DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1 – 20 are pending in this Office Action. After a further search and a thorough examination of the present application, claims 1 – 20 remain rejected.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claims 1 – 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that there is no teaching in Erman, Mehta, Satish or Ralston of the server identifies new software applications based on engagement by at least a threshold number of users in the cluster profile within a threshold period of time and only after that identification step filters out applications already engaged by the requesting user.
In response to Applicant’s argument, the Examiner submits that Ralston teaches identifying new software applications engaged by a threshold number of users in a cluster profile in paragraphs 45 – 55 stating that a recommendation module can be configured to use the gathered application purchase data along with the application purchase clusters to identify the application purchase profile of the user. Furthermore, a recommendation module can select a media item to recommend to a user based on the user's determined application preference profile and the preference relationship identified for the application purchase cluster that represents the user's application preference profile. For example, upon determining the application preference profile of a user, recommendation module can use the preference relationships associated with the application preference cluster that represents the user's application preference profile to identify a media preference profile that the user likely has. Recommendation module can thus select a media item based on the media preference data gathered from the members of the media preference cluster that represents the identified media preference profile. Mehta in paragraphs 53 – 56 teaches identifying software applications that are engaged within a threshold period of time where it teaches that the application is trending and the analysis is done within threshold of time, stating application "stickiness" may be used as a factor in determining application popularity and the recency of application installation data may be used to determine trending popularity. For example, application popularity scores or rankings may be adjusted to favor recently popular applications (e.g., applications installed within the previous two weeks, within the previous two months, or some other such time period). Furthermore, Mehta teaches the filtering out of previously engaged applications in paragraphs 66 and 71 that filtering the applications may include ranking the one or more applications based on category preferences referenced by the user profile data, or removing the applications that are currently installed on the mobile device, or that have been previously installed on the mobile device and subsequently removed by the user. Examiner would like to submit that the argument in regards with step of filtering out only after that identification step filters out applications already engaged by the requesting user, this language is neither specified in the claim not is it specifically recited in the specification of the instant application.
Remaining claims in instant application recite the same subject matter and for the same reasons as cited above the rejection is maintained. Hence, Applicant’s arguments do not distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art of record. In light of the foregoing arguments, the 103 rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erman et al. (‘Erman’ herein after) (US 2011/0307354 A1) further in view of Mehta et al. (‘Mehta’ herein after) (US 2011/0320307 A1) further in view of Sailesh Sathish (‘Sathish’ herein after) (US 2012/0143791 A1) further in view of Ralston et al. (‘Ralston’ herein after) (US 2014/0324965 A1).
With respect to claim 1, 8, 15,
Erman discloses a method for recommending software applications that are relevant to a user of a computing device, the method comprising, at a server computing device: receiving, from the computing device, a request for at least one software application recommendation (paragraphs 29 – 31 teach receiving user profile data from variety of sources, based on a variety of triggers for the purpose of recommending application to a user, Erman); obtaining or generating a user profile associated with the user, wherein the user profile includes a plurality of properties (figure 1 & 2A depicts a database of user profiles, paragraphs 36 and 37 use identified information from the user profile, Erman); accessing a plurality of SAPs, wherein each SAP of the plurality of SAPs is associated with a respective software application and includes at least respective properties that correspond to the plurality of properties included in the user profile (figure 1 and 2B depict the software application profiles, paragraph 68 teaches the application being managed and received from developers or other options, paragraph 40 teaches the matching the application profile to the user profile information, paragraph 69 teaches the profile of the application being generated based on profiling techniques, paragraphs 73 – 75 discuss the updating of profiles based on use over time, Erman); analyzing the plurality of properties of the user profile against corresponding respective properties of the plurality of SAPs to identify, among the respective software applications associated with the plurality of SAPs, at least one software application to recommend to the user (paragraph 40 teaches the matching the application profile to the user profile information, paragraph 56, paragraph 83 teaches matching of application profile information and user profile information for purposes of selecting recommendations of applications for users, Erman); causing the computing device to display information associated with the at least one software application (paragraph 40 teaches the listing of the recommendations based on matching the application profile to the user profile information, paragraph 83 teaches matching of application profile information and user profile information for purposes of selecting recommendations of applications for users, paragraph 84 teaches the recommended application information being sent to the user device for display, also see paragraphs 110 – 114, Erman).
