DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to the application filed 12/04/2023 havingclaims 1-20 pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Application filed on 11/17/2023 is a has PRO 63/498,964 04/28/2023 are acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/17/2023 and these drawings are accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS filed.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration filed on 11/17/2023 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7-11, 14-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent US 11043086 B1 to Daoura et al (hereinafter Daoura)
As per claim 1, Daoura teaches a method comprising: receiving an audio signal from a first wireless device at a second wireless device, the audio signal comprising a plurality of encoded data values, and the plurality of encoded data values being received via an audio transducer and decoded via a processing device of the second wireless device (Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, wireless device 1203 receiving an audio signal from a mobile phone comprising plurality of encoded message at the mobile station, wherein the encoded values are being received from first wireless device at the second wireless are from mobile phone audio transducer by saying find me and decoded at the 1203 ); determining, using the processing device of the second wireless device, if the plurality of encoded data values included in the audio signal includes a valid wakeup code ( Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, when mobile phone is within the range device 1203 will determine to wakup based on the human voice from the mobile device); and transitioning a transceiver of the second wireless device from a sleep mode to a wake mode in response to determining that the audio signal includes a valid wakeup signal (( Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, waking up from the sleep mode to wakeup mode to determining that the audio signal includes a valid wakeup signal in response to the human voice from the mobile device ). 11043086
As per claim 3, Daoura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the audio transducer is a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) microphone (para column 22 line 5-10, the transducer is electromechanical microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) microphone such as the door opening associated with wireless signal are associated with smart phone).
As per claim 6, Daoura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is a Bluetooth transceiver or an ultrawideband (UWB) transceiver (Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, transceiver is a Bluetooth transceiver is for communication).
As per claim 7, Daoura teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising: transitioning a plurality of secure processing elements of the second wireless device from a sleep mode to a wake mode in response to determining that the audio signal includes a valid wakeup signal (Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, transitioning a plurality of secure processing elements of the second wireless device from a sleep mode to a wake mode in response to determining that the audio signal includes a valid wakeup signal) .
As per claim 8, Daoura teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising: performing, using the transceiver, a secure ranging operation with the first wireless device in accordance with a wireless protocol of the transceiver (Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, by using a secure mechanism a secure ranging operation with the first wireless device in accordance with a wireless protocol of the transceiver).
As per claim 9, Daoura teaches the method of claim 8 further comprising: granting access to a vehicle associated with the first wireless device in response to completion of the secure ranging operation (Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, granting access to a vehicle associated with the first wireless device in response to completion of the secure ranging operation).
As per claim 10, Daoura teaches the system comprising: an audio transducer (fig 12, mobile phone); a transceiver configured to be compatible with a wireless protocol (fig 12, mobile phone); and a processing device comprising processing elements configured to: receive an audio signal from a first wireless device at a second wireless including the processing device, the audio signal being received via the audio transducer and comprising a plurality of encoded data values, and the plurality of encoded data values decoded via the processing device of the second wireless device (Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, wireless device 1203 receiving an audio signal from a mobile phone comprising plurality of encoded message at the mobile station, wherein the encoded values are being received from first wireless device at the second wireless are from mobile phone audio transducer by saying find me and decoded at the 1203 );; determine if the plurality of encoded values received via the audio signal includes a valid wakeup code( Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, when mobile phone is within the range device 1203 will determine to wakup based on the human voice from the mobile device);; and transition the transceiver from a sleep mode to a wake mode in response to determining that the audio signal includes a valid wakeup signal( Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, transition to waking up from the sleep mode to wakeup mode to determining that the audio signal includes a valid wakeup signal in response to the human voice from the mobile device).
As per claim 12, Daoura teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the audio transducer is a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) microphone (para column 22 line 5-10, the transducer is electromechanical microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) microphone such as the door opening associated with wireless signal)., wherein the transceiver is a Bluetooth transceiver or an ultrawideband (UWB) transceiver (Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, transceiver is a Bluetooth transceiver is for communication).
As per claim 14, Daoura teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the processing device is further configured to: transition a plurality of secure processing elements of the second wireless device from a sleep mode to a wake mode in response to determining that the audio signal includes a valid wakeup signal (Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, transitioning a plurality of secure processing elements of the second wireless device from a sleep mode to a wake mode in response to determining that the audio signal includes a valid wakeup signal) . .
As per claim 15, Daoura teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the processing device is further configured to: perform a secure ranging operation with the first wireless device in accordance with a wireless protocol of the transceiver (Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, granting access to a vehicle associated with the first wireless device in response to completion of the secure ranging operation).
