DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to RCE received April 10, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 2-3, 8 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Siegal, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0370251.
As to claims 2 and 13-14, Siegal teaches a computer-implemented method, medium and device for facilitating payload transportation using an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), comprising:
at an electronic device, receiving input indicating a destination location for a delivery of a package, wherein the device is remote from the UAV (see para. 117 and 25, vehicle 110);
determining a takeoff location of the UAV associated with a first location of a vehicle supporting the UAV (see para. 25 and 118-119);
in response to receiving the first input and the determined takeoff location of the UAV, obtaining a viable flight route from the takeoff location to the destination location (see para. 25 and 118-119);
providing a takeoff command to the UAV based on the viable flight route (see para. 123);
receiving, after the UAV has taken off, a second location, the second location different than the first location and obtaining a second viable route from the destination location to the second location (see para. 127-129).
As to claims 3, Siegal teaches the method of claim 2. Bruno further teaches in response to not obtaining a determined viable flight route forgo providing a takeoff command to the UAV (see para. 121-122).
As to claim 8, Siegal teaches the electronic device includes one or more server devices (see para. 15).
As to claim 10, Siegal teaches the destination includes a drop location for the UAV to drop a payload (see para. 127-129).
As to claim 11, Siegal teaches the determined viable flight route from the takeoff location to the destination avoids known flight avoidance zones (see para. 54).
As to claim 12, Siegal teaches the method of claim 2. Bruno further teaches the determined viable flight route from the takeoff location to the destination is based on reducing flight time over high-density population areas (see para. 51, 93 and 104).
As to claim 15, Siegal teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the second viable flight route is determined after the UAV leaves the takeoff location (see para. 127-129).
As to claim 16, Siegal teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising providing the second viable flight route to the UAV (see para. 127-129).
As to claim 17, Siegal teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the second location is determined after the UAV leaves the takeoff location (see para. 127-129).
3. Claims 4-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegal in view of Dugan et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0292874 (referred to hereafter as Dugan).
As to claim 4, Siegal teaches the method of claim 2. Siegal does not teach displaying the takeoff location, the destination, and the determined viable flight route overlaid with a displayed map. However, Dugan teaches displaying the takeoff location, the destination, and the determined viable flight route overlaid with a displayed map (see claim 20). It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application a user may interact with the displayed viable flight route to edit one or more of the destination or determined viable flight route. However, Dugan teaches a user may interact with the displayed viable flight route to edit one or more of the destination or determined viable flight route in Siegal as taught in Dugan. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Dugan that doing so would allow the user to modify flight parameters using a touch screen which makes the controlling method more user friendly.
As to claim 5, Siegal teaches the method of claim 2. Siegal does not teach a user may interact with the displayed viable flight route to edit one or more of the destination or determined viable flight route. However, Dugan teaches a user may interact with the displayed viable flight route to edit one or more of the destination or determined viable flight route (see para. 68, 75 and 77).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application a user may interact with the displayed viable flight route to edit one or more of the destination or determined viable flight route. However, Dugan teaches a user may interact with the displayed viable flight route to edit one or more of the destination or determined viable flight route in Siegal as taught in Dugan. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Dugan that doing so would allow the user to modify flight parameters using a touch screen which makes the controlling method more user friendly.
As to claim 6, Duggan further teaches a user may interact with the displayed viable flight route to add a waypoint for the UAV (see para. 68, 75 and 77).
As to claim 7, Duggan further teaches wherein the electronic device includes a portable electronic device (see para. 68, 75 and 77).
As to claim 9, Siegal teaches the method of claim 2. Duggan further teaches the destination includes a landing platform for the UAV (see claim 20).
/HUSSEIN ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669
Gabbai, U.S. Patent Application No. 2017/0011340 in view of