Erman teaches profiling techniques for the application profiles and popularity of applications amongst users but does not explicitly state the interactions with users and identifying software applications that are engaged within a threshold period of time as claimed.
However, Mehta teaches the recommendation analyzing the user interaction with applications before recommending in paragraph 28 – 29 teaching the recommendation engine also may generate recommendations based at least in part on detected patterns relating to applications, e.g. installation, deletion, and/or usage, over a population of device users. Also see paragraphs 8, 32 and 35. Mehta in paragraphs 53 – 56 teaches identifying software applications that are engaged within a threshold period of time where it teaches that the application is trending and the analysis is done within threshold of time, stating application "stickiness" may be used as a factor in determining application popularity and the recency of application installation data may be used to determine trending popularity. For example, application popularity scores or rankings may be adjusted to favor recently popular applications (e.g., applications installed within the previous two weeks, within the previous two months, or some other such time period). Mehta also teaches filtering out any of the software applications that have already been engaged by the computing device of the user such that only remaining ones of new software applications are recommended to the user in paragraphs 66 and 71 stating that recommendations are filtered based on application history of user, for example, certain applications may be removed from the ranked list of recommendations, such as currently installed applications, paid versions of free applications, and applications that had been previously installed and subsequently removed by a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Erman to include the teachings of Mehta because both of the references are in the same field of study, recommendation of software. Furthermore, Mehta adds more criteria of recommendation of applications to the user in paragraph 8 and paragraph 9 states the advantage of providing current and personalized recommendations to device users, the users may save time and money, and can discover new applications that they may not have been aware of. Users are able to quickly discover potentially relevant applications, and are unlikely to discard such applications upon installation. Additionally, application providers are enabled to increase customer satisfaction and retention, as device users may purchase applications with increased confidence.
Erman combined with Mehta teaches user profiles based on properties but does not explicitly teach as claimed that the user profile is based at least in part on a profile of a software application the user has utilized.
However Sathish teaches the user profile is based at least in part on a profile of a software application the user has utilized in paragraph 50 stating that the recommendation module may search the user behavior model for contextual characteristics that are similar to current contextual characteristics [equivalent to user profile], and then recommend one or more applications based on the profiles of the previously used applications that have been used under similar circumstances or by a prediction in the user behavior model made by the data model builder. Also see paragraphs 46 – 54 where it teaches more about the applications user by the user and its role in recommendation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Erman and Mehta to include the teachings of Sathish because, Sathish has the criteria of recommendation of applications to the user based on context including usage of the applications, along with user models of interactions. Sathish also states embodiments of the invention may provide a way to build user behavior models based on user interactions with applications and related contextual characteristics, thereby improving relevant recommendations.
Erman combined with Mehta further in combination with Sathish teaches user profiles but does not teach explicitly as claimed wherein the user profile is one of a plurality of user profiles of a cluster profile, wherein the plurality of user profiles of the cluster profile share one or more characteristics, and wherein the analyzing includes identifying new software application that are being engaged by at least a threshold number of users associated with ones of the plurality of user profiles of the cluster profile.
However, Ralston teaches wherein the plurality of user profiles of the cluster profile share one or more characteristics, and wherein the method further comprises recommending at least one additional software application to the user based on the at least one additional software application being engaged by at least a threshold number of users associated with ones of the plurality of user profiles of the cluster profile in paragraphs 45 – 55 stating that a recommendation module can be configured to use the gathered application purchase data along with the application purchase clusters to identify the application purchase profile of the user. Furthermore, a recommendation module can select a media item to recommend to a user based on the user's determined application preference profile and the preference relationship identified for the application purchase cluster that represents the user's application preference profile. For example, upon determining the application preference profile of a user, recommendation module can use the preference relationships associated with the application preference cluster that represents the user's application preference profile to identify a media preference profile that the user likely has.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Erman, Mehta and Satish to include the teachings of Ralston because it incorporates the advantage of people with similar cluster profiles having similar behaviors, thus predictable. Ralston teaches that by identifying preference relationships between software application preferences and media item preferences that indicate that a user with a specified software application preference is likely to also have a specified media item preference, a user's purchase history can be used to determine the user's likely media item preferences, and thus recommend a media item to the user, paragraphs 19 – 26, Ralston.