As per claim 16, Daoura teaches the device comprising: processing elements configured to: processing elements configured to: receive an audio signal from a first wireless device at a second wireless device including the processing elements, the audio signal comprising a plurality of encoded data values, and the plurality of encoded data values being received via an audio transducer and decoded via the processing elements of the second wireless device (Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, wireless device 1203 receiving an audio signal from a mobile phone comprising plurality of encoded message at the mobile station, wherein the encoded values are being received from first wireless device at the second wireless are from mobile phone audio transducer by saying find me and decoded at the 1203 ); determine if the plurality of encoded data values received via the audio signal includes a valid wakeup code( Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, when mobile phone is within the range device 1203 will determine to wakup based on the human voice from the mobile device);; and transition a transceiver of the second wireless device from a sleep mode to a wake mode in response to determining that the audio signal includes a valid wakeup signal( Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, waking up from the sleep mode to wakeup mode to determining that the audio signal includes a valid wakeup signal in response to the human voice from the mobile device).
As per claim 18, Daoura teaches the device of claim 16, wherein the audio transducer is a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) microphone (para column 22 line 5-10, the transducer is electromechanical microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) microphone such as the door opening associated with wireless signal)., wherein the transceiver is a Bluetooth transceiver or an ultrawideband (UWB) transceiver (Column 21, line 26-48, fig. 12, transceiver is a Bluetooth transceiver or an ultrawideband (UWB) transceiver (para 0075], transceiver is a Bluetooth transceiver is for communication).
As per claim 20, Daoura teaches the device of claim 16, wherein the processing elements are further configured to: transition a plurality of secure processing elements of the second wireless device from a sleep mode to a wake mode in response to determining that the audio signal includes a valid wakeup signal(Column 5, line 19-30, fig. 1b, transitioning a plurality of secure processing elements of the second wireless device from a sleep mode to a wake mode in response to determining that the audio signal includes a valid wakeup signal) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura further view of US Patent US 11122159 B1 to Alsolami et al (hereinafter Alsolami).
As per claim 2, Daoura teaches the method of claim 1, Alsolami wherein the first wireless device is a head unit included in an automobile, and wherein the second wireless device is a key fob (Column 5, line 19-30, fig. 1b, first wireless device is a head unit included in an automobile, and wherein the second wireless device is a key fob ).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of Daoura by wireless device is a head unit included in an automobile, and wherein the second wireless device is a key fob as suggested by Alsolami, this modification would benefit Daoura for enabling a better electronic tracking mechanism for handheld devices in a automobile system.
As per claim 11, Daoura teaches the system of claim 10, Alsolami, teaches wherein the first wireless device is a head unit included in an automobile, and wherein the second wireless device is a key fob (Column 5, line 19-30, fig. 1b, first wireless device is a head unit included in an automobile, and wherein the second wireless device is a key fob).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 2.
As per claim 17, Daoura teaches the device of claim 16, Alsolami, teaches wherein the first wireless device is a head unit included in an automobile, and wherein the second wireless device is a key fob (Column 5, line 19-30, fig. 1b, first wireless device is a head unit included in an automobile, and wherein the second wireless device is a key fob ).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 2.
5. Claim(s) 4-5 , 13,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura further view of US PG Pub US 20180326947 A1 to Oesterling et al (hereinafter Oesterling).
As per claim 4, Daoura teaches the method of claim 1, Oesterling teaches wherein the plurality of encoded data values comprises a challenge code encoded via one or more audio encoding algorithms (para 0012-0013],, plurality of information includes challenge code encoded via one or more audio encoding algorithms between automobile and keyfob). 20180326947
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of Daoura by wherein the challenge code is generated based, at least in part, on a pairing token associated with the first wireless device and the second wireless device as suggested by Oesterling this modification would benefit Daoura for enabling a secure data transaction for handheld devices in a automobile system.
As per claim 5, Daoura teaches the method of claim 4, Oesterling teaches wherein the challenge code is generated based, at least in part, on a pairing token associated with the first wireless device and the second wireless device (para 0004-0005], paring key associated with first wireless device and the second wireless device). 20180326947
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 4.
As per claim 13, Daoura teaches the system of claim 10, Oesterling teaches wherein the plurality of encoded data values comprises a challenge code encoded via one or more audio encoding algorithms, and wherein the challenge code is generated based, at least in part, on a pairing token associated with the first wireless device and the second wireless device (para 0004-0005], paring key associated with first wireless device and the second wireless device)..
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 4.
As per claim 19, Daoura teaches the device of claim 16, Oesterling teaches wherein the plurality of encoded data values comprises a challenge code encoded via one or more audio encoding algorithms, and wherein the challenge code is generated based, at least in part, on a pairing token associated with the first wireless device and the second wireless device(para 0004-0005], plurality of information includes challenge code encoded via one or more audio encoding algorithms between automobile and keyfob)..
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20170323111 A1; US Patent Publication US 20180326947 A1, US Patent Publication US 20180285832 A1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented inthis Office action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467