending a retrieve UE context request message comprising a resume identifier to the old anchor base station and receiving a retrieve UE context response message comprising the UE context of the wireless device from the old anchor base station.) (0309).
Regarding claim 20, Park discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to transmit registration information for the first network entity to the second network entity (can read on the AMF that receives a registration message from a base station) (the NAS request message is a registration request message or a service request message. The base station may send an N2 message comprising the NAS message in the RRC message to the AMF) (0328).
Regarding claim 21, Park discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to transmit a UE context for the UE at the first network entity to the second network entity (Fetching may comprise: sending a retrieve UE context request message comprising a resume identifier to the old anchor base station and receiving a retrieve UE context response message comprising the UE context of the wireless device from the old anchor base station.) (0309).
Regarding claim 22, Park discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to: receive information for a third network entity; and transmit the resume ID to the third network entity, wherein to receive the UE context, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to receive the UE context from the third network entity (can read on the “fetching” base station since in its reasonable broadest interpretation, the third entity can be the second entity), and wherein the response includes the UE context (receiving a retrieve UE context response message comprising the UE context of the wireless device) (0309).
Regarding claim 23, Park discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to authenticate the UE using a security key, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to derive or receive the security key (inherent to the connection establishment process) (At RRC connection establishment/re-establishment/handover procedure, one serving cell may provide NAS mobility information, and at RRC connection re-establishment/handover, one serving cell may provide a security input. This cell may be referred to as the PCell.) (0211) and (PSCell may be changed with a SCG change procedure (e.g. with security key change and a RACH procedure)) (0282).
Regarding claim 27, Park discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network entity, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to (A node (e.g. wireless device, base station, AMF, SMF, UPF, servers, switches, antennas, and/or the like) may comprise one or more processors, and memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors causes the node to perform certain processes and/or functions) (0223): receive registration information from a second network entity that stores a user equipment (UE) context (can read on the AMF that receives a registration message from a base station) (the NAS request message is a registration request message or a service request message. The base station may send an N2 message comprising the NAS message in the RRC message to the AMF) (0328); receive from a third network entity, a resume identifier (ID) having identifying information associated with retrieving the UE context; and transmit a response associated with the UE context (In an example embodiment, a base station receiving one or more uplink packets from a wireless device in an RRC inactive state may fetch a UE context of a wireless device by transmitting a retrieve UE context request message for the wireless device to an anchor base station of the wireless device based on at least one of an AS context identifier, an RNA identifier, a base station identifier, a resume identifier, and/or a cell identifier received from the wireless device. In response to fetching a UE context, a base station may transmit a path switch request for a wireless device to a core network entity (e.g. AMF, MME, and/or the like)) (0311).
Regarding claim 28, Park discloses the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the response includes information about the second network entity (In an example embodiment, a base station receiving one or more uplink packets from a wireless device in an RRC inactive state may fetch a UE context of a wireless device by transmitting a retrieve UE context request message for the wireless device to an anchor base station of the wireless device based on at least one of an AS context identifier, an RNA identifier, a base station identifier, a resume identifier, and/or a cell identifier received from the wireless device. In response to fetching a UE context, a base station may transmit a path switch request for a wireless device to a core network entity (e.g. AMF, MME, and/or the like)) (0311).
Regarding claim 29, Park discloses the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the second network entity is a source radio access network node (Fetching may comprise: sending a retrieve UE context request message comprising a resume identifier to the old anchor base station and receiving a retrieve UE context response message comprising the UE context of the wireless device from the old anchor base station.) (0309). (Note: the first, second, third and fourth entities can be interchanged throughout).
Regarding claim 30, Park discloses the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the second network entity is a source radio access network context service (RCS) node (Fetching may comprise: sending a retrieve UE context request message comprising a resume identifier to the old anchor base station and receiving a retrieve UE context response message comprising the UE context of the wireless device from the old anchor base station.) (0309). (Note: the first, second, third and fourth entities can be interchanged throughout).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 13, 26 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Hong, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0121592.