With respect to claim 2, 9, 16,
Erman as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of SAPs omits SAPs associated with respective applications that were previously displayed as recommended software applications to the user within the threshold period of time (paragraph 150 – 151 teach removal of previously displayed software applications and replacing them, Erman and paragraph 53 – 56, Mehta).With respect to claim 3, 10, 17,
Erman as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the server computing device implements machine-learning when analyzing the plurality of properties of the user profile against the corresponding respective properties of the plurality of SAPs (paragraph 18, 23 – 25, Mehta).With respect to claim 4, 11, 18,
Erman as modified discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from a software developer, a second request to register a new software application with the server computing device; over the threshold period of time, gathering information about one or more of: user interaction information associated with the new software application, derived information associated with the new software application, usage information associated with the new software application, or metadata information associated with the new software application (paragraph 28 teaches application profile may be derived from description of application, types of users to which the application is targeted based on characteristics of users, paragraph 30 also further discloses at a portion of the application profile information is provided by the devices of the users providing feedback on the applications); generating, for the new software application, an associated new SAP based on the information; and adding the new SAP to the plurality of SAPs (figure 2B, paragraph 68 – 69, and 74 – 75, 82 – 83 teach the gathering of the data connected with the application when new and periodically or by triggered methods, Erman).With respect to claim 5, 12, 19,
Erman as modified discloses the method of claim 4, wherein: the user interaction information identifies one or more of: downloads, in-app purchases, ratings/reviews, demographics, search queries, or clicks/impressions associated with the new software application; the derived information identifies one or more of: ranking positions, a trending factor, a stability factor, compatibilities, or accolades associated with the new software application; the usage information identifies one or more of: a usage factor or an installation retention factor associated with the new software application; and the metadata information identifies one or more of: curation information, metadata information, or tag information associated with the new software application (paragraph 40, 43, 47, 53, Erman and figure 3 paragraphs 32, 35, 50 – 55, Mehta).With respect to claim 6, 13, 20,
Erman as modified discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from a new computing device, a second request to register a new user with the server computing device; adding, to a plurality of user profiles, a new user profile associated with the new user (figure 6A, 6C, paragraph 158 – 159 and 181 – 187, teach the query related results displaying in order and a subset Erman and 49 – 50 and 56 teach the ranking based on various criteria, Mehta); over the threshold period of time, gathering information about one or more of: engagements by the new user with a plurality of software applications, or demographics associated with the new user and updating the new user profile based on the information (figure 2A, paragraph 58 – 59, and 62 – 33 teach the gathering of the data connected with the user when new and periodically or by triggered methods, Erman).With respect to claim 7, 14,
Erman as modified discloses the method of claim 6, wherein: the engagements by the new user identify one or more of: downloads, in-app purchases, ratings/reviews, search queries, or clicks /impressions; and the demographics associated with the new user include one or more of: a gender, or an age (paragraph 40, 43, 47, 53, Erman and figure 3 paragraphs 32, 35, 50 – 55, Mehta).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20140040231 A1 teaches collection of application data from the app, storing the data, on receiving a query, searching and transmitting information regarding apps or applications whose corresponding stored application is relevant to the query.
US 20180101576 A1 teaches content recommendation to a user using a threshold of time along with other criteria.
US 20140052542 A1 teaches recommendations of software/application based on user behavior and interaction/history.
US 20210142386 A1 managing an online application database and application search. If a new application is received, the platform may determine whether the new application contains features that sufficiently correspond to the features in one of the application build recommendations. User accounts that submitted the unfulfilled queries that served as the basis for the matching application build recommendation may be notified of the availability of the new application
Contact Information
/NAVNEET GMAHL/Examiner, Art Unit 2166 Dated: 7/10/2026
/SANJIV SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2166