Regarding claims 12 and 36, Park discloses the apparatus/method of claims 7 and 31 as described. Park, however, fails to disclose wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to store a plurality of service indices corresponding to a plurality of services and a plurality of service-specific UE contexts.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hong discloses a method for suspending service and a method for indicating suspension in a wireless communication system. Hong further discloses wherein one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause a first network entity (base station) to store a plurality of service indices corresponding to a plurality of services and a plurality of service-specific UE contexts (when the core network determines to suspend the service corresponding to the first SIM, it may send a suspension response to the base station to indicate the base station to suspend the service corresponding to the first SIM. The base station may save the context of the service corresponding to the first SIM, send a radio resource control layer (RRC) connection suspension signaling to the terminal for indicating the terminal that the service corresponding to the first SIM is suspended, and further carry a service resume identifier (resume ID) in the signaling, so that the terminal may resume the suspended service based on the service resume ID. The terminal in the non-connected state may resume the suspended service.) (0057). Note that a plurality of services, service identifiers and service-specific UE contexts are inherent since multiple terminals are accessing the base station/system.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park with Hong so that a mobile terminal can resume a suspended service as discussed in Hong (0057).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Park and Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the UE context is a service-specific UE context, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to receive with the resume ID, a service index corresponding to a service and the service-specific UE context (when the core network determines to suspend the service corresponding to the first SIM, it may send a suspension response to the base station to indicate the base station to suspend the service corresponding to the first SIM. The base station may save the context of the service corresponding to the first SIM, send a radio resource control layer (RRC) connection suspension signaling to the terminal for indicating the terminal that the service corresponding to the first SIM is suspended, and further carry a service resume identifier (resume ID) in the signaling, so that the terminal may resume the suspended service based on the service resume ID. The terminal in the non-connected state may resume the suspended service.) (Hong, 0057).
Regarding claim 26, Park discloses the apparatus of claim 18 as described. Park, however, fails to disclose wherein the UE context is a service-specific UE context, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to receive, with the resume ID, a service index corresponding to a service and the service-specific UE context.
Hong further discloses wherein one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause a first network entity (base station) to receive (store), with the resume ID, a service index corresponding to a service and the service-specific UE context (when the core network determines to suspend the service corresponding to the first SIM, it may send a suspension response to the base station to indicate the base station to suspend the service corresponding to the first SIM. The base station may save the context of the service corresponding to the first SIM, send a radio resource control layer (RRC) connection suspension signaling to the terminal for indicating the terminal that the service corresponding to the first SIM is suspended, and further carry a service resume identifier (resume ID) in the signaling, so that the terminal may resume the suspended service based on the service resume ID. The terminal in the non-connected state may resume the suspended service.) (0057). Note that a plurality of services, service identifiers and service-specific UE contexts are inherent since multiple terminals are accessing the base station/system.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park with Hong so that a mobile terminal can resume a suspended service as discussed in Hong (0057).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-17, 24 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 14, the closest prior art of record as described in the rejection above fails to suggest or render obvious, as claimed as a whole, maintaining service-specific UE contexts for service indices not included with the resume ID as inactive.
Regarding claim 15, the closest prior art of record as described in the rejection above fails to suggest or render obvious, as claimed as a whole, maintaining service-specific UE contexts for service indices included with the resume ID and not indicated as valid in the response as invalid.
Regarding claim 16, the closest prior art of record as described in the rejection above fails to suggest or render obvious, as claimed as a whole, a first entity to receive, from a service, a request to set a service-specific UE context, corresponding to the service, to an invalid context; and set a service module corresponding to the service to the invalid context.
Regarding claim 17, it is indicated allowable based on its dependence from claim 16.
Regarding claim 24, the closest prior art of record as described in the rejection above fails to suggest or render obvious, as claimed as a whole, the first network entity to: receive, from a service, a request to set a service-specific UE context corresponding to the service to an invalid context; and set a service module corresponding to the service to the invalid context.
Regarding claim 25, it is indicated allowable based on its dependence from claim 24.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lunardi et al. U.S. Patent N0. 12,464,594 discloses network nodes and methods in a radio access network for improving the RRC resume procedure.
Hsieh et al. U.S. Patent No. 11,805,568 discloses user equipment context transfer over radio access networking.
Sivavakeesar et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0323010 discloses a communication system wherein a base station retrieves a resume identifier.
Dai, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0124711 discloses a method and apparatus for obtaining and sending resume identifier, UE and access network device.
Deng, U.S. Patent No. 10,231,173 discloses a method for accessing cells and base station.
Hapsari et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0059119 discloses UE, base station, connection establishment method, and context information retrieval method.
Liu et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0110092 discloses a method, device and system resuming UE context.
/TEMICA M BEAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646